Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wacky Charm
Phillip Seymour Hoffman's death has touched most of us. We feel a personal loss. Today, I heard an interview Seymour Hoffman gave to Terry Gross on a. 'Fresh Air' program about his career. One of the first roles he really coveted was that of playing a transgendered woman, opposite Robert DeNiro. I had not seen this film, today I did.

Seymour Hoffman talked...
Published 17 months ago by prisrob

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good in parts/ average in others!!!
The film is a strange mix of comedy, pain and darkness. De Niro's character Koontz, suffers a stroke after trying to help a neighbour in trouble. To cure his speech impediment after the stroke he takes singing lessons from his drag queen neighbour, played by Philip Seymour Hoffman.Throughout the film, there are moments of brilliance between the two, by their sheer...
Published on 15 Jun. 2001


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wacky Charm, 4 Feb. 2014
By 
prisrob "pris," (New England USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Flawless [DVD] (DVD)
Phillip Seymour Hoffman's death has touched most of us. We feel a personal loss. Today, I heard an interview Seymour Hoffman gave to Terry Gross on a. 'Fresh Air' program about his career. One of the first roles he really coveted was that of playing a transgendered woman, opposite Robert DeNiro. I had not seen this film, today I did.

Seymour Hoffman talked about how he found the personna of Rusty, the transgendered woman. He read all he could, and he met with several transgendered women. He studied their habits. He was a 5ft 10 in 200 lb man with a very deep voice trying to fit into the body of a female. Watching the film, you forget this is a man, Seymour Hoffman, he has become Rusty, and that was his greatness. He became the character. Although he concluded that Rusty was ugly, not to me. She became a woman with soul and guts, someone looking for love.

DeNiro plays a retired Security Guard, who was once a hero, and now is recovering from a stroke. He had nothing but negatives to say about the transgendered community, and even though they were neighbors, they never saw eye to eye. That is, until, De Niro's character, Walter Koontz needs Rusty. Learning to sing would help in his recovery, and he hires Rusty. It begins as a rocky relationship and ends up as friendship. This is a poignant film with a wacky charm.

We will not see the likes of Phillip Seymour Hoffman again, what a sad, sad day. Bless his soul.

Recommended. prisrob 02-03-14
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Captivating, 24 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flawless [DVD] (DVD)
Stunning performances from de Niro and PSH make this excellent film into a classic. The twists and turns keep you guessing, as the plot unravels in many directions at once. If you enjoy serious close up acting, flawless in every respect, Flawless is for you. Im not sure anything explodes and no one chases anyone on a car, so leave that at the door and be ready for a really deep watchable film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect performance from a genius, 4 Feb. 2014
This review is from: Flawless [DVD] (DVD)
Phillip Seymour Hoffman was a brilliant stand alone actor of immense quality and talent, this film shows his gift. He will be sadly missed. Watch this film and he justs shines, there are a few great actors and he was one of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Darkly funny and realistically deep, 7 Sept. 2011
By 
GratuitousViolets "Ash" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Flawless [DVD] (DVD)
My thoughts: Set around a gritty crime-filled Brooklyn backdrop, Robert De Niro stars as a proud retired beat-cop who is left partially paralysed following a stroke. De Niro's performance is overwhelmingly powerful, yet subtle enough to be believable. Philip Seymour Hoffman is the truly surprising star here in a mind-blowing portrayal of an unattractive pre-op transexual.

De Niro and Hoffman, both masters in their professions, truly capture their characters so beautifully that within minutes you know almost everything you need to know and can almost envision the life history of these two without needing to a mess of unnecessary dialogue and flashbacks.

The humour in the story is black and aptly placed enough just enough to draw you out of the serious aspects of the story. The lines in this film are hilarious, hurtfully truthful and memorable. The soundtrack absolutely fantastic, and well worth getting, incidentally.

The Plot: Walter Koontz, a retired beat cop wants nothing more than a peaceful life where he can enjoy solitude in his Brooklyn apartment but finds it difficult at times to ignore 'Miss Rusty', a pre-op transexual who rehearses with 'her' Drag Queen show during the day and at night dons full wigs, extensive makeup and more sequins than Vivian Westwood can shake a fist at. Walt cannot abide the noise, nor the lifestyle that 'Rusty' projects, finding it offensive, so the two do not see eye-to-eye.

When a resident of the apartment building steals from a local gangster, Walt tries to intervene when guns go off and unfortunately has a stroke out in the stairwell, leaving him partially paralysed and barely able to speak. When his therapist suggests that he take singing lessons to help relax his face muscles and vocal chords, Walt has little to lose but to try. Walt, barely able to walk the length of himself finds it impossible to go to a professional singing teacher, and instead musters up the courage to request of 'Rusty' that 'she' help him with his problem.

Despite being unable to agree on most points of view, they find themselves slowly easing into an unlikely friendship where Walt's eyes are minisculely opened up to how life is for a woman trapped in a man's body.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars FLAWLESS [1999] [Blu-ray] [US import], 26 Jun. 2015
FLAWLESS [1999] [Blu-ray] [US import] Nobody’s perfect, Everybody’s Flawless!

When the once highly decorated police officer Walter Koontz [Robert De Niro] suffers a stroke while attempting to aid a neighbour, an unorthodox form of therapy is prescribed to help him overcome a resulting speech impediment. The suggested therapy becomes even unorthodox when Walter asks his neighbour, Rusty [Philip Seymour Hoffman], a flamboyant drag queen with musical talent and the past recipient of Walter’s ire, for help. The unlikely arrangement soon mellows Walter into a grudging friendship in writer/director Joel Shumacher’s ‘Flawless,’ which features supporting performances from Wilson Jermaine Heredia [‘Rent’], Barry Miller [‘Saturday Night Fever’ and ‘The Last Temptation of Christ’] and Chris Bauer [‘Face/Off’ and TV’s ‘True Blood’].

Cast: Robert De Niro, Philip Seymour Hoffman, Barry Miller, Chris Bauer, Skipp Sudduth, Wilson Jermaine Heredia, Nashom Benjamin, Scott Allen Cooper, Rory Cochrane, Daphne Rubin-Vega, Vincent Laresca, Karina Arroyave, John Enos III, Jude Ciccolella, Mina Bern, Wanda De Jesus, Madhur Jaffrey, Mark Margolis, Shiek Mahmud-Bey, Luis Saguar, Penny Balfour, Victor Rasuk (uncredited), Richie Lamontagne and Luis Saguar

Director: Joel Schumacher

Producers: Joel Schumacher, Jane Rosenthal, Neil Machlis and Robert De Niro (uncredited)

Screenplay: Joel Schumacher

Composer: Bruce Roberts

Cinematography: Declan Quinn

Video Resolution: 1080p

Aspect Ratio: 1.85:1

Audio: English: 5.1 DTS-HD Master Audio

Subtitles: None

Running Time: 112 minutes

Region: Region A/1

Number of discs: 1

Studio: Olive Films / M-G-M

Andrew’s Blu-ray Review: Joel Schumacher’s ‘Flawless’ potentially could be real disastrous film, but like a butterfly turns into a totally enjoyable and entertaining film and one because of the warmth and humanity of Robert De Niro and Philip Seymour Hoffman, who give the two leading characters something you can believe in. Part of the reason is Philip Seymour Hoffman’s late 1990s breakthrough, as one of America’s premier character actors. ‘Flawless’ joins same brilliant genre as ‘The Talented Mr. Ripley’ and ‘Magnolia’ in cinemas at the end of 1999 to announce him as a considerable talent working at the height of his powers.

A drag queen [Philip Seymour Hoffman] saving up for a sex change and a stroke victim who happens to be a retired cop are not your average Hollywood heroes. But the performances aren't average either. Philip Seymour Hoffman and Robert De Niro exceed all expectations, which for them are saying something.

Joel Schumacher has made some very disappointing films like [‘Dying Young’ and ‘Batman & Robin’] and some surprisingly good ones lie [‘Falling Down’ and ‘A Time To Kill]. He started life as a costume designer, before becoming a writer for films like [‘Car Wash’ and ‘The Wiz] and eventual a director. Style is obviously important to him. He works in the mainstream and yet has an edgy reputation, as if secretly yearning for low-budget independence.

Walter Koontz [Robert De Niro] an ultraconservative, retired security guard lives in a cheap rundown hotel in New York's Lower East Side, in the bad quarter of New York and it is his neighbourhood. He knows everyone and, since his wife passed away, feels comfortable there, except for those gay people in the room upstairs, who make such a racket with their music and nonsense.

One night there are shots and sounds of fighting on the floor above. Walter Koontz takes his gun and goes out to investigate. A drug dealer's heavy mob is tearing the place apart in search for some stolen money. Already, a prostitute has been killed but Walter Koontz who suffers a stroke while trying to help a neighbour in trouble, doesn't make it because he collapses on the stairs from his stroke and is rushed to hospital. He ends up with paralysed vocal cords and in turn refuses to leave his apartment for therapy.

Rusty [Philip Seymour Hoffman] lives in the apartment looking down on Walter Koontz's apartment, where he rehearses his club act with the other girls (guys). He has a sharp tongue, a dazzling wit and a deep desire to become a woman, but beneath the gay repartee and camp high jinks, he is very lonely and sad. Walter Koontz struggles to come to terms with his stroke, agonised by its debilitating effect on his ability to walk and talk. In desperation, he goes to Rusty for singing lessons, and this hard-core conservative policeman is very reluctant to ask for this drag queen’s help, but in the end realises all negative attitudes on both persons part, will not solve their out spoken views on each other.

Rusty confides to Walter Koontz that he has hidden the gangsters' money in a dressmaker's dummy so he can now afford a sex-change operation. Walter Koontz recovers sufficiently to dance at his regular bar with a hostess whom he had previously snubbed. That night, hearing Rusty being beaten by the thugs, who suspects him of having their money, he finally intervenes. Walter Koontz and Rusty fight off their thug attackers and shoot’s them, but Walter Koontz is wounded and is rushed off to the hospital and Rusty gets into the ambulance and does a good deed, but that is you will have to watch the Blu-ray disc, as it will spoil the ending.

‘Flawless’ is a film that is about performances from two fantastic leading men and no so much about the story or the plot itself. This is a film about how a relationship grows between two very different people, who have opposing stereotypical attitude and how they both work together to overcome their very different problems. Robert De Niro is back to his best after some very average films and the acting from Phillip Seymour Hoffman is just totally outstanding and should have received some kind of Award. I have seen Phillip Seymour Hoffman in other films such as ‘Boogie Nights’ and ‘Magnolia’ and was impressed then, but this is definitely his best to date. I have always loved this film 100% ever since I had the inferior quality NTSC DVD and I think you will to. Don’t miss out, go out and purchase this Blu-ray disc, you will not be disappointed.

Blu-ray Video Quality – The film’s theatrical aspect ratio of 1.85:1 is faithfully rendered in this beautiful 1080p transfer. Sharpness is very good, compared to my inferior NTSC DVD, except when focus is deliberately distorted for physiological effects. Colours are likewise well rendered with believable skin tones and nice detail in hair and clothes in close-ups. Black levels are good to fair due to some inconsistencies in the contrast applied to the imagery, and there are occasional bits of dirt and dust that can be momentarily distracting. But despite some slight negative anomalies, it is still good for a film that was released in 1999.

Blu-ray Audio Quality – The 5.1 DTS-HD Master Audio sound mix doesn’t get the most out of the New York City locations remaining mostly front centric, apart from occasional music cues in the drag club and Robert De Niro’s dance club. Dialogue has been nicely recorded and exists in the centre channel. There are no problems with hiss or any other aural anomalies. But due to some quiet moments in the film, I had to turn up my volume, especially when Robert De Niro was mumbling at the start of the film after his stroke, when he was talking to Phillip Seymour Hoffman, but despite this Olive Films has made a good effort.

Blu-ray Special Features and Extras:

Theatrical Trailer [1999] [1080i] [16:9] 2:28] This is the original trailer for ‘Flawless.’

Finally, Robert De Niro and Philip Seymour Hoffman remain the best reasons to check out this 1999's culture-clash drama ‘Flawless.’ ‘Flawless’ to me really gripped my heart, as it was intended to do, as it is a definite rollercoaster ride of emotions. The main actors do a brilliant fine performances with the material at hand, but the script could of done a needed far more fleshing out in order to truly become something memorable, but despite this, I love this film and so pleased it was released onto the Blu-ray disc, as it was well worth the wait. Fans of the main stars, as well as the other actors, can enjoy a well above average Blu-ray rendering of this film and despite its gay theme, it will bring a joy to your melting heart, especially with all the stunning acting performance. If you haven't seen this film, then I think it is well worth picking up. I can see myself revisiting it in the near future again and definitely showing it to my friends, who may be similarly unaware of its existence. Highly Recommended!

Andrew C. Miller – Your Ultimate No.1 Film Fan
Le Cinema Paradiso
WARE, United Kingdom
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Flawless, 21 Jun. 2013
By 
A. O'Reilly (WA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flawless [DVD] (DVD)
Such a good movie - I hadn't heard of it before but it was recommended by my boyfriend great performance by Robert De Niro & Philip Seymour Hoffman
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous!, 5 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flawless [DVD] (DVD)
Sharp, witty and an unusual role for De Niro. His 'voice coach' steals the show however. I was delighted to get it and to watch it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent movie., 7 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flawless [DVD] (DVD)
Funny and serious in parts. Some great one liners. Philip Seymour Hoffman is brilliant as 'Rusty'- Oscar worthy. Excellent movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Brightest Star - Philip S Hoffman, 6 Feb. 2015
By 
Jac Knight (Bucks, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flawless [DVD] (DVD)
I don't know why this film has such low rating. I love it. Perhaps if the conventional De Niro fans would be disappointed - he's not much of an action man here. Thumb up for him opening up for new challanges. However, the real star is Hoffman, who makes me feel he's more of a lady (regardless of the unladylike language). I noticed Hoffman's extraordinary performance from The Talented Mr Ripley - become a die hard fan after watching Doubt. He is surely missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great combo., 20 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flawless [DVD] (DVD)
I am very fond of both actors and had not even heard of this movie before I saw it on Amazon. It is a drama which draws you instantly to both characters, one that is harassed for being gay and a drag queen singer, and the other battling challenges after a stroke. How they cope with each other and stand up for each other with a real bond. I recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Flawless [DVD]
Flawless [DVD] by Joel Schumacher (DVD - 2001)
£4.02
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews