Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Four to Five stars
Sequel to that genius piece of Chan-comedy Shanghai Noon (with Owen Wilson playing a very worthy sidekick), Shanghai Knights sees the pair stow away on a ship to England, to avenge Chon's father. Unsurprisingly it is a very comic affair, even if it is slighty cheesy. The simple good vs. evil plot is used (again) and there are very few twists, but even so an altogether...
Published on 18 Jan 2004 by jrj2020

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars action comedy
well it s what it is an action comedy with the brilliant jackie chan and his acrobatic kung fu move style
it s nice to watch and it s entertaining
personnaly i don t like his side kick even i reckon he s a exellent actor but he s just a tad annoying but it s personnal but jackie counterbalance this feeling with action and humour it s a jackie chan action...
Published on 8 May 2009 by marc twain


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Four to Five stars, 18 Jan 2004
Sequel to that genius piece of Chan-comedy Shanghai Noon (with Owen Wilson playing a very worthy sidekick), Shanghai Knights sees the pair stow away on a ship to England, to avenge Chon's father. Unsurprisingly it is a very comic affair, even if it is slighty cheesy. The simple good vs. evil plot is used (again) and there are very few twists, but even so an altogether enjoyable viewing experience. To use a cliché "If you liked the Shanghai Noon, you'll love this!".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mindless trash ... but it works!, 20 Jun 2004
By 
Joseph Haschka (Glendale, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Shanghai Knights [DVD] [2003] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
In the opening sequence of SHANGHAI KNIGHTS, the aged keeper of China's Great Imperial Seal is knifed during the seal's theft. With his dying breath, the old man extracts from his daughter, Chon Lin (Fann Wong), the promise to recover the trinket.
The film next jumps to Carson City, Nevada, where Lin's brother Chon Wang (Jackie Chan) is town sheriff. He relinquishes his badge to travel to New York City to meet his old sidekick (from SHANGHAI NOON), Roy O'Bannon (Owen Wilson), a lothario waiter on the run from impoverishment and the irate father of two nubile and willing young ladies. Roy and Wang go on to 1880s London to rendezvouz with Lin and recover the seal. The Carson City and Big Apple sequences are unnecessary except to (re)introduce the audience to our two heroes, and provide a few gags and martial arts skirmishes. Once in London, the core of the storyline unfolds.
SHANGHAI KNIGHTS is mindless trash. (Come to think of it, so is this review.) However, it works because of the perfect chemistry between Chan and Wilson. The (relatively) straight-laced Wang is the perfect foil for Roy's lunatic shenanigans. (This is what makes Chan and Wilson a great comedy team in the tradition of Abbott and Costello.) And the exuberant energy of their skits is indicative of the fun they're obviously having with their roles. In addition, Jackie supplies the amazing martial arts choreography. In this film, Fann Wong as Li demonstrates that she can go kick for kick with Chan. And where has Ms. Wong been? She's exquisitely and delicately beautiful.
In a supporting role, Aaron Johnson as the larcenous guttersnipe Charlie is a pure joy. I wish he'd had much more screen time.
SHANGHAI KNIGHTS isn't a great film, or even one worth a second viewing. But it's the fun antidote for the low spirits perhaps brought on by more sobering fare.
One last thought. SHANGHAI KNIGHTS was filmed in London, Calgary, and a studio in the Czech Republic. The credits give little overt evidence that Hollywood was involved in the film's technical creation. Is Tinseltown becoming superfluous in the nuts and bolts of filmmaking?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pretty silly but good fun, 15 Oct 2011
By 
A. Julian (Oxford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
We liked Shanghai Noon so this is more of the same, plenty of slapstick humour and very watchable whatever your age. The kids love it - my oldest must have watched it 30 times, so good for a family night in (even if some of the English accents were a bit dodgy)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent sequel, 2 Mar 2009
By 
I disagree with the other reviewers here about this one not being as good. I thought it was excellent for ... reasons:
1) The completely over exaggerated English stereotypes. The villainous Lord who is tenth in line to the throne CANNOT act to save his life, and although people think this is bad for the film, I think it makes it much funnier. Owen Wilson continually attacking the English gets on your nerves after a while however when you see the likes of the Lord and the cockney boy (Charlie Chaplin) you can see why.
2) Jackie Chan's fighting. This is MUCH better than in the first film and adds a few comedy twists.
3) The detective's investigative technique. I think this is a good comeback at Wilson for his jibes on the English.

Overall a funny film with good action and fighting, well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars action comedy, 8 May 2009
well it s what it is an action comedy with the brilliant jackie chan and his acrobatic kung fu move style
it s nice to watch and it s entertaining
personnaly i don t like his side kick even i reckon he s a exellent actor but he s just a tad annoying but it s personnal but jackie counterbalance this feeling with action and humour it s a jackie chan action definitly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Almost as good as the original, 18 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A better than average sequel to the brilliant Shanghai Noon, only lacking the original's freshness. All the same, it's got the same high-kicking fun, whit and action.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Funny Film, 3 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Once again a Jackie chan film that is funny, great stunts and funny fighting. Brilliant film and i think Owen Wilson is a great actor for these films
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious Jackie Chan Film, 18 Mar 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Kids absolutely loved this film. It's fun slap stick and i would highly recommend this for kids of 10 and over. Mum and dad could sit throught it too!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars shanghhai knights., 14 Aug 2010
fantastic movies, i laughed all the way through. jackie chans stunts are amazing in this film. great coriogrphy. owen wilson is really funny + cumes out with some cracking lines + hes very cute.lol. if you liked the first movie you will LOVE this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars SHANGHAI KNIGHTS, 11 Aug 2010
This is better than the 1st one shangai noon. Jackie chan at his best.
Fantastic comedy with losts of comic action and a well balanced story.
Well recomend and just wish they make a third in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Shanghai Knights [DVD] [2003] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
£2.91
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews