Customer Reviews


93 Reviews
5 star:
 (45)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pinnacle of the trilogy
As the title suggests, i feel that this is the best film in the Blade trilogy, not much better than the first but a lot better than the dissappointing third. Yet a lot of people seem to be underrating this second installment and i for one cannot fathom why. The action scenes are much better, special effects are improved except for some slight cases, and this time Blade...
Published on 8 Sep 2005

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good for light watching
As ever, Blade II is more about machoism than plot. The special effects also seemed a bit lame at times: you could almost see the CG in operation! However, if you watch this film with low to middling expectations, as I did, it won't be as disappointing as some critics on amazon have held it to be.

Snipes is as suave as ever, running around and hitting anything...
Published on 21 Feb 2008 by Mr. Bennett J. Dunn


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pinnacle of the trilogy, 8 Sep 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Blade II [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
As the title suggests, i feel that this is the best film in the Blade trilogy, not much better than the first but a lot better than the dissappointing third. Yet a lot of people seem to be underrating this second installment and i for one cannot fathom why. The action scenes are much better, special effects are improved except for some slight cases, and this time Blade has to team up with his sworn enemy the vampires to fight a newer, more deadly threat, the Reapers. They are lead by Jared Nomak, played surprisingly superbly by ex Bros band member Luke Goss.
The Reapers are an excellent creation, throwing the powerful vampires around like they are nothing, and when you see how they feed for the first time you will be shocked. The vampires who team up with Blade are a team that were trained to hunt down and kill Blade, they are called the Bloodpack, and the tension between them and Blade when they are working together is great. As mentioned before, the action scenes are fantastic, they just up the ante on the first and even third movie so much its unbelievable. The highlight of the whole film is the final confrontation between Blade and Nomak, which is the best superhuman vs superhuman fight you will get from any comic book movie out today. It even tops the Spiderman vs Doc Ock fight on the train in Spidey 2, thats how good it is. Brutal and excellently coreographed its just a pleasure to watch.
The character of Blade has also lightened up a bit and throughout the movie slowly makes peace with what he is, with the help of love interest and Vampire Elder daughter Nyssa, played by the truly stunning Leonor Varela. Ron Perlman (yes Hellboy himself!) also makes an appearance as one of the bloodpack.
I was possibly one of the biggest fans of the original Blade, and i thought it would be incredibly hard to top. But Guillermo Del Toro did it and i am happy that he did, its just a shame he left the franchise to direct Hellboy, which was a much better film than Blade Trinity.
The cast are great in this, acting is of a high standard, with the standouts being Wesley Sniper, Ron Perlman and Luke Goss, who surprisingly has not gone on from this performance to make a bit of a career. This i am surprised at because debut performances dont get much better than this in movies.
This a superb film which is very underrated even by Blade fans, which is a shame as it is definately the best of the three Blade films, and is up there with the best comic book movies available. Only X2, Spidey 2, Hulk and Batman Begins top this in the comic book movies stakes. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blade 2 (Blu-ray version)..., 20 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blade II [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Originally released at the cinema in the U.K. in March 2002 the sequel to the highly popular Blade movie finally comes to Blu-ray in the U.K. and just like its predecessor Blade 2 in HD has been worth the wait, the DVD released in 2002 had DTS ES 6.1 surround sound as well as Dolby Digital EX 5.1 surround sound and Dolby 2.0 stereo sound, this latest incarnation has DTS-HD master audio 7.1 there is also the same audio in 5.1 and is in full 1080p resolution which makes the colours and blacks really pop the soundtrack has a greater amount of detail the dialogue is easier to hear and the sequences involving small arms fire such as machine guns now jump out of the speakers and any scene that has an explosion in it shakes the room with lots of low end.

There is a rare mistake on the back of the artwork the copy I have says the film is presented in 2.35 aspect ratio this is incorrect the presentation of this film is in the original 1.85 aspect ratio that the director filmed in and the running time is still 117 minutes just like the theatrical and DVD release, there are subtitles for the hard of hearing in English and that's all the subs there are a little short-signed I would have said.
Comparing the special the earlier 2002 release which was a double disc set this 50gb disc has the same special features and a couple of new ones which includes audio commentary from the director Guillermo del Torro where he unravels the multi-layered world he created for the Blade Universe and commentary from Wesley Snipes and writer David S. Goyer.

The features that where on the DVD set also appear such as "The Blood Pact" and deleted scenes with audio from the director and music video from Cypress Hill.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good for light watching, 21 Feb 2008
By 
Mr. Bennett J. Dunn "Flaze" (Bristol, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blade II [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
As ever, Blade II is more about machoism than plot. The special effects also seemed a bit lame at times: you could almost see the CG in operation! However, if you watch this film with low to middling expectations, as I did, it won't be as disappointing as some critics on amazon have held it to be.

Snipes is as suave as ever, running around and hitting anything which has fangs and, to be fair, the uber-vampires were a lot more scary than the normal ones (and proper gross too!). I always find the 'serum' device a bit pointless though, because with all the huge collections of blood that the vampires harbour, Blade wouldn't be doing anything ethically unsound by nicking some, would he? Moreover, with all the vampires around, one would think he could just suck their blood and have done--'poetic justice' springs to mind...

Another amusing point is Whistler's complete invulnerability (oh, by the way, he's NOT dead: clearly what REALLY happened in the first film is that he shot the ceiling by mistake, missing his head) because he gets kicked about so much in this film you'd think he'd have concussion at least, but no! The man is indomitable.

Anyhow, I quite enjoyed the film; as many have suggested, it makes for very easy watching and if you like watching Snipes moving his arms and legs at bewildering speeds, this is the film for you. I don't know why people have such high expectations for an action film of this type: yes there are glaring gaps and contradictions but, really, if you look at 'Blade II' whimsically, the complete lack of sensibleness just adds to the fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blood-drainin', Vamp-slayin' - Fang-tastic!, 10 Oct 2002
By 
This review is from: Blade II [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
There's probably plenty of reviews out there for this excellent movie; an escapist slay-fest of a feature! As it's so eloquently put in the movie, "The wolf lays down with the sheep" when Blade agrees to help the Vampire Nation track down and remove a terror greater than he is to them, and they are to us!...
The special features on the first CD have the stanadard selection of DOLBY's and a couple of different screen formats to choose from, for those that haven't bought a DVD player and immediately kicked their non-widescreen TV out the window...
There's also a good selection of commentaries (who can honestly say they've listened to them all?) and even a Score-only soundtrack... Get those CD-ROMS and Mini-Disks at the ready; there's some bitchin' tracks in this movie!
On Disk 2, the features are brilliant; FX shots, LOADS of documentaries,trailers, scripts, movie notes; I won't go into detail: (I haven't wathched them all yet!) but the special effects documentaries are my favourite - I had no idea how some of the stuff was done!
A heartily recommended DVD set to go with one of the best ass-kicking movies ever! I still dunno why they didn't just shoot him in stead of sending in 40 guys to do hand-to-hand though... oh well, I'm SO glad they did!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant - an excellent follow-up, 19 Oct 2006
This review is from: Blade II [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
This move it brilliant, pure and simple. I even think it can take a title of sequel better then the original which puts it alongside films the Godfather II and Aliens.

I loved Blade, it was a cool film, so I was looking forward to a sequel and boy was I happy when I got to see it. This film is brilliant - it's bigger, better and gorier then it's predecessor and Wesley Snipes is on career best form.

Yes, there's no plot, but who cares when it has action sequences like this one. Each fight looks amazing and it fully holds your interest the whole way through. Admittedly the CGI is a little dodgy at times, but I'm not going to hold that against it as it's such a cool film to watch

The `plot' has Blade teaming up with a vampire squad trained to kill him in order to kill a new threat to both vampires and humans - The Reapers. Reapers are some of the best villains in screen history as their hideous and scary. Led by Luke Bros, who is brilliant as the mutated leader.

This film is both scary and action packed and contains one of the best end fights that I have ever seen. I recommend that you go out and buy this movie now!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars MUCH MUCH BETTER THAN THE FIRST!, 12 Jan 2004
By 
Jason Gaston "Uncle Jay" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Blade II [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Personally I found the first Blade movie a little over hyped, Yeah it was a good film if you like the genre but basically I felt it lacked something. BLADE II on the other hand I was totally satisfied with.
The special effects used in this movie are second to none. There is a seamless blend between Computer Generated effects and actual Robotic models etc. It is only when you watch the second disk the the "behind the scenes" bit that you appreciate how much work has gone into this title.
If you liked the first then I am sure you will love this but if like me you DIDN'T like the first then please give this one a chance. It has bags of action, loads of fight sequences and some very gory moments too. Ok, Ok the plot/storyline is nothing spectacular but lets not forget BLADE is a comic book character therefore its all about action and adventure. As you can expect you have to take many of the scenes in this film with a pinch of salt BUT that being said, unless you take life and your movies too seriously I am sure you will enjoy this rollercoaster of a movie.
And as I mentioned before the second disk with behind the scenes/making of footage I personally found just a entertaining as the movie itself, If you have an interest in Computer Graphics or what goes on behind the scenes of Holywood movies then I can totally recomend this package as you not only get a beast of a movie you also get a very very indepth look at the people who (quite literally sometimes) pull the strings behind the cameras. After watching the second disk I pretty much guarantee you will return to the movie and watch it again to see if you can spot which parts are real and which are not.
I hope this was helpful for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Vampire Fest Well Done, 1 May 2007
This review is from: Blade II [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
This time, the vampires Blade (Wesley Snipes) has been hunting down for so many years want to make a truce so that he can help them kill a new breed of monsters called reapers, which if you want a brief description are creatures that look like half vampires half zombies and half, whatever, with a chin that opens up a big damn mouth that before attacking it's prey could resemble a mini-sarlac pit (star wars reference). Blade reluctantly agrees, knowing full well that the vampires could turn on him and Whistler if things go wrong.

Overall, Blade 2, for the fans of the first one, will not disappoint them. It contains enough imaginativeness and gore effects to brighten the most down of horror film and comic book enthusiasts. The film also contains some of the best makeup I've seen in a while in a horror movie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars STOP PUTTING DVD REVIEWS FOR BLURAY!!!, 18 Oct 2012
By 
This review is from: Blade II [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Amazon has this horrible habit of putting DVD reviews for BLURAY DISKS , the idea of bluray reviews is to determine if the bluray has had a proper transfer to HD and about the film ... Please stop putting DVD reviews on BLURAY !!!its spoiling my shopping with you and putting me off buying anything from you...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as it gets, 28 May 2003
This review is from: Blade II [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
The first Blade was Bang On. An Anti-Hero with little time for humans and a loathing of vampires. A Bad a$$ attitude and the one liners to go with it. This time Blade seems to have got a little warm and fuzzy on us. Matt Goss is surprisingly the star of this one. It seems as though bucket loads of blood both the red (too red in my humble opinion) and green kind (I don't understand green/blue blood either) seems to be used to rescue the film. Excellent fight scenes and an ok plot. For a die hard vampire fan too many glaring errors, but other than that a well above average vampire flick. Just sadly a victim of the prequels brilliance and simplicity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars DAMN ENTERTAINING!!!!, 7 Sep 2003
This review is from: Blade II [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Ok, first things first, this movie isn't going to change cinema, and it's not going to throw up loads of philosophical issues or make you think that hard. But one thing it will do is entertain you, and my God it's entertaining!
For a start, the film looks amazing: from the make-up, costumes, sets and atmosphere - this is much darker and gothic than Blade 1, and more stylish. The fights are also just as cool.
But the best thing about this movie is The Reapers. Yes, the 'super vampire' that is giving regular vampires nightmares! This has to be THE MOST viusally original concept for the Vampire ever since Bram Stoker released "Dracula" a hundred years ago! The moment I saw this it blew me away! I wasn't even expecting them!
Basically, I took a chance on this movie, and I'm really glad I did. It is just pure, unadultarated entertainment in it's purest form! WATCH THIS FILM - IT IS GOOD!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Blade 2 [DVD] [2002] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
Blade 2 [DVD] [2002] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] by Guillermo del Toro (DVD - 2002)
£12.74
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews