Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic 80s Cyber Punk Sci Fi
Got to start by saying Max Headroom rocks...!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Loved the original UK movie/program, loved the music video show and loved the US series. So when this was released I jumped at it, only having the series recorded on VHS. The only disappointment was there were rumours kicking around that this box set would include the original UK movie as well as the US series...
Published on 25 July 2011 by A. Bryan

versus
2 of 25 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars not what i thought it was
DONT BUT THIS, THE PROG AS SCREEN SADLY DOES APPEAR TAKE NOTE
NO 20 MINS INTO THE FUTURE' WHICH AS THE MANUFACTURES OMIT IS THE HOLE POINT OF MAX HEADROOM
WASTE OF TIME AND MONEY

PLEASE IGNORE THE RATING AMAZON SEEM TO THINK EVERYTHING HAS TO BE RATED BEFORE THEY ALLOW YOU TO POST
Published on 11 Nov. 2012 by mark


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic 80s Cyber Punk Sci Fi, 25 July 2011
By 
A. Bryan "AndyB" (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Max Headroom: Complete Series [DVD] [1989] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Got to start by saying Max Headroom rocks...!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Loved the original UK movie/program, loved the music video show and loved the US series. So when this was released I jumped at it, only having the series recorded on VHS. The only disappointment was there were rumours kicking around that this box set would include the original UK movie as well as the US series. Sorry to say, due to licencing issues, this isn't the case.

Anyhow, if you want a fantastic slice of 80s Cyber Punk, give it a go. Check it out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Max Headroom on DVD -- finally!, 23 Jun. 2013
By 
Johnny Walker (Battersea, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Max Headroom: Complete Series [DVD] [1989] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
This DVD set contains all 14 episodes of the original cyberpunk drama series (but not the original TV movie "Max Headroom: 20 Minutes into the Future"). The show has dated in many ways, but the themes are still very relevant. The titular character is still fun to watch, too, Jeffrey Tambor is always great.

There are a ton of extras on this set, all worth watching. Of particular interest is "Live on Network 23," which digs deep into the character's British roots and the split among the creative personnel over his voyages to America. There's also an actors' roundtable, featuring everyone apart from Brewer, and a number of featurettes dealing with everything from the look of the series to the technology in the show's world.

Sadly there isn't any of the original British variety-show segments or American TV commercials starring the character, but this is still lots of fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "It's computer generated, whatever it is", 1 Oct. 2013
By 
KM WHITEHOUSE (ENGLAND) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Max Headroom: Complete Series [DVD] [1989] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Please don't expect to see the original UK pilot episode "Max Headroom: 20 Minutes Into The Future" in this set as this is the made for US TV series. This is a reboot/remake following the adventures of Edison Carter rather than the UK pop video series, "The Max Headroom Show" that followed the UK Pilot.

So now that's out of the way, here goes.

Here we have all 14 episodes from the series, all episodes are in production order as originally aired creating continuity errors, instead of listing them in the intended running order which is only one of two niggles I have with the set. The other niggle is that it would have been nice to have had optional CGI effects shots of Network 23 and the city that even back in 1987 wasn't convincing, which could have also included the Network 66 building in episode one instead of appearing out of nowhere in episode seven.

The series works on many levels, it is straight forward sci-fi show, but then again it questions the medium of TV using news as entertainment, trial by jury TV shows, Orwellian Big Brother style surveillance, TV evangelist, advertising, TV politics to education and the list goes on. The series maybe 26 years old but the subject matter is bang upto date. Like I previously said with optional CGI effects the show would feel like it was one being produced today.

There are also some great extras included, sadly no contribution from Matt Frewer who was apparently unavailable to take part due to work commitments.

This is one of the all time cult classic TV shows that is up there with Patrick McGoohan's The Prisoner
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great show, 27 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Max Headroom: Complete Series [DVD] [1989] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
I love this show. It is not just 80ties nostalgia, I as well find the stories and setup relatively good compared to other old series.
I had fun watching again the good old times, when computers were big and powerful, AI was vicious, keyboards were heavy duty, every homeless guy had a CRT screen, old punkers owning pirate TV stations. If clever enough, you could hack into a mainframe with a portable computer looking like a mini fridge and reporters used their advanced metallic TV camera to smash the enemies...
Those were the times!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 25 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars not what i thought it was, 11 Nov. 2012
This review is from: Max Headroom: Complete Series [DVD] [1989] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
DONT BUT THIS, THE PROG AS SCREEN SADLY DOES APPEAR TAKE NOTE
NO 20 MINS INTO THE FUTURE' WHICH AS THE MANUFACTURES OMIT IS THE HOLE POINT OF MAX HEADROOM
WASTE OF TIME AND MONEY

PLEASE IGNORE THE RATING AMAZON SEEM TO THINK EVERYTHING HAS TO BE RATED BEFORE THEY ALLOW YOU TO POST
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars only because I cant play it here in UK!, 23 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Max Headroom: Complete Series [DVD] [1989] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Love Max Headroom..however cant play it over here in UK with my devises,it would only play in the States.Sure the product if A OK otherwise..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews