Customer Reviews


137 Reviews
5 star:
 (109)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best of the 90's with a wonderful steelbook casing
Pictures probably at their best, wondelful steelbook case, a classic, Blu-ray gives it new visibility, new details, and still the same magnetism.
Published 13 months ago by Artemus n'H

versus
63 of 65 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Amazing film - awful transfer
`The Silence of the Lambs' is the classic 1990 film based on the novel by Thomas Harris. Trainee FBI agent Clarice Starling (Jodie Foster) is asked to interview a cannibalistic killer named Hannibal Lector (Anthony Hopkins) and ask for his knowledge on profiling to help the FBI to find a vicious serial killer known as Buffalo Bill (Ted Levine).

This has always...
Published on 11 May 2009 by Dr Evil


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

63 of 65 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Amazing film - awful transfer, 11 May 2009
By 
Dr Evil (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
`The Silence of the Lambs' is the classic 1990 film based on the novel by Thomas Harris. Trainee FBI agent Clarice Starling (Jodie Foster) is asked to interview a cannibalistic killer named Hannibal Lector (Anthony Hopkins) and ask for his knowledge on profiling to help the FBI to find a vicious serial killer known as Buffalo Bill (Ted Levine).

This has always been one of my favourite films of all time - everything about it is first class. It's without a doubt one of the creepiest, most exciting and suspenseful thrillers that I have ever seen and still stand the test of time nearly 20 years later. The presentation and setting is dark, dirty and gritty, giving it the seedy feel that the book gave me, the script is nearly spot-on to the book too with not much left out (something that is rare with adaptations) and the acting from the whole cast is performed perfectly to their counterparts from the amazing novel, making this one of the best book-to-film adaptations ever. So as you can imagine, when I heard that this was coming to Blu Ray I couldn't wait to get hold of it and watch it in high def.

Well I watched it last night and I'm sad to report that the transfer to high definition was not really worth me re-buying this and "upgrading" it to Blu Ray. The picture quality was pretty bad with a very grainy look to it throughout the whole movie. In the darker scenes it looked as if there were white dots on the black areas of the screen and the rest just looked incredibly dark. I actually compared it to my DVD copy straight afterwards and I was shocked to see that the DVD version actually looked better than the Blu Ray transfer! The sound however was noticeably better.

Overall this is one of the best films ever that I strongly recommend seeing but if you already have it on DVD you should definitely not buy this version as it would be a real waste of money.

MOVIE - 5/5
PICTURE - 2.5/5
SOUND - 5/5
OVERALL - 3/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best of the 90's with a wonderful steelbook casing, 17 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Pictures probably at their best, wondelful steelbook case, a classic, Blu-ray gives it new visibility, new details, and still the same magnetism.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How all thrillers should be., 6 Sep 2007
You've heard of this film, it's been so parodied and referenced over the years since it's release that it's become firmly embedded in the public consciousness. The reason for this? It's absolutely fantastic. It's one of the few films I haven't a bad word to say about, it's pretty damn near perfect.
The story follows a young FBI trainee Clarice Starling (Foster) who's sent to interview an imprisoned serial killer, the now world-famous Hannibal Lecter (Hopkins). The interview coincides with the continuing activity of another very different killer, Buffalo Bill, and of course the two plot lines quickly become one as Lecter offers to use his undoubted psychological genius to aid the police in exchange for improving his circumstances of imprisonment.
Hopkins as Lecter is only on screen for about twenty minutes totaled up and yet he gives such a stunning performance that his presence is felt throughout the film. He is at once charismatic, dangerous, electrifying, creepy, hypnotic, menacing and deeply disturbing. The first time he stares into the camera you feel like he's staring into your very soul, and for Starling he is. He's behind glass and yet Hopkins manages to instill such a sense of danger to him that he seems infinitely more terrifying than Buffalo Bill - where Bill is deranged, confused and emotionally volatile, Lecter is cold, intelligent, darkly empathetic, and completely detached from that most basic drive that prevents us killing. That Lecter clearly has his own strict moral code based on manners and politeness makes him even more frightening.
Foster as Starling delivers a career best performance, perfectly realizing the character as both strong but vulnerable, sensitive but determined, by no means the 2D female lead the film would have produced in almost any other actress. We feel for Starling, we want her to succeed, we feel afraid for her as she becomes dangerously close to Lecter. Foster really has to drive this film, Hopkins makes us afraid but Foster has to make us care, which she achieves easily. Her performance is often overlooked in this film because of Hopkins, but they both won Oscars for their roles and both were well deserved, two of the greatest performances on film to date.
The directing by Jonathan Demme is superb, forcing his audience into every scene by keeping face-on to the dialog and way too close to the action for comfort so we feel like we're there without the need for shaky-hand-held-documentary-style work that works well in some films (e.g. the Bourne Franchise) but would have ruined this. This film is not rugged, it's precise. It's not about random violence, it's about calculated horror.
In conclusion this is an incredible film with stunning performances, intense atmosphere, perfectly calculated directing, and one of the best constructed and driven plots in cinema history. Buy it now, it doesn't matter which edition, just get your hands on this film and prepare to be blown away. Good? It's Perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars after all this time , the same as the DVD , just a little better picture and sound, 14 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Yes I have this on DVD with the same features as on Blue ray , and after multiple DVD releases and now Blue ray , they cannot get round to new interviews and commentaries ? That is disappointing as all the other films in this series have commentaries from Hannibal , Hannibal rising to red dragon .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Without doubt one of the greatest films ever., 6 Oct 2013
By 
There is so much excellence in this film it's difficult to know where to begin.

Even the props used in every scene were outstanding:the sparsely furnished prison cell with Lecter's scribblings,the objects partly hidden in the lock-up discovered by Starling and revealed by torchlight.

Credit also to Ted Tally,the screenwriter,who successfully converted and compressed Thomas Harris's detailed essay into something that could be made on film with director Jonathan Demme.

And of course the actors:Hopkins,Foster,Levine('Buffalo Bill'),Glenn et.al.

Superb and never dulls the appetite when watching again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic film, 11 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This will sound odd, but my daughter plays this DVD when she has trouble sleeping! She finds it better than sleeping pills.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 9 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Steelbook- Brings an old classic back to life. Lovee steel books Not enough films are offered in the form. Would like to see Hannibal and Red Dragon offered in steel book - blu ray format
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars was a great film, 3 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
was a great film, didnt scare me as I thought it would have, made me chuckle at some parts :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The ultimate thriller, 17 April 2009
There can't be many who haven't seen this award winning epic.

At last the FBI have, the frightening, brilliant, dangerous, homicidal maniac Dr Haniball Lector caged in a top security prison, never to be released. However, another serial killer is on the loose, who is also not satisfied with just killing his victims. Named 'Buffalo Bill' (you will see why|) by the FBI, investigations are getting nowhere. With the ever increasing body count, the FBI in despiration turn to the advice of Dr Lector. But at what price?

So, this is the story line. Antony Hopkins is brilliant in the lead role and very frightening even when caged. You can feel the electric atmosphere, as he plays mind games, when interviewed by FBI Agent, Jodie Foster. Although in a very different way, Buffalo Bill is also a frightening individual.

The film is exciting, chilling and at times graphic, but without overstepping the mark. The film concludes with a brilliantly exciting edge of your seat climax, and then probably the best 'one liner' of all time.

It is a measure of this film that the makers decided to remake 'Red Dragon', with Hopkins playing the Hanibal Lector role instead of Brian Cox.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Overated but still a great film, 9 Sep 2008
Silence of the Lambs is a really good film but it is overated. I can't believe that it has all the attention it gets. Don't get me wrong, it is a very good film but I have seen better.
The performances by Anthony Hopkins, Jodie Foster and Ted Levine are top notch, with Hopkins as the brilliant Dr Hannibal Lecter.

Brilliant story but the time it takes to get to the point may put some viewers off. Also, this DVD has no special features despite what the Amazon description says, so if you want extras, buy the 2 disc version, but for the film alone, get this version.

Great film but slightly overated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Silence Of The Lambs [VHS] [1991]
The Silence Of The Lambs [VHS] [1991] by Jonathan Demme (VHS Tape - 2001)
0.01
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews