Customer Reviews


128 Reviews
5 star:
 (108)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant twist for an ending
Everything clicks in this laugh-out-loud gem. Steve Martin and Michael Caine are in top form as Freddy Benson and Lawrence Jamieson, two con men who agree that this town (on the French Mediterranean coast) ain't big enough for the both of them. To solve the problem, they agree upon a solution - the first man to swindle $50,000 from a naive young woman gets to stay. The...
Published on 23 Dec. 2007 by Jay

versus
9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dirty Rotten Scoundrels
Dirty Rotten Scoundrels is set on the beautiful French Riviera following the life of cunning con-man Michael Caine. His life couldnt be better, a big house, a booming buisness and steady income. All that is ruined when amature Steve Martin comes along and threatens to steal his buisness. In order to keep a close eye on him, Caine takes him under his wing, but when Marting...
Published on 19 Dec. 2008 by Omac


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant twist for an ending, 23 Dec. 2007
This review is from: Dirty Rotten Scoundrels [DVD] [1988] [1989] (DVD)
Everything clicks in this laugh-out-loud gem. Steve Martin and Michael Caine are in top form as Freddy Benson and Lawrence Jamieson, two con men who agree that this town (on the French Mediterranean coast) ain't big enough for the both of them. To solve the problem, they agree upon a solution - the first man to swindle $50,000 from a naive young woman gets to stay. The competition brings out the very best of their very worst, with Martin posing as a paraplegic and Caine as a psychiatrist eager to help convince him it's all in his head. Glenne Headly, as the target of the cons, deserves special mention for her brilliant performance.

One of the strongest assets of "Dirty Rotten Scoundrels" is that the story is interesting enough, with its various twists and turns, that it would work great even without being funny. The laughs - and there are many of them - are a sort of gut-hurting bonus. The scene in which Caine tests the nerves in Martin's legs must rank as one of the most uproarious in film history. This one from director Frank Oz (certainly no slouch in the comedy department) is not to be missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You can tell they had fun making this film!, 21 Aug. 2003
This review is from: Dirty Rotten Scoundrels [DVD] [1988] [1989] (DVD)
One of the funniest films I have seen and one that I don't mind watching over and over. The script is great, acting and timing superb (especially by Michael Caine) and on site location just adds to the happy ambience of the film. You can tell they must have loved making this film, and that enjoyment is infectious.
What is also particularly interesting about this film is the juxtaposition of American and British humour. You find yourself laughing at both, its something we don't see enough of these days. Hopefully you'll see what I mean. If you have never seen this film, buy it, crack open a bottle of wine/ perefered beverage, take the phone off the hook and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Light-hearted comedy at its best., 19 Jan. 2015
This review is from: Dirty Rotten Scoundrels [DVD] [1988] [1989] (DVD)
The perfect companion for all film enthusiasts is THE ROMA VICTRIX WINE BEAKERCalix Imperium, Roma Victrix Pewter wine beaker

DIRTY ROTTEN SCOUNDRELS (1988) is a 4-star slapstick comedy starring Michael Caine and Steve Martin, and directed by Frank Oz. This is a crime-caper, if you will, about two men who are con artists intent on preying on vulnerable and lonely rich women.

Caine is suave and debonair, a scam artist named Lawrence Jamieson, who works out of the French Riviera. Martin is Freddy Benson, an uncouth, loud, and suspiciously charming American who evidently works wherever he feels comfortable - which is just about anywhere!

The plot is fairly predictable with some surprises, but this one is a gem because of the performances by Caine and Martin. Watching them compete to bilk the next wealthy heiress is side-splitting at times. And a subplot of Martin playing Caine's younger brother, Ruprecht, is totally off the wall. Ruprecht, who lives in solitary confinement, bangs pots with a spoon, wears an eye patch, and "soils" himself at the dinner table.

Also unforgettable is when Martin, sitting in a wheelchair, claims to have no feeling in his legs. Caine then proceeds to prove the point, playing a doctor who tests the patient's paralysis to the limit. It's all old-fashioned frivolity - no offensive language, no sex, no nudity and what really makes it special is the ease and enjoyment with which Caine and Martin interact. Just good, clean fun all around!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "...Not The Royal Ring Your Highness!" - Dirty Rotten Scoundrels on BLU RAY, 14 Jun. 2014
By 
Mark Barry "Mark Barry" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
I've a vivid memory of first watching "Dirty Rotten Scoundrels" on DVD about 20 years ago. My wife Mary Anne was 8 months pregnant with our daughter Julia at the time - and there's a scene where Michael Caine (as bogus Austrian Psychiatrist Dr. Emil Schauffhausyn) starts whacking the bare legs of a supposedly immobile Steve Martin with a bamboo cane from a nearby flower display (they're both working a con). "Zer is no pain?" Caine gleefully enquires in a slightly Nazi voice as Steve Martin grimaces - trying to look dead from the waist down. My missus was screaming with laughter so loud - I thought she was actually going to drop the sprog on the living room couch as we watched. That sort of thing stays with you...

Like "Heartbreakers" (a woman's caper movie with Sigourney Weaver and Jennifer Love Hewitt), "Midnight Run" (with Robert De Niro and Charles Grodin) or "The Birdcage" (with Robin Williams and Nathan Lane) - "Dirty Rotten Scoundrels" is viewed with huge affection in our house and I would contend is a bit of a comedic jewel. And now at last in 2013 its finally on BLU RAY - looking suited and booted and worthy of your Spondulicks.

Michael Caine plays Englishman Lawrence Jamieson - a world-class confidence man and charmer of the opposite sex living in villa luxury in Beaumont-Sur-Mer in the South of France. Lawrence drives around in an open-top Rolls Royce working rich socialites with a perfectly honed Royal Prince routine - giving them spiel about 'freedom-fighter subjects' who need cash as he strikes a Regal pose (hand in jacket) under the moonlight. "You've already risked too much in just talking to me...damn you're attractive!"

Lawrence is ably aided in this well-breed playboy caper by Inspector Andre of the local Police (Anton Rodgers) and a savvy Butler Arthur (Ian McDiarmid - the Emperor in Star Wars) - both of whom get a cut in the takings. Lawrence is also smart enough to only prey on jewellery types who have enough money to lose. About to work his down-on-his-luck-widow speech on his next victim (dialogue above) - Andre whispers to Lawrence about Fanny Eubanks of Omaha who is sat in a lavish sequin dress at a casino roulette table nearby (Barbara Harris) - "She's extremely rich, very married, eminently corruptible and a willing infidel..." Lawrence grins and says, "Perfect", as he moves in for yet another Monarchy kill.

But one day on the train back from Zurich (where he's deposited his latest earnings) - he overhears a two-bit American hustler Freddy Benson (Steve Martin) work a woman in the luxury dining carriage out of a $20 meal by giving her a sob story about his ill grandmother 'gram-gram'. Lawrence smirks knowingly but thinks no more of this rank amateur. But then the Yank barges into his first class cabin and Lawrence realizes to his horror that Freddy is headed for his Riviera 'patch' and will need to be dealt with. But various tricks to get this 'poacher who might scare away big game' out of town aren't working and soon the street-savvy Freddy works out what's going on and wants in on the action. The talented fraudsters become unwilling push-and-pull ego partners and Lawrence begins training Freddy in the skills of the big con. Meanwhile there's talk in the newspaper of a new trickster on the block nicknamed "The Jackal" working his way across Europe - a man so good at his art - he may even outdo our cocky duo.

But then a naïve young American heiress from Cleveland called Janet Colgate (Glenne Headly) arrives into The Grand Hotel and a bet is set between the two men as to who can dupe her out of $50,000 first. But they soon realize that in their loser-must-leave-town wager - Janet isn't one of those luridly wealthy marks but a woman with little funds and a lot to lose.

Part of the fun of Frank Oz's 1988 film is the fabulous cons and great dialogue. Freddy is in jail for duping a Ferrari driving wealthy lady out of cash and being `with another woman'. Andre remarks, "To be with another woman - that is French. To be caught - that is American". When Lawrence is talking to Freddy about how he started and why the upstart should leave, he explains - "I had taste and style...but not talent. I knew my limitations. We all have our limitations Freddy. And you should know yours. You're a moron..."

But the funniest stuff is kept until well into the movie - when Glenne Headly turns up and the con is on. Freddy dresses up as a wheelchair-bound Naval Officer who can no longer walk because he saw his girlfriend dance with the host of Dance USA - while Lawrence pretends to be the one psychiatrist in the world who can help him with walking (fees of $50,000) - Dr. Emil Schauffhausyn of the Lichtenstein Institute. Will avarice win the day - will Freddy ever be able to walk again without genital cuffs - or will The Jackal nip in at the last minute and dupe them all? And on it goes to someone somewhere being rightly and royally screwed...

Defaulted to 1.85:1 Aspect Ratio - the BLU RAY picture fills the entire screen and given its 'shot entirely on location in Nice' render - it looks fabulous. There are definitely moments when speckles appear on the negative and overall definition is not anything by today's standards - but the bottom line is that it now looks properly cinematic and a lot better than the DVD I've had all these years.

EXTRAS include two Trailers, an Audio Commentary by Director Frank Oz, and a Behind-The-Scenes Featurette with all three lead actors, Director, Writer, Producer, Designer and Crew. AUDIO is English DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1, Portuguese Mono, Spanish, French, Italian, German and Castellano Surround Dolby Digital 2.0. SUBTITLES are in English SDH, Portuguese, Italian, German SDH, Japanese, Mandarin, Danish, Dutch, Norwegian, Swedish, Spanish, French and Hebrew (much of this isn't on the box).

"Dirty Rotten Scoundrels" is glorious escapist entertainment with actors thoroughly enjoying themselves - all guided by the huge experience of Muppets genius Frank Oz.

Janet says of Freddy after he's had his legs repeatedly whacked by Dr. Schauffhausyn - "He's so happy...he's crying!"

Buy this fab film on BLU RAY and you will be too...

PS: if the UK version is a tad pricey - the cheaper American issue on MGM/20th Century Fox is ALL REGIONS so will play on UK machines...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic comedy - fantastic HD transfer, 7 Dec. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Always been a fan of this movie since it first came out.
Owned the DVD for 11 years and was keen to upgrade.

The plot is basically Steve Martin is a small time con artist
and he meets Michael Caine who is a big time con artist.
There then begins a battle of one-upmanship.

The picture quality on the Blu-Ray is fantastic.
Well worth getting. Considering the movie is set on the
French Riviera, the HD transfer shows the colours nicely.

One of the better movie transfers and can recommend the
upgrade.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I was pretty impressed, it seems a film that can stand ..., 13 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dirty Rotten Scoundrels [DVD] [1988] [1989] (DVD)
My gf and I went to the theatre recently to see this with Robert Lindsey in the lead roll. I had never seen the film so purchased it, I was pretty impressed, it seems a film that can stand the test of time in terms of its content, with good acting, a lot of funny parts and a story that compels you to watch until its conclusion. Because it can be purchased for such a small amount I dont think you can really go wrong adding it to your collection if you like Steve or Michael, or you're just in the mood for a comedy caper movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 25 Jan. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dirty Rotten Scoundrels [DVD] [1988] [1989] (DVD)
I first saw this film more than 20 years ago on Sky. It was when Sky would show one film over and over again for a week or so - so not much has changed! I watched it all week and then bought the video. I've continued to buy copies for friends ever since.

It's a gentle comedy with beautiful scenery and clothes. Michael Caine, for once, doesn't play "Michael Caine" but, instead, plays David Niven who it's rumoured the role was originally written for. He pulls it off perfectly and brings a tear to the eye now and again. Steve Martin is, as ever, annoying but so is his character so it works. Is the end predictable? I didn't get it but, if you're the mystics who did, it's still worth watching for the laughs and the scenery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very funny, 24 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dirty Rotten Scoundrels [DVD] [1988] [1989] (DVD)
Thoroughly enjoyed the setting of the Cote d'Azur where we had just been on holiday. Fortunately Steve Martin reigned in his usual over-the-top antics to create a believable character and Michael Caine showed the comic end of his performing spectrum to excellent effect. It was clear there was going to be some twist at the end, but just when you thought it had happened, there was a further unexpected one. Very enjoyable comed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not Rotten, Not Dirty but hilarious, 29 Dec. 2008
By 
K. Maloney (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dirty Rotten Scoundrels [DVD] [1988] [1989] (DVD)
Having 2 accomplished actors in Michael Caine and Steve Martin play off each other in adopting increasingly ridiculous roles as their characters develop in the movie is simply a sight to behold. Despite what most people might say, some of the twists I found geniunely surprising. The movie's beautiful setting and tale of 2 conmen one upping each other according to their style of 'conmanship' never gets old. This is definitely worth buying and watching with the family or friends. Once you suspend a certain amount of realism theres no reason why someone shouldn't have fun watching this classic caper. 9/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliantly funny and clever film that provides hilarious comedy and ..., 18 Jan. 2015
By 
K. M. Jacobs (Isle of Wight, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dirty Rotten Scoundrels [DVD] [1988] [1989] (DVD)
I remember this film first coming out and I also remember being a wee bit surprised at the pairing of Caine & Martin but as it turned out, that pairing was inspired!
A brilliantly funny and clever film that provides hilarious comedy and an unusually clever plot that keeps it's best surprise until the very end.
Excellent entertainment and ideal for a winter night in or a wet weekend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dirty Rotten Scoundrels [DVD] [1988] [1989]
£3.60
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews