Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Jeff
For any Jeff Buckley fan, whether they were lucky enough to see him live or not, this album is essential. Once you have Grace, and Sketches, you can then start exploring his live recordings, which is pretty much like discovering a goldmine. Live a L'olympia is one of the nuggets you have to look forward to.
The fact that it is one entire show and not a selection of...
Published on 13 July 2005 by Sometimes Things Get Whatever

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Avoid!
As I fairly big Jeff Buckley fan I had high hopes for this album, but oh what a disappointment! The sound quality is awful and Last Goodbye is absent because they stuck it unceremoniously on Mystery White Boy instead! Grace just sounds like a fuzzy mess and there isn't actually anything here of any merit. Like Mystery White Boy it seems like an easy cash making exercise...
Published on 25 Mar 2010 by Dobbins


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Jeff, 13 July 2005
This review is from: Live A l'Olympia (Audio CD)
For any Jeff Buckley fan, whether they were lucky enough to see him live or not, this album is essential. Once you have Grace, and Sketches, you can then start exploring his live recordings, which is pretty much like discovering a goldmine. Live a L'olympia is one of the nuggets you have to look forward to.
The fact that it is one entire show and not a selection of performances from different shows is great; you can really get a feel for what it was like to be there. There is no comparison to hearing Jeff at his most raw, and nothing can really describe it until you hear him. This is a good first live album for anyone quite new to Jeff, as he doesn't stray too much from the regular versions of each song (very different to Mystery White Boy, for example). I found that his live improvisation took a couple of listens before I got used to it, but this is a perfect introduction. The addition of 'What Will You Say,' featuring Alim Qasimov, as the final track is credit to how versatile Jeff was.
Considering the CD was mastered from cassette the sound quality is amazing - I had no idea until I read the sleeve notes. It sounds near enough to a digital recording.
The packaging also deserves a special mention. The case is gatefold, which opens out with a pocket for the sleeve booklet. The booklet itself includes an excellent short biography, lyrics (some handwritten by Jeff), and many photos of Jeff too. This makes it into a beautiful package and a worthy tribute to this sadly missed musician. I couldn't get by without this CD in my collection. 5 stars and fully deserved too - excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hallelujah! More Jeff material.............., 8 Oct 2003
By 
This review is from: Live A l'Olympia (Audio CD)
The tragic loss of Jeff Buckley for me just proves how cruel life can be!'Grace' is one of the best albums anyone can own but it was the only one he completed in his life and thus we are left to ponder what might have been ('sketches for my sweetheart the drunk') and relive his magical live moments ('mystery white boy' and now 'live a L'Olympia').
His popularity was much bigger in France than his native America and this cd portrays the best of two sell out shows at L'Olympia. Jeff's ability as a performer is easily recognisable as is his love for the adoring French public; Jeff is heard laughing at lighters burning for him during 'Hallelujah'. Gentle in places ('lover, you shouldve come over'), funny in others ('kasmir') and all out rocking at its best ('eternal life', 'grace').
Aside from the greatness of all the tracks off grace 'thats all i ask' is the highlight for me. Typical Jeff taking a cover, making it his own and sounding emotional brilliant. A lot of criticism can be seen attributed at the numerous releases after Jeff's death but anyone who wants to hear a great performer at work will not be dissapointed. 'Grace' is definately to start point for anyone getting into Jeff, 'sketches' wets your appetitite for what might have been and this is further evidence of the legend Jeff was becoming!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of his finest, 6 Mar 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Live A l'Olympia (Audio CD)
I know everyone harps on about the Mystery White Boy album as the most celebrated collection of live Jeff songs, but in my opinion the Live a L'Olympia release encapsulates Jeff in his entirety as the great singer/performer he was. And because it's a collection of songs from one show and not bits from here there and everywhere you really get a feel for how Jeff would have sounded if you'd have been lucky enough to actually see him for real. Don't get me wrong, the Mystery White Boy album is fantastic and the version of 'What Will You Say' is mind-blowing, but the L'Olympia record for me, sums up an evening with Jeff Buckley; perhaps the best substitute for never seeing him while he was still alive. My CD collection wouldn't be the same without L'Olympia.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 22 Oct 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Live A l'Olympia (Audio CD)
OK, if you like Jeff Buckley, buy this now. If you don't, why not? If you're undecided, buy Grace first, then buy this.
From start to finish the concert is amazing, particularly 'Lover, You Should Have Come Over" and "Lilac Wine". The live versions of songs on Grace manage to be as passionate as on the studio album, and sufficiently different to make purchasing this worthwhile. The tracks that aren't on Grace are uniformally mind blowing, with the possible exception of the last track, which drags a bit and has what sounds to me like yodelling over certain parts of it (apologies to fans of the artist with whom Jeff collaborates on that track). Particularly touching is Jeff's genuinely surprised reaction to the warmth with which he is recieved by the crowd - the record is almost worth it for the sheer joy transmitted when he starts laughing at the lighters waved in Hallelujah. His stage banter, while not awe inspiring, is far better than most rock star's asinine proclaimations.
Amazing versions of amazing songs by a sadly missed talent. Well worth owning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Avoid!, 25 Mar 2010
By 
This review is from: Live A l'Olympia (Audio CD)
As I fairly big Jeff Buckley fan I had high hopes for this album, but oh what a disappointment! The sound quality is awful and Last Goodbye is absent because they stuck it unceremoniously on Mystery White Boy instead! Grace just sounds like a fuzzy mess and there isn't actually anything here of any merit. Like Mystery White Boy it seems like an easy cash making exercise. Don't get me wrong, Jeff was simply brilliant live - just buy Live at Sin-e and the Live in Chicago DVD instead of wasting your money on this toss. So much for preserving Jeff's legacy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sound within a sound, the voice within a voice, 25 Sep 2002
By 
Matthew Wood "oneinchkyussman" (New Zealand I wish) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Live A l'Olympia (Audio CD)
I love the sound of Jeff's voice and for me there are very few male singers whose vocal talents have really struck me.
The thing with albums like this is that people will always scream cash in, but this is simply not the case with this cd.
Who could start a gig with a track like "lover your should have come over" and then follow it with "Dream Brother"? Not many.
Each track shows you the frial genius that was Jeff Buckley, like his Father before him and maybe burden by his fathers "fame" only when both were dead did people sit up and really listen to the power of both their voices.
This album is awesome, from start to finish, if you read the notes you'll discover that this album is in some ways a "thankyou" to the people of France for being first to warm to Jeff's amazing a unique voice.
Only when people have gone do you realise what they gave.
For pure emotion listen to "what will you say" track 11, AWESOME is the only word.
This is not the best way to get into Jeff's voice, buy GRACE, then buy this, in fact buy everything....
This mans voice is up their with Marvin Gaye, Curtis Mayfield etc,
Such a tragic loss of genius...but then isn't it always?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Live A l'Olympia, 15 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live A l'Olympia (Audio CD)
Another brilliant performance from Jeff Buckley; I really don't think he ever did anything less than brilliant. The biggest loss to music - his creativity and diverse talents could have taken him anywhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Collection Of Live Recordings, 19 Sep 2011
By 
This review is from: Live A l'Olympia (Audio CD)
Being a Jeff fanatic i love this collection of live tracks recorded in France - If you are new to Jeff's music then you should start with the 'Grace' album to fully appreciate how incredible Jeff's music is
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awe-inspiring, 7 Jan 2007
By 
K. Cawood - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Live A l'Olympia (Audio CD)
After being blown away by "Grace", I was a little worried that I would be disappointed by the live performances, as I am by so many artists, particularly in the 21st century, but I once again found myself blown away by Jeff Buckley's vocal prowess. He was truly unique. Why do so many of the best die young?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great live album, 14 July 2009
By 
Dodo "Spara Fugle" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Live A l'Olympia (Audio CD)
Very good live album which shows Jeff's talent. Hallelulah is the best tune
in my humble opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Live A l'Olympia
Live A l'Olympia by Jeff Buckley (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews