Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (42)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compatibility
I didn't install the game from DVD, just added the game key to battle.net and downloaded the client. Online play still works over battle.net however if you're using WinVista, Win7 or Win8 please remember IPX/SPX not available for these OSs any more, this means no LAN party. Also game won't install on MacOS 10.7 Lion and any higher versions of it. Apple gave up supporting...
Published 9 months ago by Omur

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars good luck getting it to work
1st off while installing the game about halfway through a msg pops up saying insert disk 2 to complete installation...there is no disk 2, only the expansion disk which isnt "disk 2". You have to go on the company website, download the digital version then install it.

2nd thing was the game just stopped playing as soon as i completed mission 5. The...
Published 3 months ago by Hanke


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compatibility, 31 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Starcraft/Broodwar Expansion Pack (PC DVD) (Video Game)
I didn't install the game from DVD, just added the game key to battle.net and downloaded the client. Online play still works over battle.net however if you're using WinVista, Win7 or Win8 please remember IPX/SPX not available for these OSs any more, this means no LAN party. Also game won't install on MacOS 10.7 Lion and any higher versions of it. Apple gave up supporting PowerPC applications and Starcraft is one of them. Also there's a chance you'll experience some colour problems; to fix it please follow this:

Go to the compatibility section and select the following settings:
- Run this program in compatibility mode for: Windows XP (Service Pack 2)
- Run in 256 colors
- Run in 640 x 480 screen resolution
- disable desktop composition
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars StarCraft Universe, 26 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Starcraft/Broodwar Expansion Pack (PC DVD) (Video Game)
StarCraft, and the BroodWar expansion is STILL the best RTS game around - it's getting hard to get hold of so don't hesitate if you see it.
The single-player missions are good "stand-alone" gaming, and many people are happy to keep playing the computer. But perhaps the real appeal is playing this game on Battle.Net against other players. Humans attack and defend in ways computer AI can't dream of - and StarCraft has a near perfect balance of forces and units that your success depends on your strategies. This game is the ultimate in strategy. And it's fast.
It has a loyal fanbase with dozens of sites on the web with strategy tips and replays of games. A classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A mythical game!, 8 Sep 2009
By 
B. Marie (Réunion) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Starcraft/Broodwar Expansion Pack (PC DVD) (Video Game)
I'd never played Starcraft previously even if I'd heard talked a lot.I don't regret my purchase.It's the best game of strategy! You can make campaigns or play in online multiplayer mode and I don't grow tired of it.Furthermore,this version with extension "Broodwar" adds new maps and compaigns.It's a friend who advised me to buy it and I made well listen to him.This game has more than ten years old and there's a reference even today, that's very significant! To try or re-try absolutely!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The ultimate in real time action strategy, 14 Oct 2004
This review is from: Starcraft/Broodwar Expansion Pack (PC DVD) (Video Game)
I first played this game on battle.net 4 years ago, I was instantly hooked and had a lot of fun. I stopped playing regularly and only played on and off for about 2 years. Now, 4 years on, im playing this game every day. While i no longer go on battle.net anymore, i still play every day. Me and my friends play network games either 2v2 on decent maps like lost temple, plains to hills etc, or 1v1s. And while now i only really play lan games with friends i still play every day, either playing with computers to improve ready for my friends or watching pro replays from sites like teamliquid.net. The strength in the game lies in the balance of the races and the style, i love it.
Just think of it like this - This is my favourite RTS of all time, after 4 years im playing every day and yet i've never even played the single player campaign! I've heard its very good, but i just got so into the multiplayer side of the game, pure 1v1, which is so diverse and addictive, that i never even got round to the actual single player story game!
gg hf (good game have fun)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Shooting fish in a barrel, 22 Mar 2010
By 
Jason Prudhoe (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Starcraft/Broodwar Expansion Pack (PC DVD) (Video Game)
Humans, Zerg, Protoss and a storyline for each race, you get to play commander for these respective races and the campaign central to this. much like command and conquer before it, the game focuses around a war for freedom, at least for the humans that is...

Prologue;
before the various wars, earth had more people then it can deal with, an idea was formed by the UED - United Earth Directorate, the directorate was an oppressive tyrannic dictatorship ran by the military. the idea they had was simple, get all the prisoners on transports and have then colonize other planets, along the way the ships failed due to mechanical failures after years of neglect, the ships either crashed or landed on various planets within the Koprulu Sector, oddly the protoss took an interest and watched from a distance as the humans called themselves terran, formed a confederation and ended up bombing each other and killing each other for various reasons while splitting into factions like the sons of korhal, the kel-morian combine and the umajan protectorate, one included a planet named Korhal which suffered by these tyrants. in the years that followed, the zerg flew in to add them to the evolutionary chain because the undiscovered psionic ability the terrans had. as soon as the problem was noticed, the terrans took first blood but ended in disaster when the planet was bombarded by the protoss who are now more then observers as the demo and intro states as soon as you load up, the story picks up just after Chau Sara was rendered uninhabitable.

several notable characters appear and secondary characters, they also have a say in things to come. a very enjoyable game to play even against the computer.

in the years since starcraft 2 that is about to come out, multi-player became absolutely massive. i personally like 'use map settings' and joining this games, far more fun then 'deathmatch', 'ffa' or 'ladder matches', dodge the larva, tower defense, sunken defense, tank defenders, 20 tricks. all good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars StarCraft: Broodwar, 14 July 2009
By 
J. Hammond (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Starcraft/Broodwar Expansion Pack (PC DVD) (Video Game)
I cannot really say much else than what has already been said.

Despite the age of this game, it still plays extremely well and is also played very often in gaming tournaments (worldwide, although the best players tend to reside in South Korea - where they actually have a TV channel dedicated to this game) to this day as a result of this.

Anyway, I have been playing this game on Vista 64bit perfectly fine (without changing any settings) providing that I launch the game through the installer on the disk - so that's not an issue either (at least not for me).

This is my first review so it is probably all over the place, so I'll try to summerise pros and cons.

Pros:
- Active community (after many, many years!)
- Very rewarding when you win (this game is hard!)
- Very well balanced between the 3 factions (Terran/Humans, Zerg, Protoss)
- The units actually have personality (you'll see what I mean when you play)
- Fast-paced and strategy-heavy (even minor things like ground-height advantages come into play) so it doesn't revolve around slinging huge armies at eachother like other RTS games (I'm looking at you; Command and Conquer!)
- An overall enjoyable experience

Cons:
- The computer is hard (and it cheats as it can see the entire map instantly)and will likely destroy newer players.
- The graphics are dated, although not at all terrible.
- You can only select 12 units at a time, which is annoying despite how much it makes strategy/micromanagement more important.

In conclusion I say that the pros dominate the cons and that you should definitely buy this game (or at least watch some tournament videos on the internet - which inspired me to play (and buy) this.

Sorry for the messy first review, I'll try better next time!

P.S. The Broodwar game actually adds onto the StarCraft program. You have the option of what version you want to play within each of the main menu's modes. Surprisngly, Broodwar (the expansion content) is the one that championship tournaments use - so I'd suggest sticking to that for multiplayer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars To Advis2k (6th March 2005), 27 Mar 2008
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Starcraft/Broodwar Expansion Pack (PC DVD) (Video Game)
you say:
"The thing that really ruins StarCraft is that there no strategy behind it : all you have to do is keep throwing expendable units at the enemy until they are overrun; unlike games like Command & Conquer where you could choose either to crack the enemy with brute force, wage covert war or use aerial support to soften the enemy. Unit control is very annoying as well, you can only control a maximum of 9 units which is far too low considering units in combat life can be counted in seconds, hence the need of constantly creating teams which is undesirable. "

Your statement is contradictory: You cannot moan about this game being all about brute force AND THEN complain about using only 9 units at a time! This is what makes a good player stand out, being able to use the right forces for the right reason at the right time. This IS strategy!!!

I'm sorry to further your contradiction by confirming that C&C, a game which you state is "not about brute force" actually allows you to carry out an attack with an unlimited number of units. This involves a LOT less strategy than an attack based on moving 9 units at a time!!!

You are right on the Starcraft not having the "wage convert" option, but do NOT say you cannot carry out air attacks! Apart from the array of attacking air units, have you ever tried a "drop"? This consists on using transport ships to carry your units to the heart of your enemy's base... Quite a lethal attack if carried out properly! In fact, this only works if done with the right units and very stealthily... again, it's all about strategy!

I just thought I'd put the perception of Starcraft back where it belongs: amongst the best strategy games out there! I still play this game online (it was released 10 years ago) and every now and then play the scenarios because they are AMAZING!! =)

Lets hope Starcraft 2 won't disappoint!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you enjoyed StarCraft then what are you waiting for?, 22 May 2001
This review is from: Starcraft/Broodwar Expansion Pack (PC DVD) (Video Game)
StarCraft: BroodWar is easily the most polished of enhancements to an already fantastic game. Briefly the expansion provides: three new map types, six completely new and original units (seven if you include Protoss Dark-Templars that were not buildable in the original), an entire single player campaign spanning twenty-six missions, hundreds of multi-player skirmish maps and awe-inspiring cinematic sequences. The maps are fully detailed and look fantastic; they even have new critters. :) Each of the new units is totally unique and adds a whole new dimension to the strategy side of the game. There's nothing half-hearted about this expansion. Everything you'd expect to be present has been included, plus a lot you wouldn't have expected in an excellent value-for-money expansion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Game in the World!, 2 Jan 2004
By 
Yj Yang "Fred" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Starcraft/Broodwar Expansion Pack (PC DVD) (Video Game)
This is the most wonderful game I've ever played in my life I can say. The mission story is really well made and the graphic is good. Single game and Multi player game with the other gamers give you more fun of the game specially Battle Net is really good fun of it!!! You can play with the gamers over the world in your room for free!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THIS IS WHY LIMITED INSTALLATIONS IS A TERRIBLE IDEA!, 18 May 2008
By 
NeuroSplicer (Freeside, in geosynchronous orbit) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Starcraft/Broodwar Expansion Pack (PC DVD) (Video Game)
Over the last 10 years that I first installed STARCRAFT I have replayed it countless of times. Every time a new overhyped game disappoints me, this is one of the games I pull out of my library to be reminded what a GREAT PC GAME LOOKS & PLAYS LIKE! (others include UNREAL, BALDUR's GATE, GRIM FANTANGO and SHOGUN:TOTAL WAR)

Everyone has his/her favorite RTS and no one can claim that STARCRAFT introduced the futuristic RTS genre (that would be DUNE). Nevertheless, the great, crisp and clear graphics, the balanced units and the strategic terrain all contributed to turning STARCRAFT into a true classic. This is a game that passed the test of time, not only because its aging graphics are still acceptable but also because it is one of those games that stays with you. Forever.

So, the next time some gaming industry MBA (who probably could not tell an RTS from an cRPG) tables the idea of LIMITED INSTALLATIONS, what he will have primarily accomplished is to have his game forgotten within a year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Starcraft/Broodwar Expansion Pack (PC DVD)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews