Customer Reviews


101 Reviews
5 star:
 (49)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars futuristic violent fun! (for all regions)
Always had a soft spot for this cheesy but entertaining Arnie vehicle.
The story is set in the future about a uber-violent tv gameshow where convicts are forced to fight to the death in some quite elaborate ways.
Cue some classic Arnie one-liners, action and chase sequences, topped off with a great ending.

Features the great Yaphet Kotto, and the...
Published on 12 July 2008 by M. A. Bennett

versus
64 of 70 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Buyers beware!
I have just watched this so called UNCUT version of The Running Man blu ray.
I noticed quickly that bits were missing!
It does not list the running time in the listing,it is 93 minutes,
My DVD version is 101 minutes,clearly this is 8 minutes less.
I am very disappointed with this version.
The sound is much improved but the picture is only...
Published on 24 Dec 2011 by Grahamzombie


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars futuristic violent fun! (for all regions), 12 July 2008
By 
M. A. Bennett (Wiltshire,England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Always had a soft spot for this cheesy but entertaining Arnie vehicle.
The story is set in the future about a uber-violent tv gameshow where convicts are forced to fight to the death in some quite elaborate ways.
Cue some classic Arnie one-liners, action and chase sequences, topped off with a great ending.

Features the great Yaphet Kotto, and the lovely Maria Conchita Alonso.
Trivia; Maria and Arnie, both faced the alien 'Predator', Arnie in the original Predator (Special Edition) [1987] and Maria in the unimaginably titled but underrated Predator sequel Predator 2 (2 Disc Special Edition) [1990], also similarly set in a violent future.
This was of course before the alien-v-predator franchise tarnished it forever...

They've really pushed the boat out here on this 2 disc version, with a great remastered anamorphic,(unlike the standard version[ASIN:B00005JSGU The Running Man [1987] [1988]]] widescreen (and fullscreen) print, 5.1EX,6.1 DTS-ES soundtracks, commentaries, documentaries etc. making this the definitive DVD version to get.

Note; although listed as region 1, i tested it in both a region 1 and 2 locked player, and it appears there is no regional coding applied, and why indeed should any older title such as this have any?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


64 of 70 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Buyers beware!, 24 Dec 2011
By 
I have just watched this so called UNCUT version of The Running Man blu ray.
I noticed quickly that bits were missing!
It does not list the running time in the listing,it is 93 minutes,
My DVD version is 101 minutes,clearly this is 8 minutes less.
I am very disappointed with this version.
The sound is much improved but the picture is only
Marginally better than the DVD.
I hope this helps potential buyers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars arnies best, 19 Mar 2012
This review is from: The Running Man [1987] [DVD] [1988] (DVD)
If you love 80s films you will love this none stop action classic arnie one-liners.
Have to mention jesse ventura who is brilliant as capt freedom the former wrestling champion although killian in the film thinks hes a hasbeen, capt freedom comes in with funny as hell guns things on his arms.
A must see for all those arnie fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Keep on running!, 8 Feb 2007
By 
clownfoot (London Town, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Running Man [1987] [DVD] [1988] (DVD)
It's an Arnie classic, although highly humourous to view a film about the future so stuck in the eighties. Resonates with all the reality TV on screen nowdays, although you can't help thinking Big Brother would be improved greatly if Jade Goody was forced to "Climb for Dollars." Arnie quips his way through the film only to be out quipped by a marvellous Richard Dawson (even good ole La Fours gets a quality last line) and a fantastic Jesse Ventura hairpiece. A solid entertaining sci-fi actioner, although certainly showing its age!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Chopped version, 22 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This German blu-Ray is cut to ribbons avoid at all costs it even says so on the sleeve.
Buyers should be pre warned
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Reality Tv Just Got Hardcore, 6 Dec 2013
By 
Timelord007 (The Tardis) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Positive.
1)Arnold Schwarzenegger is excellent as Ben Richards who is wrongly convicted & given a chance of parole by appearing on a brutal reality game show.
2)Great story based on a short story by Stephen King.
3)Great action scenes & typical Arnie one liners.

Negative.
1)Nothing really it's a 80's action classic, Although Mick Fleetwood & Erland Can Lidth as Dynamo acting leaves a lot to be desired.

Trivia.
1)Sven Ole Thorsen is a regular in Arnie movies & here he plays the main security guard.
2)Richard Dawson was host of long running US game show Family Feud.
3)Director Paul Michael Glaser played Starsky for 4 seasons in cop tv show Starsky & Hutch.
4)Yaphett Kotto was villian Doctor Kananga/Mr Big in Roger Moores debut as James Bond in Live & Let Die & also Played Parker in Alien.
5)Jesse Ventura as Captain Freedom his character is just brilliant was in Predator with Arnie..
6)Paula Abdul choreographed the dancers in the Running Man game intro.
7)I'll be back was the fourth time Arnie spoke this line the other times were The Terminator & twice in Commando.

Dvd Info.
Running time 99 minutes.

Review.
This is a film that was way before it's time as back in 1987 Reality Tv was unheard of apart from the odd talent show but now in 2013 you can't change channel for reality Tv.

This story based on Stephen Kings short story sees Arnie as Ben Richards who refuses to open fire on hungry helpless people so is detained, Imprisoned & labeled The Butcher Of Bakersfield a crime he didn't commit.

On escaping from the prison Richards is eventually apprehended by police & confronted by Killian a Interactive gameshow host of The Running Man were criminals are given a chance of parole if they can battle the stalkers & win a bid for freedom but it's a game of life or death.

But Ben Richards has yet to play & when his escapees are also sent to play the game with Ben it's a battle for survival or be killed as each stalker who has his own unique way of hunting down there prey.

Can Richards make it to the terminal & use the uplink code to break Killian's censored transmissions & clear his name?

This is full on action as Ben Richards kicks ass against the stalkers while attempting to clear his name & save his accomplice Amber who at first reported Richard's too the Authorities then sensed Richard's was maybe innocent so she trys to find evidence to clear Richard's name & is captured & added to the game show.

The final assault on The Tv station were the Running Man is broadcast is excellent & I love how Killian gets his commpuance by Richards in the movies climax.

This is classic 80's Arnie film that delivers the great action but also has a interesting plot to the film especially in today's Reality Tv age & is a highly recommended Schwarzenegger action movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Who loves you, and who do you love?, 13 Aug 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I ordered this German import Blu ray version of The Running Man with some trepidation, having seen a couple of reviews complaining of the movie being cut etc. If you are concerned about this or any other issues then my advice is: don't be, buy it! For starters the Blu ray comes in one of the thin style Blu ray cases, and the description on the back is all in German (given that this is the only region B release available at present, I can live with that), and the primary soundtrack language is German although this can be changed either with the audio button on your remote or via the menu screen. The back of the box states that it has either a German or English Dolby 2.0 soundtrack, and the running time is 96 mins. Both of these things are WRONG. The disc does indeed have a German Dolby 2.0 soundtrack, but also contains both an English DTS 5.1 AND German DTS 5.1 soundtrack. The running time of the feature is 100m43s (I think the 96min runtime may not include the end credits, but this is always included in the runtimes listed for movies). The transfer is good, not amazing, but the best I have seen this film look ( I have it on DVD and VHS), and certainly well worth the upgrade. So to sum up: you can either buy a multi-region Blu ray player and get the US release, wait for an English region B release, or buy this German import. I opted for the latter and am pleased that I did- buy with confidence!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Running Man - uncut edition - You do not get what you pay for!, 29 May 2014
By 
Ian Harland - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As people have mentioned elsewhere: if this is the uncut version i don't know what that can mean when the run time is down from 101 mins of the dvd to only 96 mins of this Blu-ray!?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Censored version :(, 5 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
They cut 9 minutes off. AVOID like the plague. Get the other uncut version. Otherways one of best Arnie movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Arnie's Greatest Film, 8 Jun 2004
This review is from: The Running Man [1987] [DVD] [1988] (DVD)
By far his greatest work! The characters in this are superb, particularly Jessy 'The Body' Ventura as captain Freedom! This film also features even more classic quotables than Terminator!
"I live to see the day you eat that contract, but I hope you leave enough room for my fist, because I'm gonna ram it into your stomach and break your God Dam spine!!!! Arrrrrgh!!!"
Go and buy it and watch it again and again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Running Man [1987] [DVD] [1988]
The Running Man [1987] [DVD] [1988] by Paul Michael Glaser (DVD - 2010)
£3.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews