Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars why dont you have this yet!, 6 Mar 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Static Prevails (Audio CD)
one of JEW's earlier releases and one of the best. Each and every song is packed to the point of overflowing with emotion, heart, energy and takes no prisoners. A personal favourite of mine is the 7 minute epic "Digits". It has been written like a symphony with different movements; each with differing tempo and sound. The listener is introduced to a sublime, mellow guitar riff which gradually develops into delicately constructed arpeggios. The main body of the piece kicks in suddenly with screaming lyrics and up beat punk-esque drums and then winds down to bring your ears back down to earth only to then roll out with the next blinding track. If your after acoustic, relaxed melodies then this isn't for you. This is emo music personified and is inspiring for any hopeful, budding guitarists.
Gems like "Rockstar" and "Cavemen" remind you of the passion and quality of this band. I cannot find one bad song on this album - each time you listen you crave for more. This CD hasn't left my walkman since i bought it. If like me you've bought Bleed American and thought it was great but wanted more, this is the perfect accompianiment. I simply cant stress the quality of this album enough. Buy it and be enlightened
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars To hell with static, Jimmy Eat World Prevail!, 6 Dec 2002
By 
This review is from: Static Prevails (Audio CD)
Having done the same as most of the people who have bought this album (i.e bought Bleed American first) I was torn between Static Prevails and Clarity for my next purchase.
I chose Static Prevails, and I wasn't disappointed. Initially, I was a little apprehensive, as it seems that they've since switched Jim Adkins from backing vocalist on Static Prevails to Lead singer on Bleed American, which seems to have been a great idea.
From the heady opener, Thinking, that's all, you know you're in for a varied ride, and track 2, the sublime Rockstar will literally blow you away with its combination of melodies and raw energy. From here, it's something different each track. There are a couple of tracks that don't compete with the rest, (Episode IV and Digits in particular) but what album doesn't have these?
Jimmy Eat World have a wealth of diversity at their feet, and If they keep their heads, and don't do anything stupid with their next album, it's a dead cert they'll have the musical world at their feet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another masterpiece from the Arazonia crew, Jimmy Eat World, 22 July 2001
This review is from: Static Prevails (Audio CD)
This is another cracker from Jimmy Eat World, and with the there new album 'Bleed American' they are sure to soon get noticed. This record is another cracker, like 'Clarity'. The first song (probably the best track) sounds strange first, but thats the beauty of 'emo' I suppose and shows, that Jimmy Eat World are capable taking a risk and succeeding. The rest of the songs that follow live up to the usual JEW standards of uniqueness, great vocals, guitar riffs, and at times ultra-catchiness, for example on 'rockstar' and the brilliant, 'digits' (a newer version to that of the version on 'singles'). You might just think im a hyped-up-obsessed Jimmy Eat World fan, but just give them a go, you wont be disappointed!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars worth it if you like other Jimmy albums but an honest 4star!, 14 April 2003
This review is from: Static Prevails (Audio CD)
This album is obviously the first from Jimmy eat world and it is very different from their later albums, if anything it is more experimental. Not only do they alternate the lead vocalists but you can understand what raw JEW were like before they started to perfect their sound. Stand out tracks for me are rockstar, Episode IV, seventeen and caveman, although having said this any one of the songs could be a favorite depending on your taste, such is the variety of the album. For 9 squid this CD is a steal. If you like Millencolin, The Get Up Kids, Powderfinger, Something Corporate, Midtown, etc- you should already have this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An underestimated, undercovered and underrated album, 24 Oct 2004
This review is from: Static Prevails (Audio CD)
This was the last of Jimmy's three big albums that I purchased, and the last I came to love. It takes time and special care to appreicate this one, but when it hits you, it hits you. Jimmy Eat World just can't be put into a genre, and this, like all their other CDs, proves that. It is enthralling and everlasting in your mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing album, 28 Oct 2012
This review is from: Static Prevails [Us Import] (Audio CD)
First review ever, as I can't be bothered...
But this album really deserves it. There is not one single song that you just say "yeah, i kind of like it..." - each and every song is an absolute hymn to alternative music (this is not emo, nor pop, nor rock...it's just Jimmy Eat World).
The album is from 1996 but is superior to any of their subsequent outputs.
Go and buy it!! NOW!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars In the beginning, 25 Sep 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Static Prevails [Us Import] (Audio CD)
While undeniably good, 'Static Prevails' is Jimmy Eat World's less enthusiastic and realised piece of work. As a debut album, it is rougher around the edges and has much fewer immediately noticeable tracks, which can be good or bad, depending on your preference. I think it is both good and bad because, where 'Clarity' grew and grew and grew and, for me, is still growing, 'Static Prevails' takes more than a few laps in the CD player to have any effect and the resulting tunes are not a patch on their later offerings. But don't get me wrong, this is an album of considerable merit.
'Thinking, that's all' kicks of the preceedings rather nicely. It's a grower that never reaches greatness, only hovers nearby, wanting to be greatness. The most immediate track follows. 'Rockstar' is my favourite, not because it is easily accessible, but because it is a good tune. Single material. 'Claire' follows and is an example of the kernel of excellence that grew into 'Clarity' and 'Bleed American'. A beautiful song. The next couple of tracks are equally as good but takes the album nowhere different. 'Episode IV' is an honest stab at a ballad but falls short somehow. I think it is a bit too down beat. Still, like most of J.E.W.'s tunes, it is catchy.
I think the latter half of the album suffers from a rushed feeling, almost as if they could have made the tracks into classics if they had wanted to but decided to underplay them. Yet the whole album is not a disappointment at all and I do recommend it whole-heartedly. I'm just glad that they blossomed quite tremendously after this effort.
As a warm up, 'Static Prevails' has all the right ingredients but goes down tasting a bit bland. Still a 4 star effort, though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wait! Thomas couch man is wrong!, 30 April 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Static Prevails (Audio CD)
This. Is. One of the greatest albums of all time. I also bought Bleed American/self titled first and it is catchy. And infectious. But like a modern disease, you get over it's enthrawlment quickly (let's hope so, anyway, what with this sars 'thing'). The album remains incredible. But Static Prevails (the earliest easiest-to-get-hold-of of Jimmy E W, is truly incredible. I mean truly. Every song is incredible. The lack of instant-infectiousness for some people could be because it is rawer, what you have isn't skin-deep as with Bleed American. If you don't like this record after a few listens, I guarantee your insanity. It is rawer, a little harder, and, quite honestly, better. They're different. Essentially, every man and woman would have in his and her posession, Static, Clarity, and the self-titled. So buy this record and you won't be sorry. I promise. It is the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but not that good, 22 July 2002
This review is from: Static Prevails (Audio CD)
Ive kinda done things in reverse with Jimmy Eat world, buying Bleed American first after hearing Sweetness on Kerrang TV. Now that album is absolutely suberb so I was looking forward to getting my ears on the other 2 albums. But I've been slightly disappointed I'm afraid. The songs are nowhere near as catchy and infectious as the ones off Bleed American. Maybe after a few more listens it'll grow on me but on first few listens im afraid it does let u down, possibly due to me listening to their best album first and my expectations being too high. Worth a listen though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The 2nd best Yet!!!!!!, 26 July 2003
This review is from: Static Prevails (Audio CD)
Well....what can i say..if u have heard this album u will already be aware of its clasic JEW style....my personal fav. on this album is "Belive in what you want". Personally....i think that Bleed America is the best jimmy eat world album yet....its really catchy. If you like Green Day....Something'Corprate..... or Home grown then ull love these dudes!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Static Prevails [Us Import]
Static Prevails [Us Import] by Jimmy Eat World (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews