Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Onimusha edges PS2 toward the 3rd place...
Undoubtedly the best game for PS2 so far, Onimusha: Warlords is an RE clone with an edge.
The edge is the story line and setting. Feudal Japan is the setting and instead of blasting the Undead to bits with pump-action shotguns the hero slashes them to bits with various edged weapons. Capcom have spent a lot of time developing the story in the form of FMV sequences...
Published on 19 July 2001 by simonh_lufc@hotmail.com

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too quick!
This is an excellent game, and I really enjoyed it... but to be honest, I rented it out on the Friday and was finished by Sunday. It's an incredibly short game that is nice in theory, but could do with making the Bosses a bit harder, and more of a storyline in the actual gameplay rather than just show us (albeit absolutely fantastic) clips, which actually were the best...
Published on 29 Nov 2001


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars onimusha warriors, 9 Dec 2001
By 
mr ashley w reed (RAF Akrotiri, Cyprus) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Onimusha: Warlords (PS2) (Video Game)
The best survival horror i have played , easily. it beats reident evil and has the advanced graphics and gameplay to match that of silent hill. The game has a variety of old fashion weapons,mainly swords, which give guns and futristic atire a much needed break. The rural japanese setting creates an exciting, yet scary surounding making you more aware. Basically a brilliant game that i would not give up playing for the world, top marks !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars onimusha, 29 Oct 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Onimusha: Warlords (PS2) (Video Game)
this game could have been the king of all games,however it takes no time at all to complete, as a matter of fact it took me well under six hours to complete and i didn't get to fight half the people i wanted to!and for this reason it can only get a maximum of three stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Resident evil style game yet?, 18 July 2001
This review is from: Onimusha: Warlords (PS2) (Video Game)
This game is probably the best resident evil style game out its graphics go into great detail and when u get used to the controls it is a really playable game. It is a hard challanging game but everyone needs a challange once in a while so that really shouldn't be a problem. The in game graphics are great but the cutscenes look amazing. This game is really enjoyable and will keep u entertained for hours. I would say this game is a must buy for all PS2 gamers... so all i can say is buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars "Onimusha anyone?", 16 July 2001
This review is from: Onimusha: Warlords (PS2) (Video Game)
Onimusha Warlords is a joy! Though by no means perfect (what or who is?), the game is a blistering bit of fun that allows the player to marvel in the PS2 power and escape into a bizarre feudal Japan era fight-fest. This is a game which has been developed in the PS2's infancy,which is very encouraging for the future of console gaming!! Onimusha has set a new standard for 'movie' style gaming, the future is looking very good indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good game..., 16 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Onimusha: Warlords (PS2) (Video Game)
It's a fairly good game. Nice story (If a little predictable)Good graphics. The music adds tension. Parts of this game that annoy. I love the backgrounds but why cant they animate my chap using ladders, walking up and down stairs, that kind of thing. Running around on one level that's as flat as an ice rink can be a little annoying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Onimusha - A hit, 13 July 2001
This review is from: Onimusha: Warlords (PS2) (Video Game)
A great game, I enjoyed all the hacking, the intense action and atmosphere. The storyline was great, it could've had a little more depth. One bad thing was all the running around you had to do, looking for things. Also, I found it a tad easy. It had a great ending and a great amount of big bad guys, big, ugly, mean and slightly differed from eachother. This game already has a sequel in the making, and it deserves one!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Game so far on the PS2, 11 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Onimusha: Warlords (PS2) (Video Game)
This game is absolutely a "must buy". I was beginning to give up all hope of the PS2 living up to its hype. This game shines in all respects. The graphics are simply amazing. The puzzles are interesting and the general fight sequences are superb. Whoever says this game is too short is either a god at video games or a liar and a cheat. The game is not easy, but thoroughly entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Impressive but nothing new, 10 July 2001
By 
Mr. K. Lutener "Lorfarius" (Glossop, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Onimusha: Warlords (PS2) (Video Game)
I was looking forward to this game, having seen the award winning trailer and pics in various magazines i was hoping for something special. The game is good and took me a good 20 hours of play to get through but it fails to deliver anything special, instead it seems to be just another resident evil but with swords. Dont get me wrong, its worth owning and enjoyed every minute of it but I cant help but feel its time we had a really mindblowing title for the PS2 and not something thats just above average. Roll on Final Fantasy X and Metal Gear Solid 2, although they are a long way away maybe they will make the PS2 worth owning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Resident evil-alike, 10 July 2001
By 
Mr J A Diss (Rugeley, Staffordshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Onimusha: Warlords (PS2) (Video Game)
Yeah, it's like resident evil...you need to find the magic mirrors to save, there are books to collect and your progression through the levels requires backtracking to previous locations, but one thing has become apparent and it's that it's difficult to come up with something that breaks entirely new ground.
The combat system seems to be a question of simply hitting the 'attack' button until you start to notice the that blocking attacks is effective, or you start coming up against critters that are heavier than you or start to display some more intelligence...then you start to think a little more deeply about how to more effectively kill things.
All in all Onimusha is beautiful to look at and the main criticism of the game that I have so far is that it may be too short. Admittedly I'm not a big gamer, but I think I'm about half-way through at the moment (sub-keep levels) and I'm dubious about the length of time left.
All in all a fantastic game let down by the comical dubbing and sometimes tedious cutscenes, but elevated by the _extremely_ pretty CGI and gameplay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Slash and hack but no content, 7 July 2001
By 
E. Smith (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Onimusha: Warlords (PS2) (Video Game)
Sorry Capcom. I loved all the Resident Evil titles and the thought of that type of gameplay with the PS2 processing power and a big sword convinced me to go out and buy it. What a mistake. A definate try before you buy. Sure it looks ok but the backgrounds are pre-rendered and don't have the dynamic cameras of silent hill and dino crisis on the PS1. I thought this was supposed to be a next gen game!
Big shame and a big let down. I think that I will rent Resident Evil: Code Veronica if this is what all future Capcom PS2 titles will be like.
Here's hoping for better things in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xad0de384)

This product

Onimusha: Warlords (PS2)
Onimusha: Warlords (PS2) by Capcom (PlayStation2)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews