Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Uh-oh... Tricky's in a good mood!, 6 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Blowback (Audio CD)
I've been a fan of Tricky since his Massive Attack days and the journey through his albums hasn't always been a good one. "Maxinquaye" is still his finest moment, but "Blowback" comes very close. By his standards, this is a pop album and sounds like a US-style counterpoint to the Bristol-based Maxinquaye.
A bright and clean(ish) first half containing fab riffs on Eurythmics "Sweet Dreams" and the theme from Wonder Woman, gradually twists into the kind of shadowy raving Tricky is best known for. To wrap things up, the final listed track, "Song For Yukiko" throws a swerve. It's a strange, beautiful piano-based song that's unlike anything he's done before. There are two additional tracks on the CD, including an "Evolution" remix, but that's where it should end.
Great contributions from most of the Red Hot Chili Peppers, Cyndi Lauper and Alanis Morissette help shape an album that, as always, sounds like nothing else on the planet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The return of the Dark Bristolian Knight, 5 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Blowback (Audio CD)
This album is a great return to form for the old Trickster. his last album "Juxtapose" was a slick reinvention, finding comfort in the American form of Hip Hop. Here Tricky seems to have become homesick and has once again returned to the paranoia surrounding his beautiful first two albums. The contraversial front cover, was banned from posters in Hollywood, it is of him recieving a "blowback" (a form of Cannabis smoking)from a seemingly near naked lady. This controversy is carried through in his choices of singers employed. Collaborating with Alanis Morrisette and Cyndi Lauper on "Excess" and "Five Days" respectively would seem offputting. Don't be fooled, their voices seem somehow fit, like Terry Hall's and Alison Moyet's did in his Nearly God project. Having said that this is no "Maxinquaye," the dark blend of Hip Hop and downbeats is there, but there is also something else; As Tricky matures he has become aware of the music that surrounds him and what charts. There is a certain pop tinge to this album, but this is also good. The bleakness interspersed with pure listening pleasure. As can be seen on the, very catchy, fothcoming single "Evolution Revolution Love." I am a huge fan of Tricky's, I have been disappointed, now I am slowly returning to the fold. Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Tricky returns with the album everyone expected 3 years ago., 2 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Blowback (Audio CD)
At last, Tricky fulfills the potential his early work showed, and regains the explosive dominant form he displayed with Maxinquaye. After losing his way and suffering at the hands of the critics, with Pre-millenium tension, BLOWBACK shows that not only does Tricky still know how to put a tune together, he can fuse just about any influence, and come out with dark, powerful melodies that remain with you hours after listening.
Excess, the opening track, throws country riffs into the melting pot, along with a dark bassline and cleverly syncopated vocals (a theme which occurs throughout the album) to produce something reminiscent of an evil Primal Scream.
Evolution, Revolution, Love, which follows, has echoes of early Massive Attack, but Tricky has clearly evolved from those days. With a haunting hook, thumping bouncing bassline and superb production, this song alone makes the album worth buying.
Without wishing to list the tracks one by one let me say that there are no poor songs to be found on the album, it has been well thought out, and doesn't disappoint die-hard Tricky fans, but will have something to offer anyone with even a vague knowledge of the Trip Hop genre. Tricky has taken his sound further than his previous efforts, while holding on to his distinctive sound, and produced and album worthy of pride of place in any collection. At least until someone tops it, which could take some time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars tricky is back, 2 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Blowback (Audio CD)
well I dont write many review usually but I am so excited about this album I think I should set the ball rolling...I own every album and ep that Tricky has made, and thank God, he seems to be surfacing again after an extended stay in the dark side. What really makes BlowBack so outstanding is the wealth of vocalists employed to give Tricky's ...croak an element of surprise again. On many tracks Tricky Kid makes a minimal contribution, which is nice to see as many artists see a guest vocalist on their track as an opportunity to shout them down!! But Tricky is content to let the guests (see track listings) take a large part of the duties, and on occasion (ie.Five Days) seems to echo the words of the guests with seductive whispers, as he did with Martina Topley Bird back on Maxinequaye. The production is tight, the beats are great, and the album as a whole has lost the claustrophobic cloud that hovered over his last three LP's, in favour of an almost upbeat feel (Your Name, Girls), with just the right amount of sleaze to bring to mind Tricky bumping around the streets of New York and Knowle West. This is probably his best work since Maxinquaye, and as such, I recommend it highly. Treat Yourself, be brave.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent album, definately one of his best!, 4 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Blowback (Audio CD)
"It's definitely the most ear-friendly of all my albums. I feel like I've been sitting around for a couple of years complaining about what's on MTV and the radio. You can only do that for so long. If you want to hear good music on the radio, you need to make an album." Tricky, MTV. Well what can I say other than an excellent album! Definitely his best his since Maxinquaye. This album is a lot more accessible than his previous ones singing with artists such as Alanis Morrissette and Cyndi Lauper. Yes your probably thinking the same as I did when I first read it, "Alanis Morrissette, the one that hasn't got a clue about irony. What's she doing on Trickys album?" But in actual fact they mesh, and they mesh well! Cyndi Lauper sings in one of the deeper tracks on the album 'Five Days', and Tricky has also involved the vocals of Hawkman, his newfound buddy. The track that inspired me to buy this album was the single Evolution, Revolution, Love and so I think if you take a liking to this track, then you will Blowback.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tricky pulls it off, 6 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Blowback (Audio CD)
Having never before been able to bear more than five minutes of Tricky's music (that five mins being Black Steel off Maxinquaye) I wasn't really bothered about this being released. Until I was standing in a record shop earlier this week listening to some of the most interesting, challenging and yet instantly accesible sounds I have heard in ages. Going to the counter I was a little disappointed to hear it was the new Tricky album "It can't be Tricky, I hate Tricky".
Anyway, repeated listening on a long train journey to and from Sheffield has confirmed my initial suspicion. Tricky has made a fine album with some exceptional support from a range of vocalists. Hawkman offers a deep, scary growl while Ambersunshower gives her beautiful tones to a couple of tracks lifting them higher than you can hope. Even Cyndi Lauper manages to finally burn her netting skirts and hairbands and prove what she has been begging people to believe for 15 years - she is no novelty act. The only disappointments are the Chilli Peppers style Girls (pointless) and surprisingly the Tricky/Cobain collaboration "Something in the way" which just doesn't quite work.
An interesting, deep yet easily accesible album and one which I am sure towards the end of the year will feature in many best of lists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars the eurythmics, Alanis Morrisette and Cyndie Lauper? Hmmmm., 30 Jun 2001
This review is from: Blowback (Audio CD)
not a gig I would go to see but this aint their gig. This record is Trickeys. So we have raggaa and Nirvana mixed with our rap, but none of this is the point. The man is a genius. This is not Maxinequaye 2, it is more schizophrenic than that, but it is a great example of how genius can guide the lesser mortals listed above and make them sound exciting and important. A pity he choose the Nirvana song he did, "about a girl" would have very interesting indeed. As with all c.d's it is a little too long, and as with the experimantal nature of the music rarely it misses the mark. However mostly it makes you beleive their is life beyond music industry force feed pap. I am so glad he gave up the wheat products!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stop waffling!!!, 15 Dec 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Blowback [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Stop beating about the BUSH - play 'Bury the evidence' as loud as poss in your headphones - your ears will bleed and your spine tingle - I guarantee (the tingle not necessarily the 'bleed'). This track sums up all that Tricky is about.
AND.. the album is great, as are all of the risks and challenges that Tricky takes up.
THIS GUY IS DIFFERENT AND BRAVE - If you are.... then buy every tribal beat on every album put through Tricky's Bristolian, asthma scarred voicebox now (pretentious moi?)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lighter Tricky, 4 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Blowback (Audio CD)
Having only heard the Evolution Revolution Love (a great collabaration between rock, dance, and reggae) I decided to buy the album. I was not disappointed. Although it is still a traditional Ticky album with his dark, sharp lyrics it is still a more relaxed outing. The collabarations with other well known artists is a master stroke and gives greater diversity to the tracks. I look forward to his next album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another great and typically, uncliched Tricky Album, 6 Jan 2003
This review is from: Blowback (Audio CD)
The first thing I do with all of Tricky's records is buy it, then, wait until it is bed-time, turn out the lights, get into bed, put on my oversized headphones and press play. The ambience, from the sparse lighting of hifi LEDs, to the green and red glows on the wall, give the right backdrop everytime.
Now to the main presentation, 'Blowback' Tricky's sixth or seventh album (depending on whether you have heard Nearly God), as usual never ceases to amaze and enigmatise the aura that surrounds the Bristolian Artist.
Tricky never lets you down, when it comes to originality, vision and clarity of expression, as we can see here with yet again another colourful, texturised, hauntingly beautiful and funked up soundscape. Although this may not rate as his best work, it is still great as we can see with funky grinders such as 'Girls' and Wonder woman theme '#1 Da Woman', with collaborations from RHCP members.
There is also the more slower, classic and downbeat Tricky later on in the album along with a cover of Nirvana's 'Something in the Way', cello and all, along with Hawkman providing some unique vocals for the track. Tricky's other new protege comes in the form of Ambersunshower, who brings to the table that delicacy and honey like texture that Martina Hopley Bird brough in earlier albums (may I remind you that MHB is working on her own solo album, as yet unreleased but watch this space).
Adrian Thaws also brings in guest vocal appearances from unsuspecting collaborators, which this time turns out to be Cyndi Lauper and Alanis Morrissette.
To conclude this review, no review will ever answer the question..."I wonder what Tricky's new albums like?" simply because this is an artist who knows no genre, who knows no boundaries, just how to push his own walls further apart. Go out an buy it. It may not be what you expect, but when is anything really what you expect???
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Blowback
Blowback by Tricky (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews