Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ready To Rumble (2000)
If you like wrestling, or even if you hate it, watch this film. This film happens to be one of my personal favourites, thanks to it's lack of seriousness, and outrageous characters. The story revolved around two twenty something's, Sean(Scott Caan - Gone In 60 Seconds, Ocean's Eleven) and Gordie (Arquette - Scream 1&2, Never Been Kissed), who clean port-o loo's for a...
Published on 18 Mar 2004 by Dan Donovan

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Useless
Bought it not knowing it can only be played inside the US and Canada, stupid restriction to have on a DVD. Wasn't made obvious to buyer either.
Published 1 month ago by Stephen Connolly


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ready To Rumble (2000), 18 Mar 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you like wrestling, or even if you hate it, watch this film. This film happens to be one of my personal favourites, thanks to it's lack of seriousness, and outrageous characters. The story revolved around two twenty something's, Sean(Scott Caan - Gone In 60 Seconds, Ocean's Eleven) and Gordie (Arquette - Scream 1&2, Never Been Kissed), who clean port-o loo's for a living. When they get two tickets to see their favourite wrestler, Jimmy 'The King' (Platt - Lake Placid, Three To Tango), they are crushed when he is cheated out of his title thanks to the evil Tidus Sinclaire (Pantoliano - The Matrix, Sky One's 'The Handler'). So they decide to do what any devoted fan would... help get their hero the title back, but when they find Jimmy in a trailer park dressed as a woman, they know there is much work to be done.
Excellent performances from Rose McGowen as Sasha, the evil nitro girl and Martin Landau, as Sal Bandini, Jimmy's new mentor and psychopathic REAL wrestler. Not to mention DDP (Himself) as Jimmy arch enemy. Bill Goldberg (Himself) also manages a few lines, though this WCW, or rarther WWE superstar, is no stranger to the bid screen, appearing in Univeral Soldier: The Return, along side the muscles from brussles, Jean-Claude Van Damme (amasing how small he looks in comparison to Goldberg).

If you don't like this film then, I'm afraid there is nothing I can do for you. Just take it as it is, and enjoy the predictable plot... with unpredictable characters. Definatlly one for all the family to enjoy. People keep saying you have to be a wrestling fan to like this... I'm not... well wasn't. Give it a shot, and I'm sure you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The King will rule you!!!!, 25 Feb 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Ready To Rumble [VHS] [2000] (VHS Tape)
In this comedy, Gordie(David Arquette) accompanied by his buddy Sean(Scott Caan) set out to help their favourite WCW superstar, Jimmy King, regain his WCW title which was taken from him unfairly by DDP on the orders of a sadistic manager. Unfortunately for Gordie and Sean, they cant accept that wrestling is fake and believe that their hero is super powerful.
After finding their hero drunk in a camper van, wearing womens clothes(dont ask) and fired from the WCW, Gordie & Scott get a rematch for the title for the King and set about training him for this historic Triple cage match at the next PPV.
Almost all situations in this film are funny as hell, such as the "bedroom match" between Gordie and one of the Nitro Girls(Rose McGowan) where she uses a few "foreign objects". Another situation that comes to mind is Perry Saturn (now with the WWF) & Sid Vicious breaking into an eldery man's apartment and much to everyones suprise, the old man beats up Sid and puts Perry in a submission move making him cry like a girl.
I mainly bought this film because i had never watched WCW ever and now that i will never be able to see it (cos the WWF bought them and used them as a storyline rather than a seperate program), so i just wanted to see what i had missed.
Not alot really because it looks realy shoddy and small time. But it was dead funny pointing out some of the wrestlers you knew. Like one of the characters will be walking through a corridor, and in the background showing Booker T (now WWF, "can you dig it sucka?"), Goldberg, Mr Perfect, Billy Kidman and Sting, to name a few.
In recap, this is a damn fine movie with alot of good laughs and well worth the money for any wrestling fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A MUST FOR WRESTLING FANS....................., 4 May 2008
By 
Saturnicus "Saturnicus" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Yet another beauty crying out to be released as Region 2.
Two devoted fans of the King (Oliver Platt), are devastated when he is robbed of his title by Diamond Dallas Page. They set out to put him back on top.
There is an all star wrestling cast and loads of fun.
Everyone who loves Oliver Platt and wrestling will love this one.
Someone said on another site that it killed WCW, well that is nonsense.
A great little movie, even better with Bill Goldberg shining in it.
Yes; I am a big fan of "The Man".
DON'T MISS IT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Underrated film, 3 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love this film and have been meaning to update from my video to a DVD for some time. If you love wrestling then get this film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Wrestling flick that's actually funny! No, honestly!, 28 Sep 2001
By 
Alan Galpin (Southampton, Hampshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Ready To Rumble [VHS] [2000] (VHS Tape)
When I first heard that there was going to be a movie based around WCW I could imagine how stupid it would turn out. But I was pleasantly surprised when I saw it for the first time. It portrays the wrestling world for what it is, and it shows us some of the "marks" who live for Jimmy King, nicely played by Oliver Platt. The comedy isn't academy award winning, but it's pretty funny stuff at times. David Arquette, Oliver Platt, Rose McGowan and Martin Landau put on very good performances and seeing the likes of Sting, Goldberg, DDP and Sid Viscious playing themselves is great fun to watch. Well worth watching, even if it only acts as nostalgia for the "old" WCW.
"Sal Mandini, wanna wrestle?"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Useless, 1 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought it not knowing it can only be played inside the US and Canada, stupid restriction to have on a DVD. Wasn't made obvious to buyer either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Ultimate Wrestling Comedy, 3 Mar 2002
This review is from: Ready To Rumble [VHS] [2000] (VHS Tape)
This comical movie is about a super-popular wrestler named Jimmy King(played by Oliver Platt)who is kinda like Jerry "The King" Lawler from the WWF but is the WCW Champion but loses his belt to Diamond Dallas Page(that's not a bad thing, that's a good thing) because of power-hungry Titus Sinclair(played by Joe Pantoliano)! But luckily there's help in 2 of Jimmy's fans Gordie Boggs(played by David Aurqette) and Sean Dawkins(played by Scott Caan) as they set out to help King get his belt back and that's where they also meet Seductive Nitro Girl Sasha(played by Rose McGowan) and Sal Bandini(played by Martin Landau) who does beat up Sid Vicious and Perry Saturn(you're welcome) Home Alone-style! Billy Kidman, Rey Mysterio, Prince Iaueka(don't know who he is) and Juventud Guererra(now nicknamed The Juice in the World Wrestling Allstars aka the WWA) really put up a great tag match before the King-Page showdown! This is 1 comedy that you should see!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ready To Rumble [VHS] [2000]
Ready To Rumble [VHS] [2000] by Brian Robbins (VHS Tape - 2001)
Used & New from: £6.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews