Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Movie The McMahons Tried To Ban.
I know what you're wondering, why is that one of the titles? Well let me explain a bit about what happens during the movie.
**Warning May Contain Spoilers**
This movie was made by acclaimed director Barry Blaustein who is a huge wrestling fan and it takes you behind the scenes of the wrestling world and some of it's biggest names. Mainly New Jack from...
Published on 27 Dec 2005 by Caleb Williams

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars decent enough
Beyond the mat is another documentary that offers insight to the behind the scenes world of the professional wrestling business,the tagline that goes with that refers to the fact that vince mcmahon wanted this banned,true or not this fuelled the appeal of this release even though it is far from masterful.
The dvd follows the lives in particular of mick foley,terry...
Published on 3 Mar 2008 by sean paul mccann


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Movie The McMahons Tried To Ban., 27 Dec 2005
By 
Caleb Williams (Liverpool) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Beyond The Mat [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
I know what you're wondering, why is that one of the titles? Well let me explain a bit about what happens during the movie.
**Warning May Contain Spoilers**
This movie was made by acclaimed director Barry Blaustein who is a huge wrestling fan and it takes you behind the scenes of the wrestling world and some of it's biggest names. Mainly New Jack from ECW and Mick Foley from WWE. This basically reveals every secret the WWE tries to keep you from knowing, from the scripted shows to the rivals chilling and laughing with each other backstage, plus it makes Vince look kind of foolish when he is interviewing Darron Drozdov later to be known as The Droz and giving him the name Puke and making him throw up in a rubbish bin.
This shows a very honest and sometimes disturbing look at the real world of wrestling including an honest and somewhat upsetting look at the troubled life of Jake "The Snake" Roberts.
Buy this movie if you love wrestling or even if you are a critic who likes to go round saying wrestling is fake. This may change your mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The wrestling fans film, 17 Nov 2000
By 
a9801062@hud.ac.uk (Huddersfield, England) - See all my reviews
How many times have you had to tell your friends, 'it is scripted but its not as fake as you think'? This film is proof of that and looks beyond the glamour and the coreography to the consequences of getting your body thrown around a ring and being away from your family for about fifty weeks of the year. It is not all fun and games and a last the wrestling fan has a documentry evidence to prove this to all those who sneer at pro-wrestling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blood, Sweat, Tears And The World Of Professional Wrestling, 15 Nov 2009
By 
J. OConnor "Jim" (Liverpool, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beyond The Mat [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
Please be advised this review does contain spoilers.

As a fan of professional wrestling since the days of World Of Sport on a Saturday afternoon here in the UK, this documentary was always going to be of interest to me, and it was, expanding further on what I knew about professional wrestling while also seeing the resulting injuries collected by these athletes in the name of entertainment.

Directed and narrated by Barry Blaustein, a self confessed huge wrestling fan this documentary takes you behind the scenes of professional wrestling, showing you a variety of wrestlers from those starting off in the industry in small locally run wrestling promotions(I believe the guy was called Mike Modest), Matt "Spike Dudley" Hyson then of ECW making a name for himself in a minor national promotion, to big names such as Mick Foley (at the top of the industry), Terry Funk (considering retirement after many years in the industry) to those for whom life as not been so good, it takes you behind the scenes to the parts of wrestling no fan usually gets to see.

It has to be said that parts of this film are uncomfortable to watch especially the scenes where the young children of Mick Foley become very upset watching at ringside during his no-disqualification match with The Rock, and the fraught relationship between Jake Roberts and his daughter. There are also a few humorous moments too but they are few are far between and naturally so, as this is a documentary about a industry where it's workers pay a heavy toll on their bodies and lives while doing their jobs.

Over I would rate this as one of the best wrestling related documentaries I have seen. I know someone did mention the fact that it had been said that parts involving Jake Roberts had been staged, although you would not really know if this is true or not I guess on face value it has to be assumed that the documentary is a factual piece of work and nothing within it has been set-up or pre-scripted for added effect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not just for wrestling fans, 26 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This video is an absolute must for all wrestling fans. And not just WWF fans. Watching this gives an insight into the world of professional wrestling, ranging from training at the bottom to those who are fortunate enough to make it to the top. But this is not just for fans, if you have ever said the words, "Wrestling is fake" then I highly recommend that you buy this video. Then perhaps you will realise what an injustice it is to say those words.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very Good., 9 Aug 2000
By 
D. J. Taylor (Cardiff) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This film is a classic. It unearths the real story behind what we see on TV. It includes the people wanting to break into the business. The people who have made it in the business and finally the people who are very close to their retirement. Jake 'The Snake' Roberts comes across as the victim of the industry as he is seen totally out of shape working independent shows and addicted to the drugs that he used at his peak. Mick Foley comes across as a great family man especially after he witnesses his children's reaction to his fight at the Royal Rumble against The Rock. The final person looked at is Terry Funk who is seen competing at ECW's first Pay Per View show in 1997 and announcing that its time to retire or as wrestlers say in their matches to finish the match; 'GO HOME!' Funnily enough, it is now the year 2000 and since this part of the film was made Terry has worked for WWF and then back to ECW and now he is working for the WCW. So much for retiring! The tag of being 'The Film Vince McMahon Didn't Want You To See!' shows how in depth it is. However, I still don't think it is better than 'Hitman Hart; Wrestling With Shadows' although I am sure there are many of you who would disagree with me. To quote WWF; 'GET IT!'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars decent enough, 3 Mar 2008
By 
sean paul mccann "mccanns23" (ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Beyond The Mat [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
Beyond the mat is another documentary that offers insight to the behind the scenes world of the professional wrestling business,the tagline that goes with that refers to the fact that vince mcmahon wanted this banned,true or not this fuelled the appeal of this release even though it is far from masterful.
The dvd follows the lives in particular of mick foley,terry funk and jake roberts and we get to understand what their careers mean to their loved ones,the foley segments reveal a family traumitised by his antics,the way the director examines jake roberts is certainly one sided,making him appear pathetic and a joke to all and sundry,this isnt fair and one of the problems with this,if you ever wondered where wrestlers friends backstage then this answers that,if you wondered if the matches were planned then again you may find some answers but this really doesnt have much soul and is a snapshot look at the business,nothing more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wrestling not as fake as you think, 18 Feb 2013
This review is from: Beyond The Mat [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
This is a very good film inside the world of Professional Wrestling.as many people say its just fake and its just a big circus act? Yes it is a big circus in my mind but i love what the wrestlers do for us they go out their everyweek to entertain us, however its not all fake as the pain is all very real and much more if you would like to see how wrestling works by this dvd.
It just makes you appriciate what they do even more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth watching, wrestling fan or not., 31 Aug 2000
By A Customer
Whether you're a sports-entertainment wrestling fan or not, this docufilm is truly engrossing. If anything, it will make even the most naive cynic into a someone who respects the athletes (and believe me, from watching this you will see that they are athletes) for the pure adrenaline fuelled entertainment that they provide and the backstage scenes that are the engine to this spectacular theatre. It may not convert you, but you'll be intrigued and you'll definately want to watch it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent!!, 10 Feb 2010
By 
M. Bennett Pitts "pittsy" (sheffield, england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Beyond The Mat [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
although this is now ten years old, it is a brilliant insight into the realities of professional wrestling, if you have seen "the Wrestler" starring mickey rourke you will spot where perhaps some of the inspiration for that movie came from. Highly recommended for the hard core fan and those with an interest in seeing a real behind the scenes documentary. Particulary poinant to see Droz shortly before he was paralysed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very real look at how "fake" wrestling is., 24 Oct 2000
By A Customer
I watched this film and was totally amazed, I have read Mick Foley's book and this documentary runs parallel to it. The bits about Jake Roberts are just astounding, how that man is still in the business amazes me, I recommend this video, even the Rock looks like a genuinly nice guy. It's just a pity that Al Snow isn't in it, he's mentioned in the credits though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Beyond The Mat [DVD] [2000]
Beyond The Mat [DVD] [2000] by Barry W. Blaustein (DVD - 2000)
£5.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews