Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars22
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£11.55+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 August 2001
This CD is an answer to the many years of the silent prayers of loyal Ten Years After's fans. What makes this CD instantly one of the greatest recordings of the band is the era when it was recorded. Ten Years After was a jazz band, (listen to their album "Undead"), that turned the corner to more of a progressive rock and roll sound. Three songs: "Love Like A Man", "Working On The Road" and "50,000 Miles Beneath My Brain" were brand new releases that appeared later on their "Cricklewood Green" album. They are played with real precision and delicacy. In the opening number, "Love Like A Man" Alvin Lee's solo comes across as though he is a Master Chemist. He doesn't pose, he stands there, and concentrates, like a focused Jazz Musician, and his lead evolves, expands, inhales and exhales. It is as though he is creating a living breathing being. Ric Lee's liner notes are superb. He helps the listener understand what exactly it was like at the Fillmore East in 1970, the people, the neighborhood, the delicatessen next door, the conditions on and under the stage, and what exactly defined the Ten Years After "sound". Three of the band's oldest numbers "Help Me Baby", "I Can't Keep From Crying, Sometimes" and "Spoonful" are haunting songs; the organ, the deep tones and blue mood of these songs is classical Ten Years After. Alvin's lead in this version of "Help Me, Baby" is by far the best of all his other previously released recordings; real psychodelic, powerful, and emotional techniques. I also really enjoyed the drum solo, "Hobbit", and I think that without this solo, the listener would have an incomplete picture of a Ten Years After performance. Listen to the opening beat that Ric Lee plays, this is a Jazz Drummer, he has subtle accents and delicate, refined rhythms; the group is anything BUT heavy metal. Rather, it has the sense of humor we find in most jazz combos. "I Woke Up This Morning" is also played with real precision. What is impressive about the backup band is that they never lag behind the intensity of Alvin Lee's solos. They press forward with the same grit that has characterized Alvin Lee's style. Ric Lee's liner notes on "I Woke Up This Morning" talk about how important it was for the bass, drums and keyboards to play complementary and contrasting melodies to accentuate Alvin Lee's solos. Perhaps at a later date, Alvin Lee wanted to shed himself of the high-speed leads found in this era of his career. But these leads are really what made his style legendary. One final note, as a loyal Ten Years After fan for 25 years, I have read reviews of the band in leading publications that seem to miss the magic of Ten Years After. Perhaps Ten Years After was so immense for its audience that they were above and beyond the skill of their music critics' ears. Maybe now those critics will want to listen again.
0Comment|42 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2001
THIS IS ONE OF THE BEST CD'S AROUND AT THE MOMENT.TEN YEARS AFTER HAVE DONE A FANTASIC ALBUM!!!! IT IS A DEFINATE MUST HAVE! WITH TRACKS LIKE THE HOBBIT AND LOVE LIKE A MAN IT IS SET TO GO STRAIGHT TO NO 1 IN THE ALBUM CHARTS.YOU EVEN GET 2 DISCS FULL OF FANTASTIC SONGS THAT YOU CAN LISTEN TO ALL DAY AND NIGHT. THIS IS THE BEST CD YOU CAN GET EVER SO ORDER IT QUICK ON AMAZON.CO.UK BEFORE IT SELLS OUT!!!!
11 comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2001
"The critics" frequently panned Ten Years After and dismissed Alvin Lee's playing as style over substance--they complained that he tried to play as fast as possible without "saying anything". The critics weren't listening to the same band I was then, and they obviously haven't heard this cd. As in the earlier reviews posted here, I have to agree with the comments about superb sound and share the delight of having live versions of the Cricklewood Green material. The fact is, this was a great band, especially live. The blues and jazz structures incorporated into this music give it a very strong base from which Alvin Lee can launch his guitar explorations. Yes, he plays fast--very fast. But listen to the notes as he plays them. These solos are well thought out and structured--this has both style and substance. Alvin Lee also has a great blues voice. Great stuff--even the longer pieces leave you on the edge of your seat, then surprised that they ended so soon. (Side note: what a venue the Fillmore East was! The Grateful Dead's Dick's Pick's volume 4 was recorded here just two weeks before these Ten Years After perfomances; those shows stand as some of the all-time best the Dead played)
0Comment|33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2003
This live recording from 1970 shows guitarist and (less impressive) vocalist Alvin Lee at his very best. In particular, this is evident on the two long tracks "I Can't Keep From Crying Sometimes" (disc 1) and even more on the aggressive blues rock song "Help Me" (disc 2), which contains one of the most impressive and energetic guitar solos ever heard in rock history. Some would probably say that it's "too much", but technically speaking it doesn't get any better than this! And the sound is absolutely brilliant. The other official TYA live recording named "Recorded Live" (1972) lacks some of the impressive energy found on this recording, so "Live at the Fillmore East" is the most important of TYA's live performances.
0Comment|30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 3 October 2010
This is great bluesy hard rock, Alvin Lee is sometimes criticised for his machine gun guitar solos, but I find them well constructed and exciting. But this is more than a one man band, this is a high calibre quartet who certainly know their stuff. I love all the tracks apart from the hobbit (drum solos are not my cup of tea) this band deserves more recognition than it already gets. Recorded live 40 years ago, this sounds as fresh and exciting as the day it was made.
11 comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2001
This is the BEST recording of the LEGENDARY Ten Years After in full flight. If you never heard them live..this is your chance to witness God...why Alvin/ Leo, Ric, and Chick ruled the concert stages.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2001
I bought this CD after reading the above reviews,the only other encounters with TYA were from The Woodstock & IOW '70' films. And I am mightily pleased with this. The only slight downside is 'The Hobbit' which is basically a drum solo, and as keith Moon used to say 'Drum solo's are exceedingly boring ! The set shows them as a really tight and powerful band, much better than Led Zep's TSRTS but not up there with The Who's Live @ Leeds, which is on a different plane to any other live release anywhere. But overall a super live set and also really cool front sleeve ! CHEERS !! Crewey
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2001
AS AN OLD TEN YEARS AFTER FAN I DIDN'T KNOW WHAT QUITE TO EXPECT FROM A THIRTY-ONE YEAR OLD RECORDING BOTH FROM A PERFORMANCE AND AUDIO PERSPECTIVE. OFTEN TIMES LABELS THROW OUT MATERIAL THAT SHOULD HAVE STAYED IN THE VAULTS. THAT IS NOT THE CASE HERE! THE MATERIAL (SANS THE DRUM SOLO)IS PRICELESS. KUDO'S TO EMI FOR THE EXCELLENT SOUND QUALITY. AND, A BIG TIP OF THE HAT TO MR. RIC LEE FOR PUTTING THIS MATERIAL TOGETHER.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2001
"Recorded Live" by Ten Years After was dubbed as The Official Ten Years After Bootleg, released in the early 70's. Put your copy of that on the shelf, listen to this Fillmore 1970 C.D., & tell me why it took 31 years to release this masterpiece. Keep On Rockin'
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2012
TenYears After we're always at their best live and this shows them at their peak. For me though, not quite up there with their 'Recorded Live' album.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£11.00
£5.99
£6.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)