Customer Reviews


99 Reviews
5 star:
 (76)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Definitive Eagles Selection
This album has taken the best songs of a very good band, from albums like The Long Run, Border Line, One Of These Nights ,and my personal favorite, Hotel California. The individual songs on the album reflect the bands' progression through the 1970's, from their country rock debut single, Take it Easy, to their harder classic rock singles such as the legendary Hotel...
Published on 16 Nov 1999

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Very Best Of The Eagles
I concur with one writer, this album needs a second CD. This eventually happened in 2008 when a 2 CD album came out. This album however excludes some of Eagle's best like Gene Clark's "Train leaves Here In The Morning", "Early Bird", "Midnight Flyer" "My Man", "Ol'55", "TwentyOne", "Saturday Night", "Bitter Creek" and "King Of Holywood" You've guessed it, I like the "Lyin...
Published on 29 Mar 2012 by P. R. Phillips


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Definitive Eagles Selection, 16 Nov 1999
By A Customer
This album has taken the best songs of a very good band, from albums like The Long Run, Border Line, One Of These Nights ,and my personal favorite, Hotel California. The individual songs on the album reflect the bands' progression through the 1970's, from their country rock debut single, Take it Easy, to their harder classic rock singles such as the legendary Hotel California, Life in the Fast Lane and In the Long Run. In between these tracks are hints of funk, glam and R&B. However The Eagles have also always stayed true to their American heartland roots and this is shown in the selection of songs on the album. On the whole the album is well rounded with popular tracks that were in the charts and others that should have been. Basically it is pure class.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Mum got me into this music, 29 Aug 2005
This review is from: The Very Best of the Eagles (Audio CD)
This album had been in the CD cabinet for quite a while! Then last Christmas when we had family around my mum brought it out. I lisened to and i thought it was bloody brilliant! There has been very few albums in which you could lisen to every song and it would be great. 'Hotel california' and 'taking it easy' are the most well known songs from the album but 'new kid in town' most of the other tunes are class! Why buy the latest bands album with a few good songs, when you can buy The Very Best of the Eagles and actully get an album in which every song is excellent!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good music, 8 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best of the Eagles (Audio CD)
need this to replace a lost cd, good music and good memories from my youth. good to sing along to in the car when no one can hear you. this is a really enjoyable cd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Very Best Of The Eagles, 29 Mar 2012
By 
P. R. Phillips (South Africa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Very Best of the Eagles (Audio CD)
I concur with one writer, this album needs a second CD. This eventually happened in 2008 when a 2 CD album came out. This album however excludes some of Eagle's best like Gene Clark's "Train leaves Here In The Morning", "Early Bird", "Midnight Flyer" "My Man", "Ol'55", "TwentyOne", "Saturday Night", "Bitter Creek" and "King Of Holywood" You've guessed it, I like the "Lyin Eyes" style of writing. I don't like the rough edge songs which Eagles include on their albums. Songs on this album I like are "Take It Easy", "Peacefull Easy Feeling" "Doolin Dalton" "Tequila Sunrise","New Kid In Town", "I Can't Tell You Why" and "Best Of My Love". "Best Of's" never satisfy me and I prefer the original albums. Even the 2008 2CD Best Of album is disappointing. It's almost a replica of the two previous Best Of albums but with just more songs. "Out Of Eden", Eagle's latest edition, is a fantastic album, very polished. It's funny whenever individual members of great bands who have split on solo careers come together again they seem to produce their best music. I can't wait for future albums from Eagles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Greatest hits certainly, very best probably not, 6 Aug 2001
By 
Pete Walker (Church Stretton, Shropshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Very Best of the Eagles (Audio CD)
In terms of coverage of the Eagles' principal hit singles and other best known songs, this compilation (actually only a slightly rehashed version of that issued some five years ago) can't be faulted. It epitomises the band's trademark country-rock sound of harmonious vocals and guitar backing, and will be ideal for the interested, although not dedicated fan. It's archetypal West Coast rock, with many memorable songs which have stood the test of time and become minor classics - and which even brightened up the west coast of Lancashire throughout the mid 70s, courtesy of the bands I and my friends played in!
However, as with most artists their greatest hits are not their very best records, and the Eagles are no exception. This collection probably just about manages to prevent the band being stereotyped as the epitome of every country rock cliché. Thus for every track that veers towards C&W (such as Tequila sunrise, Peaceful easy feeling, Take it easy or Lyin' eyes) there is another which is an orchestrated ballad or hints at R&B, soul, or even reggae (try Take it to the limit, One of these nights, I can't tell you why, or Hotel California). Overall, therefore, a reasonable balance is achieved and the result is very pleasant listening, although chronologically the tracks are all over the place and do not show the band's stylistic development over time. I'm also mystified as to how the rather jarring and forgettable James Dean made it into this collection.
For this to have truly been a Very Best compilation, however, a second CD would be needed, including more obscure but indispensable songs selected from all six original albums (Make your own list but don't hold your breath - such a compilation will never be issued). Instead, we committed fans will have to keep playing all the original albums to really hear the very best of the Eagles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


80 of 96 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Beware the words "Digitally Remasterd", 4 Oct 2001
By 
G. PERCY (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Very Best of the Eagles (Audio CD)
This is an album that as the advert goes "does exactly as it says on the tin" It is The Eagles and it is their greatest hits. The songs have been remastered however which means the rough edges have been smoothed off, the i`s have been dotted and the t`s have been crossed and the songs are made generally more easier to listen too. The only trouble is that it is like giving Macbeth a feather duster to kill the Scottish king with. The songs may have been brought into the twenty first century but they lack that raw gutsy emotionally charged feel that made the original songs such classics.
Okay these are still brilliant songs by a brilliant band but if you wanted to play The Eagles to your Granny I`d play this C.D. However, if like me you were brought up on heavy rock discos air guitaring to the solo of Hotel California then I`d stick to the original albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A strong single CD compilation, 1 Mar 2005
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Very Best of the Eagles (Audio CD)
The original Eagles (Bernie Leadon, Randy Meisner, Glen Frey, Don Henley) were former members of Lind Ronstadt's backing group. Linda's career hadn't really got going at that stage but both she and the Eagles achieved greater success after they went their separate ways. Apart from their work with Linda, Bernie had also worked with the Flying Burrito Brothers and (earlier) Dillard and Clark, while Randy had worked with Rick Nelson and also been a member of Poco.
The history of the Eagles, already complex at the time of their formation, became ever more complex as the line-up changed down the years. Don Felder (an additional member), Joe Walsh (a replacement for Bernie Leadon) and Timothy B Schmidt (a replacement for Randy Meisner) all made their presence felt as the group's sound evolved from its early country-rock to a more conventional rock sound without any hint of country. Nevertheless, even country fans and singers appreciate the Eagles' later music, as evidenced by the track selection on the country tribute album (Common thread) released in the nineties.
All the famous songs are here including Desperado, Take it to the limit, Lying eyes, Hotel California, Take it easy Tequila sunrise, New kid in town and Best of my love to name just a few.
If you just want a single CD of Eagles music, this one contains all the essentials.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Fantastic...!!!, 28 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best of the Eagles (Audio CD)
It is absolutely fantastic and pleasurable recording,
as you can assume... yes I like it.
So will all you new and old Eagles Music fans.
Thanks.... David L
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Whats not to like, 24 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This CD was brilliant and it came at a great price. I had these tracks on LP's in the past. Great to upgrade them to CD now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good CD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Very Best of the Eagles
The Very Best of the Eagles by Eagles (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews