Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A rough diamond of a film!
"Poor Cow" is my favourite Ken Loach film. In fact, it is my favourite film of all time. I only discovered it 2 years ago and it has a very personal connection for me. I have since read the novel that inspired it and can state that it is a very honest and faithful dramatisation of Nell Dunn's text. It is a film about a side of London life to which many will be oblivious,...
Published on 14 April 2007 by J. D. L. Bailey

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Poor Cow
Very controversial when it first came out. Carol White and Terence Stamp played good parts.
Enjoyed it. Still brings a tear to the eye, but unfortunately I don't think much has been learnt over
the past 50 years.
Published on 13 Dec 2012 by Valerie Finch


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A rough diamond of a film!, 14 April 2007
By 
J. D. L. Bailey (Paris) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Poor Cow [DVD] (DVD)
"Poor Cow" is my favourite Ken Loach film. In fact, it is my favourite film of all time. I only discovered it 2 years ago and it has a very personal connection for me. I have since read the novel that inspired it and can state that it is a very honest and faithful dramatisation of Nell Dunn's text. It is a film about a side of London life to which many will be oblivious, and, of course, many will not.

Carol White is superb as Joy, whose first name is not as ironic as it may seem. Her life may well be a vortex of poverty, squalor and unhappiness, but White (through her acting) and Loach (through his direction) portray the character with compassion and strength as someone who is sassy and fun. This same compassion shows through in all the other characters too. There are quite a few bright moments that shine through. The scenes of Joy with her little son, Johnny, are particularly touching and very, very well-done. The location filming around Wales is visually stunning, as indeed is the opening sequence! (I will say no more about this!)

Terence Stamp is also amazing in this film, as are all of the supporting cast. Watch out for John Bindon who somehow steals the show with his brilliant-but-awful acting in his début performance as Tom Steadman!

The theme song, specially adapted and performed by Donovan, is haunting and in a way, ironic, for John Bindon's life ended early at the age of 50, as, for that matter, did Carol White's.

This film is a real rough diamond and I cannot recommend it highly enough.

I am grateful to Ken Loach for having the guts and tenacity to bring to this film to life. Poor Cow documents the lives of the underdogs and is an important and interesting piece of cinema that will always have a special place in my heart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful gem of a film!, 24 Oct 2006
By 
F. V. L. Buliciri (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Poor Cow [DVD] (DVD)
As a Ken Loach fan I've seen quite a few films that he's made. However,I overlooked this film for years. I simply adored this film. My heart was moved by the central character played by Carol White and her journey through life with disappointing relationships with men, her struggles to bring up her child on her own and with money. It was interesting to see so many actors in their younger days appearing in this film such as Billy Murray(East Enders -Johnny Allen), Terence Stamp, Kate Williams as well as legends such as Queenie Watts. This is a superb film and a great social commentary on a very different England to the one that we all live in today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 1960's this is it!, 6 April 2009
By 
Anthony Cox - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Poor Cow [DVD] [1967] (DVD)
Well this one has it it all ..love it or hate it ..the movie tells the story of 'Joy'..broken down by her thieving thug of a husband..and they moved to 'Ruislip'..once caught..her husband that is..she was helpless with a small baby to bring up..enter Terrence Stamp..in one of his most fine acting performances..the story has it's moments..but shows TRUE British culture in the 1960's and also make you aware of how time has progressed..recommended viewing..I LOVE THIS ONE...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Oh the good Ole Days, 14 Mar 2006
This review is from: Poor Cow [DVD] (DVD)
I love movies like this. Despite a never ending trend of bogus remakes you cant remake history. Watch it over and over and gasp at the enormous beauty of Terrance Stamp who looks like a young George Best.
60's classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Poor Cow, 13 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Poor Cow [DVD] [1967] (DVD)
Very controversial when it first came out. Carol White and Terence Stamp played good parts.
Enjoyed it. Still brings a tear to the eye, but unfortunately I don't think much has been learnt over
the past 50 years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars british cinema at its best, 31 Mar 2010
By 
This review is from: Poor Cow [DVD] [1967] (DVD)
Anyone who grew up in the 60s or anyone who wants to know what the real 60s was really like then this is for you! This is top draw British Cinema. Fantastic cast, directed by Kenneth Loach and music by Donavon, what more could you want.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Riveting Viewing, 5 May 2014
This review is from: Poor Cow (Amazon Instant Video)
I'm such a lover of London and it's history. This film shows a London that I had never seen in all the films I've watched; I'm so grateful that Loach is such a master at showing people, where they live and how they live without holding punches. The director of photography was excellent. The cast: Carole White, Terence Stamp and all the others including the 2 boys that played Johnny were super. I started this film some time back and had not come back to finish until many months later, now, and I'm so glad I did. This film I'll never forget and I will watch it many times again that I'm sure of. Masterful storytelling, don't not watch this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Poor Cow -DVD, 5 Feb 2012
By 
D. J. Tutton (Somerset) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Poor Cow [DVD] [1967] (DVD)
A must for your sixties collection!
All about a young girl & child living on the bread line with various gangster husbands who spend more time in prision then out.
Great touching part where her child goes missing and she looks everywhere for him.
Well worth getting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Poor Cow, 29 May 2011
By 
Big Peanut (Warrnambool Victoria Australia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Poor Cow [DVD] [1967] (DVD)
Poor Cow reminds me of the harsh reality of post war Britain in parts of the East End and how long the reminders of the bombing remained.How tough it was to survive/exist in those times as Britain was very much in re-building mode.
The story of Poor Cow is quite confronting in showing how tough it was for women having to bring up a child with welfare benifits a thing of the future.How women were looked upon while they struggled to maintain a reasonable life for themselves and bring up a child in such depressing surroundings and yet the strength of spirit still managed to shine through.The strength of community that has sadly all but disappeared today where everybody helped oneanother regardless of how little the had. Carol White is brilliant in the lead and is well supported by others in supporting roles.The film is a time capsule of a past to be remembered but hopefully never to be re-visited
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars There's a real slice of 1960s London in this drama., 22 Feb 2010
By 
JK "J. K." (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Poor Cow [DVD] [1967] (DVD)
Poor cow is the film version of the novel by Nell Dunn which is still available on Amazon and well worth a read if you haven't already done so. Carol White is the star of this 1967 British drama about the life and times of a young woman surviving along in London during 1967. With her husband in prison her main determination is the pursuit of happiness and she'll take any chance with little regard to the security of her child. Things take a really dark turn when she begins a relationship with her husband's best friend, played by a very young Terence Stamp, with disastrous results. Kenneth Loach's first feature film and produced with that amazingly candid, raw edge that falls somewhere between reality and fiction he was so good at. It's incredible as a piece of social history and an important film.

Poor cow runs for approx. 98 minutes and has a 15 recommended age restriction. There are no special features on this disc and no subtitles. Filmed in English.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Poor Cow [DVD]
Poor Cow [DVD] by Ken Loach (DVD - 2001)
£12.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews