Customer Reviews


127 Reviews
5 star:
 (67)
4 star:
 (31)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars futuristic violent fun! (for all regions)
Always had a soft spot for this cheesy but entertaining Arnie vehicle.
The story is set in the future about a uber-violent tv gameshow where convicts are forced to fight to the death in some quite elaborate ways.
Cue some classic Arnie one-liners, action and chase sequences, topped off with a great ending.

Features the great Yaphet Kotto, and the...
Published on 12 July 2008 by M. A. Bennett

versus
65 of 72 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Buyers beware!
I have just watched this so called UNCUT version of The Running Man blu ray.
I noticed quickly that bits were missing!
It does not list the running time in the listing,it is 93 minutes,
My DVD version is 101 minutes,clearly this is 8 minutes less.
I am very disappointed with this version.
The sound is much improved but the picture is only...
Published on 24 Dec. 2011 by Grahamzombie


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars futuristic violent fun! (for all regions), 12 July 2008
By 
M. A. Bennett (Wiltshire,England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Always had a soft spot for this cheesy but entertaining Arnie vehicle.
The story is set in the future about a uber-violent tv gameshow where convicts are forced to fight to the death in some quite elaborate ways.
Cue some classic Arnie one-liners, action and chase sequences, topped off with a great ending.

Features the great Yaphet Kotto, and the lovely Maria Conchita Alonso.
Trivia; Maria and Arnie, both faced the alien 'Predator', Arnie in the original Predator (Special Edition) [1987] and Maria in the unimaginably titled but underrated Predator sequel Predator 2 (2 Disc Special Edition) [1990], also similarly set in a violent future.
This was of course before the alien-v-predator franchise tarnished it forever...

They've really pushed the boat out here on this 2 disc version, with a great remastered anamorphic,(unlike the standard version[ASIN:B00005JSGU The Running Man [1987] [1988]]] widescreen (and fullscreen) print, 5.1EX,6.1 DTS-ES soundtracks, commentaries, documentaries etc. making this the definitive DVD version to get.

Note; although listed as region 1, i tested it in both a region 1 and 2 locked player, and it appears there is no regional coding applied, and why indeed should any older title such as this have any?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Reality Tv Just Got Hardcore, 6 Dec. 2013
By 
Timelord-007 (The Eccentric Wanderer) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Running Man (Uncut Import Edition).

Positive.
1)Arnold Schwarzenegger is excellent as Ben Richards who is wrongly convicted & given a chance of parole by appearing on a brutal reality game show.
2)Great story based on a short story by Stephen King.
3)Great action scenes & typical Arnie one liners.

Negative.
1)Nothing really it's a 80's action classic, Although Mick Fleetwood & Erland Can Lidth as Dynamo acting leaves a lot to be desired.

Trivia.
1)Sven Ole Thorsen is a regular in Arnie movies & here he plays the main security guard.
2)Richard Dawson was host of long running US game show Family Feud.
3)Director Paul Michael Glaser played Starsky for 4 seasons in cop tv show Starsky & Hutch.
4)Yaphett Kotto was villian Doctor Kananga/Mr Big in Roger Moores debut as James Bond in Live & Let Die & also Played Parker in Alien.
5)Jesse Ventura as Captain Freedom his character is just brilliant was in Predator with Arnie..
6)Paula Abdul choreographed the dancers in the Running Man game intro.
7)I'll be back was the fourth time Arnie spoke this line the other times were The Terminator & twice in Commando.

Blu-Ray Info.
Region B/2
Ratio: 16.9/1.37:1
English Audio, German Audio.
Certificate: 18
Running time 100 minutes.

Review.
This is a film that was way before it's time as back in 1987 Reality Tv was unheard of apart from the odd talent show but now in 2013 you can't change channel for reality Tv.

This story based on Stephen Kings short story sees Arnie as Ben Richards who refuses to open fire on hungry helpless people so is detained, Imprisoned & labeled The Butcher Of Bakersfield a crime he didn't commit.

On escaping from the prison Richards is eventually apprehended by police & confronted by Killian a Interactive gameshow host of The Running Man were criminals are given a chance of parole if they can battle the stalkers & win a bid for freedom but it's a game of life or death.

But Ben Richards has yet to play & when his escapees are also sent to play the game with Ben it's a battle for survival or be killed as each stalker who has his own unique way of hunting down there prey.

Can Richards make it to the terminal & use the uplink code to break Killian's censored transmissions & clear his name?

This is full on action as Ben Richards kicks ass against the stalkers while attempting to clear his name & save his accomplice Amber who at first reported Richard's too the Authorities then sensed Richard's was maybe innocent so she trys to find evidence to clear Richard's name & is captured & added to the game show.

The final assault on The Tv station were the Running Man is broadcast is excellent & I love how Killian gets his commpuance by Richards in the movies climax.

The Blu-Ray is a decent quality but not outstanding transfer, the movie is uncut & the sounds sharp & dialogue clear.

This is classic 80's Arnie film that delivers the great action but also has a interesting plot to the film especially in today's Reality Tv age & is a highly recommended Schwarzenegger action movie.

Timelord Rating.
8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


65 of 72 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Buyers beware!, 24 Dec. 2011
By 
I have just watched this so called UNCUT version of The Running Man blu ray.
I noticed quickly that bits were missing!
It does not list the running time in the listing,it is 93 minutes,
My DVD version is 101 minutes,clearly this is 8 minutes less.
I am very disappointed with this version.
The sound is much improved but the picture is only
Marginally better than the DVD.
I hope this helps potential buyers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is the review you should read!, 22 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Ok, so anyone with any doubts, let me tell you some truths.
I ordered from scene style. They sent me a full uncut version with English audio which strangely was explicitly stated on stickers all over the box (guess they have had lots of queries over this?).

So its the proper version. I wont review the film content as most people have seen it and I think its one of arnies bests.

The Transfer is nothing like ... Total Recall say? However its leagues ahead of the abysmal dvd version we've had to endure for many centuries. A lot of clean up has been done, colours look vibrant without being too saturated and there is enough detail in most scenes to satisfy most, Its good but not great but then I think this is the best we can expect.
The audio, namely the soundtrack is the best thing about the film. It sounds like its been meticulously re-mastered. Before it sounded like a muddied mess, but it feels like they've superimposed a HD soundtrack over the top of the film. Granted its far more prominent than before but I think that's a good thing and reinforces the fight scenes even better, especially the 'running away with you' track at the end! Sounded like a high res FLAC or something lol! Now it may be me but in something like the buzzsaw fight scene Im sure an extra guitar solo has been added? Little strange but good all the same.

In conclusion buy this if you love the film but want a higher quality version! Buy from scene style they are awesome!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "..TOP SCI-FI CLASSIC..", 23 April 2012
By 
S. Drury "SDX-800" (U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Running Man [1987] [DVD] [1988] (DVD)
This is one of schwarzeneggers best ever movies, such a unique film with loads of cool memerable action scenes and dialogue, the soundtrack is also another cool element to the film, Its a shame that there is never any special features, hopefully one day they will release a 2-disc collectors edition, but until then if you do not have this or have not seen it then its a must have film. Sci-Fi gem!!

UPDATED 28/02/14

Running Man - uncut edition (English audio) Blu-ray

This is for the Blu-ray version which is pictured with original artwork and green writing on the front saying running man, you don't actually get a cover like that so I don't know why its pictured, you get a slimline case with the original art still, the details say its 101 minutes uncut, this is TRUE, the only and fullest version of this movie runs at 1 hour 41 minutes 101 minutes, it says 96 on back but that's without credits which are officially accounted in the running time of any film. Uncut doesn't mean its longer in any way there is no longer version, if you buy any 101 minute version then your ok, there is an 86 minute version online somewhere and that is most certainly cut. The picture quality on this is also very good compared to the DVD version, it may not be the best picture ever but at least the black colours ok and there is no grain on the picture, its a better step up from DVD for now, lets hope soon the UK get an ultimate version!

RUNS AT 101 MIN UNCUT.............. REGION FREE PLAYS IN UK

The Audio IS in English you just use the Audio button on your remote to change it

Ignore other reviewers saying its not uncut as they clearly haven't watched any other version to realise what they are talking about, 101 minutes means it is uncut, no longer version of this movie exists!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars They don't make `em like they used to, 8 July 2012
This review is from: The Running Man [1987] [DVD] [1988] (DVD)
The Running Man is a classic - classic Arnie, classic action and classic everything.

It's about Ben Richards, a cop in a dystopian future who's framed for a crime he didn't commit (aren't they all?) and forced to `star' on a futuristic game show called `The Running Man' where prisoners are hunted down and killed in front of a live studio audience.

It's a simple plot and copied quite a few times (the latest being The Hunger Games, which follows the same format), but it works perfectly. Arnie is on top form - if you like his particular brand of acting, i.e. he beats the hell out of, or kills, anyone who stands in his way then follows it up with a glib (and pretty cheesy) wise-crack.

I looked The Running Man up online after I'd watched it and, it's fair to say, that people like to make fun of the million or so plot holes in the film. Yet, even though people like to point them out, very few actually find they detract from the overall enjoyment of the movie.

In short, it's great. Stupid yes, but great. Put you mind on hold and watch what Arnie does best (which isn't politics) and dream of the day when TV has reached this stage, i.e. where X-Factor judges are hunted down with chainsaws for the enjoyment of us at home.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars He's the Governor., 5 May 2009
This review is from: The Running Man [1987] [DVD] [1988] (DVD)
Vastly underrated and overlooked film - probably because of Arnie's presence. What's not to like? Stirring soundtrack, marvellous casting including Mick Fleetwood as himself and Dweezil Zappa as Stevie. Good script loosely base on the Stephen King book, with plenty of outstanding Bond-like callous one-liners. Plus it's a "warning from the past" (1987) -beware of Gladiators/Reality TV, they're all "Bread and Circuses".

If you've only seen it on TV, you may have seen a censored version which stops short of Killian being blown up - completely negating the whole film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars You look pissed Ben., 11 July 2012
By 
This review is from: The Running Man [1987] [DVD] [1988] (DVD)
2017, and when the population isn't involved in food riots they're watching (and betting on) a sadistic gameshow presided over by a sleazy host. Ben Richards (Schwarzenegger) is framed for the 'Bakersfield Massacre' and forced to compete on the show 'The Running Man' pursued by stalkers with names like Buzzsaw, Dynamo, Fireball (Jim Brown), Subzero and Captain Freedom (Jesse Ventura)- think a futuristic version of the Most Dangerous Game. From a short story by Stephen King (under the pseudonym Richard Bachmann) this is a quintessential 80's film, Schwarzenegger and his cheesy one-liners, comic, bloody violence, a soundtrack by Harold Faltermeyer. It even has two musicians Dweezil Zappa (son of Frank)and Mick Fleetwood (Fleetwood Mac) whose character is curiously called Mic. Perhaps the biggest coup is getting Richard Dawson to play the part of Damon Killian, the gameshow host. For those that don't know Dawson is known in America as the host of Family Feud ( UK- Family Fortunes) and co-star of sixties TV sitcom Hogan's Heroes. Great fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More Of A Jog...., 4 Sept. 2014
By 
Geoff (Derbyshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Running Man [1987] [DVD] [1988] (DVD)
'The Running Man'...

I can remember being a teenager and watching this at the cinema. Arnold Schwarzenegger was, of course, the lead and he was joint king of the action movie, alongside Stallone and Willis, for me....

I enjoyed the film immensely then....what about now?

Well, looking through 40 something eyes shows up two different points; yes, it's an 80's movie but not a 'classic' 80's movie. I was surprised just how dated it actually appears....

...and...two; this is like the big grandfather to series like 'The Hunger Games'! The self same ethics and principles are conveyed....

It's a little more violent than I remember, some of the 'effects' are a little cheap but it's still entertaining and with a message at it's heart - don't believe the media on everything you see and hear....

A good movie to pass the time....just not a GREAT movie....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Chopped version, 22 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This German blu-Ray is cut to ribbons avoid at all costs it even says so on the sleeve.
Buyers should be pre warned
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Running Man [1987] [DVD] [1988]
The Running Man [1987] [DVD] [1988] by Paul Michael Glaser (DVD - 2010)
£4.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews