Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Born to cry...
A solid album by Marc Almond that features great tracks such as GLORIOUS, BORN TO CRY, WHEN IT'S YOUR TIME, END IN TEARS, as well my favourite ever pop song : LIGHTS. Johann Johannson's contribution gives the whole album a sumptuous, luxurious, yet soulful feel. With a bonus disc of rarities, including the classic PASSION AND PAIN, you can't go wrong here.
Published on 7 Dec 2010 by Marwood

versus
5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An agitated Shirley Bassey on a Prozac-Opium snowball
Stranger Things, Marc’s first fully-feathered studio outing since 1999’s dark, trippy and deliciously euro-erotic Open All Night, promises much. The cover art – a blond, jewel-encrusted Almond - is a reassuring, yet unforgivable clue, and opening-track ‘Glorious’ hints of more to come: Some stories untold, a hint of ‘revelation’,...
Published on 12 Aug 2002 by N Cox vrs. chromaBoy


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Born to cry..., 7 Dec 2010
This review is from: Stranger Things (Audio CD)
A solid album by Marc Almond that features great tracks such as GLORIOUS, BORN TO CRY, WHEN IT'S YOUR TIME, END IN TEARS, as well my favourite ever pop song : LIGHTS. Johann Johannson's contribution gives the whole album a sumptuous, luxurious, yet soulful feel. With a bonus disc of rarities, including the classic PASSION AND PAIN, you can't go wrong here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Probably Marc's greatest Album to date!, 26 April 2010
By 
FAMOUS NAME (UNITED KINGDOM) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Probably Marc Almond's greatest Solo Album to date.

'Stranger Things' features eleven great Songs - plus a 'reprise' of the first Track 'Glorious'. This is a much more 'sober' collection, with some great thought-provoking lyrics, such as on: 'When It's Your Time' which is somewhat 'reflective'.

I'm sure that this Album came to my attention late one night when it was 'profiled' on TV. I thought the Songs were great, the Artwork stunning, and I particularly liked the unique embossed 'Marc Almond' on the jewel case - along with the Album title too.

Marc's voice is in fine form here, and shows him maturing well and another side of him aside from his well-known persona with 'Soft Cell'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Probably Marc's greatest Album to date!, 26 April 2010
By 
FAMOUS NAME (UNITED KINGDOM) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Stranger Things (Audio CD)
Probably Marc Almond's greatest Solo Album to date.

'Stranger Things' features eleven great Songs - plus a 'reprise' of the first Track 'Glorious'. This is a much more 'sober' collection, with some great thought-provoking lyrics, such as on: 'When It's Your Time' which is somewhat 'reflective'.

I'm sure that this Album came to my attention late one night when it was 'profiled' on TV. I thought the Songs were great, the Artwork stunning, and I particularly liked the unique embossed 'Marc Almond' on the jewel case - along with the Album title too.

Marc's voice is in fine form here, and shows him maturing well and another side of him aside from his well-known persona with 'Soft Cell'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Probably Marc's greatest Album to date!, 26 April 2010
By 
FAMOUS NAME (UNITED KINGDOM) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Stranger Things (Audio CD)
Probably Marc Almond's greatest Solo Album to date.

'Stranger Things' features eleven great Songs - plus a 'reprise' of the first Track 'Glorious'. This is a much more 'sober' collection, with some great thought-provoking lyrics, such as on: 'When It's Your Time' which is somewhat 'reflective'.

I'm sure that this Album came to my attention late one night when it was 'profiled' on TV. I thought the Songs were great, the Artwork stunning, and I particularly liked the unique embossed 'Marc Almond' on the jewel case - along with the Album title too.

Marc's voice is in fine form here, and shows him maturing well and another side of him aside from his well-known persona with 'Soft Cell'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Probably Marc's greatest Album to date!, 26 April 2010
By 
FAMOUS NAME (UNITED KINGDOM) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Stranger Things (Audio CD)
Probably Marc Almond's greatest Solo Album to date.

'Stranger Things' features eleven great Songs - plus a 'reprise' of the first Track 'Glorious'. This is a much more 'sober' collection, with some great thought-provoking lyrics, such as on: 'When It's Your Time' which is somewhat 'reflective'.

I'm sure that this Album came to my attention late one night when it was 'profiled' on TV. I thought the Songs were great, the Artwork stunning, and I particularly liked the unique embossed 'Marc Almond' on the jewel case - along with the Album title too.

Marc's voice is in fine form here, and shows him maturing well and another side of him aside from his well-known persona with 'Soft Cell'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars it shines so bright!, 25 Jan 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Stranger Things (Audio CD)
How refreshing to hear the new cd from an artist whose career spans over twenty years but still breaks new ground. Admittedly it takes a couple listenings to appreciate the direction Stranger Things is taking but it's worth hearing out. The depth of this new work is remarkable and this gives the feeling that the Almond/Johannson (co-writer and producer) colloboration was down to destiny more than design. However, this album will not please everybody. There is a hard core almond fan base which craves the dark and the gothic when the artist alas has moved on. Stranger things is a wonderful and uplifting experience, a maturer and more sophisticated almond is evident. Of course there are lashings of camp, glamour, glitz, trash and tragedy but this time the caberet is performed in a (slightly) more upmarket venue. Expect strings, lavish orchestration, beautiful production and a perfect pop number (glorious). The most well rounded and satisying almond release to date.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Marc Almond Classic, 18 Jun 2001
By 
D. W. Peirce-hendriks (DRUTEN, (Gld) Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stranger Things (Audio CD)
This will be the Marc Almond album that in 10 or 20 years will still sound as fresh and great as it sounds today. The last album Marc released was sad, deep and moody. This album is uplifting, happy, warm and beautiful. Marc has never sounded so good on vocals, and the album is musically the best thing he has EVER recorded. The songs are classics one for one, and the complete album just flows wonderfully. My rating 9 out of 10, only bad point no song lyric in the booklet...oh well you can't expect perfection. Buy it NOW!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An agitated Shirley Bassey on a Prozac-Opium snowball, 12 Aug 2002
By 
N Cox vrs. chromaBoy (Sheffield, South Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Stranger Things (Audio CD)
Stranger Things, Marc’s first fully-feathered studio outing since 1999’s dark, trippy and deliciously euro-erotic Open All Night, promises much. The cover art – a blond, jewel-encrusted Almond - is a reassuring, yet unforgivable clue, and opening-track ‘Glorious’ hints of more to come: Some stories untold, a hint of ‘revelation’, a little ‘symphony of sound’ , and ‘feelings wider than the sky’, are, according to the gospel of St. Marc, all ‘Glorious’. But don’t listen too hard, nor too soon. Like the face on the cover art, you’ll have to lift off the jewellery and wipe the make-up off to reach the flesh underneath.
Born To Cry does provide some early promise. Whilst not begrudging Marc’s natural need to move on, it’s clear that some of his preoccupations remain reassuringly intact: Fate (“…You and I were born under a bad sign”), hurt (“…Born to lose”) and wounded (“…Born to bruise”). Born To Cry provides us with these emotions and more: a melancholy victim-fest, that is, whether he likes it or not, pure Marc Almond.
Come Out brings concern for the concerted fan: Marc-U-Like lyrics (“An ugly duckling in the peacock’s nest”) and kitch production combine to form a slavish and ropey lyrical emulation. Shut your eyes and you’ll see the closing credits of the ‘Poseidon adventure’ roll upwards; open your eyes and you’ll hear Marc’s voice. Very confusing.
Under Your Wing. A vaguely-Bowie guitar intro quietly promises more, but is rapidly absorbed by over-baked production. It’s a confused and slightly drunken Azneavour in NYC. But, somehow, Marc picks his lyrics up to form an unexpected mid-album twist of almost-hope. The lyric’s are Marc’s: and this is what Marc probably does too well, although it’s slightly spoiled by a under-confident production that appears not to trust Marc on these matters.
Lights. You do want to worry when Mark sings “Sometimes it feels so good to be alive”. But don’t be too alarmed: real fans know that on every Marc Almond album, there’s always a real dog of a track. Fantastic Star had Child Star, and I think we still forgave him. Not everyone can write a Marc Almond song. Not even Marc Almond sometimes, it appears.
Tantalise Me. When CD’s were, er, LP’s, you had a good side, and an even better side. The better artists knew this, so bravely split their good from their bad, allowing the listener to efficiently dispose of the chaff. Tantalise Me kicks this darker and more engaging side into hypnotic movement.
Moonbathe Skin. A dark, passionate and kaleidoscopic lyric (“Give me gold that only rusts”) caused me to rack my brain trying to remember what, or who, this reminded me of. Of course, it was Siouxie and the Banshees (“Cities in dust” / “Silver Waterfalls”). Silly me. Euro-Asian mystique, in a folkey sort of way.
Dancer. An agitated Shirley Bassey on a Prozac-Opium snowball. Wonderfully indulgent, just the thing when you’ve thrown the Milk Tray in the bin because you know you’re too fat, and Corrie’s cancelled because of the footie.
When It’s Your Time. This time the acoustics are allowed to continue. A real continuation of the musical themes established by Open All Night. The post-trip-hop sound is allow to beat organically in the background, and the pre-chilled stories commenced on Open All Night are allowed to warm.
End In Tears. Starts well. Again, an apparent lack of production confidence seems threatened by the potential monotony of a heart-straining, complex and engaging ballad. Fortunately, Marc’s delivery eventually punctures the techno-gloss, leaving the listener with a typically warm sense of ‘play it again’ desolation.
Love in a Time of Science will probably grow, although, for me, the word ‘science’ simply doesn’t feature in the Marc Almond lyrical lexicon. It’s not ‘Tenderness is a Weakness’, nor is it ‘Orpheus in Red Velvet’. This feeling alone explains the need for Glorious (reprise). An album’s got to have some closure, after all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not just a Marc Almond classic but a Marc Almond best., 16 Jun 2001
This review is from: Stranger Things (Audio CD)
Stanger Things The worst thing about this album is the title,don't get me wrong it is a good title but this album is more worthy of a much more glittering title like erm! GLORIOUS.it's the best thing he has ever done to date.Glorious the track is an original moment that explores a new avenue in it's arrangement as there is no real chorus ,Marc's voice used here to it's full potential. under your wing must surely be the next single as it's lyrical content will make you realise just how important that certain person really is. Moonbathe skin an exotic story of the people out there in the dark, using Juliette Greco as it's theme of moonbathers as opposed to sunbathers. EVERY track on this album has something new and exciting to offer think Shirley Bassey and John Barry and you'll be listening to STANGER THINGS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars, 13 Aug 2014
This review is from: Stranger Things (Audio CD)
The 2 stars says it all I don't like it, never even added it to my ipod
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Stranger Things
Stranger Things by Marc Almond (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews