Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mike Patton's best post-Bungle offering, 22 Aug 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: The Director's Cut (Audio CD)
This album is definitely the best thing that Mike Patton has released since Mr. Bungle's "California" album. On this album, instead of featuring short 30 second musical vignettes of undeveloped ideas as on all of Fantomas' other 3 releases (albeit cut-and-pasted together on Delerium Cordia), Mike Patton and co. do Mr. Bungle-esque arrangements of film themes from some of the masters of the genre (Morricone, Rota, Mancini...). Although this idea had already been explored by Trey Spruance on Secret Chiefs 3's "2nd Grand Constitution and Bylaws" (worth checking out if you like this one), Patton (as arranger, producer and band leader) definitely brings his own unique spin to these tunes in the arrangements and his vocals are the best he has done for fantomas (he has to sing the melody lines of these film themes as opposed to his normal "wacka-jawaka-shaka-splaka" nonsense for fantomas). Highlights include the opening "Godfather" theme tune (sombre strings one moment, giving way to 200mph death metal), "Experiment in Terror" (loungey spy music giving way to swinging metal, with MP's vocals on top form), "Twin Peaks" (Trip hop-sounding tune with another great vocal performance) and "Charade" (genre bending bungle-ish sounding arrangement with a great demonstration of Patton's stylistic range vocally). Sadly, as great as this album is, the fact that Patton didn't write any of the music on the album himself is further proof that Patton's hectic work ethic/schedule is preventing him from producing any of his own tunes to match the quality of his songs for "California".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars mr bungle mark 2., 20 Aug 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Director's Cut (Audio CD)
i bought the debut album two years ago and took it back to the shop the same day. i might just go and revisit it now. this album is brilliant. it suits patton down to the ground to do this sort of thing. patton has always been about bringing tremendous atmosphere to his songs whether they be FNM ballads such as just a man, or bungle tracks such as pink cigarette. what better genre for producing atmospheric tunes than film soundtracks? some bits are slow and melodic, others would make speed metal freaks want to go and sit in a chill out room. there is a definitely dark and sinister theme which dominates the album (most tracks are taken from horror films), and there is a lot of singing which patton has always done so well (unfortunately, totally absent from debut album). it is also very reminiscent of the more extreme side of mr. bungle, particularly bits of disco volante. if you're wondering whether or not to get this album or the debut, go for this one first, you will not be prepared for the debut unless you do, no matter how much you like patton. why only four stars? - it's not long enough. Oh, and don't expect it to allow you to win friends and influence people, on hearing this most peolple will think you are insane for liking it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Cuts, 15 July 2003
This review is from: The Director's Cut (Audio CD)
Mike Patton is a man of many talents. Strange, self-obsessed and eclectic, his midas touched has graced the records of several acclaimed bands in the last decade, including Faith No More, Mr. Bungle, Tomahawk, and now the Fantomas. Featuring members of the Melvins, Mr. Bungle and Slayer, this band forms some kind of 'anti-supergroup', aiming to expand and confuse their listener's minds, rather than squeeze a few more dollars from their collective fanbases.
The record takes an all new perspective on some classic movie scores. From the opening visceral assault of 'The Godfather' to the electro, dare I say, trip-hop version of Twin Peaks 'Fire Walk With Me', this album never lets you settle. Patton has never been one to go with the flow, and here he pokes and prodes at your sense of musical decency, taking stone cold classic movie soundtracks and daring to put a new slant on them. But the simple fact is that in most cases its worked. This album is really good. Patton, the Melvins, and Mr.Bungle can produce utter toss at times (look no further than the Fantomas awful first album), but this is proper Patton. Proper music. Not just distrion and samples and noise, but top quality versions of great songs. On first listen you might not get the fact that Charade was a great song, but thats not the point with the Fantomas. Quite frankly if i got this on first listen I'd be disappointed.
But anyway, enough of my ramblings. Buy this.....seriously.....you won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Album of 2001, 9 Dec 2009
By 
Mr. M. A. Reed (Argleton, GB) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Director's Cut (Audio CD)
Mike Patton (Faith No More) leads the alumni of The Melvins, Slayer, and Mr Bungle through a succinct collection of jazz-metallised movie theme tunes. Hear "The Godfather" in a 126 second speed metal assualt. As clear an example as any of the invention and importance of production, arrangement and presentation of a song instead of the mere writing of it, as there can be. No saccahrine, unimaginative, replications here but sharp, witty, and utterly faithless liberties are copiously stolen. The only imperfection is the last minute absence of the controversial reimagining of the "Flashdance" theme.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excelent, 31 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Director's Cut (Audio CD)
I get everything on time and in perfect condition everything went great. Will I ever buy later Thank you for all
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars You must own this!, 11 Jan 2009
By 
Paul Cole "@(-<" (Notts, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Director's Cut (Audio CD)
Quite simply one of the most impressive albums I have ever heard... and I have lost it!

Every track is utterly astounding. From the sheer power and energy of Cape Fear to the surprising Twin Peaks FWWM cover with added lyrics.

So good, I had to buy it twice.

@(-<
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting listen to say the least, 9 July 2001
This review is from: The Director's Cut (Audio CD)
This is a great album. Though not as strange as Fantomas's self titles debut it certainly is very much different from anything else released at the moment. Though not for everyone it can be certainly said that this band is very original. The album consists of 15 covers (track no.13 is 6 seconds of nothing). The covers are very atmospheric and often soothing, but with most of the tracks it suddenly goes mad, with drums, violent guitaring and trademark Patton weird noises. The first track is a great example of this. 'The Godfather' starts off with a slow and chilling melody to then turn into complete madness. This album at times is quite funny. For those who are tired of all the stuff on MTV, this is certainly different.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Album of the year...so far, 14 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Director's Cut (Audio CD)
I admit I was a bit concerned about the turnout of this album, to do covers songs all from films doesn't sound like much of a good idea. But they manage to do it tremendously with great diversity and originality.
This album is also a bit more easy friendly compared to their debut album, but still managing to stay in their own style at the same time. Why is it more user friendly? Well, because of the ostinato and sustained rhythm it contains which the first album didn't. In the first album once you think the song is getting underway, it suddenly stops again! This album doesn't do that.
They still manage to be just as devastating in the songs 'The Godfather', 'The Omen' and 'Der Golem', but has a nice mixture for everyone with songs like 'Vendetta', 'Experiment In Terror' and 'Spider Baby' which I sum up as pure Pattonage.
I don't think this album is better than the self titled debut, but it comes close. There are no real faults on this album, it's just the first album is too good! But like the first album, you can't really determine if Fant"mas are heavy or calm, but to be both is amazing. This album sums up what Mike Patton loves...covers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Warning a threat to your CD collection, 1 May 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Director's Cut (Audio CD)
Don't buy this album, infact try to steer clear of most of Mike Patton's work, your CD collection will seem to be very bland and you'll hardly ever listen to at least 50% of your CD collection after hearing some of this "music"
This album is too good to be true, from the first crazy track the last kool track this album is really varied, while some parts of the album are just plainly insane like "the godfather", you'll hear cool cheesey gimic (in a good patton way) remakes of horror tunes like "der golem" "one step beyond" and "spider baby" which work a treat, you'll also hear a few poppy songs like "experiment in terror" and "vendetta" which are just a real treat and you'll also hear dark atmospheric songs like "henry- portrait" and "Twin Peaks" which are amazing, and basically all the tracks rule.
Forget it buy this album the sacrifice of most of your other CDs is not too great.
Don't worry about not having seeing most of the movies either, the only movie i've seen out of all these is Henry- portrait of a serial killer (which was cool) and i still managed to enjo this CD.
If i tried to describe this CD i would say, not too unlistenable, like MR Bungle's "california" only a few more heavy death metal bits and is based on mostly horror themes (dodgy way of trying to describe it i know, but just try to imagine where i'm coming from :p ).
Hurry up and buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mike Patton surely is a God, 13 Aug 2001
This review is from: The Director's Cut (Audio CD)
well what can be said about the follow up Fantomas album?! unlike the self titled debut album Mike Patton sings in almost every song! which i think is a good thing! although i still feel that their debut album beats this one overall. if you do not know much about Fantomas and have just seen 'Directors Cut' in the record shop and thought 'i might buy that' in my opinion i would buy the debut first of all. although i dont think it makes any difference if you buy 'directors cut' first of all, just make sure that you buy the debut aswell. cos if you love Mike Patton like i do, u will love the debut and 'directors cut also. but anyway buy this album because it is honestly real music which people with an open mind should listen to!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Director's Cut
The Director's Cut by Fantomas (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews