Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MATCHLESS ALICE
WHERE IS THE REGION 2 DVD OF THIS MAGICAL FILM ????????? How much longer do we have to wait ?
AND WHY ?

UPDATE (December 2012):
Mr Lloyd, in the following comment below, has been very persistent, and sends the following quote from Studio Canal, which holds the rights.

"It would seem that we do hold the UK DVD distribution rights, but as...
Published on 7 Feb 2008 by Green Knight

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dreamchild
I to have been waiting years for the release on dvd of this amazing film.why have we in the uk, not had the opportunity of having this released?
Published on 20 Nov 2010 by Mr. K. Gammon


Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MATCHLESS ALICE, 7 Feb 2008
By 
This review is from: Dreamchild [DVD] [Region 1] [NTSC][1985] (DVD)
WHERE IS THE REGION 2 DVD OF THIS MAGICAL FILM ????????? How much longer do we have to wait ?
AND WHY ?

UPDATE (December 2012):
Mr Lloyd, in the following comment below, has been very persistent, and sends the following quote from Studio Canal, which holds the rights.

"It would seem that we do hold the UK DVD distribution rights, but as stated before we have no current plans to release this due to the restoration work that would be involved. We do not hold the US distribution rights so have no access to any materials which have been released in America. Obtaining those restored materials would be of a considerable financial cost to us as they are owned by a completely to which we have no affiliation. Any materials purchased would still need further work being done to them in order to make them compatible with UK standards. As stated before, this is an expensive process and at the moment we have to prioritize the bigger titles in our catalogue, but once again we do appreciate your interest and the information given, and will certainly keep you updated if the title become available in the future. Regards, StudioCanal."

Mr Lloyd goes on to say:
"If you want this film to be released on DVD in the UK then you need to contact StudioCanal, who currently hold the home video distribution rights. The more people who e-mail requesting that DREAMCHILD be released, the more likely it is that it will be seriously considered ..."

CONTACT STUDIO CANAL AT: info@studiocanal.co.uk

Fellow DREAMCHILD fans, start pestering. Be very specific when you mention the title: it's just DREAMCHILD - put anything else, and you'll confuse the issue when 'they' trawl their database of titles. Mr Lloyd, in the 'comments' below, makes it clear exactly why we need to be precise.

One day we'll get there.
Onwards and upwards - and thanks to everyone who contacts StudioCanal.

UPDATE (2013): The film can be obtained on 'region-free' DVD, released by MGM Archives - and it will apparently play on any machine. I bought it and am very pleased with it, though if Studiocanal brings out their very own Region 2 version, I will of course go for that as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Alice in WonderFilm, 14 July 2007
By 
J. A. Eyon "Little Raven" (Seattle - USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dreamchild [DVD] [Region 1] [NTSC][1985] (DVD)
A picturesque and thoughtful movie for grownups whose plot shifts effortlessly between three venues: the 1860s when Lewis Carroll introduced the Wonderland tales to young, dark-haired Alice Liddell and her sisters - the 1930s when the aged Alice Liddell Hargreaves visited the U.S. just months before her death - and the surreal story-world of Alice in Wonderland with the characters that Alice meets portrayed by wickedly designed Jim Henson puppets.

Four affecting performances stand out in my memory: Coral Browne as the starchy old Alice - Amelia Shankley as the young self centered Alice - Nicola Cowper as old Alice's timid companion who becomes the love interest to a young American reporter (portrayed by Peter Gallagher) - and, in a small role, Caris Corfman as a wistful newspaper reporter. But those are only a few of many fine British and American actors (fine - except for one brief but noticeable exception - maybe more noticeable to Americans).

My only major gripe is Ian Holm's age. Holm was in his early 50s when he portrayed Rev Charles Dodgson (Lewis Carroll's real name), while the real Dodgson was closer to 30 when he first told Alice the stories. Ian Holm's age and characterization exaggerate the frightful possibility of his impure interest in the young children he befriended.

On the positive side, this film took great care in evoking the respective time periods with beautiful sets, costumes and photography that compliment the deeply-felt emotional arc of old Alice revisiting her memories of Dodgson. As a result, the movie is itself an exotic journey into other times and places - with Alice, once again, as protagonist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why Are We Waiting, 10 Aug 2009
By 
This review is from: Dreamchild [DVD] [Region 1] [NTSC][1985] (DVD)
I too have been waiting for years to buy the DVD of this wonderful film.
WHY OH WHY ARE WE FROM THE UK NOT ABLE TO OBTAIN THIS DVD WHEN IT IS AVAILABLE IN THE USA?
UNFAIR!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 8 Aug 2010
This review is from: Dreamchild [DVD] [Region 1] [NTSC][1985] (DVD)
I saw this wonderful movie in a small cinema many years ago in Copenhagen. I always wanted to see it again.
Make it available on dvd in region 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars History of Alice, 24 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Dreamchild is a wonderful film.

The movie starts off with a ship going from England to New York during the depression dust bowl era.

We get introduced to a 79 year old lady named Mrs Hargreaves and her teenage assistant named Lucy.
Mrs Hargreaves will be honored by Columbia University. During this journey and travel in Dreamchild, we have flashbacks of a young ten year old Alice Hargreaves and a mature stuttering reverend Charles Dodson during a summer holiday.

Dreamchild has no subtitles and has no start screen. As soon as the disc enters the tray there is a blue thorn EMI logo and the movie begins. This MGM MOD DVD simply starts to play continuously.

The transfer is very good. The image is crisp and sound is clear

No trailers or extras.
Great film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars only half remember it, but sad its not available currently..., 20 May 2012
This review is from: Dreamchild [VHS] [1985] (VHS Tape)
An old woman is on a transatlantic ferry and her mental health is deteriorating.
She hallucinates distorted versions of childhood imaginings.
The thing is she is Alice and there was, I seem to remember, a dark suggestion regarding Lewis Carroll's interest in her - the nightmarish Wonderland figures refer to this....I have vague memories of the Mad Hatter :

I am sad that it is not available, when so much else is, I may be mixing memory and fantasy - but I think it was good and I would love to see it again....one day
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dreamchild, 20 Nov 2010
By 
Mr. K. Gammon "sondheim" (wales,united kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dreamchild [DVD] [Region 1] [NTSC][1985] (DVD)
I to have been waiting years for the release on dvd of this amazing film.why have we in the uk, not had the opportunity of having this released?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AWESOME PUPPETS FROM HENSON, 12 Oct 2010
By 
This review is from: Dreamchild [DVD] [Region 1] [NTSC][1985] (DVD)
this film was not the strongest on the story its self but the puppets were amazing, so if your a hugh Jim henson fan this is one you must have as they are very prominent in it.
the story its self is a little unclear even at the end!! but well worth 30!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dreamchild [DVD] [Region 1] [NTSC][1985]
Out of stock
Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews