Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars152
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.46+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 January 2014
I remember watching this film as a kid with my family on a Sunday afternoon back in the 70's and watching it now as an adult I now know why my parents loved it so much! Such fun, really good characters and plenty of jokes. I also liked the nod to racial issues with the coffin scene and the irony of how a life of "freedom" comes at a heavy price which were both reminiscent of the original. Although based on the famous Japanese movie 'Seven Samurai' with very similar plot twists and turns, I feel it hold its own as a classic spaghetti western that the whole family can enjoy. I would recommend this film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2014
Have always loved this film and wanted my grandsons who are growing up to know cinema does not always mean animated films.Delivery was very prompt as usual.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2014
I found this recently after many years. Lots of old films age badly, and what your childhood imagination filled in is no longer there when you watch it again. But this was still superb - the acting, cinematography, direction are right up there. The story, the hopes and fears, and decisions made are totally relevant, and a fair bit more thought-provoking than blockbusters these days. One for the collection, and definitely worth buying.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2016
One of my top 5 adored westerns! (nr 1. being "Shane"!).With an all-star cast and showing the gripping story of a small village being freed from a gang of robbers by the seven!Great perfomances by the actors portraying the "magnificent seven" but also by Eli Wallach as the evil guy.The film also shows a very young Horst Buchholz in one of his first roles no doubt.A true 'titbit' for any western lover......
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2012
This is a perfect example of the western genre. It takes the central idea of the West, that the heroic men who opened the West - in this case the gunfighters - are always moving on, displaced by the people -farmers, settlers - they serve. The gunfighter always tragically knows his day is over, his West is always already past. If you're a fan of Westerns you'll see how influential this beautifully made film has been.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2009
Probably, alongside Rio Bravo, one of the best 'Westerns' ever made even though it was based on an 'Eastern'!. I was pleased that in this 'digitally enhanced' version, they hadn't altered the
sound of the gunfire. It is authentic - the way it really does sound. I saw this film on release at the cinema and they've never quite matched it for pure skill and atmosphere. It is a revenge movie not to be missed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2016
Does this brilliant film need any more plaudits? A good tale enacted by a splendid cast, with quality dialogue. Many memorable scenes, including Brynner and McQueen's trip to Boot Hill - probably one of the best sequences in any Western. If you are one of the few people who cannot have seen it, this movie comes highly recommended. Sit back and enjoy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2015
The first And Best.An Absolute Classic.To put a film with This calibre of Actors together these Days would be an Ego Breaking Financial Nightmare.John Sturges Directs with the same Skill,And a lot of the same cast,as He did with The Great Escape.If you haven't seen it,Stop reading now and go and buy it.....Go On.......i'll wait.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2010
Their isnt much i can say about this one that others have'nt already. A superb plot, and a magnificent cast of seven, plus Eli Wallach to boot. With a combination of plot and cast,a truly great film. One of the best westerns ever made. A Classic. The Magnificent Seven (Special Edition) [DVD] [1960]
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2011
The Magnificent Seven is an excellent film about a band of cowboys/gunfighters hired to protect a Mexican village. The performances from the entire cast are superb and they each certainly develop distinct and memorable characters. The film itself is also a lot deeper and more philosophical than you usually get in many westerns and this helps add to its brilliance. All in all an excellent film and one of the finest westerns ever made.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)