Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absorbing Film, Great Perfomance!!
I am a secondary schoolteacher and for the past couple of years have used this film in the classroom to explore themes and get 14 year olds used to analytical thinking and writing. It is surprising that a film with adult themes can grip and interest this audience but it does.

One of the reasons it does is because of the absolute brilliance of Jack Nicholson's...
Published on 15 Jan. 2009 by Mr. Barry A. Segal

versus
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars funny but very, very downbeat
If we are being honest, Jack Nicholson is no longer the exciting actor he once was, getting by these days on his hell raising reputation and his previous body of work, such as Chinatown, One Flew over the Cuckoos Nest, and such like. However, when he is given an interesting role and a good script, Jack can still pull it out of the bag, and that is exactly what he does...
Published on 15 April 2007 by Mr. Rwj Nixon


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 23 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: About Schmidt [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's not funny., 14 Feb. 2005
This review is from: About Schmidt [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Firstly i have to say, Jack Nicholson is just absolutely superb in this film. He is not Jack Nicholson, he is Warren Schmidt. It's a fantasticaly acted part, and you really feel his pain as the man who's never done anything wrong in his life, other than waste the whole thing. He retires from his job feeling as though he's accomplished nothing, his love for his wife has drifted into indifference and dislike and his daughter's fiance will make your skin crawl he's just so eugh!
Then his wife dies and Schmidt realises it's time to fix things with his daughter so he gets in his new camper van and heads off to Denver to try and stop her marrying the idiot, having all sorts of wacky adventures along the way, and finding out a lot about himself.
Anyhoo, the point is that this is not a funny film. At all. I think i kind of giggled once and by the end you feel really depressed. Having said that though, if you approach it thinking of it more as a drama then you'll love it. The music and camera feel very "lazy" and it is a soothing film to watch as everything happens slowly and the camera is often just placed in fixed positions rather than moving which gives it a relaxed feel. On every level other than comedy this movie has to be considered a rampat success, but how it was ever meant to be funny i just don't understand. It might bore you on a repeated viewing as well, i know i only watched it once.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good movie, difficult topic, 26 May 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: About Schmidt [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
In my opinion, a generally under-rated movie about very difficult and generally ignored topics. It is flawed but what isn't. Nicholson's character is best in that he is not portrayed to be one dimensional; he is very flawed and sometimes annoying but very human and also, at times, very sympathetic. The struggles of aging, the elderly and of surviving spouses are generally not popular topics. This movie at least tried to confront them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kathy Bates is a marvel!!, 10 Sept. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: About Schmidt [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Jack Nicholson, as usual, is outstanding and plays a much more low-key and human character than ever before. It is a very emotional film, full of surprises. But, as good as Jack Nicholson is, Kathy Bates, in an all too brief role, outshines him. Her much ballyhooed and surprising nude scene is handled very tastefully and preserves her dignity, as well. Even more importantly, it finally gives Kathy Bates the chance to show, once-and-for-all, that she is really a very sexy and attractive woman, as well as the best actress alive today (In my opinion!!). She exudes warmth and earthiness in every role she plays. I would personally pay to see any film she is in. It is also a real treat to get to see her barefoot in this film, as well!! She certainly proves that a woman doesn't have to be skeletal to be appealing and desirable. If only she had had a bigger part in the film!! I'm just surprised that neither she nor Jack Nicholson won Oscars for their respective performances. I highly recommend this film to any fan of either performer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars On the road to nowhere, 3 Mar. 2004
By 
simon gurney (london United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: About Schmidt [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
About Schmidt has one redeeming quality which is Jack Nicholsons performance, but despite encouraging early signs, and touches of humour, especially the distorted narration of his life in his letters, the film runs out of steam quickly, and rides solely on the back of Nicholsons performance, the ending feels very forced and unresolved, this film just doesnt handle ending on a down beat very well.
watchable but nothing new, and feels like a rehash of earlier Nicholson roles in a film which isnt really sure where its going.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars enjoyable, 1 Dec. 2006
By 
sean paul mccann "mccanns23" (ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: About Schmidt [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
about schmidt stars jack nicholson who after retirement and the death of his wife has to find a meaning to his life and a purpose to still live it.Schmidt tells his tales and woes in the form of letters that he writes to an african child that he sponsors so in doing that,we get a narration of sorts for the movie.

The film is poignant and indicitive of old age i guess when the world would move to fast around you,nicholson excels as a man that wants to escape himself,very good but not as funny as i was made to believe,still worth a watch though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eulogy For Nicholson, 20 April 2014
By 
This review is from: About Schmidt [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Jack's been in my life longer than most of my girlfriends (and that's Jack's dialogue) - I wrote a 5000 word essay on The Shining - sold by his wicked personality. Film stars are always of their generation - and Jack has been a leader of his.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good, 20 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: About Schmidt [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Good film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 26 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: About Schmidt [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Good film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: About Schmidt [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Thankyou
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews