Customer Reviews


118 Reviews
5 star:
 (60)
4 star:
 (30)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars futuristic violent fun! (for all regions)
Always had a soft spot for this cheesy but entertaining Arnie vehicle.
The story is set in the future about a uber-violent tv gameshow where convicts are forced to fight to the death in some quite elaborate ways.
Cue some classic Arnie one-liners, action and chase sequences, topped off with a great ending.

Features the great Yaphet Kotto, and the...
Published on 12 July 2008 by M. A. Bennett

versus
65 of 72 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Buyers beware!
I have just watched this so called UNCUT version of The Running Man blu ray.
I noticed quickly that bits were missing!
It does not list the running time in the listing,it is 93 minutes,
My DVD version is 101 minutes,clearly this is 8 minutes less.
I am very disappointed with this version.
The sound is much improved but the picture is only...
Published on 24 Dec 2011 by Grahamzombie


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars futuristic violent fun! (for all regions), 12 July 2008
By 
M. A. Bennett (Wiltshire,England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Always had a soft spot for this cheesy but entertaining Arnie vehicle.
The story is set in the future about a uber-violent tv gameshow where convicts are forced to fight to the death in some quite elaborate ways.
Cue some classic Arnie one-liners, action and chase sequences, topped off with a great ending.

Features the great Yaphet Kotto, and the lovely Maria Conchita Alonso.
Trivia; Maria and Arnie, both faced the alien 'Predator', Arnie in the original Predator (Special Edition) [1987] and Maria in the unimaginably titled but underrated Predator sequel Predator 2 (2 Disc Special Edition) [1990], also similarly set in a violent future.
This was of course before the alien-v-predator franchise tarnished it forever...

They've really pushed the boat out here on this 2 disc version, with a great remastered anamorphic,(unlike the standard version[ASIN:B00005JSGU The Running Man [1987] [1988]]] widescreen (and fullscreen) print, 5.1EX,6.1 DTS-ES soundtracks, commentaries, documentaries etc. making this the definitive DVD version to get.

Note; although listed as region 1, i tested it in both a region 1 and 2 locked player, and it appears there is no regional coding applied, and why indeed should any older title such as this have any?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Reality Tv Just Got Hardcore, 6 Dec 2013
By 
Timelord-007 (The Eccentric Wanderer) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Running Man (Uncut Import Edition).

Positive.
1)Arnold Schwarzenegger is excellent as Ben Richards who is wrongly convicted & given a chance of parole by appearing on a brutal reality game show.
2)Great story based on a short story by Stephen King.
3)Great action scenes & typical Arnie one liners.

Negative.
1)Nothing really it's a 80's action classic, Although Mick Fleetwood & Erland Can Lidth as Dynamo acting leaves a lot to be desired.

Trivia.
1)Sven Ole Thorsen is a regular in Arnie movies & here he plays the main security guard.
2)Richard Dawson was host of long running US game show Family Feud.
3)Director Paul Michael Glaser played Starsky for 4 seasons in cop tv show Starsky & Hutch.
4)Yaphett Kotto was villian Doctor Kananga/Mr Big in Roger Moores debut as James Bond in Live & Let Die & also Played Parker in Alien.
5)Jesse Ventura as Captain Freedom his character is just brilliant was in Predator with Arnie..
6)Paula Abdul choreographed the dancers in the Running Man game intro.
7)I'll be back was the fourth time Arnie spoke this line the other times were The Terminator & twice in Commando.

Blu-Ray Info.
Region B/2
Ratio: 16.9/1.37:1
English Audio, German Audio.
Certificate: 18
Running time 100 minutes.

Review.
This is a film that was way before it's time as back in 1987 Reality Tv was unheard of apart from the odd talent show but now in 2013 you can't change channel for reality Tv.

This story based on Stephen Kings short story sees Arnie as Ben Richards who refuses to open fire on hungry helpless people so is detained, Imprisoned & labeled The Butcher Of Bakersfield a crime he didn't commit.

On escaping from the prison Richards is eventually apprehended by police & confronted by Killian a Interactive gameshow host of The Running Man were criminals are given a chance of parole if they can battle the stalkers & win a bid for freedom but it's a game of life or death.

But Ben Richards has yet to play & when his escapees are also sent to play the game with Ben it's a battle for survival or be killed as each stalker who has his own unique way of hunting down there prey.

Can Richards make it to the terminal & use the uplink code to break Killian's censored transmissions & clear his name?

This is full on action as Ben Richards kicks ass against the stalkers while attempting to clear his name & save his accomplice Amber who at first reported Richard's too the Authorities then sensed Richard's was maybe innocent so she trys to find evidence to clear Richard's name & is captured & added to the game show.

The final assault on The Tv station were the Running Man is broadcast is excellent & I love how Killian gets his commpuance by Richards in the movies climax.

The Blu-Ray is a decent quality but not outstanding transfer, the movie is uncut & the sounds sharp & dialogue clear.

This is classic 80's Arnie film that delivers the great action but also has a interesting plot to the film especially in today's Reality Tv age & is a highly recommended Schwarzenegger action movie.

Timelord Rating.
8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


65 of 72 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Buyers beware!, 24 Dec 2011
By 
I have just watched this so called UNCUT version of The Running Man blu ray.
I noticed quickly that bits were missing!
It does not list the running time in the listing,it is 93 minutes,
My DVD version is 101 minutes,clearly this is 8 minutes less.
I am very disappointed with this version.
The sound is much improved but the picture is only
Marginally better than the DVD.
I hope this helps potential buyers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is the review you should read!, 22 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Ok, so anyone with any doubts, let me tell you some truths.
I ordered from scene style. They sent me a full uncut version with English audio which strangely was explicitly stated on stickers all over the box (guess they have had lots of queries over this?).

So its the proper version. I wont review the film content as most people have seen it and I think its one of arnies bests.

The Transfer is nothing like ... Total Recall say? However its leagues ahead of the abysmal dvd version we've had to endure for many centuries. A lot of clean up has been done, colours look vibrant without being too saturated and there is enough detail in most scenes to satisfy most, Its good but not great but then I think this is the best we can expect.
The audio, namely the soundtrack is the best thing about the film. It sounds like its been meticulously re-mastered. Before it sounded like a muddied mess, but it feels like they've superimposed a HD soundtrack over the top of the film. Granted its far more prominent than before but I think that's a good thing and reinforces the fight scenes even better, especially the 'running away with you' track at the end! Sounded like a high res FLAC or something lol! Now it may be me but in something like the buzzsaw fight scene Im sure an extra guitar solo has been added? Little strange but good all the same.

In conclusion buy this if you love the film but want a higher quality version! Buy from scene style they are awesome!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars He's the Governor., 5 May 2009
This review is from: The Running Man [1987] [DVD] [1988] (DVD)
Vastly underrated and overlooked film - probably because of Arnie's presence. What's not to like? Stirring soundtrack, marvellous casting including Mick Fleetwood as himself and Dweezil Zappa as Stevie. Good script loosely base on the Stephen King book, with plenty of outstanding Bond-like callous one-liners. Plus it's a "warning from the past" (1987) -beware of Gladiators/Reality TV, they're all "Bread and Circuses".

If you've only seen it on TV, you may have seen a censored version which stops short of Killian being blown up - completely negating the whole film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Chopped version, 22 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This German blu-Ray is cut to ribbons avoid at all costs it even says so on the sleeve.
Buyers should be pre warned
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Who loves you, and who do you love?, 13 Aug 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I ordered this German import Blu ray version of The Running Man with some trepidation, having seen a couple of reviews complaining of the movie being cut etc. If you are concerned about this or any other issues then my advice is: don't be, buy it! For starters the Blu ray comes in one of the thin style Blu ray cases, and the description on the back is all in German (given that this is the only region B release available at present, I can live with that), and the primary soundtrack language is German although this can be changed either with the audio button on your remote or via the menu screen. The back of the box states that it has either a German or English Dolby 2.0 soundtrack, and the running time is 96 mins. Both of these things are WRONG. The disc does indeed have a German Dolby 2.0 soundtrack, but also contains both an English DTS 5.1 AND German DTS 5.1 soundtrack. The running time of the feature is 100m43s (I think the 96min runtime may not include the end credits, but this is always included in the runtimes listed for movies). The transfer is good, not amazing, but the best I have seen this film look ( I have it on DVD and VHS), and certainly well worth the upgrade. So to sum up: you can either buy a multi-region Blu ray player and get the US release, wait for an English region B release, or buy this German import. I opted for the latter and am pleased that I did- buy with confidence!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Arnie's Greatest Film, 8 Jun 2004
This review is from: The Running Man [1987] [DVD] [1988] (DVD)
By far his greatest work! The characters in this are superb, particularly Jessy 'The Body' Ventura as captain Freedom! This film also features even more classic quotables than Terminator!
"I live to see the day you eat that contract, but I hope you leave enough room for my fist, because I'm gonna ram it into your stomach and break your God Dam spine!!!! Arrrrrgh!!!"
Go and buy it and watch it again and again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Censored version :(, 5 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
They cut 9 minutes off. AVOID like the plague. Get the other uncut version. Otherways one of best Arnie movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cult classic on blu ray, 27 Aug 2014
By 
wolfers "bluesman" (uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This film really is a cult classic.
Cheesy, yes without a doubt, but for some reason other than its Arnie, it really is a great great movie, ripe I dare say for a remake. Having said that look what they did with Robocop from the same period.
The premise:a game show where hardened criminals are allegedly given the chance of a full pardon and freedom if they come through The Running Man tv game show, defeating various challengers and obstacles on the way.
It is of its time and looks very 80, s.I remember seeing Total Recall at the pics and was blown away by the effects, and even now they look dated now, but, do not detract from a great movie.RM falls into this category but is still a pure self indulgent joy of the genre.
Based on a Stephen King story, loosely, you will find this a thrill ride.
THE BLU RAY
This German issue IS uncut and region free.
Audio is dts 2 channel German, and importantly ENGLISH, so is easy to select and bang there it is, the original soundtrack.And although it states 2 channel I was most definitely getting clear rear speaker separation on the effects, cars, guns.
Image is an improvement on the dvd without a doubt, sharp and crisp, eg.on hair, uniforms etc.Well worth the upgrade for my money, having recently seen the movie on hd terrestrial, alas with ads.DOH!!
A must for Arnie fans, a must for genre fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Running Man [1987] [DVD] [1988]
The Running Man [1987] [DVD] [1988] by Paul Michael Glaser (DVD - 2010)
£2.68
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews