Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Gripping Film
I really liked this film as the characters are all interesting and although the settings and catchphrases may be slightly cliched of the Gangster Genre the characters are unpredictable and well acted. This film really captures all the different aspects of life as a criminal, the money, the nervousness, paranoia, excitement and the inevitable downfall resulting in lives...
Published on 17 May 2002

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not too bad at all.
I'm always wary of British gangster type movies as they tend to be beyond cliched & although this is a bit on the cliched side, I thought it was actually pretty decent. Nothing too fancy on the direction side of things, so there's a more gritty feeling to this. Sean Bean can certainly pull off a nasty bit of work pretty well & all the other actors put in pretty decent...
Published on 4 Oct 2009 by adamski


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Gripping Film, 17 May 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Essex Boys [VHS] [2000] (VHS Tape)
I really liked this film as the characters are all interesting and although the settings and catchphrases may be slightly cliched of the Gangster Genre the characters are unpredictable and well acted. This film really captures all the different aspects of life as a criminal, the money, the nervousness, paranoia, excitement and the inevitable downfall resulting in lives being ruined.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars always liked this film, 31 May 2011
This review is from: Essex Boys [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
couldnt wait to watch it when i got it. always have liked ths film, and been based on true events is what makes the film for me. Although the characters are different, if you know about the story that happened in real life, then you will understand this film. good cast, gritty crime drama.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not too bad at all., 4 Oct 2009
By 
adamski (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Essex Boys [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
I'm always wary of British gangster type movies as they tend to be beyond cliched & although this is a bit on the cliched side, I thought it was actually pretty decent. Nothing too fancy on the direction side of things, so there's a more gritty feeling to this. Sean Bean can certainly pull off a nasty bit of work pretty well & all the other actors put in pretty decent displays. Not earth-shattering or anything, but I'd give this a go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sound of the underground, 18 Jan 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Essex Boys [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
Inspired by a true story, Essex boys takes us on a journey through the colourful but violent nights and guilty, jaded days of the titular group of criminals. The attraction of a life of crime as part of a firm is clear: unlimited drugs and drink on tap, VIP treatment in nightclubs (the best Southend has to offer) and scantily dressed young women with dubious taste in men never far away.

But as Billy (Charlie Creed-Miles) discovers, life in Essex's fast lane comes at a price. Bored of his cabbing job, Billy is both attracted and appalled by the world of Jason Locke (Sean Bean) and his underworld associates.

Death and imprisonment lurk in the shadows, and the 'firm' are certainly ruthless and reckless, but in Essex Boys, the 'firm' never appear quite as menacing as the filmmakers would like. Larry Lamb riding round in a Merc' smoking a cigar accompanied by a long haired Michael McKell and a scenery chewing Sean Bean just doesn't seem true to the realities of top (ok, upper middle) level criminality. But then, most of us wouldn't really know.

The plot revolves around double crossings and drug deals gone wrong, with some romantic intrigue (Alex Kingston on mesmeric form) thrown in for good measure. This is all well and good, if you can follow the plot, but the film's main strengths are - in order of successful execution - atmosphere and acting. This is a world of strip light underpasses flashing by in the early hours, of rendesvous by the estuarine bridge, in the shadow of the oil refinery. Essex has never looked so bleak. Bean, Kingston, Creed miles et al. certainly give it their all, and the acting is strong and committed. Bean's accent is not perfect, but this doesn't detract from the overall success of the film.

Accompanied by an imaginative and appropriately dark soundtrack, Essex Boys is a great way to spend a couple of hours willing the characters not to get mixed up with the bad guys, or not to double cross a drug dealer, or not to cheat on Alex Kingston... but knowing that they will anyway.

Fast moving but atmospheric entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it!!, 14 Jun 2007
This review is from: Essex Boys [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
I have to say I was a bit worried about this film. I'm not sure why I was?! Sean Bean is absolutely amazing (as usual) as the bad guy (no change there!). He is an awful, violent killer, but I still didn't want anything bad to happen to him!!

This is a great, violent look into drug crime and revenge.

I really really really like this film and Sean Bean is fantasic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sharpe's Dodgy Accent, 22 April 2004
This review is from: Essex Boys [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
Worth the money for the sight and sound of Sean "Mr Sheffield Utd" Beangiving his unique interpretation of the Essex accent. That said it reallyisn't a bad film. Never boring, well written and, for those of us residenthere in the South-East, full of familiar landmarks. Larry Lamb puts inanother cracking performance, whilst Bean (accent included) is always goodvalue. It's something about that sneer.The Malden by-pass will never bethe same again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars British movies are the dogs bollocks!, 2 Aug 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Essex Boys [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
I don't really get the one-star reviews. This is an excellent wee movie. The ending is weak but the atmosphere is great, especially the scene in the woods before and after the termination of the 'Essex Boys'.
Tough, gritty, great escapist stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Essex Boys, 11 April 2005
This review is from: Essex Boys [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
Very much like Lock Stock but a bit more black. Would advise viewing of this. Plot is good with quite a few twists and turns. Alex Kingston plays a very good part.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Essex Boys DVD, 29 July 2010
By 
This review is from: Essex Boys [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
Its ok if your into the drug scene type of films. Its not for the faint hearted as its abit bloody and gory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars it was rated a four star I reluctently gave it a two str, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Essex Boys [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
No didnt like it at all
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Essex Boys [DVD] [2000]
Essex Boys [DVD] [2000] by Alex Kingston (DVD - 2001)
3.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews