Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good effort from this great industrial band
I bought this after hearing 'Cold' and 'Black and White'. Both awesomesongs, I expected the album to live up to my very high hopes. It did.Every song is a tour de force and thrashing guitars, heavy drums and theerratic voice of Wayne Static and the back up singer. Not as good as theirother albums but still a very worthy achievement. Apart from theaforementioned tracks,...
Published on 20 April 2004 by juggertrout

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Buy Shadow Zone first
After buying the excellent Shadow Zone, I decided that 5.97 for 'Machine' was too good to miss.
Was it worth it? yes.
Machine is a reasonable album, but not great by any means. Opening track 'Get To The Gone', which is perfectly placed after intro 'Bien Venidos', goes for the throat with Wayne Static screaming over a heavy, chugging riff. Immediately, you...
Published on 1 Aug 2004 by Malatusis


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Buy Shadow Zone first, 1 Aug 2004
This review is from: Machine (Audio CD)
After buying the excellent Shadow Zone, I decided that 5.97 for 'Machine' was too good to miss.
Was it worth it? yes.
Machine is a reasonable album, but not great by any means. Opening track 'Get To The Gone', which is perfectly placed after intro 'Bien Venidos', goes for the throat with Wayne Static screaming over a heavy, chugging riff. Immediately, you realize this album isn't going to let up. Unfortunately, after this, the album feels like one long, continuing song. Not a single track feels particularly different from any other (not including the intro and last track). As mentioned in other reviews of 'Machine', Static-X seem to only know two song types in this album - chug, chug, chug, chug and chugchugchugchugchug... It's heavy, pounding, relentless and very, very, VERY predictable.
This album is fine if you want a genuinely heavy album to let go to, but any more than a few tracks and the album becomes quite dull, as the very accurate amazon.co.uk review says, the tracks really relentlessly travel absolutely nowhere :P.
Anyone who likes heavier System Of A Down or even Linkin Park, looking for heavier stuff could do a lot worse than buy this album, but I would first STRONGLY RECOMMEND buying the later 'Shadow Zone', which is much more varied in song structure, and has more meaningful lyrics than 'Machine', while still maintaining the go-for-the-jugular attitude of 'Machine' with tracks like 'Destroy All' and 'Control It'.
The better tracks for me are Get To The Gone, Black and White and This is Not, however, as mentioned before, all the songs are very, very similar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good effort from this great industrial band, 20 April 2004
By 
juggertrout (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Machine (Audio CD)
I bought this after hearing 'Cold' and 'Black and White'. Both awesomesongs, I expected the album to live up to my very high hopes. It did.Every song is a tour de force and thrashing guitars, heavy drums and theerratic voice of Wayne Static and the back up singer. Not as good as theirother albums but still a very worthy achievement. Apart from theaforementioned tracks, 'Otsego Undead' and 'Structural Defect' are standout tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Probably one of the best albums I've heard all year!, 7 Aug 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Machine (Audio CD)
Not only does the album live up to it's title, but it does more than that. With just one listen, you can instantly love this album -if it's your thing, that is. The intro track introduces you to what seems a calm album, before the applause bursts into track two -with the screaming lungs of the bassist Tony Campos and frontman guitarist, Wayne Static. 'Get To The Gone' is loud, fast and hammers your head from start to end. With the frantic drumming from Ken Jay, riffs and basslines you wonder how this album was recorded with just three members of the band. Former Static-X guitarist, Koichi Fukuda left the band due to certain circumstances and the remaining members recorded the rest of the album without him. Before the album was mixed and printed, former Dope guitarist Tripp Rex Eisen "just walked in" as Wayne said, to become Static-X's new guitarist. A few tracks into the album; 'Black And White' and 'This Is Not' may seem familiar to you. Probably because these videos are on MTV2 almost constantly. I'm not suprised either. The songs on this album only get better. 'Cold' is one of the album's more calmer songs -but that does not mean it is a soft song. It's not. Still with the almost ghostly vocals of Wayne and Tony in the background, it's one of my favourite tracks. Just over two minutes into the song, it slows down to a melody played on a keyboard, and just as you're expecting it to end, the chorus starts up once more. '...In A Bag' is another track that stands out. Four minutes, twenty-one seconds long, and you wish it was longer. The lyrics are clever; "I'm cursing I'm searching/I'm giving up hoping..."; and the song ends empty and haunted. 'A Dios Alma Perdida' is the finishing track, and after listening to the whole album, you're left wanting more. You'll probably listen to it through again, like I did. Keyboards and programming are used in this album quite frequently, which also adds to Static-X's unique sound. The sound created by this band is exactly the title's description. 'Machine' is the album title, 'Machine' is what the album is. If you're scared of hard-hitting music then don't buy this album. The riffs, bass lines, drumming and vocals on 'Machine' all add together to create the sound that is Static-X. A description of this album? Loud, fast, furious, pumping, in-your-face, hammering and would most certainly burst your ear drums if it was played at the correct volume. The way the music is put together and the way instruments are played gives you the sense that it's not human. The music isn't human. It's 'Machine'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is what metal is all about, 10 May 2001
This review is from: Machine (Audio CD)
After a 2 year wait, Static x finally deliver the goods and all i can say is that it worth well and truly worth the wait. Machine is stunning, creative, original, truly one of the best metal records in the last few years. if you heard their first offering, wisconsin death trip, then you seriously have to get this. on the first album, my opinion was that altohugh quality, there were only a few stand out tracks, such as "I'm with stupid" or "push it". this time however each track, with the exception of one (my opinion) is class. static x borrow collate many different styles into one - metal, drum and bass even trance and what we have is a band who i feel are on the verge of super stardom. i'm just pleased that a band i have followed from the start have remained commited to the task and not gone the way of other recent metal (linkin park anyone?)and so hopefully will continue to go from strength to strength.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ONE OF THE FINEST RELEASES THIS YEAR!, 26 Aug 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Machine (Audio CD)
I went out and bought this album shortly after getting into metal and what an album it is. This comes highly recommended if you like loud music. This is very heavy stuff. Not for the faint hearted. Best song on the album is probably black and white, it's the most memorable and has a fantastic flow to it. Buy it now cause d w says so!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Static-X not just about image, 18 Jun 2001
This review is from: Machine (Audio CD)
Heard the name but not the music? Well hear this! I bought this album after hearing the refreshing and quite outstanding "Black And White" and was immediately impressed. From beginning to end this album oozes talent and the quality of production is some of the best I have heard. This unique blend of nu-metal and techno creates a cutting edge sound that distinguishes Machine from current nu-metal albums. Static-X are not just about image (reference to the gravity-defying hairdo of singer Wayne Static), as this album shows great potential from this LA four-piece. Speed, energy, variation, crunching guitars and the tearing sound of Wayne Static at the mic is a combination that deserves to do well. Forget anything you heard about their first album, Machine is a brilliant effort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Man Made Machanics, 9 Jan 2005
This review is from: Machine (Audio CD)
'Machine' is energetic, creative, original, truly one of the best metal records in the last few years. If you heard their first offering, 'Wisconsin Death Trip', then you seriously have to get this one. Each song is each individually unique. Static-X are able to mix many different styles into one - metal, drum and bass even trance. They're a band committed to every effect of rock and will do anything to please their fans. After hearing 'Cold' and 'Black and White', I knew this album would be a huge success. Every song is thriving with enthusiasm and thrashing guitars, heavy drums and the vicious vocals of Wayne Static and the back up singer Tony Campos. Maybe not as effective as the platinum selling 'Wisconsin Death Trip' but still a very worthy achievement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars totally BRILLIANT!!!, 22 July 2001
This review is from: Machine (Audio CD)
this is a great mix of metal and hardcore rock. Black and white had and still does have me totally hooked. If you like Limp Bizkit, Linkin Park, Mettalica etc. then you will love this. (like me)Shere brilliance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Dark vamp, 22 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Machine (Audio CD)
This is quality music for all the people who love the darker side of vampires
The static x boys have captured a real dark side of metal to be associated with vampires.
Great cd get buying now
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ooooh My Head-Gimme More, 7 Jun 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Machine (Audio CD)
Pulse pounding heavy metal at its finest
Will blow your eardrums out
I love it
Brilliant album
Still good for its age
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Machine
Machine by Static-X (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews