Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magnificent, buy it!
To the modern generation, most know little more about Jimmy Cagney than he played gangsters in old movies. This is a great shame as many of his films are masterpieces and when people talk about 'stars' and 'celebrity' Cagney is in a league of his own. Forget Titanic, Forest Gump and so on, this is a real masterpiece!
Even if you have never seen...
Published on 6 Feb. 2006 by steveM

versus
0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars its ok but not perffect
the cover was in Italian so I was unable to read the reviews of the film i thought it would be in English like i ordered the disc plays ok but every time i put it on i have to remove the subtitles its not the same
Published on 24 April 2013 by terry brooks


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magnificent, buy it!, 6 Feb. 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yankee Doodle Dandy (Two-Disc Special Edition) [DVD] (1942) [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
To the modern generation, most know little more about Jimmy Cagney than he played gangsters in old movies. This is a great shame as many of his films are masterpieces and when people talk about 'stars' and 'celebrity' Cagney is in a league of his own. Forget Titanic, Forest Gump and so on, this is a real masterpiece!
Even if you have never seen one of his gangster films, see this. His energy and delivery are breathtaking, and
his tap dancing and singing, shows what a marvellous all round entertainer he was. Never was an oscar more richly deserved than for this tour de force performance.
The film is worth buying for two scenes alone:
The main number when Cagney hoofs and dances up the wall and the final scen when he dances down the staircase at the Whitehouse. How did he do that? He tap dances down to perfect rhytyhm without even looking at the stairs! I beg you! Buy this film!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is the role which won Cagney an Academy Award., 28 Jun. 2001
By A Customer
Yankee Doodle Dandy is the story of the life of US Patriot George Cohan (Played by Cagney).
Ordinarily I do not like musicals, especially ones made years and years before my birth, so when I came to sit down and watch Yankee Doodle Dandy I was only watching it for Cagney.
Was I wrong, not only is the story incredibly interesting, but the songs are choreographed exceptionally and Cagney shows his great singing and dancing skills.
Do not be fooled, this will be a film you can watch over and over again, despite being an old musical, it simply is a must for your collection whether you love James Cagney, Musicals, or Classic Hollywood.
Do yourself a favour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CAGNEY CLASSIC WITHOUT THE VIOLENCE, 19 Dec. 2009
By 
D. Lambert-leitchy (GEORDIE LAND, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Yankee Doodle Dandy (Two-Disc Special Edition) [DVD] (1942) [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
WHAT AN ENERGETIC MOVER CAGNEY WAS, HE'D WIPE THE FLOOR WITH THOSE STRICTLY COME DANCING LOT. A NICE CHANGE FROM HIS GANGSTER MOVIES WITH SOME GREAT SONGS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yankee Doodle Dandy [Blu-ray] [REGION FREE] US Import, 12 Nov. 2014
By 
David Welford (Essex England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Once again the Amazon description is incorrect, this American Blu-ray plays on UK Region B players without any problems, two of my film friends also have an imported copy and their discs play on Region B players..The two disc DVD was very good, however the film has been further restored and for a seventy year old film looks superb, also the extras have had restoration attention and the two Vintage WB cartoons look pristine. This is one of the great feel good musicals of the 1940's and if you like the film the upgrade is well worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 17 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
hooray been searching for this dvd for a while brings back childhood memories. James Cagney at his best rumour has it (from my parents that Cohen requested Cagney for this role. DVD exactly as described and unlike a previous review if when playing for the first time people go to 'idiomas' select ingles then scroll down which is the part for subtitles easy says 'Subtitulos' then click on 'sin subtitulos' once this has been done it should be fine every time you play it and go straight to english version without any subtitles. Even if people do not really like musicals I am sure that they will enjoy this classic masterpiece. And in response to cover being in the Spanish language it does state very clearly that this is a Spanish import, Again delighted with the speed that the dvd delivered and will watch it again and again film for all the family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why only region one, 8 Feb. 2008
By 
This review is from: Yankee Doodle Dandy (Two-Disc Special Edition) [DVD] (1942) [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
This is the best film ever but try as I might I can not get hold of it for region 2. If anyone knows where or how I can find this film to play on my DVD player, here in England, I would be grateful.
Same goes for "My Beautiful Son" AKA "Strange Relations" in the American market.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Off my Husbands wish list, 5 Jan. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Husband was well please with this DVD We did panic a little as the printing on DVD cover was is spainish and when we started to watch the 'warnings again pirating etc' were written in Spainish but the film was ENGLISH Thoroughly enjoyed it after a worrying start
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars perfect blu ray transfer and region free, 12 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What a performance by James Cagney, Probably his best, I watched this film three times in last few weeks, Outstanding Blu ray transfer and it is region free
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great film, 7 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really enjoyed this film, am a James Cagney fan and highly recommend this great musical.Another great film from a super actor and performer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 20 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yankee Doodle Dandy (Two-Disc Special Edition) [DVD] (1942) [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Excellent. Excellent. I would have no hesitation recommending these to both family and friends. Gorgeous. Amazing. Spectacular. I love it. Good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews