Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.5 out of 5 stars75
3.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 April 2010
Languidly sentimental, this is a regressive film about an old aged pensioner coming to terms with loneliness and his dwindling relationships.

Poor Schmidt. But spare a thought for the poor audience...the film just ticks away with a dumble-dee and a dumble-dah.

Another pointless film with little to say actually about loneliness or about old age. Why this film was funding I don't know but the result is a film that adds little to the sum of human knowledge and is overhyped.

I was shocked at how unremarkable this film ended, like buying cereal and finding no cereal in it. The film is probably as exciting as a box of cereal.

To add to the mundaneness of it all, the "bonus features" include short films by the production team practising their AVID camera skills. These boring type of things shouldn't be put in a commercial DVD for the public.
0Comment5 of 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2008
Admittedly the settings in this film are all very drab, but this is what enables us to get inside the Schmidt's head - he does feel that his life is drab, boring and unrewarding and that he's unappreciated and misunderstood by family and friends on just about every level.
After losing his wife, he is determined to get back some of his life before it's too late and we follow him on this cathartic journey.
With no-one to listen to him or pour out his thoughts to, Schmidt unloads everything in his letters to Ndugu - his 'adopted' son to whom he sends £22 per month sponsorship money.
Of course, with anyone other than Jack Nicholson (who seems to turn to gold anything he touches) it may not have worked so well, but that aside, most people will be able to relate to this film.
The ending is very thought-provoking and shows that people really can make a difference, whether they realise it or not.
0Comment0 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2014
One of Jack Nicholsons worst ever films - he fails to shine.
0Comment1 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2011
Mr. Schmidt has had a very boring, banal, uninteresting existence. And no, things aren't going to get more exiting now, that he is retiring. His life is going to remain boring, and people will continue not to listen him. But he's at least trying to make himself heard. Bless!

Jack Nicholson gives a very fine performance here, he is comic and tragic in the same time, and Cathy Bates is spectacular!
You will love this movie if you like subtle comedy and it will make you take a look at your life too...
Enjoy!
0Comment0 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2015
Tremendous film, great acting and pacing, steady, classy editing, very subtle black humour, BUT, then....crappy ending. In Spanish, we say "All that swimming just to drown at the shore." Really, this crappy ending just reduces the entire capolavoro to a misery add, the type you see in television about helping some kid in a water-deprived, food-scarce country. If what this man needs in his now meaningless world is a letter from Africa, then life really ins't worth living and neither is this film.
0Comment0 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2015
Very Pleased :-)
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2015
Worth the money.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2005
Firstly i have to say, Jack Nicholson is just absolutely superb in this film. He is not Jack Nicholson, he is Warren Schmidt. It's a fantasticaly acted part, and you really feel his pain as the man who's never done anything wrong in his life, other than waste the whole thing. He retires from his job feeling as though he's accomplished nothing, his love for his wife has drifted into indifference and dislike and his daughter's fiance will make your skin crawl he's just so eugh!
Then his wife dies and Schmidt realises it's time to fix things with his daughter so he gets in his new camper van and heads off to Denver to try and stop her marrying the idiot, having all sorts of wacky adventures along the way, and finding out a lot about himself.
Anyhoo, the point is that this is not a funny film. At all. I think i kind of giggled once and by the end you feel really depressed. Having said that though, if you approach it thinking of it more as a drama then you'll love it. The music and camera feel very "lazy" and it is a soothing film to watch as everything happens slowly and the camera is often just placed in fixed positions rather than moving which gives it a relaxed feel. On every level other than comedy this movie has to be considered a rampat success, but how it was ever meant to be funny i just don't understand. It might bore you on a repeated viewing as well, i know i only watched it once.
0Comment1 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2010
In my opinion, a generally under-rated movie about very difficult and generally ignored topics. It is flawed but what isn't. Nicholson's character is best in that he is not portrayed to be one dimensional; he is very flawed and sometimes annoying but very human and also, at times, very sympathetic. The struggles of aging, the elderly and of surviving spouses are generally not popular topics. This movie at least tried to confront them.
0Comment0 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2003
Jack Nicholson, as usual, is outstanding and plays a much more low-key and human character than ever before. It is a very emotional film, full of surprises. But, as good as Jack Nicholson is, Kathy Bates, in an all too brief role, outshines him. Her much ballyhooed and surprising nude scene is handled very tastefully and preserves her dignity, as well. Even more importantly, it finally gives Kathy Bates the chance to show, once-and-for-all, that she is really a very sexy and attractive woman, as well as the best actress alive today (In my opinion!!). She exudes warmth and earthiness in every role she plays. I would personally pay to see any film she is in. It is also a real treat to get to see her barefoot in this film, as well!! She certainly proves that a woman doesn't have to be skeletal to be appealing and desirable. If only she had had a bigger part in the film!! I'm just surprised that neither she nor Jack Nicholson won Oscars for their respective performances. I highly recommend this film to any fan of either performer.
0Comment1 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.