Customer Reviews


80 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars my skin gets chills right till the credits
i've seen sixth sense... i jumped and talked endlessly about that all important twist... i adored the re-invention of bruce willis....
i rented this movie becuase i was too broke when it was at the cinema, i was interested in the story-a little complex i thought something about some guy who survives a train crash and doesn't even have a scratch on him... maybe it'll...
Published on 15 Jun. 2003 by Amazon Customer

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as expected
Given the response to "Sixth Sense", much was expected of this film. M. Night Shyalaman is undoubtedly a superb director, and it is not without reason he chose Bruce Willis for this film. (Or used other elements which are apparent upon watching) I preordered this DVD, but have to say the jury is still out. It IS a good film, the problem being that you have to...
Published on 30 Nov. 2001


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as expected, 30 Nov. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Unbreakable (2 Disc Collectors Edition) [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
Given the response to "Sixth Sense", much was expected of this film. M. Night Shyalaman is undoubtedly a superb director, and it is not without reason he chose Bruce Willis for this film. (Or used other elements which are apparent upon watching) I preordered this DVD, but have to say the jury is still out. It IS a good film, the problem being that you have to treat it as a new film and not expect the same effect as 6th sense.
Having said that I would say it is still an excellent film. DO NOT EXPECT "6th sense 2", but go in with an open mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A stealth hero movie, 21 Jun. 2008
By 
Mr. A. Marczylo "overfiend_87" (Southampton, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unbreakable (2 Disc Collectors Edition) [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
The title is a term me and my friend use for this film. Stealth because it isn't overly obviouse like having Bruce Willis flying around in a cape and smashing down machines, but with the many different hints all the way through the film. If your someone who actually watches films (Unlike the few review writing retards) then it will be very enjoyable.

It kinda reminds me of the series Heroes, but since it's a stealth film from where I remember there isn't that much in the way of exciting. It's just like the 6th sense. Instead of exciting you with explosions and things, it excites you with trying to make you think about what's going on and ect.

I highly reccomend buying this film, but if you're unsure then rent it and I promise you will not be dissapointed.

I personally cannot remember much of the film that wouldn't be spoilers, but I definantly remember that your attention gets drawn in as soon as you find out about Bruce having survived a train wreck that everyone died on and leaving without even a scratch of bruise to show for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Modern twist on a classic theme of good versus bad, 20 Feb. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Unbreakable (2 Disc Collectors Edition) [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
Unbreakable is the type of film you have to see twice. Granted, it's not like The Sixth Sense where you miss subtle hints about the outcome but you do have to watch it again to try and make sense of Samuel L. Jackson and his reasonings. This is a brilliant film and very cleverly done. Sit back and enjoy Willis and Jackson in a couple of very good roles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational and Interesting, 13 Aug. 2001
By A Customer
I first saw this film in the cinema , and though i thought it was good much of the impact it seems passed me by . I didnt really think of this film until i saw it on video lately , and whether the environment change or the second viewing altered my opinion i dont know but this film i felt was a gripping and incredibly absorbing experience . I suppose it basically deals with good and evil and how fate can predesign paths in life , but the entire film has an air of disquiet and supressed gloom about it which adds to the presence of something almost supernatural or spiritual in these peoples lives which you can never quite put your finger on . I would very much recommend this film as it takes an enthralling subject and is filmed and directed with great care and has seamless atmosphere throughout which makes it a pleasure to watch - very thoughtful indeed and a refreshing change from the current blockbusters .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quick Reviews!, 5 Aug. 2011
By 
This review is from: Unbreakable (2 Disc Collectors Edition) [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
The follow-up to The Sixth Sense is a much superior film, smarter and more stylish, a mix of thriller, mystery and comic book which sees S.L Jackson and Bruce Willis teaming up once again. Willis is again distancing himself from his action movie persona by making films like these, proving he is a very capable actor. Here he plays David Dunn, the lone survivor of a train crash- a man with a history of near-perfect health. He meets Elijiah, a comic book fan who kids call Mr Glass because of his crippling brittle bone syndrome. Elijiah takes an interest in David, and at first seems like a stalker. He wants to prove that David is almost like a superhero as he believes David is impervious to physical harm. He convinces David's son and tries repeatedly to convince David, who claims he has been both sick and injured and is just a normal man who got lucky. However, David eventually realises otherwise and at the request of Elijiah, uses his powers to help the weak and defenceless.

While the Sixth Sense was predictable, though tried a little too hard to be atmospheric, Unbreakable is more subtle and works on many levels, but was a much smaller hit. Shyamalan's style is present here, with floating cameras and contrasts in lighting, built around a twisting plot. Naturally there is a twist, not as overt as his previous film but one which leads to more interesting dissection. Jackson and Willis are equally impressive, and the rest of the cast are good, mainly Robin Penn and Spencer Clark. A highly interesting film worth several watches, and an original take on the typical Comic Book movie.

This double disc edition has plenty of interesting features- cast and crew chats, deleted scenes with director introductions, and a super hero feature narrated by Mr S. L. Jacko.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting story that grabs your attention, 20 Aug. 2001
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unbreakable (2 Disc Collectors Edition) [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
I really enjoyed this film. The story line was very original, although the ending was a little predictable it was still a good watch and kept my attention throughout.
Written by the same author as the Sixth Sense (with a cameo appearance) if you enjoyed that then this is a must see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unbreakable is unmissable, 10 Aug. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Unbreakable (2 Disc Collectors Edition) [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
Unbreakable in my opinion is a very clever movie, basicly I saw it a a film of opposites, Good Guy Bad Guy, Stong and Fragile, Black and White, sane and insane.. I could go on.
The scene which makes it for me is When "Brue Willis" charcter discovers Elijah's secret, just like the cleer twist in the Six sense, I was stunned when discovering this.
Bruce's Character does'nt have any purpose or Mission in his life and he just plods along in a regular job as a security guard, after faking an Football injury so he could keep the Girl (his wife). This is until he is the sole survivour of a train crash, was he lucky or is there someother supernatural meaning, which Elijah (samuel L jackson) helps him to discover...
Where as Elijah he has spent his life searching for his alter ego, his opposite, and will go to any lengths to meet him, like a coin theres a heads and a tails.
Simply Brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning... an all-time masterpice, 20 Aug. 2001
By 
L. Andrews "jointhepartyuk" (Newport, South Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I've only seen two films of Shyamalan's so far, and while not being overly keen on The 6th Sense (great ending though), I have to say that Unbreakable is without a doubt one of the best films I have ever seen... and that's a big thing for me to say considering the amount of films I find time to watch when I'm not in college.
Thrillers are a favourite genre of mine, and Unbreakable definetly thrills. Any other fans of the genre can watch it and either love it or hate it, but comic lovers will view the film with a better understanding than most, and this background knowledge may even lend a helping hand into having a guess at perhaps the greatest twist-ending in a film ever (for me anyway).
Bruce Willis is excellent as David Dunn, a security guard who is saddened and depressed with many aspects of his life, whether it be with his failing marriage with Robin Wright Penn or with the loss of his footbal career in his early life (something that plays an important part in the film as a whole). Samuel L. Jackson also gives a riveting performance as Elijah Price, a comic book collector with a devastating weakness to his bones who helps Willis to discover his real role in life after Willis surivives an unsurvivable train crash.
Brilliantly written and directed, with rivetting performances and a sad but stunning soundtrack by James Newton Howard, this is an absolute MUST for all people... but you will either love it or hate it.
Pure magic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another Pleasing Movie From M. Night Shyamalan, 26 Feb. 2004
This review is from: Unbreakable (2 Disc Collectors Edition) [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
I watched the TV premiere of this film, and i have to say that i was quite impressed. M. Night Shyamalan reunites with Bruce Willis who was the star in his career-making film, 'The Sixth Sense', probably hoping that he would put the same magic this film, 'Unbreakable'.
It is about a ordinary man called David Dunn who while traveling back to Philidelphia from New York is involved in a train crash which kills every other passenger apart from him, who leaves apparently unscathed. He is then approached by Elijah Price, a comic book art dealer who suffers from a brittle bone disorder, and trys to persuade Dunn that he posses superhuman abilities and appears to be 'unbreakable'.
Bruce Willis is the perfect person for films such as 'The Sixth Sense' and 'Unbreakable' because there is just some quality about him that makes him right. I don't know how anyone can say that he isn't a good actor, because he is, and the success of his films show that.
To be honest, i'm not entierly sure wether or not this film is based on a true story or wether it is purely fiction. I first thought that it was obviously fiction, but at the end when it says that Elijah Price was put into a hospital for the criminally insane, and that David lived his life as normal, i wondered wether it might be true. Actually, i think it's just a kind of epilogue, but it got me thinking about the film afterwards, and that is the mark of a good film.
Overall this is another great film from M. Night Shyamalan with supurb performances from Bruce Willis and Samuel L Jackson (even if he is having the worst 'bad-hair day' of his life). If you have seen 'The Sixth Sense' or 'Signs' then you will definately like this film and i recommend that you invest in this marvelous DVD that also has some promising extras which any film fan is sure to enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars AN ELEVATION OF FORM OVER SUBSTANCE..., 5 Nov. 2002
By 
Lawyeraau (Balmoral Castle) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
The movie starts off promisingly enough. Philadephian David Dunn, tepidly played by Bruce Willis, is travelling on a train, when it suddenly derails. All aboard are killed, except for Dunn, who emerges from the wreck unscathed. Dunn, a working class joe, is a security guard, who is married and has a son. His marriage is on the rocks, he walks through the movie like a zombie, and he is unintelligent enough to be unaware that he has never been sick a day in his life nor ever injured. His is a marginal existence.
Enter Elijah Wood, wonderfully played with electrifying intensity by Samuel L. Jackson. Wood is a man, who suffers from a genetic illness that causes his bones to be so brittle that they shatter easily, like glass. Highly intelligent, wealthy, and single, he is the antithesis of David Dunn, the man for whom he has been searching, as long as he can remember.
Why? Well for that you will have to watch the film, which is really an allegory for a comic book interpretation of good and evil. The film, however, will whet the viewer's appetite, but it will not satisfy, as it gives the viewer only a taste of what the film might have been, rather than what, ultimately, it is, a film that caves under its own artifice. Though the film has its moments, they are not enough to make this the great film it could have been.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Unbreakable (2 Disc Collectors Edition) [DVD] [2000]
Unbreakable (2 Disc Collectors Edition) [DVD] [2000] by M. Night Shyamalan (DVD - 2001)
£9.54
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews