Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars updated 1970s dracula setting
Many don't like Dracula in the modern era,but what were the producers to do,yet another gothic Transylvanian castle setting? I don't think so. It starts with a black magic ritual with the obligatory naked blonde being sacrificed(well this was the soft porn 1970s).Dracula wants to con some thrill seeking establishment types into making a virulent plague in order to wipe...
Published on 23 Feb 2005 by Amazon Customer

versus
52 of 54 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Another mutilation of good horror movie by the censors
Don't buy this video. It's cut. Nearly all the gore and blood has been removed.(3 minutes in total). The result is that a lot of the horror in this movie is gone. The original film was a good Hammer Production, well directed and starring 2 of the best actors: Peter Cushing and Christopher Lee. I would rate this movie at least 3 stars in the uncut version. Even the...
Published on 2 Sep 2000


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

52 of 54 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Another mutilation of good horror movie by the censors, 2 Sep 2000
By A Customer
Don't buy this video. It's cut. Nearly all the gore and blood has been removed.(3 minutes in total). The result is that a lot of the horror in this movie is gone. The original film was a good Hammer Production, well directed and starring 2 of the best actors: Peter Cushing and Christopher Lee. I would rate this movie at least 3 stars in the uncut version. Even the version I once saw on TV was uncut. Therefore this video was a waste of money. I could have taped the full version from TV instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The best late Dracula, 4 May 2007
By 
S J Buck (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Having recently watched the rather poor 'Scars of Dracula' I wasn't expecting much from this, the last of the Hammer Dracula films to star Christopher Lee. How refreshing to find this is a vast improvement in every respect and I would have given it 3 and 1/2 stars if it had been possible.

Starting like an espionage film with Torrance (William Franklyn) and Inspector Murray (Michael Coles) investigating an MI6 agents capture and torture by a mysterious group. The group it turns out consist of some the most eminent people in the country (the UK). Of course Dracula is at the heart of matters. Dracula keeps himself out of view using the cover of a property development company. He is the head of the company D D Denham. Scotland Yard of course call in Prof. Lorimar Van Helsing and soon we are into more standard Hammer territory.

The other reason the film is so much better than say 'Scars of Dracula' is the return of Peter Cushing as Van Helsing. Once again Christopher Lee's Dracula has an opponent worthy of mention. Cushing delivers another typically intense performance.

OK so this isn't a touch on 'Dracula' (aka Horror of Dracula) or even the first sequel with Christopher Lee 'Dracula Prince of Darkness', but it is far better than I expected, and at the right price I wouldn't hesitate to buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars updated 1970s dracula setting, 23 Feb 2005
By 
Amazon Customer "WHITECRANE" (the MIDLANDS) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Many don't like Dracula in the modern era,but what were the producers to do,yet another gothic Transylvanian castle setting? I don't think so. It starts with a black magic ritual with the obligatory naked blonde being sacrificed(well this was the soft porn 1970s).Dracula wants to con some thrill seeking establishment types into making a virulent plague in order to wipe out the human race. There are some subtle digs at the politics of the 1970s also. As ever Van Helsing is at hand to fight Chris Lee (Dracula).I love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exploitative and different (in a good way!), 2 May 2007
I can understand why this film tends to be dismissed, but I actually think it's a good addition to the series. In comparison with many of the rather po-faced vampire films of more recent years (Coppola and 'Interview', no thanks), this at least tries something a bit different. The sub-plot involving the police and property development (!) is admittedly a bit odd, but in these post-Tarantino years should count as strengths. What do vampires do on their days off? - they invest in the property markets!

Anybody looking for cheap gore, exploitative thrills and a strange direction for the series should look no further. The later 'seven golden vampires' should be avoided, though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Christopher Lee throws in the cape, 15 Dec 2007
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
The Satanic Rites of Dracula (aka Dracula's Vampire Bride) was the swansong of the Hammer-Christopher Lee Dracs, and while not a classic it is a much more interesting attempt to do something new with the material in a modern-day setting than it's predecessor, Dracula AD 1972. Here Dracula is a reclusive Howard Hughes-like tycoon weary of immortality but determined to take the world with him when he goes by unleashing a new and improved Black Death, developed with the help of key government figures who think it's just a bargaining chip to create a new world order. Pitted against him are a couple of British secret service agents whose own boss is one of Dracula's Four Horsemen of the new Apocalypse, a special branch officer and the grandson of Van Helsing and his own granddaughter. The low budget is apparent, but the ideas go some way to compensate (certainly Drac's plan is a more convincing Armageddon than anything Damien Thorn planned in The Final Conflict) and Alan Gibson's direction, though not always successful, shows some imagination.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hammer, will you please release a decent uncut version..., 9 Aug 2009
By 
T. Turner (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
For me, this is one of the best later entries in Hammer's Dracula series. It is incredibly underrated and far superior to Dracula AD 1972. Currently, it's out of copyright, which explains why there are so many awful, incomplete editions available on DVD. If you're a fan of this film, then write to Hammer Film Productions and see if they're willing to buy back the rights. I for one, would love to own an uncut restored copy of Satanic Rites Of Dracula.

This edition - 1/2 star. A restored version - four stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars AS A DRACULA MOVIE THIS IS BAD. AS A STAND ALONE THRILLER IT IS ALRIGHT. THE TALENTS OF LEE AND CUSHING ARE WASTED., 17 Jun 2014
By 
THE MOVIE

Once announced for in early 2012 for a UK release which until now has not happened, SATANIC RITES OF DRACULA is available in several (bad) editions in the US.
This is the last time Hammer Studios could talk Christopher
Lee into reprising the role of Count Dracula.
The movie also stars Peter Cushing in the same role as in DRACULA A.D. 1972, Stephanie Beacham was also supposed to reprise her role as Jessica Van Helsing but wasn't available, which is a pity. She was replaced by Joanna Lumley.
SATANIC RITES OF DRACULA unfortunately features the same "creative" team as DRACULA A.D. 1972: Alan Gibson (direction) and Don Houghton (writing) and it shows. The script is quite bad, the pacing also is bad.
As I said before about DRACULA A.D. 1972, I wasn't happy with the new setting (70s London). Apart from Lee's great performance, the sets, the costumes and the atmosphere were the strong suits of Hammer's Dracula movies, all that is painfully absent in both, DRACULA A.D. 1972 and SATANIC RITES OF DRACULA.
The story was not very well though out and logic is a problem here as well: Dracula plans to unleash a deadly virus upon the world. Last time I checked, vampires require blood to sustain themselves - wouldn't he starve to death if he killed all humans? Basically the idea of a vampire cult isn't bad, not the way it was written here.
The finale is hugely unsatisfying as it not only ends this movie, but 16 years of DRACULA, one would expect something a little more epic.
As a Dracula movie, SATANIC RITES OF DRACULA is bad, plain and simple. As a stand alone thriller it isn't too bad. SATANIC RITES and DRACULA A.D. 1972 to me are the worst entries in the series (I can't say anything about THE LEGEND OF THE 7 GOLDEN VAMPIRES, as I haven't seen it, and judging by what I read about it I probably never will).
I can wholeheartedly recommend the 1958 DRACULA, PRINCE OF DARKNESS, DRACULA HAS RISEN FROM THE GRAVE and SCARS OF DRACULA. I can recommend TASTE THE BLOOD OF DRACULA and - despite of Lee's absence - THE BRIDES OF DRACULA. Stay clear of DRACULA A.D. 1972 and SATANIC RITES OF DRACULA however.
2.0 OUT OF 5.0 STARS

THE DVD

Reviewed version: 2003 Alpha Video US DVD
Feature running time: 87 mins. (theatrical cut)
Rating: R (MPAA) / 18 (BBFC)
Aspect Ratio: 1.33:1 (non-anamorphic)
Audio: English 2.0
Subtitles: NONE
Chapters: 6
Extras: nothing
Region:0 (region free)

Picture: F (horrible picture quality, like a worn out VHS copy)
Audio: C
Extras: F (nothing)

There are several versions available, all allegedly of poor quality. Since this movie really isn't that great either, I cannot recommend buying it until there is a decent release by a major studio. If you must have it, don't spend more than 5 bucks on it. It just isn't worth it!

The Alpha Video version runs 87 mins. which I believe to be the UK theatrical version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars NOTHING IS TOO VILE, 3 May 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Satanic Rites of Dracula [DVD] [1974] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
There is nothing like a Dracula film based on a true story. It seems the British version of the Bilderbergs along with their Proctor & Gamble counter parts are satanic worshipers (something we all suspected because we all got the e-mail). The bad bikers wear animal skin vests. People who are held prisoner at the International House of Satan must have their left sleeve ripped (there are 3, count 'em.) They plan on taking over the world by releasing a deadly yeast infection, worse than the one my wife claimed she had for 10 years. This varmint was exposed to "radioactive neutrons."

Only one man is strong enough to combat a Christopher Lee vampire, and that is a Peter Cushing Van Helsing. The film is campy in a modern sense.

First off neutrons do not become radioactive. They are radiation. It is like saying "ammo bullets." Secondly, silver bullets made from melting down crosses are for werewolves, not really good vampire stoppers. And thirdly, the P&G thing is a joke. God knows they sued enough people.

Parental Guide: No sex or f-bombs. Nudity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Christopher Lee's swan song as Hammer's Count Dracula, 21 Sep 2003
By 
Amazon Customer (The Zenith City, Duluth, Minnesota) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This film was originally released in Britain as "The Satanic Rites of Dracula," but that is apparently a very bad adjective to use for a film title (the original U.S. release title was "Count Dracula and His Vampire Bride"). Whatever the title, this 1973 film is again set in "modern" London like the previous Hammer Dracula film, "Dracula A.D. 1972," and has the same writer (Don Houghton) and director (Alan Gibson). Dracula (Christopher Lee) is once again back from the dead, although without any explanation, now calling himself D. D. Denham, a billionaire recluse who owns lots of property and is engaging in satanic rites (hence the title), including human sacrifies (a form of fasting for vampires?). Scotland Yard turns to Professor Lorrimer Van Helsing (Peter Cushing) and his daughter Jessica (Joanna Lumley), who figures out the Count is trying to wipeout all of humanity with a mutant strain of the plague. From there things muddle along to a slightly new twist on an old way of dusting a vampire.
Once again the script has little to do with either established vampire lore or the unique take on Dracula from the earlier Hammer films. This is a shame since the cast also includes Freddie Jones as Professor Julian Keeley, who plays Dracula's mad scientist and provides one of the finest bit parts you will find in any Hammer film. Of course, Lee is again given very little to do as the title character in his final Dracula film for Hammer, while Cushing once again provides a strong presence as Van Helsing. "Rites of Dracula" again proves the simple rule: if you want to watch a Hammer Dracula movie catch one of the films made in the Sixties, not the stuff they put out in the Seventies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rating for 'Deluxe Edition' DVD only., 14 Jan 2009
By 
Ian Armer (Lancashire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
WARNING! The so-called 'deluxe edition' is basically a bare bones release of the film (in widescreen) with a second disc of music 'inspired by...' And the music on disc 2 is immature metal rubbish, by the way.

The film itself gets a rating of 3 stars. It's an underrated and solid enough entry into the Dracula series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Satanic Rites of Dracula [DVD] [1974] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
£2.91
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews