Customer Reviews


110 Reviews
5 star:
 (54)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars futuristic violent fun! (for all regions)
Always had a soft spot for this cheesy but entertaining Arnie vehicle.
The story is set in the future about a uber-violent tv gameshow where convicts are forced to fight to the death in some quite elaborate ways.
Cue some classic Arnie one-liners, action and chase sequences, topped off with a great ending.

Features the great Yaphet Kotto, and the...
Published on 12 July 2008 by M. A. Bennett

versus
65 of 72 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Buyers beware!
I have just watched this so called UNCUT version of The Running Man blu ray.
I noticed quickly that bits were missing!
It does not list the running time in the listing,it is 93 minutes,
My DVD version is 101 minutes,clearly this is 8 minutes less.
I am very disappointed with this version.
The sound is much improved but the picture is only...
Published on 24 Dec 2011 by Grahamzombie


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars futuristic violent fun! (for all regions), 12 July 2008
By 
M. A. Bennett (Wiltshire,England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Always had a soft spot for this cheesy but entertaining Arnie vehicle.
The story is set in the future about a uber-violent tv gameshow where convicts are forced to fight to the death in some quite elaborate ways.
Cue some classic Arnie one-liners, action and chase sequences, topped off with a great ending.

Features the great Yaphet Kotto, and the lovely Maria Conchita Alonso.
Trivia; Maria and Arnie, both faced the alien 'Predator', Arnie in the original Predator (Special Edition) [1987] and Maria in the unimaginably titled but underrated Predator sequel Predator 2 (2 Disc Special Edition) [1990], also similarly set in a violent future.
This was of course before the alien-v-predator franchise tarnished it forever...

They've really pushed the boat out here on this 2 disc version, with a great remastered anamorphic,(unlike the standard version[ASIN:B00005JSGU The Running Man [1987] [1988]]] widescreen (and fullscreen) print, 5.1EX,6.1 DTS-ES soundtracks, commentaries, documentaries etc. making this the definitive DVD version to get.

Note; although listed as region 1, i tested it in both a region 1 and 2 locked player, and it appears there is no regional coding applied, and why indeed should any older title such as this have any?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


65 of 72 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Buyers beware!, 24 Dec 2011
By 
I have just watched this so called UNCUT version of The Running Man blu ray.
I noticed quickly that bits were missing!
It does not list the running time in the listing,it is 93 minutes,
My DVD version is 101 minutes,clearly this is 8 minutes less.
I am very disappointed with this version.
The sound is much improved but the picture is only
Marginally better than the DVD.
I hope this helps potential buyers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I Will Runaway With You, 31 Jan 2008
By 
This review is from: The Running Man [1987] [DVD] [1988] (DVD)
The future had turned into a 80s hell were the rich are richer and the poor are close to rioting. Rather than deal with the problems that their regime has caused the fascist government of the future aim to suppress the hordes by keeping them glued to the TV. The most popular show at the moment is one called `The Running Man' that sees convicted criminals being chased through deserted city blocks by well paid Stalkers. If the convicts escape they are given huge piles of wealth, if they are caught they invariably die. The newest competitor is one Ben Richards a former helicopter pilot who is accused of opening fire on a peaceful protest. This is all lies, but it won't stop mad game show host Killian from sending him and his friends down the pit. Can Richards and co survive the likes of Buzzsaw, Sub Zero and Dynamo long enough to win the game and perhaps bring down the government?

`The Running Man' is classic 80s Arnie and one of his best. It is incredibly dated and Arnie can not act, but these elements add to its unique charm. I don't understand why the future looks so 80s - perhaps it's a revival of some sort. The film was violent for its day, but it now pretty light and would potentially sneak into a 12A (except for the swearing). If you are looking for some great cheesy action thrills then `The Running Man' is unlike any other film around. IMO a science fiction classic that can be bought very cheaply on DVD. Is it worth paying extra for a HD copy of the film? I imagine that the film it was shot on means that there is little point.

Sammy recommendation
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Keep on running!, 8 Feb 2007
By 
clownfoot (London Town, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Running Man [1987] [DVD] [1988] (DVD)
It's an Arnie classic, although highly humourous to view a film about the future so stuck in the eighties. Resonates with all the reality TV on screen nowdays, although you can't help thinking Big Brother would be improved greatly if Jade Goody was forced to "Climb for Dollars." Arnie quips his way through the film only to be out quipped by a marvellous Richard Dawson (even good ole La Fours gets a quality last line) and a fantastic Jesse Ventura hairpiece. A solid entertaining sci-fi actioner, although certainly showing its age!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Running Man - uncut edition - You do not get what you pay for!, 29 May 2014
By 
Ian Harland - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As people have mentioned elsewhere: if this is the uncut version i don't know what that can mean when the run time is down from 101 mins of the dvd to only 96 mins of this Blu-ray!?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Reality Tv Just Got Hardcore, 6 Dec 2013
By 
Timelord007 (The Tardis) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Positive.
1)Arnold Schwarzenegger is excellent as Ben Richards who is wrongly convicted & given a chance of parole by appearing on a brutal reality game show.
2)Great story based on a short story by Stephen King.
3)Great action scenes & typical Arnie one liners.

Negative.
1)Nothing really it's a 80's action classic, Although Mick Fleetwood & Erland Can Lidth as Dynamo acting leaves a lot to be desired.

Trivia.
1)Sven Ole Thorsen is a regular in Arnie movies & here he plays the main security guard.
2)Richard Dawson was host of long running US game show Family Feud.
3)Director Paul Michael Glaser played Starsky for 4 seasons in cop tv show Starsky & Hutch.
4)Yaphett Kotto was villian Doctor Kananga/Mr Big in Roger Moores debut as James Bond in Live & Let Die & also Played Parker in Alien.
5)Jesse Ventura as Captain Freedom his character is just brilliant was in Predator with Arnie..
6)Paula Abdul choreographed the dancers in the Running Man game intro.
7)I'll be back was the fourth time Arnie spoke this line the other times were The Terminator & twice in Commando.

Dvd Info.
Running time 99 minutes.

Review.
This is a film that was way before it's time as back in 1987 Reality Tv was unheard of apart from the odd talent show but now in 2013 you can't change channel for reality Tv.

This story based on Stephen Kings short story sees Arnie as Ben Richards who refuses to open fire on hungry helpless people so is detained, Imprisoned & labeled The Butcher Of Bakersfield a crime he didn't commit.

On escaping from the prison Richards is eventually apprehended by police & confronted by Killian a Interactive gameshow host of The Running Man were criminals are given a chance of parole if they can battle the stalkers & win a bid for freedom but it's a game of life or death.

But Ben Richards has yet to play & when his escapees are also sent to play the game with Ben it's a battle for survival or be killed as each stalker who has his own unique way of hunting down there prey.

Can Richards make it to the terminal & use the uplink code to break Killian's censored transmissions & clear his name?

This is full on action as Ben Richards kicks ass against the stalkers while attempting to clear his name & save his accomplice Amber who at first reported Richard's too the Authorities then sensed Richard's was maybe innocent so she trys to find evidence to clear Richard's name & is captured & added to the game show.

The final assault on The Tv station were the Running Man is broadcast is excellent & I love how Killian gets his commpuance by Richards in the movies climax.

This is classic 80's Arnie film that delivers the great action but also has a interesting plot to the film especially in today's Reality Tv age & is a highly recommended Schwarzenegger action movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Chopped version, 22 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This German blu-Ray is cut to ribbons avoid at all costs it even says so on the sleeve.
Buyers should be pre warned
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Who loves you, and who do you love?, 13 Aug 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I ordered this German import Blu ray version of The Running Man with some trepidation, having seen a couple of reviews complaining of the movie being cut etc. If you are concerned about this or any other issues then my advice is: don't be, buy it! For starters the Blu ray comes in one of the thin style Blu ray cases, and the description on the back is all in German (given that this is the only region B release available at present, I can live with that), and the primary soundtrack language is German although this can be changed either with the audio button on your remote or via the menu screen. The back of the box states that it has either a German or English Dolby 2.0 soundtrack, and the running time is 96 mins. Both of these things are WRONG. The disc does indeed have a German Dolby 2.0 soundtrack, but also contains both an English DTS 5.1 AND German DTS 5.1 soundtrack. The running time of the feature is 100m43s (I think the 96min runtime may not include the end credits, but this is always included in the runtimes listed for movies). The transfer is good, not amazing, but the best I have seen this film look ( I have it on DVD and VHS), and certainly well worth the upgrade. So to sum up: you can either buy a multi-region Blu ray player and get the US release, wait for an English region B release, or buy this German import. I opted for the latter and am pleased that I did- buy with confidence!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars He's the Governor., 5 May 2009
This review is from: The Running Man [1987] [DVD] [1988] (DVD)
Vastly underrated and overlooked film - probably because of Arnie's presence. What's not to like? Stirring soundtrack, marvellous casting including Mick Fleetwood as himself and Dweezil Zappa as Stevie. Good script loosely base on the Stephen King book, with plenty of outstanding Bond-like callous one-liners. Plus it's a "warning from the past" (1987) -beware of Gladiators/Reality TV, they're all "Bread and Circuses".

If you've only seen it on TV, you may have seen a censored version which stops short of Killian being blown up - completely negating the whole film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Censored version :(, 5 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
They cut 9 minutes off. AVOID like the plague. Get the other uncut version. Otherways one of best Arnie movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Running Man [1987] [DVD] [1988]
The Running Man [1987] [DVD] [1988] by Paul Michael Glaser (DVD - 2010)
£3.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews