Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth the 18 month wait since the concert.
Being a long term Mike Oldfield fan it is great to have a live concert with a large variety of his works. All of the older tracks have been given a new edge and sound up to date without loosing the original feeling. The only track that slightly dissapoints is Shadows on the Wall, Roger Champman's vocal on the CD is really powerful, the DVD concert version vocal by...
Published on 26 July 2001

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A reasonable effort!
Visually, this is a reasonable concert and the sound quality is good. However on a couple of tracks (notably Moonlight Shadows) the vocals appear to be either lip-synched or overdubbed after the concert.
On Moonlight Shadows and a couple of other tracks, there are moments where the singing is not quite in synch with lip movement.
Given the price of the DVD,...
Published on 30 April 2003 by Mitch


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth the 18 month wait since the concert., 26 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Mike Oldfield: The Millennium Bell - Live In Berlin [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
Being a long term Mike Oldfield fan it is great to have a live concert with a large variety of his works. All of the older tracks have been given a new edge and sound up to date without loosing the original feeling. The only track that slightly dissapoints is Shadows on the Wall, Roger Champman's vocal on the CD is really powerful, the DVD concert version vocal by Pepsi is not quite as strong but it has grown on me after a couple of playings.
The Millenium Bell tracks on the DVD are excellent (Mastermind should be used as a James Bond Theme)
Overall the sound (5.1) is teriffic, we were looking around for the fireworks going off at times. We really felt like being in the audience. All the musicians were very enthusiastic and you could see that they loved what they were doing. The choir and orchestra were really rocking.
The additional material on the DVD was dissapointing. The special Mike Oldfield track was an excellent integration between new and classic music. However, the two documentary tracks were obviously heavily edited and not the complete work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars millennium brilliance !, 17 Dec. 2006
By 
J. Rawstron (Rochdale, Lancs, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mike Oldfield: The Millennium Bell - Live In Berlin [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
Whether it was actually the millennium or not is a separate debate, what we have here is a fine concert of grandiose proportions, the choir and orchestra are enthusiastic participants and the band and Mike himself seem to having a good time despite the cold and despite the latter's obvious concentration at certain points. There are segments of TB1 and 3, along with dulci jubilo, moonlight shadow, shadow on the wall, and then almost the whole of millennium bell. Only disappointing part is the ending of the concert which is more lighting effects than music, but all in all this is a superb concert on a grand scale by Mike and a massive ensemble cast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Music and Fantastic Musicians, 27 Sept. 2010
By 
Mr. R. Shelvey (London England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mike Oldfield: The Millennium Bell - Live In Berlin [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
I am so pleased that I have my own copy of this performance on DVD. I bought all the Video and Audio recordings from Itunes but just had to have all the Concert and interviews on DVD so that I can flick between the Chapters as I like. Mike Oldfield is a fantastic Musician and his band so talented. I only wish I was there at the time!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mike Oldfield - the Millenium Bell Live in Berlin [DVD] (DVD) Mike Oldfield, 15 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mike Oldfield: The Millennium Bell - Live In Berlin [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
Excellent concert, beautiful blending of music from oldfields' career, can't fault this DVD one bit, upon writing this review I am already thinking of which concert DVD I should next get, whether its 'man in the rain' or 'moonlinght shadow' it doesnt matter, nobody has been able to write music that sings to your very being like oldfield, young or old his music is timeless,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Mike, bad additional parts, 1 Oct. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Mike Oldfield: The Millennium Bell - Live In Berlin [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
Undoubtfully must have for all Mike Oldfield fans. Anyhow, bitter feeling after one of the worst documentary part so far seen on DVD. As well camera mixing/editing part could have been significantly better for this great concert.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars one of the best concert's i have listen, 17 Aug. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Mike Oldfield: The Millennium Bell - Live In Berlin [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
the soundstage was great and accurate. leaving the fireworks was a great idea, this is giving to us -the home listeners the filling of a listener in the show. go and buy seat back and enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Mike Oldfield_The Millenium Bell concert, 22 May 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mike Oldfield: The Millennium Bell - Live In Berlin [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
Its the same as The "Art in Heaven" concert.Not bad but some of the backing singers miming on stage puts me off a touch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as TB2!, 15 Sept. 2002
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mike Oldfield: The Millennium Bell - Live In Berlin [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
As a long-standing Oldfield fan I am somewhat disappointed with this offering.Obviously, the musical content of 'M.Bell' would not approach the brilliance of 'TB2' or 'S.O.Distant Earth' but apart from that the concert is somewhat flat.The audience seem very reluctant to get involved in the music despite many obvious inviting signs from the on-stage performers.Also I found the ongoing noise of 'popping' fireworks detracted from the music and at some points tended to interfere with it.The high-light of the concert according to the back-notes is the 'special','Art In Heaven'.This is some of Oldfield's work off 'Songs Of Distant Earth' accompanied by flashing lights/fireworks etc. superimposed on the footage of Mike performing on stage.This spoils the whole musical experience and as far as I'm concerned the 'lights etc' should have been left at home.However despite all the criticism I would still recommend this to the 'real' Oldfield fan.The live versions of 'Moonlight Shadow' and 'Portsmouth' are very enjoyable as is some of the 'M.Bell' music, particularly 'Mastermind'.All that said I still consider the concert of TB2 at Edinburgh has not been bettered to-date.
Come on Mike, give us 'Songs Of Distant Earth' in live concert or to be really ambitious give us 'Amorak'!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars perfect present, 28 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mike Oldfield: The Millennium Bell - Live In Berlin [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
bought for the hubby who is a big fan an he loves it a must for any Oldfield fan an good value
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A reasonable effort!, 30 April 2003
By 
Mitch (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mike Oldfield: The Millennium Bell - Live In Berlin [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
Visually, this is a reasonable concert and the sound quality is good. However on a couple of tracks (notably Moonlight Shadows) the vocals appear to be either lip-synched or overdubbed after the concert.
On Moonlight Shadows and a couple of other tracks, there are moments where the singing is not quite in synch with lip movement.
Given the price of the DVD, questionable vocals and sparse content beyond the actual concert, I would only recommend this DVD for die-hard Mike Oldfield fans who require all of his releases in their collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mike Oldfield: The Millennium Bell - Live In Berlin [DVD] [2001]
£10.43
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews