Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is another GREAT album by The Wailers., 31 July 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Rastaman Vibration (Audio CD)
Although this isn't as good as some of their other albums, it is still a classic. The remastered edition contains an extra song recorded by Bob when the Emperor of Ethiopia, Haile Selassie I was reported to have died. It is an excellent addition to this album, as Bob's voice sounds so emotional. By this point Pete Tosh and Bunny Wailer had left the band but a number of others had joined, including the I-threes, the new backing singers. The backing vocals by the I-threes on this album are excellent.
The album starts on a positive note with the great Positive Vibration and Roots,Rock,Reggae. Then the album takes on a more serious feel with the soulful Johnny Was. The vocals and synthezisers in this track really make it a classic. The next two tracks are of a very high standard, but are maybe the weakest two on the album. Crazy Baldhead is one of Bob's best songs in terms of the lyrics. Who The Cap Fit and Night Shift keep up the high standard before two more classic songs, War and Rat Race. The lyrics from War come from a speech by Haile Selassie I and is brilliant. The lyrics from Rat Race contain some of my favourite lines written by Bob.
"Don't forget your history
Know your destiny
In the abundance of water
The fool is thirsty."
If you want to listen to music that can educate and inspire you buy this album and any of the other albums by The Wailers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is worth "Roots, Rock, Reggae", 3 Aug 2012
This review is from: Rastaman Vibration (Audio CD)
1976 and this came out. I liked "Roots, Rock, Reggae" because at a local Clapham pub just after this the house band "Jabba" played a rollicking version of the same. They were African and I think Mr Marley would have been happy with their take. However, the version here struts-I remember a writer describing Bob Marley's guitar playing as chicken scratching-more rooster strut but it does scratch around the rhythm. Rastaman Vibration is easy to listen to, with some scorching lyrics such as in "Who the Cap Fits" and "Rat Race". It is easy to only listen to Bob Marley compilations you know greatest hits stuff and miss out on that in his early seventies period he produced a whole range of great albums that basically introduced reggae to a rock audience. Hence Eric Clapton's neutered "I shot the Sheriff". No Eric, you would have missed-it was a song about freedom and oppression-like Linton Kwesi Johnson's "Sonny's Letter" on "Forces of Victory". Bob Marley forged a whole lot of good songs that have their own distinct sound. This is very much a journeyman album. Not classic but honest work and great storytelling and groove coming out of Jamaica.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wicked Bob Marley!, 26 April 2008
By 
P. B. Brown (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rastaman Vibration (Audio CD)
The great man had lots of great albums but this for me was his best.
This is the hardest.
Uncompromising lyrics backed up by solid rhythms.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great selection of songs, 27 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rastaman Vibration (Audio CD)
Husband keen to listen to Bob Marley in order Bob Marley wanted songs to be heard, not just order of a compiliation CD and so working our way through the catalogue. This CD in particular has a great selection of songs. We love listening to them in the car.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This album vibrates and resonates through my soul., 30 Oct 2013
This review is from: Rastaman Vibration (Audio CD)
Bob Marley albums speak for themselves. Some real stand out tracks for me. "War" is so powerful, not only in the conscious lyrics but Mr Marleys voice is on another level. If you only like the easier listening songs of Bob Marley then this album may possibly not be for you. This is a conscious, spiritual and political album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars rastaman vibration review, 25 May 2013
This review is from: Rastaman Vibration (Audio CD)
Had this album in the seventies originally on vinyl always loved it Marley at his best brilliant trip down memory lane
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Album, 22 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rastaman Vibration (Audio CD)
Whilst replacing a load of cassettes with CDs I overlooked this one until recently. It's one of the best Bob Marley albums in my opinion. 'Cry to Me' is a definite highlight!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Vibrations., 20 Jun 2011
By 
Mr. Jason Green (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rastaman Vibration (Audio CD)
Nice classic bit of Marley. Some less known tracks which i like. Highlights for me "Rat Race" and "Crazy Baldhead". Glad I bought it, I shall be listening to it for many years Im sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rastaman Vibration, 31 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rastaman Vibration (Audio CD)
I bought this because I used to have it on vinyl. Forgot how amazing it is and can't believe I left it this long to buy again.
Marley at his best!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars positive vibration, 25 Jan 2008
This review is from: Rastaman Vibration (Audio CD)
All of marleys albums are great,i love them all,this album shows bob's strong feelings deep songs like(crazy baldhead/who the cap fit/rat race and the great WAR taken from a speech from haile selassie but my favouite track is Roots Rock Reggae,great album *5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rastaman Vibration
Rastaman Vibration by Bob Marley (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews