Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars32
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£2.18+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 September 2003
The film is funny for adults and children alike. It bridges the gap between childhood and adulthood in many ways. The whole family found it hilarious. It's the right length - some movies have your kids sat in front of the box for 2 and a half hours, this one is about an hour and a half. The talking dog is fantastic as is the guinea pig strapped to the roof of the car. A really worthwhile buy that our house couldn't manage without!!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2007
I really liked this movie. I laughed in many parts and just thought this movie was a blast. The drunk monkey was enough to make me wet my pants and the special effects were great. Everything the animals said matched up with how their facial expressions were. Overall a great comedy,
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2013
John Dolittle has a beautiful wife at his side, two adorable daughters and a career that could not go better.

One night, he runs over a dog with his car. The dog yells at him and disappears. From then on, his ability is back, communicating with animals.

Soon, animals flock to his place to get medical advice. But his colleagues suspect he's going mad, and as the clinic he works for is being taken over for a huge amount of money, many decisions have to be made.....

Murphy had a career resurgence with The Nutty Professor, so this is pay dirt for him and the film makers to remake another beloved classic with a little bit of innuendo and the classic Murphy schtick, but make it a little more icky this time.

And the results are really mixed.

On the one hand, Murphy is his usual watchable self, and the animals are funny for a little while.

The big problem is the script, animals can only be funny if they have something funny to say, and the majority of the time they don't, so we have to rely on silly accents or Chris Rock being over the top and shouting to give us chuckles, and it wears thin very soon.

This also marks the point in Murphys career where he just went straight for family fodder, so I theory, its to blame for the non swearing Murphy we get now.

For kids under eight, it'll be the funniest thing ever, for others, not so much...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Excellent family movie that works for both kids and adults. Dr. Johh Dolittle rediscovers his 'gift' of being able to listen to and talk to animals during a multi-million dollar take-over of his medical practice. Chaos ensues as he and his family sway from denial to acceptance...

Great for all the family. Rent it.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 20 November 2012
About as far as you can get from the original musical starring Rex Harrison this delightful comedy where the animals are the stars with a brilliant lip synch technology that truly convinces. Eddie Murphy is a natural and you can well believe that animals might well confide in him. The hilarious scene with the dog being dragged into the vet's office to be neutered stays in the memory.

As they say, a film for all the family that set a trend for this genre of style notably "Babe", unfortunately this film also spawned two much lesser and poorly scripted sequels
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2011
This is really an average run of the mill kid's movie based loosely on the original Doctor Dolittle film. Eddie Murphy plays the doctor who finds that he can communicate with all animals.This leads to every type of animal coming to him for help for their medical problems. The Special affects are not very special but i'm sure a lot of kids would love this film. There are a few funny one liners that will go straight over children's heads and that are quite funny but all in all this film is just plain OK
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2007
This has everything,

the great acting

the hallarious storyline

the bad language!!

The best disc quality!!

Great film, with

extremly funny charcters,

Eddie Murphy at his

highest standerds!!!

The first second

and third are all great,

these are the ones to

watch!!

:):)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2009
Dr Dolittle is a family film based on the old series,this time played by the always excellent Eddie Murphy.He plays a doctor this time who has some kind of telekinetic power allowing him the ability to communicate with animals,whith hilarious results.

I loved this movie and I think alot of kids will love it too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2014
Brilliant film, well we all thought so anyway. This film was a great price and unexpected fast delivery - so very happy. Thank you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2014
I love this film, I haven't seen it in years, but decided to buy it and I will never regret it. The film is amazing and hilarious.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)