Customer Reviews


134 Reviews
5 star:
 (102)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great, but where's 'Hey, hey, what can I do'?
I have little to add to the generally glowing reviews of this cd. It's a truly classic album and a great first example of Zeppelin's variety of approach, and yes, this remastering has improved significantly on the previous version.

However, and the reason for the one star deduction, my one very, very big gripe with this reissue is that with an entire extra disc...
Published 1 month ago by BlueBlueBlue

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars We want 'Hey Hey What Can I Do'!
I completely agree with the comments about the ridiculous omission of the B-side of 'Immigrant Song'. What on earth are they up to? Please please don't let it be 1) they forgot or 2) they think there's more cash in it somewhere down the line. I'm not buying this great album for a third time without it. I've already paid for vinyl and the original CD release. We want...
Published 16 days ago by Kevin Fitzmaurice


‹ Previous | 1 2 314 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "...That's The Way..." - Led Zeppelin III by LED ZEPPELIN (2014 2CD DELUXE EDITION), 3 Jun 2014
By 
Mark Barry "Mark Barry" - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I suspect like many fans - I bought all three of these 2CD DELUXE EDITIKNS on the day of release (Monday 2 June 2014 here in the UK). And after the initial disappointment of the "Led Zeppelin" debut version with its questionable sound on some tracks and its rubbish bootleg-sounding live bonus disc - I'm thrilled to say that "II" and "III" are entirely different beasts.

For me it's not the more applauded and revered "II" that tickles my spine - but the fabulous 'Acoustic' expansion of the British Super Group's songwriting chops on "III" that puts them head and shoulders above all the rest. This beauty has always made my eyes water and my quadruple bypass beat a little faster. Well - "III" now sounds fabulous - and the 'Companion Audio' CD actually warrants the word 'bonus' with some truly spine-tingling new additions. Here are the Tiny Flowers and Hangman Riding Many A Mile details...

UK released 2 June 2014 (3 June in the USA) - Atlantic/Swan Song 8122796449 breaks down as follows...

Disc 1 (43:11 minutes):
Tracks 1 to 10 are the vinyl album "Led Zeppelin III" - originally released 5 October 1970 in the USA on Atlantic SD-7291 and Atlantic 2401 002 in the UK

Disc 2 (41:33 minutes):
Tracks 1 to 9 are PREVIOUSLY UNRELEASED 'Rough/Alternate Mixes' of Seven album tracks with two New Songs - the Instrumental "Jennings Farm Blues" (which turns out to be an early version of "Bron-Yr-Aur Stomp") and a stunning new double cover-version outtake called "Keys To The Highway/Trouble In Mind".

As luck would have it - the placing of the rear cover "III" photo in the centre inside flap with the gatefold of the original LP on the left and right flap - and the moveable 'wheel sleeve' of the original vinyl LP reproduced on the outside - gives quite a textural impact - it's beautiful in short. This has to be one of the loveliest repro's I've ever seen (though my Japanese 2012 SHM-CD repro isn't going anywhere soon). The Green and Orange coloured CDs themselves are placed in the centre and left flaps (with the inlay).

The 3-way gatefold card sleeve also features alternative colour artwork on the rear with a stuck-on track list (these new releases now reflect their Swan Song label as well as Atlantic Records for the first time). The 16-page booklet has gorgeous black and white/colour photos of the band live at the time (the three sat doing an Acoustic set), relaxing in Wales in the tiny knackered-looking 18th Century Cottage 'Bron-Yr-Aur' where much of the album was written/inspired by. But like "I" and "II" - there are only two pages at the rear that give you the basic track info - bugger all else. There's no liner notes - no history of the album and its importance (a huge fan favourite) - and nothing from Page or Plant. It's good - but it could have been great - and frankly why isn't it?

As Zep fans know the album was conceived in deepest Wales where the band was recovering after extensive world touring (recorded in Headley Grange). Perhaps all that head-banging abroad and rural lack of running water/electricity brought out the 'inner calm' in our heroes - because setting aside the Rock of "Immigrant Song" and the straight-up Blues of "Since I've Been Loving You" - the album primarily featured softer acoustic tracks (ballads even) - and is so much the better for it.

I moaned about the sound quality on some tracks on the debut - that problem doesn't appear here. From the opening "1, 2, 3..." count-in on "The Immigrant Song" you'll be hammering those Speaker Gods of yours with a possible neighborhood disturbance restraining order. It's HUGE. The double-whammy "Friends/Celebration Day" leaps out of each channel with new details while the squeaking of Bonham's drum seat can now be clearly heard on the lead-in to the mighty "Since I've Been Loving You". Ending Side 1 - "Out On The Tiles" has wonderful presence - especially on the "All I need is you and all your love...ooh yeah" sung chorus.

Now the magic starts - "Gallows Pole" has always sent fans - and 44 years later - it just blows you away. The mandolin and banjo build up are followed with Bonzo's manic drums - shooting the whole Acoustic/Rock song up into the stratosphere - fantastic stuff and aurally spiffing. "Tangerine" is gorgeous and the sloppy count-in only adds atmosphere to the tenderness. But then I'm in tears. I recently reviewed Mott The Hoople's 1974 CBS album "The Hoople" with the gorgeous Ian Hunter ballad "Trudi's Song" on it. It got me to compiling a 70's FEST CD-R called "Songs To Make A Grown Man Cry" (see separate review and list). Top of that bawl-crawl is Led Zeppelin's gorgeous "That's The Way" - which in its new 2014 guise will make true fans blub like a big girl's blouse. This is what I've waited decades to hear (Cameron Crowe too). And then it all ends with a chipper "Bron-Yr-Aur Stomp" and the slightly throwaway "Hats Off To (Roy) Harper". Job done.

But there's better to come. Disc 2 is a stunning addition. You get Alternate Mixes of "The Immigrant Song" and "Celebration Day" with Rough Mixes of "Since I've Been Loving You" and "Gallows Pole" - all of which feature fascinating different guitar parts and the occasional vocal flourish. "Bathroom Sound" is an early run through of "Out On The Tiles" without vocals and "Jennings Farm Blues" turns out to be a first version of "Misty Mountain Hop" with Page feeling for the song (it's very cool). But then you're hit with a solar plexus - the fabulous Big Bill Broonzy/Big Joe Turner double cover of "Key To The Highway/Trouble In Mind". It's a two-man show - Page on Acoustic guitar in the left speaker with Plant on treated warbling vocals and heavy harmonica on the right. It's just stunning - with Robert Plant blowing some truly hair-raising Blues Harp - fans will flip for it. Downside - the fab non-album B-side "Hey Hey What Can I Do Now" to the American 45 of "Immigrant Song" is AWOL - when in remastered form - it would have been a rather tasty cherry on top.

So there you have it. Not just brilliant but a legend intact and expanding.

Were Led Zeppelin really as good as we remember them? And in 1970 - were they even the best band in the world?

You bet your hairy-assed airship-sized balls they were...

PS: see also reviews for the 2CD DELUXE EDITION versions of "I" and "II"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars That's the way, 11 Jan 2011
By 
This review is from: Led Zeppelin III [VINYL REPLICA] (Audio CD)
I would rather listen to this so-called 'underrated' album on repeat for fifty years than listen to 95% of modern chart music. If there's anything to appreciate about Led Zeppelin above anything else, it's their diversity - rock, blues, folk, African rhythms, you name it, they're not sticking to one genre. Robert Plant has demonstrated time and time again through the Zep years and in his solo career that music shouldn't be static, the boundaries should always be pushed. My advice, buy this album in order to get a taste of Led Zeppelin doing everything. It's a shame this album wasn't appreciated for what it is when it was released. Oh well, that's the way...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Significant 2014 upgrade for Led Zeppelin III, 3 Jun 2014
By 
The original LZ3 LP occupies the first disc. In common with the remastered LZ1 and LZ2 CD's reissued at the same time, it represents a substantial improvement in sound. There is noticeably more detail and clout, and the overall timbre has never sounded more nuanced. The extras on disc 2 are, in my opinion, marginally better than those on LZ2 and flagrantly superior to the lo-fi quality radio broadcast on the LZ1 release. The remix of Immigrant Song is less cluttered and retains a boxer's punch. There are no fewer than 3 new titles, and - while revealing some familiar riffs - these give a window into Led Zeppelin's recording, rehearsing and songwriting processes. When the excitement generated by the new material has died down, this release will be judged again on the merit of the original album. It's a stonewall classic. It took enormous courage to break from the thunderous heaviness that dominated the first 2 albums. No fewer than 6 of the 10 cuts are acoustic ones. Many such offerings by rock bands are tokenistic ballads, but the ones here are steeped in American Blues and English folk. The dramatic strings from Holst's Mars are borrowed to stunning effect on Friends. And Gallows Pole incrementally intensifies toward a mesmerizing, joyful finale. That's The Way is so at odds with the sonic brutality sometimes evident on the first 2 albums that it's hard to believe it's the same musicians at work. Of the 'electric' songs, Immigrant Song is a 2 minute cataclysm, while Since I've Been Loving You may be the most stirring minor key Blues ever. Jimmy Page's guitar-playing is remarkable throughout: on the acoustic material he plays in standard, open C, C6, open F and open G tunings - so much for sticking a drippy acoustic ballad in as filler. But more than anything, I came away from revisiting this album staggered by the quality of Robert Plant's singing. These songs demand a range of moods, subtleties and a high level of musical intelligence regarding the various genres. He nails each song, one after the other. Subjectively, LZ3 is not my favourite Led Zeppelin record. But, objectively, this is a masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't forget the rest but this is the best, 15 Dec 2005
By 
Mr. Jeremy Carter "jeremycarter2" (Storrington West Sussex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Led Zeppelin III (Audio CD)
Hmm when did I first hear Led Zep - certainly at least 30 years ago - probably 1972/3 when an older brother bought Houses of the Holy. Within 18 months I had the whole back catalogue & watched over the course of the late 1970's in sorrow & dismay as they slowly subsided through Presence and the awful (sorry its true) In Through the Outdoor - thankfully they redeeemed themsleves in '79 at Knebworth.Anyway to the matter in hand - what is all this nonsense about Volumes 2 or 4 being the best Led Zep album? It is a close call with Physical Graffiti (if only due to the volume of material) but Led Zep III does it for me every time. SIDE 1: The opening Immigrant Song is one of the finest moments in Rock Music History (clearly Jimmy Page thinks so too if you have a copy of How the West Was Won where it is the introductory track). We then groove into the slightly strange & off colour Friends - never fails to raise those goose pimples. Into Celebration Day -a typical Zeppelin rocker and then my favourite, favourite, favourite ever Zeppelin song the unbelievabley bluesy Since I've Been Loving You. I only have 1,000 words to play with and they are simply not enough. Led Zeppelins finest hour - it encapsulates everything good they ever did with absolutely stunning performances from all 4 members of the band - I can (& do) listen to it time & again. Next up Out on the Tiles is perhaps the only track approaching a filler on the Album but is still a good fun rocky workout. SIDE 2: Well, well, well it all goes a little strange - no more distorted amplified guitars - it is (mostly) acoustic loveliness for track after track after track - I still can't work it out 30 years on - is Tangerine my favourite or is it Thats the Way? Bron-Y -Aur Stomp is just a good time romp & shows how different Led Zeppelin were from their lumpish 1970 contemporaries - yes they had a sense of humour! It all finishes with an anarchic shotgun shack acoustic blues called Hats off to Roy Harper although said gentleman isn't anywhere to be seen. Anyone approaching Led Zeppelin via their legend as the 'first heavy metal band' will be utterly bemused by all of this of course but that is because they were more than just a heavy metal band - but hey we all know that don't we?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The very best of the best..., 2 Jan 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Led Zeppelin III (Audio CD)
I only got into Led Zeppelin pretty recently, on the strength of Dazed and Confused, Whole Lotta Love, Immigrant Song and Stairway to Heaven.Of all six "great" Led Zep albums I can say without the slightest hesitation that Led Zeppelin III is the best; II comes close, but this is the best, with a perfect blend of hard(ish)rock (Immigrant Song), folky(ish) rock (Friends, Bron-Y-Aur Stomp)and pure blues (Since I've Been Loving You). It's hard to describe LZ unless you've already heard them, but suffice to say that if you like any other LZ material this is the best slice of LZ that money can buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Led Zep 3 Re-mastered Vinyl 2014: `Hats Off to Atlantic Records', 2 Jun 2014
By 
P. Kelly (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The first of the three re-masters vinyl to arrive. There seems to be some release delay on Led Zep 1 and 2. So for Led Zep 3, we get the original vinyl re-mastered by Jimmy Page and an album of remixes and a couple of out-takes pressed on heavy weight vinyl (my copies 200g album and 190g - extra disc).

It has a substantial heavy weight cardboard cover with insert to take the extra disc tasteful restored as per original front cover, slide circular window disk. Two inner sleeves including plastic antistatic release sheets to further protect the vinyl on releasing from the sleeve (excellent, hats off to Atlantic records for including these). Both records are flat and surface noise minimum.
I compared the re-mastered album to my original copy from 1970 on the same equipment and amp settings. The re-master is cleaner, crisper and improved clarity of the instruments across the sound stage and more enhanced lower frequency sound (bass, drums etc). The original has increased higher end sonic presence and vocals are more pronounced in the mix, but overall the re-master is very easy listening and more refined. I still believe this album is very under rated in the Led Zep collection no doubt because of the very high standards of other albums they made.

The Companion disc is interesting and certainly for the die-hard Zep fan. For me the outstanding track is the rough mix of `Since I've been loving you' it's absolutely magic, if this is a song you like then the rough version adds a different feel to this great song. Overall the other songs are a welcome addition if not essentially any ground breaking gems from the vault. The sonic quality on this companion disc is also very good.

In conclusion, fully recommended even if you have the original, the re-master gives a different take without sounding like a compressed digital cut. The companion is worth having even though they are no new ground breaking material available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hats Off to Zeppelin, 22 Jan 2005
By 
R. S. Hand (Colwyn Bay) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Led Zeppelin III (Audio CD)
This is my favourite Led Zeppelin album, and that is really saying something! That opening track is classic, and 'Friends' is really special. Everybody has heard Immigrant Song, and many will have heard Since I've Been Loving You- if you liked them, you will love this. It's the softest of their studio albums, mainly because it was written in a derelict cottage not a million miles from where I'm typing this. I actually went to Bron-yr-Aur in September, and it rained. A lot. But it was really inspirational too.
Bron yr Aur is my favourite song on this album, it has a really lively feel. Basically, this album is brilliant, really underrated, but it's good to keep it that way or it will go the same way as Led 4. Everybody who calls themselves a zeppelin fan cannot fail to buy this album, there are some real gems here, like the psychedelia of Hats off to Roy Harper, the beautiful Tangerine, and the out and out rock and roll of Gallows Pole, Out on the Tiles, and Celebration Day.
Basically, im telling you to buy this album- you can't go wrong for under a tenner!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stuck In The Middle, 10 July 2006
This review is from: Led Zeppelin III (Audio CD)
Led Zeppelin III is unfortunately stuck in between classics II and IV and is often overlooked by fans because of this.

This in my opinion is actually my favourite Zeppelin album. There's not a single track on it that I dislike, and I can honestly say that it's one of the most well played albums I own.

This once again consists of the usual punchy guitar riffs, vastly underrated bass, steady rhythm and astonishing vocals that Led Zeppelin became famous for. Of course, this album is the home of the band's classic Immigrant Song, and what could be a better album opener than this track?! It doesn't happen. This song has to be one of the greatest album openers of all time. It's most definitely up there in my top 5! The other tracks are just pure beauty and talented craftsmanship. And that's what Led Zeppelin is; a finely tuned art.

The tracks that should definitely be checked out and played at their loudest are Immigrant Song, Since I've Been Loving You (seriously underrated!!!!), and Out On The Tiles. But what is fantastic about III is the great contrasts between these heaviers and more bluesy songs, to the quieter and folky tracks like Tangerine for example. This song shouldn't be overlooked because of how quiet it is; it's incredibly beautiful and is soft Zeppelin at it's best.

As I've already said, John Paul-Jones' bass on this album is mind blowing. He's an incredibly underrated bassist, and I'd just like to salute him for his work on this album. Wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars led zep - greatest album?, 27 Mar 2004
This review is from: Led Zeppelin III (Audio CD)
well no, it isn't their best album in my view, it's slightly edged out by led zeppelin 4.I'm actually very suprised as this album doesn't seem to be as loved as led zep 4 or physical graffiti.It's quite far down on the list when it comes to peoples favourites,but it really is brilliant.It took longer to love this album though as opposed to led zep 4 but the classics are there.Since i've been loving you and immigrant song are the insant standouts and 2 of my fave. led zep tracks, but we also have tangerine and out on the tiles, which are also superb.It's a must buy - no doubt about it and seems very underrated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Led Zeppelin 3, 5 Nov 2005
This review is from: Led Zeppelin III (Audio CD)
It is beyond me why some people give this any less than 5 stars. Have they not heard how much dreadful music there is out there? How many god awful bands being praised like there the second coming? Something this good is a very rare occurance, It was the first Les Zeppelin album I ever bought (I had not heard many of the songs off this album and I liked the bad cover art, so it was going to be great, and it certainly is). The Immigrant song, Celebration Day, Since I've Been Loving You, Out on the Tiles, Gallows Pole, Tangerine and Bron-Y-Aur Stomp make this a very worth while purchase for any Fan of 70's Rock (Despite the Album being a mainly acoustic affair).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 314 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Led Zeppelin III [VINYL REPLICA]
Led Zeppelin III [VINYL REPLICA] by Led Zeppelin (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews