Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Underrated
The main problem with this album is that it has too many tracks - if I were issuing it I'd have left half a dozen of them out (some are off-key, some are game but, ultimately, lame efforts), which would have left us with (in my opinion) 45 minutes of back-to-back quality. It has the feel of a live show, which after all is what Iggy's all about. He even saves the best for...
Published 18 months ago by Mr. Mw Arnold

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars where are the songs?
Iggy's made some of my favourite records in his time, and this is superficially a pretty blasting modern hard rock album. But, as with most latterday Iggy records including the lacklustre Stooges reunion album, the lyrics just aren't very inspired, and nor are the tunes. Most songs sound like the musicians lost interest after about 20 seconds and the often impressive...
Published on 7 Nov 2007 by freewheeling frankie


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars where are the songs?, 7 Nov 2007
By 
freewheeling frankie (north London, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Beat 'Em Up (Audio CD)
Iggy's made some of my favourite records in his time, and this is superficially a pretty blasting modern hard rock album. But, as with most latterday Iggy records including the lacklustre Stooges reunion album, the lyrics just aren't very inspired, and nor are the tunes. Most songs sound like the musicians lost interest after about 20 seconds and the often impressive intros are let down by the rest of the song just going through the motions and failing to do anything interesting. One or two of the hard rock songs are good enough to stand out slightly among the anonymity, and Iggy is in decent voice throughout, but the real standout, and the only track I'd want to hear again, is the deeply cynical but very funny monologue "V.I.P.", wherein he describes what it's like to be a celeb and get the best table in a restaurant when it's already fully booked, etc. etc.
Not his worst album (I'd nominate the very dull "Instinct" for that indignity) but you'd have to be pretty completist to buy this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars IGGY AT HIS ANGRIEST, 20 Feb 2012
By 
J. McCarraher "HAYLING BOOK & MUSIC VENUE" (Hayling Island) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Beat 'Em Up (Audio CD)
The heading to this review alludes to the lyrical content and fury of the music on this release.

It is a curious album, driven by pounding drums and a heavy, thrashing guitar sound.

This is not one of his better albums and lacks a lot of the thought that went into earlier recordings. Some of the songs stand up reasonably well but the odd track, notably VIP is just awful.

It seems as if he needed a bl**dy good rant about life and this album served as a perfect vehicle for offloading a load of baggage.

Not a bad album but not a great mone either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Rock Out Iggy CD!, 20 Jun 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Beat 'Em Up (Audio CD)
On the first cursory listen, I didn't think this album was going to be all that great. However a proper listening revealed it to be a great rock out Iggy CD. Regular guitarist/collaborator Whitey Kirst provides good guitar riffing/noise and Iggy has truckloads of attitude. It's not the best example of his songwriting abilities and isn't likely to win over any new converts, but that's not really the point here, is it? As far as angry sonic rock assault goes, Iggy remains the genuine article. Although previous album "Avenue B" had some good songs and got some acclaim, it's good to see that Iggy isn't afraid to rock out again. It's not a better album than "Avenue B" by any means and is less adventurous but if you prefer crank it up Iggy to mellow reflective Iggy, it's a solid album. "Beat Em Up" also contains a hidden track and is dedicated to the bass player who was sadly a victim of a drive by shooting last year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Underrated, 27 Sep 2012
By 
Mr. Mw Arnold "A Young Romantic" (Guildford, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Beat 'Em Up (Audio CD)
The main problem with this album is that it has too many tracks - if I were issuing it I'd have left half a dozen of them out (some are off-key, some are game but, ultimately, lame efforts), which would have left us with (in my opinion) 45 minutes of back-to-back quality. It has the feel of a live show, which after all is what Iggy's all about. He even saves the best for last - if 'Ugliness' doesn't get the juices flowing then what possibly could? True, as another reviewer pointed out, this LP won't convert any newcomers, but it's the most vital and energized (yes, often the energy is negative!) piece of studio work that Iggy's produced in over two decades. Every time I return to it I'm surprised by the sheer LIFE in this recording.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Cool!, 26 July 2009
By 
D. L. Wilkinson "Dean" (London,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beat 'Em Up (Audio CD)
I like this album.It has a comtemporary hard garage rock sound but still has Iggy and his base level primitivism running through it.
If you like 'rock Iggy' it's good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars His best in years!, 19 Jun 2001
This review is from: Beat 'Em Up (Audio CD)
Beat 'Em Up is the best Pop album since 1990's 'Brick By Brick'. If it wasn't for the rather unfortunate 'VIP', it'd be a classic. As it is, the album is just great, but remember - even a poor Iggy Pop album is better than a first rate album by just about anyone else.
So what are you waiting for? Buy it now...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa5be3588)

This product

Beat 'Em Up
Beat 'Em Up by Iggy Pop (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews