Customer Reviews


273 Reviews
5 star:
 (219)
4 star:
 (34)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One to smile in the rain to!
Quite simply, I love this album to pieces. As someone who never owned a Muse record until the New Born single was released, I can't claim to be a critically informed reviewer; all I CAN say is that if you liked the 2 singles (as well as forthcoming single Bliss) then get the album because it's ALL like that. There seriously isn't a bad track; it's just a continuous swirl...
Published on 29 July 2001

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars get showbiz instead
Had this for a while yet i still find myself much prefering the more indieness of 'showbiz'. Despite this 'origin of symmetry' has some cracking tracks but you soon get bored and just wish the lead singer would take a break from 'screeching' all the time.
Still good though, just not as good as 'showbiz'
Published on 16 Jan 2002


‹ Previous | 1 2 328 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

46 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "To sounds like forks scratched on a plate...", 17 Aug 2001
By 
This review is from: Origin Of Symmetry (Audio CD)
Forget their debut album, and the incessant comparisons with Radiohead (although I don't think they were that similar), this album will blow you away, and probably your entire house. Almost every track is an excellent example of how to mix classical influence with all-out rock.
From the maniacally fearsome opener New Born there's little breathing space as each track emerges from its lair of feedback to assault your senses. Bliss, the new single gives way to the organised chaos of Space Dementia, a mammoth piece which threatens to 'destroy this world'. And after hearing it, it's easy to see why. Then comes the defiant Hyper Music, returning to the intense riffing of the opening track and adding some excited bass. Soon after is Plug In Baby, with it's tense riff and bouncing bassline, the introduction of which has to be heard live to be fully appreciated. Then, Muse define the word 'epic' with Citizen Erased, a 7+ minute opus which still can't prepare you for the rending apocalyptic scream of Micro Cuts. A track which would probably beat Space Dementia's boast and destroy the whole universe; a musical black hole perhaps...
Then things calm down a little with Screenager, brimming with claustrophobic angst, but soon pick up with Darkshines' confused atmospheric rock. Feeling Good, the Nina Simone cover, manages to retain the sexiness of the original while giving it that triumphant edge Muse manage so well on this CD. To finish things off, the grand, deliciously overblown Megalomania with its church organ just about sums up what this album is about and provides what can easily be put into the 'finale' drawer.
I don't think I've heard any album quite so desperate to escape from the CD and start an interplanetary war, but then its to Matt Bellamy, Chris Wolstenholme and Dom Howard's credit that that's what they've made. A fully deserved five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Origin of Symmetry, 13 Aug 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Origin Of Symmetry (Audio CD)
Origin of Symmetry is one of the best albums i have heard for a long time.It combines catchy riffs with outstanding vocal ability and alot of musical talent, and the result is spectacular. It starts off with new born,a brilliant song, perfect for introducing muse's sound to first time listeners. When you delve deeper in the album, you discover some brilliant tunes, such as the explosive hypermusic, the jerky Plug in Baby, the mix and match manner of Citizen erased(the best song in my opinion)and the dark(appropriatly titled)dark shines.Unfortunatly, Screenager is the only low point on the album(for me anyway)slowing the pace of such a spectacular album. The cover of Nina Simones 'Feeling good'is wonderfully done, and does indeed make you feel good, and megalomania is a grand climax towards the end, finihing off the album beautifully. This mix of songs sets them apart from every1 else, including Radiohead, who they have been compared to constantly since the release of showbiz.You must own this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A PURE ROCK MASTERPEICE, 22 Jan 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Origin Of Symmetry (Audio CD)
After being impressed with Muse's first album- Showbiz I eagerly awaited the release of Origion of Symmetry. I heard Plug in baby before the albums release and thought 'whoa what if the rest is this good!' I wasn't disappointed. the gentle opening to New Born sends shivers down your spine and then Matt Bellamy's vocals merge into the song, then a building crescendo as the album takes off!! Every song is beautifully crafted with strong lyrics and earth shaking powerful guitar. The various guitar screeches seem to be controlled beyond belief. The things Bellamy achieves with wild energetic riffs are astounding! My personal pick is Citizen erased, the sound builds and builds until the music becomes a multitude of layered tunes then moves into a calm valley of the song before growing again! You won't expect how loud this album can get! The album as a whole is terrific from start to finish and will appeal to u whether it's your thing or not. Simply: YOU MUST OWN THIS. If it knocks u over as it did to me then i'd also recomend Showbiz. The sound isn't as honed as on Origin of Symmetry but the first steps are there. The Devon trio can save British music from the increase in manufactured pop bands and this album is how they begin to do it BUY IT NOW!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If it's third time lucky, second time was pretty damn good!, 21 Nov 2002
By 
Mr. Stephen J. Torpey (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Origin Of Symmetry (Audio CD)
Upon hearing Muse's first album, 'Showbiz', I decided that I would purchase 'Origin of Symmetry'. Admittedly I believed that nothing was able to live up to the first album, but it was worth a try nonetheless. I must say now that I was wrong.
The first song, suitably named 'New Born', begins with a simple but nice piano piece. Matt Bellamy's vocals mix in. From nowhere, a loud guitar riff bursts in, leading to the rest of the song containing brilliant guitar work and a strange, accordion-like ending.
'Bliss' is the second piece on the CD, and is a well-chosen follow-up to 'New Born'. Piano and keyboard arpeggios lead to a chorus with gut-wrenching vocals and brilliant use of chords. The music really reflects the song's lyrics and leaves you holding your breath at the end.
The next song, 'Space Dementia' takes a few listens to get used to. Once heard several times, you can begin to appreciate the fantastic piano playing and helium-filled vocals.
Fourth up is 'Hyper Music'. As the name suggests, it is satisfyingly chaotic. The demonic bass line pounds all the way through, fed by ripping vocals. Much like their earlier material. You get a feeling of absolute power surging out of your hi-fi and through your body.
Next in line is the acclaimed 'Plug In Baby'. Although I never used to think much of it, it dawned on me how musically fantastic the song is, especially the famous guitar solo and perfect ending vocals. Despite its popularity, I believe that it is not the best song on the album.
'Citizen Erased' has a mood of change to it. Constantly mutating into different styles throughout, it keeps you on your toes. Some of the best drum work I have heard in a long time. From the middle to the end, it turns into a symphonic-style peaceful tune.
My all-time favourite, 'Micro Cuts' is deep, dark and disturbing. Almost operatic vocally and with sinister guitar pieces. Gradually, it spirals into angst-ridden hard rock, but without the vocals. Worth buying the album for this song only.
'Screenager', like 'Space Dementia', takes a lot of listening to get used to. Interesting guitar work and an absolutely beautiful blend of keyboard and vocals. The most disturbing lyrics on the album lie here, but also he gentlest vocals.
Next is 'Dark Shines' with its Egyptian-style guitar solos all the way through, and static-like, noisy chorus. This is probably the song I liked least, but nevertheless I liked it very much. Do I also hear a melotron or similar instrument in the chorus?
The penultimate song is a fantastic cover of 'Feeling Good' written by Bricusse/Newley, but with Muse's own style. You can hear the jazzy rhythms and blues scales determinedly screaming out over the rest of the song. 'Feeling Good' proves how Muse are so good at taking on any style they feel like better than the other songs.
Finally, we arrive at 'Megalomania'. Quiet intro and verse build up the feeling, and suddenly a loud, juicy organ piece and soaring vocals all kick in. One more verse and then another, final chorus with equally breathtaking backing vocals. Dark as ever, Muse end on a song like this, to keep the ambience the CD creates alive afterwards.
To conclude, I would like to say that THIS is rock. People who own Slipknot, Mushroomhead and Blink 182 records must realise this.
However, I find it frustrating when people tell me that they like Muse, but they can't fully appreciate Muse's potential. It is damn near impossible to create music like this; not just performing it, but writing it too. Anyone with music knowledge should be able to see the talent Bellamy, Howard and Wolstenholme have, and appreciate it fully.
I cannot wait to hear Muse's next album (aside from Hullabaloo, a collection of b-sides and a live concert). The three young men have a bright future ahead of them, and I think that all rock bands should be influenced and guided by Muse... I was.
Never were proud to be British? Now you should be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Triumph of a Second album, 31 Dec 2004
By 
T. Mansell "Mansellto" (Surrey, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Origin of Symmetry (Audio CD)
Second albums, so often the downfall of a fledgling band with 'potential'. Not here. After the moderate success of 'Showbiz', it might have been tempting to try and replicate what people liked about there debut LP, but with Origin of Symmetry Muse have really moved on to where they should have been with their debut.
The first thing to note is the production, somewhat uninspiring on Showbiz (betraying the quality of some of the songs - see them live if you want proof), Origin is a truly fulfilling album. No longer being produced to sound like 'The Bends', Origin has the gain turned up high in an explosion of rock riffs and distorted guitars. 'New Born' is a fantastic opening track that threatens to set too high a bench mark for the rest of the album, but not so. Other stand out tracks are Plug in Baby (featuring a riff that will surely be remembered alongside rocks greatest), Citizen Erased (a brilliantly diverse track that is so fluid that you don't realise its been playing for over 7 minutes)and Micro Cuts (an aquired taste maybe, but Matt Bellamy's vocals are truly mesmerizing as they get stronger with the zeniths of each falsetto chorus and a dirty riff to finish).
The song writing (as is true of all of Muse's albums) is not what makes these tracks work - the musicianship on this album is of real high standard. And don't be fooled by anyone that tells you that Muse is the Matt Bellamy show - Dom Howard on drums and bassist Chris Wolstenholme truly shine in this three piece that is definately more than the sum of its parts.
This one is definatelty recommended. One for riff-lovers and rock listeners that want to hear something not just original but unique.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GGRREEAAAAATTTT, 30 Mar 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Origin Of Symmetry (Audio CD)
I think that this is one of the finest albums to come out of Britain - or anywhere else in the world for that matter - for years and years. Muse are a brilliant band, combining a really diverse load of influences to give realy thick and textured music worthy of the finest composers. Matt Bellamy's vocal range is absolutely astounding and gives a unique quality to all the tracks on the album - and most other things he sings on too. Probably the standout tracks are Plug in Baby and Hyper Music, and perhaps Citizen Erased, but basically i is all pretty fantastic stuff - with the sad exception of Darkshines, which fails to fit in to the album at all, although in its self is not that bad. The album is perhaps not for every one, but the more thoughtful rock fans out there who like music they can really involve themelves in should definately, definately get this. I love Muse!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Astounding!, 10 Nov 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Origin Of Symmetry (Audio CD)
Passion, venom, tenderness - it's all here on the album of the year! This is the album that got me excited about rock music again - just when I thought any originality in rock had died out with the 'grunge' movement, Muse blast through my speakers and leave me pleasantly stunned. Searing guitars and pounding drums with vocals that are nothing short of exquisite. Operatic in scale, as accesible as pop but most definitely ROCK. This is a must-buy for any music fan. Superb!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unbelievable - A Masterpiece, 31 Jan 2008
By 
C. Boyce (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Origin of Symmetry (Audio CD)
Are you a Muse Fan? If you're thinking of buying this album then you are either a Muse fanatic already, or you will be very soon, and if you haven't heard any of these songs already then I envy you - you are in for one crazy audio thrill-ride.
What's so great about this album is it's originality - it takes our usual idea of what rock music is and turns it on its head, electrocutes it, sticks it in a blender and then stuffs it down your throat, much to your masochistic glee. The music is dark, vicious and incredibly addictive, and by the time you've heard Bliss, with its ethereal arpeggios and super high voltage riffs, you will be hooked to the end. It's super badass.
Pretty much every song is unbelievable in its own right. Muse pull no stops when it comes to rocking out, and I recommend that you check out their live performances of these songs as well (they've won best live act at countless award ceremonies for a good reason). Plug In Baby is easily one of the greatest songs of all time. I remember seeing the video for it and I just couldn't belive it! It blew my mind. Citizen Erased, Newborn and Space Dementia are also fantastic. Muse even did a cover of Feeling Good by Nina Simone, and it's insane.
Its hard to believe that this is a three piece set (lead singer Matt Bellamy completely outdoes himself with amazing super high falsetto vocals, incredible guitar work and outstanding piano sections that seamlessly blend into every song). Chris Wolstenhome provides some of the craziest bass playing ever recorded, and Dominic Howard is sensational on drums. By the time you finish listening you will probably flick back to the start of Newborn and listen to it all over again, it really is that good.
Unmissable. You must buy this album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A work of monumental significance, 17 Sep 2003
By 
This review is from: Origin Of Symmetry (Audio CD)
Dismissed, somehwat bizarrely, as Radiohead clones on the release of their debut album, Muse's sophomore effort is a monumental piece of work. THose Radiohead comparisons (made universally by the music press after the release of 'Muscle Museum' as a single - even though it sounds nothing like Radiohead really) are truly banished by the immense intro riff to 'New Born'. If Radiohead wrote anything like this their record company would throw a fit.
The whole album veers back and forth between the angular, heavy riffage of the aforementioned 'New Born', 'Micro Cuts' and 'Hyper Music' and the breathtaking emo-metal of 'Bliss', 'Plug In Baby' and 'Darkshines'. There's even a superb cover of the old Nina Simone standard 'Feeling Good'.
Despite being immediately accessible, 'Origin Of Symmetry' has pulled off the neat trick of remaining one of my favourite albums two years after its release. Part of this is due to two incredible tracks: 'Citizen Erased' and 'Megalomania'.
The latter track is a bizzare cross between Queen's 'Who Wants To Live Forever' and Faith No More's 'Jizzlobber' - Huge organ riffs looming huge in the background throughout as Bellamy screams over the top (figuratively and literally speaking) 'Paradise Comes At A Price'. I know, written down it sounds terrible but I swear when you listen to it it's fantastic.
Even better is 'Citizen Erased'. It starts off with a mammoth riff, downtuned to B with the guitars seemingly played through a bass amp. Honestly, I have some pretty diverse music tastes, but I have to admit that even I was blown away by the heaviness of the riff. A fantastic, catchy chorus gives way to a magnificently OTT guitar solo before the piece de resistance - a two minute outro which is possibly the most beautiful piece of music ever written.
Matt Bellamy's singing can take a little getting used to - Jeff Buckley is an obvious reference point - and the guitar riffs are often eerily reminiscent of early Rage Against The Machine, but as neither of these would be considered particularly bad influences by any sane person it isn't that much of a problem.
Well worth a listen!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is the most brilliant CD I've heard in years, 11 Jan 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Origin Of Symmetry (Audio CD)
I just want to say I'm 47 and so no doubt an unexpected reviewer of this CD, but it absolutely blew me away so I want to tell everyone to go out and buy it because it's the most brilliant new music I've heard in YEARS. I'm deeply addicted to this CD - it's all I listen to as everything else just pales in comparison. Matt Bellamy's exquisite falsetto (gothic castrato is a term that springs to mind), with roiling drums, dirty guitar and delicate piano combine to create music that chills the spine, hypnotises and exhilarates all at the same time. It's an emotional rollercoaster of a CD, wildly over the top but magically so. By the time the Hammer House of Horror organ on Megalomania fades, the only thing you'll want to do is go back to the tinkling intro of Newborn and just be amazed all over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 328 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Origin Of Symmetry
Origin Of Symmetry by Muse (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews