Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cheap, cheerful and surprisingly good
I bought this item to fit onto a Canon 58mm AF Zoom lens. It fitted perfectly, and not only does the hood do the hooding thing keeping glare from the lens, the rubber structure provides a modicum of protection for the end of the lens - enough to save it from damage by a klutz like me. Cheap, easy to fit and effective. The only down side of the silicon rubber materials is...
Published on 7 Aug 2006 by Tim Bentley

versus
15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Only for focal length of 45 - 55mm
Be sure to read the description of this product, specifically the part that says "The lens hood is for lenses with a focal length of 45 - 55mm".

I have a Canon 450d with the 18-55mm kit lens, and while this hood fits it fine, if you zoom out wider than 45mm then you get the most severe vignetting I've ever seen. Large parts of the corners of the photos are...
Published on 10 Mar 2009 by J. Mckinney


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cheap, cheerful and surprisingly good, 7 Aug 2006
I bought this item to fit onto a Canon 58mm AF Zoom lens. It fitted perfectly, and not only does the hood do the hooding thing keeping glare from the lens, the rubber structure provides a modicum of protection for the end of the lens - enough to save it from damage by a klutz like me. Cheap, easy to fit and effective. The only down side of the silicon rubber materials is that it seems to attract fluff, especially that from our cat. Nevertheless, a great item.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cheap but does the job perfectly., 1 July 2009
By 
S. Evans (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hama SLR Rubber Lens Hood 52mm (Accessory)
I used to have a rubber hood on my old film SLR's 50mm lens many years ago, and have been meaning to get one for my DSLR for ages.

This is a great hood, fits the Nikon 50mm D perfectly. The thread is actually metal, which was a surprise for such a cheap hood.

Best of all, as it's retractable you can just leave it on the lens. No need to remove it to put the lens in a bag, plus it gives the lens some cushioning and protection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Only for focal length of 45 - 55mm, 10 Mar 2009
By 
J. Mckinney (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Be sure to read the description of this product, specifically the part that says "The lens hood is for lenses with a focal length of 45 - 55mm".

I have a Canon 450d with the 18-55mm kit lens, and while this hood fits it fine, if you zoom out wider than 45mm then you get the most severe vignetting I've ever seen. Large parts of the corners of the photos are black because the hood is appearing in the picture.

I don't recommend this hood for use with the Canon 450d kit lens unless you always use the lens zoomed in to its maximum focal length. Its probably best suited to standard/prime (i.e. non zoom) lenses (but not the Canon 50mm F1.8 II because that has a 52mm thread on it).

If you have a suitable lens that this will fit then its a good cheap hood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great little product, 1 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hama SLR Rubber Lens Hood 52mm (Accessory)
Great little product. I can put the camera in the bag without the need of taking it off, since it collapses on itself. Does the job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent value, 24 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hama SLR Rubber Lens Hood 52mm (Accessory)
Excellent value, compared to the Nikon. However I've not had the Nikon version so I can't say if it is worth the extra cash.
I bought this for taking pictures of animals at the zoo, many of them are behind glass screens which has caused problems in the past with reflections. It worked well, especially if the shot was obtained with the lens square to the glass.
It is now permanently attached to my 50mm lens as it folds back nicely. I've had no problems with vignetting, even with an additional sky light filter attached.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great thing & very practical, 17 Nov 2011
This review is from: Hama SLR Rubber Lens Hood 52mm (Accessory)
This is exactly wot I wanted. It came in good time and with sufficient packaging. I wanted this hood as it is of rubber, there can be places where you accidentally hit something with your lens. A plastic lens has more chance to transfer that shock to your lens. So I wanted a rubber lens. It also collapses perfectly so that I can go wide on my lens without vignetting. Also has rims for fitting the lens cap and additional filters. I only buy value for money items being a miser. This is value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nikon D40, 13 Mar 2012
This review is from: Hama SLR Rubber Lens Hood 52mm (Accessory)
Works like a charm, flexible. Could be adjusted perfectly if you have filter as well. I can have my UV filter + hood + lens cap all the time. So don't need to take it off since it can be folded being rubber made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lens hood for Nikon, 2 Oct 2011
This review is from: Hama SLR Rubber Lens Hood 52mm (Accessory)
Does the job nicely, pictures appear to have a tad less flare and therefore more crisp and better contrast. Subtle difference depending on light but seems to work quite well when pointing at subjects in front of a white background. Collapses nicely too and lens cap still fits on too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A nice simple hood, 21 Jun 2011
This review is from: Hama SLR Rubber Lens Hood 52mm (Accessory)
This is a nice simple hood that helps prevent light in many situations. It is not as good as a full hood but is better than no hood at all. It folds back on itself and is rather neat. It screws on easily to my Hoya filter.
Although it might not be everyone's favourite choice, for the price you can't get anything better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than the hard plastic lens hoods, 21 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I prefer the foldable rubber lens hoods before the hard plastic ones. It is always there when you need it and folded back it offers some protections from bumps.
The rubber may die with time, but it is cheap enough to allow me to buy a new one when that day comes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hama SLR Rubber Lens Hood 52mm
£10.65
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews