Customer Reviews


88 Reviews
5 star:
 (50)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars All rise in the presence of Dark Helmet!
Before I begin explaining what makes Spaceballs great I feel there is a need for a disclaimer: if you don't like sci-fi TV shows and films (especially Star Wars) the chances are that half the jokes will be lost on you. Furthermore, it should be noted from the start that Mel Brooks's humour really is an aquired taste - and whether you will enjoy this film really does seem...
Published on 30 Dec 2003 by Marrissey

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Funny Parody
Spaceballs is just a comedy parody of George Lucas' Star Wars, with John Candy as half dog half man, and Bill Pullman as Lone Star. They're the slackers of the universe, and really hate Spaceballs, ran by Dark Helmet (Rick Moranis from CHIPS), they want air and they want it now, so they kidnap a princess. Lone Star wants the princess so he can get some Spacebucks to pay...
Published on 12 Jan 2010 by DL Productions UK


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars All rise in the presence of Dark Helmet!, 30 Dec 2003
This review is from: Spaceballs [DVD] [1987] (DVD)
Before I begin explaining what makes Spaceballs great I feel there is a need for a disclaimer: if you don't like sci-fi TV shows and films (especially Star Wars) the chances are that half the jokes will be lost on you. Furthermore, it should be noted from the start that Mel Brooks's humour really is an aquired taste - and whether you will enjoy this film really does seem to pivot on whether you will enjoy the ridiculos and silly in a film or not, since most of the comedy arrises from the fantastic, silly plays on words or simply slapstick.
All this perhaps sounds somewhat juvenile, but it is the slickness of performance (especially the fantastic Rick Moranis as Dark Helmet) and the sheer wit of Brooks that makes this film so much more than it should be. Dark Helmet himself is a hilarious parody of Darth Vader, the humour being conjured by the conflict of Helmet's nerdy interior with helmet up to his harsh Vader-like act with his helmet on, further helped by his hilarious voice as Vader. Indead Moranis's Helmet plays fantastically well off George Wyner's Colonel Sandurz who supplies the straight man to the absurd Moranis, perfectly mimicking the sci-fi number 2.
While of course a spoof movie in itself will hardly appeal to all, especially those not too fond of sci-fi, Spaceballs is probably the best around of its genre and, while it doesn't offer the variety of movie references for a film buff that Hot Shots might, Brooks's clever ideas and scenarios more than make up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "OH S**T THERE GOES THE PLANET", 22 Mar 2012
By 
Paul J. Jackson (UK , Newcastle) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
First of all what can you say about this film, its hilarious from start to finish, if you have never seen this film before you are in for a treat, Directed by the King of Parody MEL BROOKS.. It stands up STAR WARS, STAR TREK, ALIEN, PLANET OF THE APES..Starring Bill Pullman as Lone Starr & the late great John Candy as his faithfull sidekick Barf a half Man/ half Dog, take on Rick Moranis (Dark Helmet) & his army of SPACEBALLS to rescue the beautiful Druish Princess Vespa & to pay back the gooey Pizza the Hutt, Also a little creature named Yogurt teaches Lone Starr the ways of the SCHWARTZ ! "SO MAY THE FARCE BE WITH YOU" The Blu Ray is excellent hardly any grain visible from a 25 year old film ,DTS sound...A true comedy CLASSIC from the late 80's. "GO NOW & BUY ITS A BARGAIN !"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars may da schwartz be with you!!!!!!!!!!!!!!, 27 Jan 2006
one of mel brooks greatest movies. it is starwars , startrek , flash gordon. every sci-fi movie ever rolled into one with great characters including yougurt , barf , lonestar and dark helmet. it has the occasional swearing but it only adds to the humor if you havent seen this movie you havent lived. filled with many jewish puns every one will personaly wet themselves. "it is like the temple of doom" "well it sure isn't the temple beth din"! buy it today you wont regret it may the schwartz be with you !!!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "May the Schwartz be with you!", 15 July 2012
By 
R. J. Browning (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
First of, I'm not going to review the film here as, needless to say, it's an absolute classic with so much to enjoy! I just wanted to post this review to provide some more details about the extras on the disc, as the packaging itself is vague at best;

- Spaceballs: The Documentary (2003; 30mins) Cast and crew look back on the making of the film.

- In Conversation with Mel Brooks & Thomas Meehan (2005; 20mins) A chat between the film's writers about the genesis and making of the film.

- John Candy: Comic Spirit (2003; 10mins) An affectionate and moving look back on the legend that was John Candy, with contributions from the cast and crew of Spaceballs.

- Film Flubs (2009) Not entirely sure what real purpose these serve, but these are 6x10 second-ish pieces highlighting mistakes made in the film; talk about spoiling the illusion!

- Storyboards-to-film Comparison (approx 7 mins) - Looks at 3 or 4 scenes in the film and compares them with the orignal storyboard designs.

- Watch the movie in Ludicrous Speed - If time is short then you can watch the film in just 30 seconds at ludicrous speed: just make sure you fasten your seatbelt!

- Commentary with Mel Brooks
- Still Galleries
- Theatrical Trailers

So a decent amount of extra content on the disc to be fair. And the picture quality on the bluray is also good; i'm not sure if the film's undergone any restoration work or a new transfer was made for this release, but it stands up well for an 80's movie. Overall, a great package and an excellent film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Funny Parody, 12 Jan 2010
By 
DL Productions UK (Merseyside, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Spaceballs is just a comedy parody of George Lucas' Star Wars, with John Candy as half dog half man, and Bill Pullman as Lone Star. They're the slackers of the universe, and really hate Spaceballs, ran by Dark Helmet (Rick Moranis from CHIPS), they want air and they want it now, so they kidnap a princess. Lone Star wants the princess so he can get some Spacebucks to pay off his bill, but who will win this crazy war?

This film is very funny and there are plenty of parody moments, as well as cheap jokes aimed at the industry at the time, like Dark Helmet watching himself on the video ("look it's out before we even made it!") and the bit where the screen goes black as he's pressed the wrong button.

John Candy (the reason why I watched it in the first place) is really good in this and funny - but this isn't his best flick, that accolade still goes to Planes, Trains & Automobiles, which is still very funny and has a lot of go-back-to factor about it. Bill and Rick are also very good in this, but the star of the film for me was Joan Rivers as Dot Matrix, the princess' guardian.

Well worth watching - it isn't looking too aged yet, and it's funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic, even better than the real thing, 2 May 2006
By 
M. O. HAYNES "couch magpie" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Spaceballs [DVD] [1987] (DVD)
This film is a must-see for any sci-fi fan who needs a serious reality check. In lampooning Star Wars it actually makes you realise how silly the original film was in the first place. Chewbacca really is just a big dog, Darth Vader does appear to have serious breathing difficulties inside that helmet and didn't the whole thing turn into one big marketting machine for dolls, lunchboxes, duvet covers etc. etc.

The scene where they view a copy of the film to see what is going to happen in the future is a piece of comedy genius.

I am a really big Star Wars and Babylon 5 fan but you have to have a laugh at how silly these things really are. If you liked this film try 'Galaxy Quest' too - it's not as funny but again mocks the likes of Star Trek.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant spoof!, 26 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've seen this film in the early 90s, shortly after the original Star Wars Trilogy and it was blowed my mind!

A masterful mocking of the sci-fi genre, all Star Wars and Star Trek sci-fi fans must own it.

This blu-ray release comes with brilliant picture&sound (also includes my native language (hungarian), and humorous and interesting extras about making the movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love it!, 9 Dec 2013
By 
Santiago Benitez Buitrago (Sevilla, España) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I couldn't find it in Spain, so I'm very glad this edition has the Castilian Spanish audio, so we can watch it here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Because good is dumb, 25 Aug 2011
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Spaceballs [DVD] [1987] (DVD)
Mel Brooks had already parodied everything else -- westerns, Hitchcock films, spies, silent movies -- by the time he got to science fiction. The result: "Spaceballs," a painfully punny and deliriously wacky little spoof of Star Wars. It's probably Brooks' goofiest movie (it has a character called BARF!), but it's still loads of fun.

The Spaceballs -- led by Colonel Sandurz (George Wyner) and Dark Helmet (Rick Moranis) -- are planning to steal all of the peaceful planet Druidia's air. So they try to capture Princess Vespa (Daphne Zuniga), who has just run away from an arranged marriage to a narcoleptic prince (along with her faithful droid Dot Matrix). Their plan: blackmail the king into turning off the Air Shield, allowing them to suck away the atmosphere!

But the princess and Dot are rescued by the rakish mercenary Lone Star (Bill Pullman) and his faithful mog, Barf (John Candy). The unlikely little group soon finds themselves on the sandy planet of Vega, where Lone Star begins to learn about the mystical Schwartz from the merchandising know-it-all Yogurt. But is his Schwartz enough to defeat Dark Helmet's?

For the record, this is the least subtle movie Mel Brooks has made. I mean, he's never been a subtle director to begin with, but this movie has so many puns that you can literally see them coming a mile away -- when the President of the Spaceballs starts yelling that he wants them to comb the desert, you know exactly what you'll be seeing in two seconds.

And it's pretty darn funny. Brooks takes hilarious pokes at "Star Wars," "Star Trek," "Aliens" ("Oh no... not again!") and "Planet of the Apes," and there are plenty of fun in-jokes that reflect it (the transporter accident that causes the president to end up, um, facing the wrong way). It does have a few comedy scenes that fall flat, such as when Helmet and Sandurz watch a videotape of, um, their own movie.

Brooks also has plenty of fun with the constant merchandising jokes, and he... well, "breaking the fourth wall" is too gentle a term. Smashing the wall to pieces and dancing on its remains would be more descriptive ("God willing, we'll all meet again in Spaceballs 2: The Search for More Money").

You pretty much know what to expect with the characters -- a Han Solo/Luke Skywalker amalgam, the rogue with a heart of gold and a mysterious past; the feisty (whiny) princess ("Ith her oyal igness' atched uggage!"); the annoying droid, and the shaggy sidekick, as well as slapsticky characters like Yogurt and Pizza the Hut. And of course, the villains -- Brooks has a smallish role as a frustrated president, and Moranis is loads of fun as a dweeby supervillain who still plays with dolls.

"Spaceballs" isn't Brooks' best work, but it is a hilariously goofy sci-fi farce that deserves plenty of watching. Use the Schwartz!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rick Moranis made this film funny, 2 Jan 2011
This review is from: Spaceballs [DVD] [1987] (DVD)
Normally I find sci-fi films boring but this film spaceballs is brilliant. I really liked Rick Moranis part because in his films he never plays a villain and I think he played his character well. Mel Brooks is a fantastic comedy writer and his film's never let me down. John Candy's character Barf the dog was funny. This film should appeal to anyone with a great sense of humour. Spaceballs is a 10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Spaceballs [DVD] [1987]
Spaceballs [DVD] [1987] by Mel Brooks (DVD - 2001)
£5.68
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews