Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

3.4 out of 5 stars117
3.4 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£16.99+ £1.26 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 15 reviews(1 star). Show all reviews
on 15 May 2009
Sylvester McCoy ad Paul McGann did great with what they were given, but the rest of it was complete and utter pants. In my opinion there was no indication whatsoever that any kind of research was done when it comes down to the Doctor and the Master characters.

In my opinion, they are two sides of the same coin, about as manipulative and as devious as each other and, most importantly, subtle with it - though one is for the greater good (which would be the Doctor) and the other simply for what he can gain from it all (that would be the Master).

In all honesty, if they really wanted to go with this downright appalling, over the top, comedic Camp/Dracula version of the Master then they should have hired Leslie Nielsen because I think he did a far better job of it in "Dracula: Dead and Loving it". Jeez!!!

So many people blame the demise of the classic Doctor Who on Sylvester McCoy and JNT, when in fact it was solely down to the Hierarchy pratts at the BBC, but having to wait a further Nine Years for it to make a re-appearance on TV I put that solely down to the complete and utter inept quality of this Movie.

The Doctor as half human and 'British', the romance between him and his Companion and the ghastly rendition of the Master all make for one dire movie.

My recommendation is "Go straight to the new TV series, do not pass Go and do not collect this horrble movie" because not even what little Sylvester did with what he had and McGann's portrayal of the Doctor can pull this trash from the can.

:-)
11 comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2010
Well where do i start?
the good;
Paul Magann is a fantastic Doctor and its a shame he never got another shot at the title role.
A fantastic Tardis interior!!!
The usual Tardis joke with the vehicles going in and out!!!

The bad...
The doctor is HALF HUMAN?????
Bad storyline, Millennium doomsday armageddon set by the Tardis being hijacked by the Master, you would have thought that if the americans making a film version of this would come up with something a bit more credible.

The Ugly...
its a lame master story, played by an american..filmed in america..a bit biased really..i half expected the Doctor to be american!!!

I have to say...its an awful attempt
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2014
This was made for TV so the format isn't what I'd expect for a film.
The acting is very poor. The music is overpowering.
The only up side is that I have a greater appreciation for the new Who.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2009
You can tell that they never expected this to take off by simply starting with the name: "Dr Who - The Movie." THE MOVIE? What the hell is that all about? When they released 2 Films in the 60's did they think: "Yeh, well lets just call it The Movie?" NO. They gave them names/Titles.
With not enough thought, planing &.. well just a lack of any understanding of what Dr Who is, this is merely a diabolical parody of Dr Who. They may aswel have just left it to the fans to make (with no film making skills) & i'm 100% sure it would have been better!
It was made for the americans, spoilt for the Brittish, & had every real classic who fan pinching the top of their nose.
As far as i am concerned, Dr Who died in 1989 & many of us are still waiting for Sylv to finish what he begun & show us the TRUE DARK TIMELORD he was shaping into. It's a shame I have NO option for ZERO stars!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2014
Not very good at all . Don't bother
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2000
Paul McGann's portrayal of the Doctor is both sensitive and gentle. The special effects/sets are of a quality the programme could never have dreamed of in the past. The direction is very good and the storyline is not bad either. Unfortunately, though, the rest is extremely damaging. The Master now appears as the Terminator and the Doctor (for the first time) snogs a girl! When I see McGann in his wig and his velvet coat, plus the effects, I wish there could have been a series. Then I see the love interest and I wonder how long it would be before the Doctor does a love scene with a lady friend. I can't say this film is really any better than appalling previous stories like 'Battlefield', although for what new Doctor Who has been made during the nineties: two spoofs and this movie, to be fair, this movie comes out on top.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2002
This film is a discrace and should not bare the title of Doctor Who. Why was the doctor in America? What was up with the console room - hello fire place? It was a church not the Tardis! Okay it had changed over the years but never so dramatically. Why on Earth was the Eye of Harmony on the Tardis anyway? Also the master - Why was he a piece of goo on the mantle peice?
The actual storyline to the film was good and entertaining but shouldn't be a doctor who. It was far too well made and a much larger budget and the Doctor is not supposed to fall in love. With the exception of course of William Hartnell in the Aztecs.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2014
bought for sense of completeness and I just didn't remember how mind-numbingly AWFUL this is! YOU DO NOT NEED THIS TO COMPLETE YOUR COLLECTION - it was definitely NOT worth the cost, the wait or the time out of my life it took to watch it - no wonder it never became a series - but lucky for us they did better in the UK.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2015
Seems like someone has watched an episode or two. Completely misunderstood the concept and then made this film. Anybody, like me, that is a real Doctor Who aficionado, please please don't watch this. It is like watching someone that is tone deaf singing nessum dorma. Painful!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2009
My son insisted on buying this as he's a huge Dr Who fan. Unfortunately he didn't believe how much of a mess the Yanks can make of a great idea and concept. He hated it and hasn't watched it since the first time. I suggest that you don't bother.
11 comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse