Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars stood the test of time?
When I first played TA i really enjoyed it, but I thought that there may come a time when I exhausted it, I am still waiting for that time. The game comes with two sides the ARM and the CORE, both have 75 units a team, the units are very well balanced and the variety of map sizes allows different lengths of play, small maps are normally short games, like metal heck which...
Published on 10 Mar 2003 by man-of-music

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars this game not suitable for my computer
the game would not run on my computer, most disappointing, I was looking forward to playing this old game on my windows 7 system
Published 16 months ago by jaylew


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars stood the test of time?, 10 Mar 2003
This review is from: Total Annihilation (PC CD) (Video Game)
When I first played TA i really enjoyed it, but I thought that there may come a time when I exhausted it, I am still waiting for that time. The game comes with two sides the ARM and the CORE, both have 75 units a team, the units are very well balanced and the variety of map sizes allows different lengths of play, small maps are normally short games, like metal heck which can last for a mere 30minutes, or the great seven islands which can last for 5hours.
The game comes with a good variety of planes, ships, vehicles and Kbots(infantry), and plenty of buildings, defence is in the form of lasers, plasma cannons, missles and FlAK cannons, aswell as torpedos launchers. The construction of the units is nanolathing which is essentially a very good idea to overcome the impossibilities of the time to actually put cranes and other things in.
The story line although simple suits the game, the storyline suggests aggression and to win against a hard AI this is what is needed, otherwise they grow ridiculously big. The AI is satisfactory, but can be improved using the AI profiler avaliable from taus.tadesigners.com.
Also the now legendary tank rush of red alert is not present in TA. The most powerful units are the slowest and will get picked off by aircraft if not escorted by planes and will get hit by long range plasma cannon fire if the smaller faster units aren't used to draw their fire.
The core contigency and battle tactics introduce more units and more maps, which makes the game even more exciting and even the superbot, the krogoth still can't survive on its own even in a groups of 5.
The game has acceptable graphics and battle music that gets the adrenaline pumping, the graphics are not completely 3D but are good enough to allow elevation and line of sight to play a major role, since the higher a unit is the further it can see and shoot.
I think that this game has definatley stood the test of time, I still play it even in its original form against friends, I think that if cavedog hadn't have gone bust then TA2 would be the most talked about up and coming statergy game, if the original is anything to go by. A solid C & C beater.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 3 years old, still going strong, 21 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Total Annihilation (PC CD) (Video Game)
Total Annihilation came out in 1998 in the UK and smashed the virtual monopoly on RTS's held by Westwood with Dune 2 and Command & Conquer.
Nothing published since has come close.
Set in a time far in the future, Arm (men in mighty machines) and Core (patterns of conciousness in mighty machines) fight it out for dominance over a series of worlds. With a 2 resource economy (metal & energy), you start off on each new planet with nothing but your nanolathing Commander and his Disintegrator gun. Building factories, solar panels and metal extractors as fast as you can, you swiftly build a vibrant war machine with which to crush your enemy: unfortunately, he's doing the same of course, so be quick.
With excellent units, great maps and an easy to learn point & click interface backed up by easy to learn keyboard short cuts, TA has become THE choice of the dedicated Real Time Strategy player. What makes it even more exciting is that it is still developing and growing, thanks to the tremendous army of unpaid fans who have developed a variety of 3rd party modifications.
The standard Cavedog (the original software developer) units have been modified, added to and developed both as individual units and as complete packs or "mods" which are available to download free of charge.
While the AI can give you a good Skirmish, and the missions will teach you how to use the units, TA really comes alive when you play on-line. Visit Microsoft's Zone ... and you'll find upward of 100 people who want to demonstrate how good they are... The community also welcomes new players and helps with strategy, tactics, pc problems: anything that's preventing you from getting mximum enjoyment from the best RTS there is.
I've spent a fortune on C&C, RA, Tib Sun, Shogun, Ground Control et al. The only one that comes close for playability and longevity is Age of Empires II. And AoE hasn't got tanks, aircraft and really big guns in it!
Enjoy TA. There's nothing like it. You won't regret buying it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Total Anihilation, 4 May 2005
This review is from: Total Annihilation (PC CD) (Video Game)
To put it simply this is the best Real time strategy game of all time, the only game I have played that comes close to TA is cossacks and as mentioned in a previous review no cut out on TA even on slow modems (yes some people still use them, not me thank god). TA doesnt need a massive processor (good amount of memory helps though), has a lot of units. It's a game that has a lot of subtle strategy behind it and only seems to get better with age.
If you dont own it buy it, better yet buy another copy for a friend and forget about leaving your PC for a week or so,then weep for Cavedog who never got to release the sequel to TA (lets not mentions Kingdoms, pretty but not very playable)before going bust!
It is that good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still the best., 23 Feb 2006
By 
Michael A. Cook (Brighton United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Total Annihilation (PC CD) (Video Game)
Total Annihilation is simply the best RTS of all time. Even now its gameplay is still a cut above the latest releases.
The true genuis of this game is the addition of radar, this is not just a map on the screen but fully working radar, you can use radar jammers to conceal your units and have your units shoot using the radar to lock onto enemies which they cant actually see.
Even with just two forces which are very similar the game is so diverse that in the nine years i have been playing it still does not get old and only a few weeks ago had a lan to play Total Annihilation.
The tactics differ every time and the group i play in over the years keep changing tactics and gameplay. The game also allows you to restrict units. This is useful as over the years certain tactics have been used often and with banning the units it forces to players to come up with even more far fetched tactics, constantly re inventing the game as we play more. The basic AI is quite poor but this game is best played against other people and in groups if you can.
Even now with its almost decade old graphics it still looks good and is highly playable.
You are not a true RTS fan if you dont own Total Annihilation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 22 Jan 2007
By 
Wilf (Gloucester, England) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Total Annihilation (PC CD) (Video Game)
If you're a fan of traditional RTS then you won't find a game much better than this one - a huge array of weaponry and different techs, a very good resource gathering system, many original gameplay innovations (such as dynamic pause and build order queuing), some excellent maps and terrain types, a very good plot and missions, and the most relentless computer-controlled enemy I have ever crossed swords with.

Don't be put off by my last comment - my style of playing these games is fairly defensive, which is all well and good unless you leave the enemy to settle in and build up for too long! In TA, if you do this, the enemy is going to come on strong and keep coming, especially if he gets you on the back foot and stuck in a defensive battle. Aggressive raiding and aggressive acquisition and development of resource fields as soon as possible is probably the best way of preventing an onslaught.

It's fair to say that TA is truly a place where fortune favours the brave!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A True Rival To C&C, 22 Feb 2002
This review is from: Total Annihilation (PC CD) (Video Game)
This game has good graphics (for its age), masses of units compared to C&C series games, loads of missions, and the music is the best I've seen in a game ever. Is supported by GameSpy Arcade for multiplayer, and, although it does not say so here, I found it to be fully compatible with my Xp Home Edition. I would deffinatly reccomend this to any C&C, or strategy game fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TA: Strategy at its Finest, 18 Nov 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Total Annihilation (PC CD) (Video Game)
Total Annihilation really deserves its title of 'Greatest Game of All Time'. This game is one all about strategy and depth of thinking. If you think the Command and Conquer series is strategic, then you have yet to expecience Total Annihilation. Its a fast-paced game of analysing your enemy, your surrounds and your avaiable resources and to think up a good strategy.
There are four main unit classes in Total Annihilation : Tanks, Kbots (legged robots), Aircraft and Naval. Each one brings with it a new set of tactics. Combining these unit classes gives you an almost infinite diversity of strategies to think though and plan. It uses an 'infinite' resource system, so that there is never an end to the resources you can harvest. As such battles can go on for quite some time. All the units are superbly balanced and origional.
The games solo-player mode is a good introduction to the game and the way things work, but the AI is dire, even with the last official patch, so skirmishes are really not that great, except for having a laugh with. No real challange there.
If you are looking for a real challange you can come online and play some of the 'veteran' players the game. Most of the people who play TA online have been around for a while, but the whole community is welcoming to all new players, many willing to spend time teaching other players to be the perfect killing machines.
All in all, TA is hard to fault gameplay wise. Its greatest flaw is its AI, but this is more than made up for with the online following presenting a great challenge to those who like to engage their brains in a tactical fest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Could this be the best war strategy game ever made?, 20 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Total Annihilation (PC CD) (Video Game)
Well....no but it still comes damn close, at first i was sceptical of this game as it isn't exactly a dream to look at, however what it lacks in looks it more than makes up for in gameplay with many add ons can be downloaded easily and the storyline is unlike and other. Many believe that red alert 1/2 ar the best strategy war games but i think Total annihilation is far superior as rather than having to be experianced with the type of game you can jump straight in and start kiling rather than having to get highly experianced at the game before you get any good at it. The multiplayer is excelent also as there is no skipping or cutting off on a 28.8 kbps connection. in summary this game has great gameplay in all of the multiplayer, skirmish and campaign mode and is excelent value for money, GO BUY THIS NOW!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TA kicks C+C Arse!!!!!, 20 Dec 2001
This review is from: Total Annihilation (PC CD) (Video Game)
I borrowed TA off a mate of mine a couple of months ago now...As of this time,I am still playing this game,and I doubt he will get it back for a couple more months yet!!!The publisher's website allows you to download new units,which is a fantastic idea...I can't think of any words to describe this game,it's shockingly excellent...You are much better off with this(especially at this price!!!)than with the (in comparison)quite rubbish Red Alert!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Still playing after 8 years :o, 6 April 2009
By 
Dr. A. DEWITT (london UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Total Annihilation (PC CD) (Video Game)
TA is simply a brilliant game...the gameplay has truly stood the test of time thanks to the online multiplayer capability.

I played this a lot on 1 player years ago, then when I got broadband at home I dug out my copy again and opened up a whole new world of playability.

Its really easy to get into this game...you start out with a 'commander' - a powerful unit that can walk around and generate new units. Pretty soon you'll have a small (or epic) army of land, sea and air based robots each with their own skills. There are tactics to learn to make best use of your units, for example setting up multiple bases, or setting air units to guard ground units, so the phrase "easy to learn, difficult to master" comes to mind.

The soundtrack makes for pretty good background music and the graphics are fine for their day and make it clear to see what's going on without squinting.

At the current low price it's an absolute must buy for any gamer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Total Annihilation (PC CD)
Total Annihilation (PC CD) by Namco Bandai (Windows 95 / 98)
£12.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews