Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An album to look up to.
Great lost pop albums part 327. I keep bangin on about albums like "Giant", albums that should have sold by the truck load , with the sinking heart of someone who knows he is not so much p***sing in the wind as defecating in a hurricane. It's obvious reading the other reviews here that some punters share my opinion of this wondrous album but it's still not enough...
Published on 15 Feb 2007 by russell clarke

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It didn't quite Move Me
Great to hear this album again but didn't excite as much as I'd expected & why couldn't they have included Move Me in the extras? Or the b-side I can't recall the title about the friend dying? Those would have been worth an extra star.
Published on 12 May 2010 by Richard Wilson


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An album to look up to., 15 Feb 2007
By 
russell clarke "stipesdoppleganger" (halifax, west yorks) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Giant (Audio CD)
Great lost pop albums part 327. I keep bangin on about albums like "Giant", albums that should have sold by the truck load , with the sinking heart of someone who knows he is not so much p***sing in the wind as defecating in a hurricane. It's obvious reading the other reviews here that some punters share my opinion of this wondrous album but it's still not enough. "Giant" is a halcyon living breathing marvel of an album. Pop music with an organic scuffed sheen, but a sheen none the less. The melodies are skittering and slightly askew but still dizzy, infectious and addictive .This is song writing that often goes against the grain of what constitutes great pop It's very rarely graceful or dripping with glamorous glee, the vocals by Rollo, like those of Gerard Langley of the Blue Aeroplanes are more than often someone enunciating with a awkward melodic edge yet every song on "Giant "adorns the listener with something to get excited about. Some of it will have you skipping around like a City worker opening his bonus payment.

There is one song on here -"So Good Today"- which is one of those songs that can change your mood imperceptibly .You could be having the day from hell, but one listen to this with it's heady hurdy gurdy arrangement and general air of pleasurable revelling in the little things that can make life worth living and you'll be grinning so wide you'll have to hire extra teeth to fill your mouth up.

Driven my furiously strummed acoustic guitars , tumbling percussion and the odd wheezing gasp of accordion amongst other things , this is one of the best independently released albums of the eighties and one that is so often overlooked . And as if that wasn't enough for the re-release on CD "Cherry Red" have tagged on tracks from other Woodentop singles including the truly berserk "Well Well Well", the sort of un-hinged pop song that is only now making a comeback with the likes Of Mika , Pop Levi and Patrick Wolf. "Giant "deserves to takes it's exalted place amongst other albums of glorious epiphany inducing music on the Mount Olympus of pop. Crane that neck upwards and maybe just maybe this great lost pop album will be re-discovered...lost no more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Manic Pop Thrills, 31 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Giant (Audio CD)
Definitely their best album; and although it was acclaimed critically, never propelled the Woodentops beyond cult status. One of the better indie albums from the late 80's, Giant not only includes manic pop songs such as "Get It On", "Love Train" and "Hear Me James", but also excellent slower tempo songs such as "Good Thing" and "So Good Today". And, of course, there is "Love Affair With Everyday Livin'"... simply a great pop song. Included in this release are extra tracks, most notably from the "Well Well Well" E.P. A great slice of indie pop, that has aged remarkably well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An '80s indie high point, 5 Jan 2013
By 
Mr. S. Burgess "Steve" (Hereford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Giant (MP3 Download)
This is cracking album, bristling with great touches, catchy melodies and frenetic beats. At the time I revelled in how bands like the Woodentops producing pure pop brilliance could go under the radar of the mainstream and the bloated music moghuls. Now 25 years later its a bit sad that Rolo Mcginty never got the credit he deserved. Anyway - download this now, you won't be disappointed. After that seek out a copy/download of Its Immaterial 'Song' and Kitchens of Distinction 'Death of the Cool' and you will have 3 of the finest albums of the whole decade and you will probably be in a select club of about a hundred souls.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the finest LP's I've heard, 27 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Giant (MP3 Download)
A great collection of music from a band that should have had chart success but amazingly never made it that far. Whether that be Radio1 playlists or otherwise who knows.
This is a fantastic LP each track stands on its own merits, for me there isn't a weakness.
If you like good pop music you will enjoy listening to this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you have been lucky enough to stumble across this album, probably best to just buy it., 18 Jun 2011
By 
tallmanbaby (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Giant (MP3 Download)
If you have been lucky enough to stumble across this album review, probably best to just buy it.

It is the first Woodentops album, one of the eighties bands that signally failed to achieve the recognition that many of us felt they deserved. It has been suggested that their disappointing second album or poor live gigs were to blame, but sometimes fate is just fickle. This does remain a classic.

The songs all have that bright high energy feel of Orange Juice and the Bluebells Young at Heart, so if you want a whole album of that sort of thing this is the place to come.

The songs are well crafted, they suck you in and don't outstay their welcome. Having said all that, I cannot imagine anyone else covering any of the songs, and although it might be heresy, they do all sound a bit the same. So although this is a great album to have, and one that I always enjoy listening to, if I were running from a burning building it is probably not the one I would take. Enjoy it for what it is, bright energetic and fun, good memories of happy times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars almost perfect gut-pop! five stars and two thumbs!!, 22 Nov 2001
This review is from: Giant (Audio CD)
Too many words describe this album. good, great etc. Lets just say nothing except to say that words cannot describes the beauty of these modern day mozarts. Better guitar work on this album, fewer glitchy squeals and passages of pure strum. The mood has been lightened by conversly darkening the drums, and making the bass sound like a piano. Magic. Hearing is believing and in this case believing is knowing that you know nothing except our love for this album. May they rest in peace. God Bless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It didn't quite Move Me, 12 May 2010
By 
Richard Wilson (Birmingham) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Giant (Audio CD)
Great to hear this album again but didn't excite as much as I'd expected & why couldn't they have included Move Me in the extras? Or the b-side I can't recall the title about the friend dying? Those would have been worth an extra star.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Subliminal still after revisiting 20 years on....., 4 Dec 2007
By 
G. Smith "mr.smith" (Den Haag Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Giant (Audio CD)
When this was originally released it was an absolute revelation and far ahead of their then 'indie peers'. The enthusiastic and rose-tinted memories of seeing them live at the ICA sometime in the late 1980s are merely proved right two decades on. This is an absolute classic debut album and just as refreshing now as then and lets hope they get the exposure they so clearly deserve this time around. Little wonder that the 'pioneers' of the Balearic beats scene and Shoom, gave this a lot of rotation.

Why sublime? - Well, Well Well it's an absolute gem that never fails to bring out a smile and get the feet tapping. Great to hear the team are recording and touring again! Feel the Rhythm......The Rhythm of the Love train!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Giant
Giant by Woodentops (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews