Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars My Own Private Idaho
Not the most uplifting film. I have wanted to see it for a long time but was unable to find it in the local video hire store/library etc. Nor could I find it for sale. So, having waited so long to see it.....
It is a remarkable and moving piece of film. The cinematography is - unusual - in places. The 18 rating seems to be because there is a 'suggestion' and little...
Published on 19 Nov 2003 by Jack

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Let down
Well I love River Phoenix but this film wasn't that good - I don't know whether I just didn't really give it a chance? but it did kinda seem all over the place. Good acting from River though.
Published 14 months ago by Bex


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars My Own Private Idaho, 19 Nov 2003
By 
Jack (West Mids United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not the most uplifting film. I have wanted to see it for a long time but was unable to find it in the local video hire store/library etc. Nor could I find it for sale. So, having waited so long to see it.....
It is a remarkable and moving piece of film. The cinematography is - unusual - in places. The 18 rating seems to be because there is a 'suggestion' and little more of gay (and hetero) sex. Where the more intimate scenes occur they are filmed in a frozen action sequence, but in that somewhat 'hammy' film genre where instead of freeze framing, the actors hold their pose, a little odd. I s'pose the 18 cert is because it went thru the censors in the early 90's so little more was possible.
The story follows Mike as the principal character, played by River Phoenix, who is screwed up from childhood, suffers from narcolepsy (uncontrollable falling into deep sleep)and tries to survive as a rent boy. His co star is Keaneau Reeves who is the badly behaving rich boy. Will he fall in love with Mike, as Mike declares his love for him? or not?
The ending - it's ambiguous!
Worth watching, worth owning but don't expect a feel good factor.
Good reflection of the mid Western States though I think, from my experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A surreal character study, 24 July 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My Own Private Idaho [DVD] (DVD)
This film is a surreal character study, following the misfit lives of a small group of 20 something rent boys. It's a strange sort of film. I have never seen anything else quite like this. The best way to give you a better impression of what I mean is to say that it shares some parallels with Oliver Twist, if the Oliver character was older and gay, if his workhouse was really a brothel where he squatted illegally and where Fabien is really his pimp.

I first saw this film when I was far too young to understand what any of it was about. But, somehow, it made a big impression on me. So, I looked this film up not so long ago to check it out and to see if it left me with the same feelings as it did before.
I found it kind of sad, it's strange, because I find it heart warming and yet some how heart breaking. Sweet yet bitter!

We see the late River Phoenix playing the Oliver typed role, led by his very own Artful Dodger in the form of a young Keanu Reeves.
I was originally touched by the close friendship that they seemed to share. It seemed one of a real love that transcends sexual attraction.
There is some one-sided attraction going on in there; which the other is well aware of and doesn't mind, and I think that's what originally touched me. The concept of a straight guy being friends with a gay guy that is in love with him and it being a non-issue: A true friendship.
Watching this film again however I have a completely different take on it.
Now, it looks to me as if the whole friendship was just as one sided as the sexual attraction and that makes this film even more sad for me.

The only real plot is that one character is in search for his mother while the other tags along to hide from his father.

Even though this film is not for most people I still think that it is well worth a look. It has a bit of every movie genre in there: Road Trip, Coming Out, Coming of Age, Living happily ever after, and those ones that don't really end; the ones where you're faced with the cruel fact of life where not every story has a happy ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not one you'll be sitting on the fence over!, 13 July 2006
This review is from: My Own Private Idaho [DVD] (DVD)
Definitely one of those films you either love or hate; it's a surrealist and uncomfortably explicit road movie about rent boys who have Shakespearean pretensions! Those who like their films straight (in both senses of the word) will probably hate every minute, but saying that it does share a sense of humour with "Withnail and I" and that's loved by pretty much everyone, so who knows. The locations and photography are beautiful, music brilliant, characters larger than life and the script (based on Henry IV) full of wit and tragedy. However, one thing outshines the film itself and stays with you long after the final credits...River Phoenix. He died three years later and so, like James Dean (who he resembles here), is frozen forever in full narcoleptic, übercool glory. It's Phoenix's film and he is absolutely superb and should have been considered for an Oscar - in that same year Warren Beatty was nominated for Bugsy. Tragic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great piece of cinema, 16 Nov 2001
This film is, more than anything else, proof of what a great actor River Phoenix truly was. The film itself is very interesting. While the subject matter may seem controversial, the touching and off-beat way in which it is handled by director/writer Gus Van Sant is never exploitive or offensive. It's the sort of film that you'd think could only have been made during that shining era of cinematic daring and innovation, the 1970's. I mean, I can picture it fitting in nicely on a double bill with 'Midnight Cowboy' or 'Taxi Driver' for example. It has that distinctive and independant nature. Surprizingly it's actually from 1991. Nevertheless, it's a fascinating and oddly romantic piece of work. Some scenes work better than others (as is the case with most movies, especially those of the so-called "art house" variety) but it's never anything less than totally unique and quietly touching. Plenty of interesting filmic, philosophical, and artistic ideas presented in an interesting and highly effective manner. There is no use questioning the fact that River Phoenix's intense and heartbreaking performance is the films centrepiece, but the film stands up very well even in the scenes he's not in. This is one of my favourite films of the 1990's and the one that I hope River Phoenix will long be lovingly remembered for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a film!!, 10 July 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: My Own Private Idaho [DVD] (DVD)
what can i say, this is a fantastic flim. the only real problem with this film is the plot...there isn't one really....but it does plod along smoothly and Phoenix and Reeves do a spiffing job. i think this is Phoenixs best role, he is very believeable and he should recive more credit for this film. in fact the film hasn't recived much credit at all and i really dont know why, its beautifully shot and gives realistic feel of the cold dreary lives of these poor hustlers. very moving.
the films about narcoleptic Mike (Pheonix), a hustler in search of his mother. Scott (Reeves) is also a hustler, but with one difference, he has a huge amount of cash waiting for him on his 21st birthday. Scott tags along with Mike to find his mother. as they travel, they try to come to terms with reality, sexuality and their desperate need to belong. one is bound to be hurt as the other drifts away into luxuary leaving his past behind.
i have waited YEARS for this film to be realsed on dvd and so glad it finally has. it certainly makes an impact and i really recommened to ANYONE who is a fan of Gus Van Sants work or Phoenixs beautiful acting talent which was tragically cut short
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Weird and wonderful...Keanu Reeves can actually act??, 16 Jun 2004
By 
A. Hill "dawn treader" (Leighton Buzzard, Bedfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Being fairly new to the world of 'art-house' movies, i first found this a little confusing, and i was concerned that this strange approach would hinder the emotional impact of the film, rendering it yet another overly stylish, powerless and incomprehensible piece of modern film-art. I had also heard that it was extremely shocking and controversial. However, i began to understand Gus Van Sant's language, and it soon seemed completely natural. The claims regarding its explicit sexual nature have been, fankly, grossly exaggerated and probably the result of mild homophobia. The camp fire scene is the most memorable, with River Phoenix's perfomance as Mike, subtle and shining as usual, bringing to mind the very similar camp-fire scene in "Stand by me". Having only seen Keanu Reeves appear in such films as 'Speed' and 'the Matrix', in which he hardly demonstrates any power or skill as an actor, it came as somewhat of a pleasant surprise to see his humorous and striking portrayal of Scott. A sensitive choice of music contributed to the mood, both in the comic, nostalgic steel-string guitar to the gentle folk song that plays as Mike vows through tears to find his mother (by the way, does anybody know what that song is or how to find out?). I was slightly disappointed and depressed by the ending, which is extremely inconclusive, but i suppose movies don't always need a conclusive ending to make them good. Overall a visually stylish, emotionally powerful movie, with some fantastic acting by River Phoenix and Keanu Reeves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A true masterpiece, 12 Oct 2008
By 
This review is from: My Own Private Idaho [DVD] (DVD)
River Phoenix plays narcoleptic hustler Mike Waters, who unlike those around him, has a dependent personality and is psychologically unable to move on in his life in any way. The movie shows Mike looking for a home, and fruitlessly trying to trace his mother so that he can re-capture the safety of his childhood. Thrown into the mix are Shakespearian elements, with dialogue loosly based on Henry IV parts 1&2, with Keanu's Scott (Hal) slumming it with William Richert's Falstaffian Bob. There is no answer to Mike's problems ("this road never ends"), he's simply not able to adapt to adult life and take responsibility for himself. It's not his fault; he just has something missing. Deleted scenes show by contrast other male prostitutes getting jobs and moving on. Udo Kier is hysterical as Mike and Scott's client Hans. A true masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unforgettable, hardhitting and surreal. Watch., 29 Sep 2001
'My Own Private Idaho' is one of those films that touches your emotions and creates a real connection with the audience and characters, regardless of the subject.
On the outside it seems an incrediably strange premise for a film: a nacrophiliac male prostitute searches for his real family and along the way falls for his wild-child male best friend, who's ultimate aim in life is purely to defy his father until his twenty first birthday before becoming a progical son. Mixed up in this is a assorted collection of people that make up the underbelly of american crime world.
And yes, this is a cult indie film, if you were wondering.
The filming is exquiste, spanning a wide range of effects including a particulary successful take on theatrical 'freeze-framing'. Many of the scenes are highly memorable, especially the sublimely surreal funeral, and the camp fire conversation.
The cast is amazing. River Phoenix plays the lead, with Keanu Reeves as his love interest in probably the only film he has ever actually 'acted' in... Also of note is the casting of Flea, from 'Red Hot Chilli Pepper' fame, as a psychotic, (what else) gun wielding, pixie dancing hard man in his debut film role.
The subjects tackled are of a nature that may upset many viewers, particularly the gay issues and sex scenes. However, these are dealt with in a non-sensationalist way, though still deserving of the eighteen certificate.
This is one of the best indie films, and personally my favorite River Phoenix film ever, which is in turn touching, funny, sad and though provoking. Watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars River's finest, 27 Mar 2013
Pretty simple review here - all i can say about this movie is that it demonstrates so beautifully just how much talent and potential River Phoenix had, what a sad loss. outstanding film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars cheap, low-budget movie, 6 Nov 2012
This is brave movie making. Gus Van Sant took a giant risk with this masterpiece about rent boys. The two stars (Reeves,Phoenix) took a major gamble as starring as said Rent boys. The risks paid off. 'My Own Private Idaho' is a great little off-beat movie.

I watched it 20 years ago (loved it), and i watched the dvd version again recently, and even after all those years this movie still mesmerises me. One aspect of 'My Own Private Idaho" that I thought was interesting was its use of Shakespeare's Henry IV (I think, but i could be wrong), with Keanu Reeves taking the role of the dissolute Prince Hal, who at the end of the film rejects his prostitute friends to emerge like 'the sun, as if from behind clouds' in order to properly inherit his father's kingdom. Reeves cruel rejection obviously destroys the character played by River Phoenix.

Outstanding film! River Phoenix was an extra-ordinary actor. Having watched the campsite scene again in My Own Private Idaho, I noticed Phoenix's body-language, and his improvisation acting skills and intonation, and i realised that he (Phoenix) was one of the greatest actors in the history of motion pictures. And there are certain scenes in Running On Empty in which he steps completely outside the box (to use a contemporary cliche).

Gus Van Sant is supposed to have fallen in love with him. Don't know if that's true or not, but in Van Sants book (available on this site) one character falls in love with another character who plays a rent Boy in a movie.

My Own Private idaho is an odd little gem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews