Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rock on
Move over Blink 182 and other so-called "punk" bands of nowadays, the real boys could kick your asses! The Ramones anthology epitmosises the real punk era. Fast guitars, often stupid - yet always contemporary - lyrics and no nonsense drumming makes this double cd more than worth listen. Even those with any of the Ramones' previous work has to take time to rock...
Published on 14 July 2001 by Anna C Cook

versus
7 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Tale of Two Halves
This pair of CDs consists of a startlingly clear division into two quite distinct sections.
The first section (the early years - roughly up to and including 'I Wanna Be Sedated') is as great a collection of Amreican punk as you'll ever want to hear. It takes us back to the very early days of punk, to the time when punk as a music genre was still being defined - and...
Published on 13 Jan 2003 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars BUY THIS DO NOT HESITATE FOR A MOMENT, 24 Feb 2011
By 
K. Kelly (France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hey Ho Let's Go - Anthology (Audio CD)
Everyone and I mean everyone should buy this. You must hear The Ramones before you die. The best band that has and will ever be.
Thanks Joey Ramone and the rest of the guys of course. They are the real mccoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars hey ho lets go by the ramones, 17 Oct 2009
By 
P. A. Smith (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hey Ho Let's Go - Anthology (Audio CD)
A very good compilation of Ramones tracks spanning their entire recording career. All the classics are there. great value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wicked selection of The Ramones, 21 Jun 2008
By 
This review is from: Hey Ho Let's Go - Anthology (Audio CD)
I borrowed this off my sister, and i really like it is a bit off a grower you start to notice some awesome songs. Every one know the classic Blitzkrieg Pop dont they? if you havnt heard anything by the ramones before and i wanna get an album buy this it's all you really need by them great stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT ALBUM, BUT..., 10 Nov 2006
By 
Red Rob "Red Rob" (Blackpool, Lancashire UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hey Ho Let's Go - Anthology (Audio CD)
I have to agree with all the reviews that say what a great collection this is, but I have just a slight niggle. Where is '(What A) Wonderful World'? Probably one of the all time greatest cover versions, but it ain't here. That's it. Niggle over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gabba Gabba We Accept Ya!, 14 April 2005
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hey Ho Let's Go - Anthology (Audio CD)
What a band! The Ramones never really got the recognition that they deserved for the great songs that they wrote. This is a collection of some of their best, and it covers their whole career in chronological order.
These guys took the DIY ethos of early 70s New York and applied it to the more melodic songs and styles that they liked. They didn't even stick to the same roles in the band in the early days - Dee Dee was the singer, Joey was the drummer and Tommy was their sound engineer! It all came together once they persuaded Tommy to play the drums, and they produced some of the best music to ever fall under the banner of punk.
'Beat on the Brat', 'Pinhead', 'Cretin Hop' - great songs that no other band could get away with! This is just an amazing collection for a tenner, and one of the best of the best of's that I have ever bought.
Sadly they are no longer with us.
RIP Joey, Dee Dee and Johnny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Gabba Gabba Hey, 31 July 2009
By 
J. Dorr (Northumberland, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hey Ho Let's Go - Anthology (Audio CD)
What can you say!
Dynamic, noisy, played at hypersonic speed. Classic punk rock for those that want to let themselves go or want to remember how things use to be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars IT SOUNDS GOOD, 10 Mar 2004
This review is from: Hey Ho Let's Go - Anthology (Audio CD)
i didnt grow up listening to any of this stuff as i wasnt around and i aint gonna go on about how it has affected me, it just sounds very very very damn good so i listen to it and you should also.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Tale of Two Halves, 13 Jan 2003
By 
Amazon Customer (Bristol, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hey Ho Let's Go - Anthology (Audio CD)
This pair of CDs consists of a startlingly clear division into two quite distinct sections.
The first section (the early years - roughly up to and including 'I Wanna Be Sedated') is as great a collection of Amreican punk as you'll ever want to hear. It takes us back to the very early days of punk, to the time when punk as a music genre was still being defined - and the Ramones were significant in the definition of what came to be recognised as punk rock. There are wonderful pieces of music here. There are no concerns about conventional lyrics, making sense or 3+ minute recordings - it is as rough as a buzz saw, and quite wonderful. Short, to-the-point tracks, great guitar riffs, tons of energy.
The it all goes horribly wrong. The second section consists of putrid, sugary, pseudo-rock. Not only has all the energy gone, not only have the Ramones failed succeeded in writing woeful lyrics, worst of all, they seem to have forgotten how to write a good guitar riff! I'm afriad I found nothing to recommend this section at all. You could virtually throw away the second CD and suffer no loss.
Hence, I would give the first CD 5 stars, the second CD just 1 - all together it has to therefore be 3 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 2 or 3 good ones., 12 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hey Ho Let's Go - Anthology (Audio CD)
The well known tracks are worth a listen but most of this double cd is filler and totally forgettable. As an introduction it does its job but I won't be searching anymore out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hey Ho Let's Go - Anthology (Audio CD)
Great item.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hey Ho Let's Go - Anthology
Hey Ho Let's Go - Anthology by Ramones (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews