Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully executed; nice collection played by many strings
This is a REALLY nice album. The sound is crisp and clear, with no distracting background noises. Vengerov plays with an accompanying group called Virtuosi, a sort of mini-chamber orchestra of 11 violins and a piano. The soloist and Virtuosi blend together fluidly, each complimenting the other, so that the presentation is awesome. Most of the works on this album are...
Published on 6 Nov 2001

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars --- Vengerov violin selection --
This is a virtuoso display of violin music by Maxim Vengerov. Although admirable and highy technical performances, I have to say that for my taste it is like a little too much chocolate. I was sorry to learn that a shoulder injury has impeded his career as a soloist.
Published 24 months ago by beadle


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully executed; nice collection played by many strings, 6 Nov 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Vengerov and Virtuosi (Audio CD)
This is a REALLY nice album. The sound is crisp and clear, with no distracting background noises. Vengerov plays with an accompanying group called Virtuosi, a sort of mini-chamber orchestra of 11 violins and a piano. The soloist and Virtuosi blend together fluidly, each complimenting the other, so that the presentation is awesome. Most of the works on this album are highly familiar, but Vengerov plays with an alternative verve and lyricism that seems to squeeze out the best possible sound and sensation of the music. Vocalise, the first piece, is wonderfully powerful and yet at the same time so achingly romantic. The faster pieces, Estrelita and the Hungarian Dances, have restrained power and varying levels of passion that is charming as well as arousing. Ave Maria is almost painful, it is so beautiful. Vengerov's style, well-demonstrated on his last album with the best Brahms I'd ever heard, is strong yet not overpowering; he is master of the violin, yet he coaxes it into joining him as his equal. Then suddenly he seems almost to be showing the violin itself just how much it can do. The pianist is quite stunning as well, and Virtuosi are poised, with all eleven violins, to join in and surround you with strings. If you love the violin, do not hesitate to purchase this album. To note, the only applause on this LIVE album is at the end -- nothing during the music to disturb your enjoyment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 19 Feb 2002
This review is from: Vengerov and Virtuosi (Audio CD)
You must buy this CD.
I have been a fan of Vengerov for 3 years now and this CD is my favourite.
With all the range of tracks from Monti's 'Czardas', where he plays it in a more interesting rhythm, to Bazzini's 'La Ronde des Lutins', a real treat, and all played with a Virtuoso to back him up, although he needs no help to impress me.
The CD has a romantic touch to it and favourites such as Schuberts 'Ave Maria', are present.
In the beginning of the CD, when he plays Rachmaninovs 'Vocalise', you can hear the audience take a breath all together.
They are frightened to breathe in case they miss out on his wonderful playing.
For anyone who's a Vengerov fan, This is a MUST, BUY THIS CD.!!!
That is all.
Christian Richards
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More marvels from the master, 23 July 2001
This review is from: Vengerov and Virtuosi (Audio CD)
This CD contains many old favourites from the virtuoso violin repertoire(including some for just the plain old fun of it)-Monti Czardas, Massenet Meditation, etc - but not like you've ever heard them before. Mikhail Parhamovsky's arrangements coupled with the stunning playing are simply gorgeous and fresh and brimful of character, drama, sensitivity and humour. This is top class stuff and if you're a fan you'd have already bought three! Vengerov just gets better and better...Love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the best thing in years a true genius, 29 Nov 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Vengerov and Virtuosi (Audio CD)
As a young violinist I was utterly inspired by this wonderful music. I play in a string ensemble, and our conductor, told us to go away and listen to some of Maxim Vengerov. I had never heard of him before, but I am already planning to book my tickets for his concerts, in the future. What an inspirational genius.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 12 Feb 2012
By 
D. Wood "David J Wood" (Lostwithiel, Cornwall United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vengerov & Virtuosi (MP3 Download)
One of the most astonishing pieces of music you will ever hear. This man has such talent and chrisma. You tube him playing this accompanied by two double basses, awesome!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vengerov and Virtuosi (Audio CD)
Superb from start to finish
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Glad to have this CD - very relaxing., 5 May 2014
By 
Jaynie Evans (Wakefield, W.Yorks. UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vengerov and Virtuosi (Audio CD)
I heard this on the radio and loved it.
Very gifted young man - makes very meditative and relaxing listening. Thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Vengerov and Virtuosi, 26 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vengerov and Virtuosi (Audio CD)
I chose this disc because I am a great fan of Vengerov and I particularly wanted his recording of the Czardas which I think no-one else has played it better. The whole disc was very exciting as it was a live performance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Vengerov, 28 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vengerov and Virtuosi (Audio CD)
I was a bit disappointed in tis disc. Vengerov is one of my favourite violinists, not least because there is often humour in his playing when appropriate. The programme is of familiar works played superbly but I have most of them on other compilations by other artists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Utter Brilliance, 17 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vengerov & Virtuosi (MP3 Download)
Vengerov is flashy - you can never doubt that - this CD is really good fun and has something of the circus about it, the ability to produce gasps ....he has the ability to produce the musical equivalent of leopard skin tights and bling - schmolz, but with a brilliance and a knowing humour - all of his incredible technical ability is on show in this CD but it's not the whole picture - there are still more than a few glimpses of the seriousness and emotional depth in which his musical genius is more typically based.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Vengerov and Virtuosi
Vengerov and Virtuosi by Antonio Bazzini (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews