Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stiff Upper Lip
Without a doubt, the best AC/DC album of the Brian Johnson era. There are no fillers here, this is a classic from start to finish. Infused with energy, this record will put you on a high that lasts for hours.
Published on 28 Nov 2002 by mr m r cross

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "I warn you ladies, I shoot from the hip..."
This was AC/DC's first release since 1995's 'Ballbreaker'. It's not quite as heavy as you would expect - this is a record with a bluesy feel and a grainy guitar sound, although it sticks doggedly to the same hard riffing, "rumpty-tump" groove that this band have been grinding out for 30 years and counting. There are some excellent songs on this album: 'Stiff Upper Lip',...
Published on 20 Feb 2007 by Gareth Hall


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stiff Upper Lip, 28 Nov 2002
This review is from: Stiff Upper Lip (Audio CD)
Without a doubt, the best AC/DC album of the Brian Johnson era. There are no fillers here, this is a classic from start to finish. Infused with energy, this record will put you on a high that lasts for hours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definitely not a Stiff, 27 Aug 2007
By 
K. Sensations "stacdc" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stiff Upper Lip (Audio CD)
Even after some 27 years, the Brian Johnston AC/DC has had to live under the shadow of those few Bon Scott years and those classic albums. Apart from Black In Black, in my opinion, none of the later albums met the pedigree of those first few albums - great songs, but more often than not the albums were a little disappointing. But for me, it wasn't that the playing got weaker, or the song writing, or even the choice of singer (Love or hate him, Brian Johnston still has one of the most unique voices and although maybe not be as popular a singer as Bon, he is a better allover performer), what made the Bon Scott albums stand the test of time and, I feel, the later ones suffer, is the sound. That vintage organic crisp clear blues sound that made us love the band in the first place, was too often replaced with too much of a mediocre metal sound for my liking and lacked soul and feeling, and I'll be honest, I hadn't even bothered to buy Ballbreaker or Stiff Upper Lip - given up by then. I did however recently buy the later and what a joy. Thankfully the band have had the sense to bring in their brother George Young (who should be employed to produce the Stones next album) again to produce and this is an album to equal any of those Bon Scott albums. The songs all feel like they could have come from those early AC/DC albums, but without doubt it is Brian who sounds, for the first time, like undermining the Bon Scott legend. His voice sounds amazing on this album. Thankfully on classic albums like this, you don't have to talk in terms of individual songs. Just stick it on and find the groove. Simply stunning!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "I warn you ladies, I shoot from the hip...", 20 Feb 2007
By 
Gareth Hall "Lord Rockingham" (Birmingham, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stiff Upper Lip (Audio CD)
This was AC/DC's first release since 1995's 'Ballbreaker'. It's not quite as heavy as you would expect - this is a record with a bluesy feel and a grainy guitar sound, although it sticks doggedly to the same hard riffing, "rumpty-tump" groove that this band have been grinding out for 30 years and counting. There are some excellent songs on this album: 'Stiff Upper Lip', 'Meltdown' and 'Hold Me Back' are all rough n' tough boogie numbers in the finest 'DC tradition, and the catchy 'Can't Stand Still' earns some in-studio applause, which is delightfully captured at the end of the track. However, this is not as consistent a record as 'Ballbreaker', and the quality of the songwriting dips sharply on half-baked filler like 'House of Jazz', 'Can't Stop Rock 'n' Roll' and 'Give It Up'. The better songs are good enough to pick up the strain, but for fans looking for a taste of AC/DC's more recent output, I recommend checking out 'Ballbreaker' and 'The Razor's Edge' before buying this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Superb Album, Brian Johnson Roars & Angus Young Riffs, 7 May 2014
By 
Timelord007 (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Stiff Upper Lip (Audio CD)
This album is reminiscent of the early days of ACDC, Released in 2000 Stiff Upper Lip sees the band produce another quality album that delivers awesome Guitar riffs by Angus Young & a superb lead vocal by Brian Johnson.

Hold Me Back, Meltdown, Stiff Upper Lip are the album's highlights & sees the band return to the more Rock 'N' Roll blues type sound & while there a couple of fillers included on the album the good far outweighs the average.

Stiff Upper Lip has now been Remastered sounding as sharp & crisper than it ever has now in a gatefold sleeve complete with collector's booklet.

While not quite on par with Razors Edge & Ballbreaker this is still a excellent album with the band sounding as good as they ever have.

Timelord Rating.
8.5/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic hard rock for huge amplifiers., 12 Aug 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Stiff Upper Lip (Audio CD)
Swaggering, foot stomping, hip thrusting, pulse accelerating, sexed up, air guitar, big riff rock. From the moment Brian Johnson's vocals kick off the thumping, bluesy opening track "Stiff Upper Lip" it is clear that AC/DC mean business. This track, along with "Hold Me Back" are the standout tracks on an album in which you will hear AC/DCs whole back catalogue in the form of remolded and reinvented guitar riffs. As expected, this album is not dissimilar to the previous album "Ballbreaker" and most of the songs would fit comfortably onto the last record. But despite this customary lack of imagination "Stiff Upper Lip" showboats the essence of what makes AC/DC a great rock band. Each track boasts the typically solid rhythmic bases, the continuous and indulgent guitar riffs and the searing vocals that are the trademark of the band. AC/DC will never exert a huge influence on the music world; their sound is far too self influenced for that. But this album stands testimony to and revels in the hot headed, beat driven, self indulgent, macho, free expression from which hard rock was born. This is classic hard rock for huge amplifiers. Bands like this are a dying breed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Metallica? Orchestras? **** that!, 29 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Stiff Upper Lip (Audio CD)
Not as good as Ballbreaker in my own opinion but AC/DC still show everyone else how to rock. "Hold Me Back" is possibly the finest riff ever - and thats saying something when you consider ANGus and Malcolms contributions. Buy this CD - believe me - AC/DC are, and always shall be, the Kings of Rock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent full on rock 'n' roll album, 1 Mar 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Stiff Upper Lip (Audio CD)
AC/DC's new album release 'Stiff Upper Lip' is an absolutly fantastic rock 'n' roll album, and by far the best release by the band in many years, possibly ever. The main rythems lying under Angus's excellent lead guitar playing are very solid and smooth and really come alive to provide the songs with a strong, sound impact, and Brian Johnson's screaming singing delivers it's usual power punch right between the eyes. I think that most of the songs from beginning to end seem to have a different sound to them though that suggests a change in the band's approach to this album. The songs are as much fun as usual, but overall it sounds serious, and not just another album release. Maybe they felt it was time not just to get it right, but to get it absolutly 100% spot on, which I feel they have done. For me though it's 'Meltdown', the second song on the CD that kicks ass the most. It's just got such a consistant and steady upbeat rythem that feeds the soul. I think AC/DC's last album 'Ballbreaker' with the exception of the title track itself left a bit to be desired as have some other other albums, but you can tell the band has really worked hard on this one, put in a lot of creativity and energy, and have really managed to pull something out of the hat for us fans, as well as elevating themselves back up to the great rock 'n' roll band heights again. More albums like this is what we AC/DC lovers need. Absolutly brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The best AC/DC album for years, 5 Oct 2007
By 
Mr. M. L. Hawes "Mitchmusic" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stiff Upper Lip (Audio CD)
The hard core of AC/DC fans will always yearn to a degree for the Bon Scott years, however one should not overlook the fantastic edge that Brian Johnston gaave the DC. This, their most recent effort, marked a slight new direction away from the usual DC fayre of hard riffs, slightly cheesy lyrics instead favouring a helping of the blues to underpin their usual rocking tunes.

As the other reviewer stated, this is an album that does not rely on standout tracks to make it work, instead it flows with a grin on its face and really draws you in.

Its an album that you could stick on at a party and once people have had a few beers in them, you will quickly have to re-order your air guitar stock as people dance and shimmy around your room.

Wonderful stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still great, 9 July 2005
By 
S. Roberts (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stiff Upper Lip (Audio CD)
As the previous reviewers mentioned, it's not as completely supercharged as some of AC/DC's other efforts, but it's still excellent. From the lyrics on the opener "cause I was born with a stiff, stiff upper lip" right before launching into a hard-hitting chorus, to Meltdown, House of Jazz, and Let Me Put My Love Into You, there are some definite winners on this album. There are a few tracks of filler, but let's be serious, they're in no way bad songs per se.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A re-discovery, 15 April 2005
By 
SimonD "scjunkie" (Norfolk UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Stiff Upper Lip (Audio CD)
AC/DC here retrace their roots of '78 with a hard bluesy cd. Johnson's vocals are once again un-smothered by annoying echo and re-verb of the mid 80s to 90s which spoilt their albums and once again they find the tough sound that made them so unique in the first place. There's a lot to like here with only a couple of fillers, in-fact a 10 track cd would of suited better with stompers like Stiff Upper Lip, Satellite Blues and Can't Stand Still this is a good album from a band that have been doing this for near 30 years and can still sound this good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Stiff Upper Lip
Stiff Upper Lip by AC/DC (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews