Customer Reviews


67 Reviews
5 star:
 (54)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'When you realise that you wanna spend the rest of your life with someone, you want the rest of your life as soon as possible.'
Some have called 'When Harry met Sally' the greatest chick flick of all time. I disagree; it is certainly better than any chick flick I have ever seen, but it is no chick flick. In fact the film combines all the best elements of books like High Fidelity and Birdget Jones' Diary which both men and women should enjoy.

Among the best scenes for me as a man are...
Published on 28 Mar 2008 by Mr. A. E. Hall

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Wrong Bluray band sent
This Bluray DVD was in good condition with the original plastic wrapping on, and arrived within a couple of days. It would have been perfect but we had chosen it as it said it was Band B, suitable for the UK. It turned out to be Band A. We needed the DVD urgently for a private party cinema viewing so then had to frantically search for another copy (which we found). It was...
Published 22 months ago by EC


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'When you realise that you wanna spend the rest of your life with someone, you want the rest of your life as soon as possible.', 28 Mar 2008
By 
Mr. A. E. Hall "brother_of_sadako" (Liverpool, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: When Harry Met Sally [DVD] [1989] (DVD)
Some have called 'When Harry met Sally' the greatest chick flick of all time. I disagree; it is certainly better than any chick flick I have ever seen, but it is no chick flick. In fact the film combines all the best elements of books like High Fidelity and Birdget Jones' Diary which both men and women should enjoy.

Among the best scenes for me as a man are Harry talking to his best friend at a baseball match, but still going through the motions of the Mexican wave. It's something most women just don't get. And then there is the classic moment when Sally consoles Harry after a bad date by saying that it will probably be ages before either of them are ready to sleep with anyone again to which he replies: 'Oh I went to bed with her!'

It is a great love story and a great comedy, and the segments with old couples telling the story of how they met (based on the real life stories of the crew's families) are brilliant, and will have you look back on when you met your significant other.

The documentary that comes with it is a great look back at the film as well and is the perfect compliment to this timeless classic.

No, this is no chick flick, and yes, women should probably love it, but men should too. Maybe all men need to take a queue from arguably the most famous one liner of all time and 'have what she's having.'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The mother of all romantic comedies, but not a chick flick, 17 July 2005
By 
This review is from: When Harry Met Sally [DVD] [1989] (DVD)
Difficult as it may be to write a review for such a classic, I will do my best. By all means get this DVD, even if you are not a romantic comedies' fan (and just for the record, neither am I). Though some of it may seem cheesy and repetitive do bear in mind that this was among the first films in the genre and the source of many later film plots.
In my opinion this film is a masterpiece, for reasons that would exceed the amount of space at my disposal. Marvellous acting, original characters, plot that spans more than a decade and portrays how the characters change as they mature and come to terms with life and love, just to name a few. If you are among the very few people who still have not seen it do get the DVD, and if you have seen it than you know what I am talking about.
Additional features are not exquisite but still enable you to get a glimpse of this world that I had shelved. Though it is easy to see why the deleted scenes had been removed in the first place, they still give you additional insight into the world of Harry and Sally.
To sum up, good value for your hard earned pay, excellent film for when you are feeling blue. What are you waiting for?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What's not to love?, 24 Jan 2007
By 
Dr G. (Cambridge, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: When Harry Met Sally [DVD] [1989] (DVD)
This is where so much started -- not just most romcoms, but the best of modern TV classics like Friends and Sex and the City, which blend sharp dialogue and relationship angst against a loving depiction of New York. Meg Ryan is at her best here (I think she spent a lot of her career trying with limited success to recapture the edgy charm she nails in this film). Billy Crystal has some hilarious lines which he delivers with characteristic expertise. The chemistry the leads have is matched by the lovely performances turned in by Carrie Fisher and Bruno Kirby as their best friends. And the interspersed interviews with elderly married couples is a stroke of genius.

Yes it's schmaltzy and soppy and sentimental -- but why should that be a bad thing?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Dry Humour, 15 Feb 2006
This review is from: When Harry Met Sally [DVD] [1989] (DVD)
This film is a gem in a world of special effects and mindless screenplays. The sharpness and wit of the writing zing you through the development of the relationship between the characters. The soundtrack is superb and gives the movie a timeless quality.
Too much is made of the scene in the cafe with Meg Ryan screaming her head off. Watching the characters develop from college, through the years where their personalities are changed by their life experiences is one of the joys of this movie. Billy Crystal's performance in his decline into a neurotic hypochondriac is excellent, as is Meg Ryan’s portrayal of a high-maintenance-woman.
If you're after a drama with excellent writing, humour and romance, then this is the movie for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Romantic comedy the way it should be done, 13 Dec 2007
By 
James the King (...under the stairs) - See all my reviews
This review is from: When Harry Met Sally [DVD] [1989] (DVD)
Perhaps the last truly great romantic comedy, 'When Harry Met Sally' has truly stood the test of time.

Most movies made in 1989 are condemned (at least for now) to being little more than kitch memorabilia. The movie world owes Rob Reiner a favour for the fact that his fine film is truly timeless. Part of this is due to the fact that it is set over a fifteen year period. Part of it is due to the fine easy listening score. Most of it is due to a very refined director extracting two brilliant performances from a flawless script and a perfectly cast couple of actors.

Billy Crystal and Meg Ryan are the titular two, and neither have ever been better. The observation of their relationship is utterly convincing and completely engrossing. Beyond this, there are subtleties that neither actor has ever shown before or since. There are moments early in the film where we can see Sally is falling for Harry (for example, her response to Harrty telling her he is pleased she is going on a date with another man) but these moments are never overplayed. The credit for this is due as much to Reiner as it is to Ryan, as it is his pacing of the film that really allows the actors to embrace their characters.

I feel it is worth pointing out here that Reiner's other movies of the time have equally outlasted much of Hollywood's output. 'Satnd By Me', 'This Is Spinal Tap', 'The Princess Bride' and 'Misery' - films that could scarcely be more different in style and tone - all remain bonafide classics. One has to wonder what went wrong...

All things considered, it's hard to think of another film from this era of film-making as satisfying and consistently enjoyable as 'When Harry Met Sally'. The fact that this is a romantic comedy made at the tail end of the worst decade cinema has ever known, is all the more reason to commend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'll have one of them too !!!, 23 Dec 2007
This review is from: When Harry Met Sally [DVD] [1989] (DVD)
"When Harry met Sally" is full of truths about life. It shows us why men and women can't live with each other, but it also shows how much they need each other.

The wisdoms of Harry (Billy Chrystal) have certainly influenced a whole generation. And Sally's (Meg Ryan) faked orgasm in a restaurant is a magic movie moment.

Though I still don't believe Billy's basic message (men and women can't be friends, the sex part always gets in the way), I deeply love this movie for all its unforgettable moments. At least part of this is very real. And that's the reason the film's happy end is so very moving...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You'll laugh, you'll cry, 19 Sep 2007
This review is from: When Harry Met Sally [DVD] [1989] (DVD)
I loved this film but dont tell the Mrs. It's kind of a girlie film but most men, if they're honest, enjoyed it as much (like Pretty Woman).

Billy Crystal and Meg Ryan found that rare on screen chemistry and created a classic for the future. If you haven't seen, go for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A stunning black comedy about how men and women fall in love, 21 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This film is undoutedly one of the greatest American comedies ever made. It offers a unique insight into the minds of men and women - it's an important work and brilliantly funny to boot. Rob Reiner makes a wonderful statement, through the movie, about how men and women can never really be friends because sex always gets in the way. In addition to great direction and a witty script, Billy Crystal andMeg Ryan give the performances of their lives. Crystal plays a pessimistic emotional cripple and Ryan a very high maintenance miss that you can not help but adore. A must see movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Billy Crystal and Meg Ryan - what an explosive combination!, 11 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: When Harry Met Sally [DVD] [1989] (DVD)
This film is my all time favourite and although I know the script word for word it still makes me laugh and cry over and over again.
Billy Crystal and Meg Ryan play the role of Harry and Sally who meet through a mutual friend. They share a car ride and discover that they have a totally different outlook on most areas of life but in particular about platonic friendships between men and women!
They go their separate ways but destiny ensures that their paths meet after many years. This is a truly enchanting film which captures the timeless meaning of love, friendship and the role that destiny plays in our lives!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My favourite film!, 13 April 2006
This review is from: When Harry Met Sally [DVD] [1989] (DVD)
Absolutely brilliant film, makes you cry and laugh, the casting was genius! You've got to watch this movie!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

When Harry Met Sally [DVD] [1989]
When Harry Met Sally [DVD] [1989] by Rob Reiner (DVD - 2001)
4.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews