Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure brilliance, 28 Jun. 2001
By 
This review is from: Miss E... So Addictive (Audio CD)
Easily the best of Missy's three studio albums, on 'Miss E...', Missy and arch-producer Timbaland have wisely decided to leave behind the dragging, atmospheric strings of 'Da Real World', and made an album that is as bouncy and exciting as Missy's amazing debut. Tracks like 'Dog in Heat' and 'Old School Joint' revel in the Disco synth and pure relentless funk prevails on most of the albums tracks. Although Get UR Freak On has been played to death, Lick Shots (featured in the video for Get UR Freak On) is a superb track with outrageously cool beats and an agressive, malicious tone to match. Missy's best rap to date can be found on the Shakerbox sounds of 'Scream'. But, if there was any doubt of her skills, they are all put to rest on 'One Minute Man', which sounds like Erykah Badu doing TLC to a jerky beat worthy of a hip-pop Prince. In a word - Amazing. And entirely addcitive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This cd is HEAVY!, 29 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Miss E... So Addictive (Audio CD)
If you're thinking about buying miss E...so addictive stop thinking & just buy it! This cd is heavy. Each track is different & like nothing I'd heard before & that is why I love it. I'm not dissin' Missy's last album da real world because it is a good cd but lets face it half the tracks did sound kinda' similar but on miss E...so addictive each beat is fresh & each lyric is fresh. I also found that I liked every single track too, it wasn't like normal where after a few listens you find one or two you like... hell no! My faves have to be without doubt no# 9 4 my people(feat. eve) purely for the bass & no# 3 one minute man (feat. ludacris) because let's face it there are so many around ! Anyway don't just take my word for it stop reading this & buy it yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good surround sound, 26 Oct. 2002
By 
Matt (Luton, Bedfordshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the first DVD-Audio disc I have bought and I am impressed. The Advanced Resolution surround sound really puts you in the midst of the action with voices and intrumentals whizzing around your head on tracks like One Minute Man and Old School Joint. Lets not forget the fact that the songs themselves pretty good - e.g Get ur Freak On, Dog in Heat & 4 my People - which makes a this great buy.
I would recommend this to anyone who was considering converting to the DVD-Audio format - as long as they don't mind it being the clean version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It'll Make You Get Your Freak On!!, 11 Jun. 2001
By 
This review is from: Miss E... So Addictive (Audio CD)
In my opinion this CD is ahead of it's time! With a mixture of techno/one beats it gives the whole CD an original feel. It is unlike the heavy/bitchy album Da Real World, but it is equally as good. Again star appearences give the album the contrast that makes it so addictive. Get Your Freak On you would have already heard, but the next single I believe is One Minute Man ft Ludacris (who's new song I Wanna Lick Ya should challenge it in the charts) which is excellent, with that same hard beat making you bop your head without knowing it, on this track and indeed the whole album Missy sings more! Strange I know but it was apparently on request!! It still sounds good though! This track is also remixed by Jay Z on the album. Track 6 is my personal favorite, Scream, again it's the beats and rhymes that make it stand out. Track 7, Old School Joint has a retro feel that I think I might be too young to appriciate!! Other star apperences come from Methodman, Redman, Ginuwine (remember him?), Eve, Busta Rymes, Da Brat (of course!!), Jade and Lil' Mo! This is probably her best yet so if your a fan don't miss out and if your not a fan; what are you playin' at?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Can anyone disagree that this album is So Addictive!!!, 19 April 2002
By 
Graham Parry (Glasgow, Scotland United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Missy Elliot returns with this excellent album with a huge amount of celebrity friends making appearances, such as redman, method man, ludacris, eve, busta rhymes, da brat, lil' mo, jay-z and, of course, timbaland (who has as distinctive a voice as Missy Misdemeanor). As Missy moves from her "so addictive" intro to "dog in heat" and yells "give us that funk!", the listener is immediately forced to start moving to the beat. Some classic songs that I challenge anyone to find fault with, like "lick shots", "get ur freak on", "4 my people" and "whatcha goin' do". The two versions of "one minute man" are hugely entertaining in ludacris and jay-z contrasting opinions. I have had this album for several weeks now and although I have been buying other albums, I find myself coming back to this one. However, like with most albums, there are some songs that you automatically skip. I listen from track 1 to 5, mover to 9 to 11 and forward to 16 and 17. The rest are songs that are forgetable and NOT addictive. However, you can't help forgive Missy as the rest of the tracks are super. Also, the bus-a-bus interlude with busta rhymes is hysterical.
This album, as the title suggests, is so addictive. Buy it, and buy it quickly and get ready to get ur freak on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Missy's Best Album 2 Date is really So Addictive!, 14 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Miss E... So Addictive (Audio CD)
Missy's best ever album has to be this.
the album starts off with a funky beat "dog in heat" song with club appeal, this song is a headbanger. then the very well produced track "one minute man" should get you moving, because if that does not nothing will? she revisits the 80's with a sure firehit for all children of that music era, in the song "old school joint" it's sounds good enough to bring back the 80's sound altogether. the song that really touched me was "take away" featuring Ginuwine. I am mostly into heavy hip-hop, but "take away" is a slow song on another level, the Bassy beat and Missy's vocals are so beautiful enough to make me love RnB again. Whereas in the past Missy has tended to experiment herself into a hole (,release the two best songs,make you buy the album and make you wish you had never because the content is sloppy) this time she is more consistent with her beats and every song will hit you in a different way, which means you'll definately want to keep this album. so if you dont have it, you are as crazy as hannibal lector. ( and you don't want to be)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Addictive indeed.. R'n'B album of the year. (Part One), 14 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Miss E... So Addictive (Audio CD)
Miss E has done it again. Calling upon an array of guests and bringing her sweet, responsive gospel voice to the helm among her jaggedy yet smoothly delivered raps much alike her coup de la grace, 'Da Real World'.
Except, this is more among the lines of 'Supa Dupa Fly', her groundbreaking debut. And, yeah, y'all know 'Get Ur Freak On' is the standout. But there's plenty here to please anyone ready for another Missy & Timothy 'Timbaland' Mosley journey.
From the start, Timbaland's production is less handled this time, making room for house and gospel influenced beats and Missy's voice to shine. But he comes through, proving himself, that apart from Dr Dre and possibly Flex, the best rap producer on the planet.
'One Minute Man' is selected to be the next single, and much alike 'Get Ur Freak On', it takes a couple of listens before boring into your brain and staying for eternity. ^_^
Well, I can't write enough write now, but there shall be two more parts coming. Cya. BUY IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars O MY GOD!, 23 Dec. 2002
This review is from: Miss E... So Addictive (Audio CD)
I bought Missys most recent album before "...so addictive" and I have to say this is alot better!No dis to missy though!Her vocals are amazing and so unique!
The music the vocals,the rap,everything runs together so smoothly.Id say that the best song off the album is...no I can't choose!
With amazing appearances from famous singers and rappers such as Eve,Da Brat,Ludacris,Redman,Jay-Z,Busta Rhymes,Method Man and Timbaland there's a track for everyone.
TIP:Listen to every track thoroughly.Miss E IS so addictive and so is her album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars RRRRRRRRRRRRRRRAAAAAGGGGHHHH, 15 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Miss E... So Addictive (Audio CD)
A new direction for Missy Elliott, away from hardcore hiphop, but not towards R&B like Lauryn Hill but towards fat, booming funk. Sometimes it sounds as if George Clinton or Cameo's Larry Blackmon co-produced these songs. And Missy sings, well, not like an angel, but with a full and adult voice. Weakest point are the texts, the chest-thumping 'I am the best' lyrics, a sad hiphop cliche, that dosen't fit her. I love her since the first time I heard 'rain' and and each and every single and video she made was superb. A little bit less were her albums, not in a way that you would think hits and misses, but some parts were just weaker. This time it's the same, 'addictive' could be a 30 minute album that would all those jayzees and puffies and kellies hang themselves from the next tree. But who cares? her weaker stuff is ten times stronger than puffies best! This woman is gold and this album is her best ever!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Definitely Missy's Best Album, 31 Jan. 2012
By 
M. Sinclair "Mike" (Crumlin, Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I just had to write a review for this album becuase i think it is brilliant. I believe this is her best album and contains probably her best single Get Ur Freak On. The album is a mix of Hip hop/ R&B and has a very fresh feel. If you're a fan of Missy and don't have this album I would strongly recommend it, almost every song is excellent. This was Missy's 3rd album and at this stage herself and Timbaland had just reached perfection. Every song is excellently produced by Timbaland, and has plenty of great collaborations. From Tweet on the intro, to Redman and Method Man on the head-nodding funky Dog In Heat. Lick Shots is another party anthem from Missy along with 4 My People and Get Ur Freak On. There are two songs that are just incredible; the first being Take Away with Ginuwine. It is a slow jam with a dreamy tune, which is so hypnotising. It shows Missy has a fine voice singing too, and can slow the pace well, as well as having the party time/ hip hop songs. The other song is X-tasy. Another dreamy tune which is a rather hypnotising song, i have to almost meditate to that one. There is another song where Timbaland features on a rap called Whatcha Gon Do, a slightly darker tune, to reveal their other side, still capable of producing "sick" music.
There is also a wonderful end to the album, with Missy giving thanks to God. Two songs called Higher Ground (prelude) and Higher Ground are again just wonderful. The last one is quite wonderful featuring Yolanda Adams, Kim Burrel and friends with an amazing pure soulful and powerful end to a fantastic album.

This album would actually be in my top 10 favourite albums of all time, no greater praise to give than that!
Buy it now!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Miss E... So Addictive
Miss E... So Addictive by Missy Elliott (Audio CD)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews