Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars L.A. Story
This film is a classic because it works on many levels. Stupid jokes sit comfortably alongside comedic pearls of wisdom. Slapstick set pieces give way to real moments of moving self unawareness portrayed by the likable main characters. Surreal sight gags give us small insights into life in L.A, fondly puncturing the very ridiculousness of it at the same time as thinly...
Published on 14 Nov 2008 by Musicman

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Why do you need a headline this isn't an essay.
It is okay a bit dated, the best person in it is a very young Sarah Jessica Parker, though Steve Martin is good too.
Published 17 months ago by Mrs. Rowena Brown


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars L.A. Story, 14 Nov 2008
By 
Musicman "waggstar" (Truro, Cornwall, U.K.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: L.A. Story [DVD] (DVD)
This film is a classic because it works on many levels. Stupid jokes sit comfortably alongside comedic pearls of wisdom. Slapstick set pieces give way to real moments of moving self unawareness portrayed by the likable main characters. Surreal sight gags give us small insights into life in L.A, fondly puncturing the very ridiculousness of it at the same time as thinly veiling Martins' absolute love for the city in which he grew up. Martin delivers classic lines with his usual straight-laced collar-loosening agitism. Richard E Grant is both pompous and lovable as the Englishman abroad and Sarah Jessica Parker is joyous in a very early career role. A GREAT film highly recommended. Get it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars L.A. Story, 29 Jan 2010
By 
Georg Spieth (Germany) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: L.A. Story [DVD] (DVD)
This is perhaps the best film ever by Steve Martin. It is full of humour, has a beautiful love story and is about life and its wonderful events that are sometimes happening because we want them to happen, but then they don't happen as we expect them to happen, and after all, it turns out to be even better.
Steve Martin is Harris Telemacher, he lives in Los Angeles, and he has had seven heart attacks (all imagined). This is how he starts telling his story. There are so many observations about everyday life in L.A. and you can all find them in the movie. People don't walk in L.A., they even drive to their neighbour's house. Everytime I come to a 4-way stop sign, I must remember this funny scene, where 4 cars approach from all 4 directions, stop, then politely wave at each other to make the others start driving first, and then all together hit in the middle of the crossing. But there is more than just slapstick. You can feel his true love for the city and its people, he is watching and describing them in a romantic kind of poetry.
Harris looses his girl friend an falls in love with an English woman, who herself meets her ex-husband who desperately wants her back. Harris looses his job as a weatherman, and the weather will change his life twice. So it is predicted to him by a sign post on the L.A. freeway.
Many times he quotes William Shakespeare "about L.A.", one more time mixing serious content and harmless fantasy. After that film you will know that "There are more things in heaven and earth, Than are dreamt of in our philosophy."
If you plan to visit Los Angeles, you should see the film as an accomodation to the unique Californian way of living and loving. Definitely my favourite movie, and, to speak with its language, "I would give it a five!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very funny,highly original,romantic and enlightening, 13 May 2007
This review is from: L.A. Story [DVD] [1991] (DVD)
This is one of the best movies I have seen in terms of its combination of romance and humour.In terms of its ability to give the viewer a picture of how quirky the people and places of of Los Angeles are,it has no equal (even the supernatural seems normal in LA Story) - a serious article in a journal couldn't be more informative.Steve Martin wrote LA Story himself and there is so much going on in the movie that you really get an insight into how much goes on in Martin's mind and just how knowledgeable he is about so many things.The cinematography and direction are top-notch and the extras section of the DVD has interviews with all the main actors and with the director.The main feature is 90 minutes of high quality cinema - if you only watch it once,but I expect most people will watch it at least two or three times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A narrative suitable for every hopeless romantic with dreams, 21 May 2003
By 
Paul Emerton (Hertfordshire, United Kingdom.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: L.A. Story [DVD] [1991] (DVD)
For a fair part of my college years, this film offered itself as a way to escape the depressions of reality and feed the desires of my mind. Certain sequences are wonderful yet intriguing. Quite simply, this film is the best of fantasy and comedy, identifying things that we can all relate to. I would suggest this is the best work of art Steve Martin has ever entered into. A proper viewing leaves you realising there is more than 9 to 5. To the critics of cinema as an artform, I strongly suggest a viewing of this film. It distances itself from the dull characteristics that documentary style realist or comedy film, and instead offers some unique but potentially true observations on life, dreams and fantasy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Complicatedly Simple, 17 Dec 2001
This review is from: L.A. Story [VHS] [1991] (VHS Tape)
LA Story is a film that gets better each time you watch it. It manages to combine the simple slapstick humour of Martin's early work (The Jerk, Lonely Guy) with his more sentimental and romantic later hits (Father of the Bride). Cleverly written is is a satirical look at life in LA that provides a plethora of hilarious jokes and observations and several heart warming moments too. Whilst this is, on the face of it, a quirky comedy, it indeers itself with each viewing and appeals on a lot of different levels. Oh and it's pretty damn funny too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious and wacky but with a pure heart and some genuine romance, 2 April 2013
This review is from: L.A. Story [DVD] (DVD)
A brilliant mix of `Airplane' style wacky, surreal, anything goes humour but combined with a genuine romantic plot, a dash of pure magicical whimsy and a touch of Shakespeare.
Most romantic comedies find it difficult to strike the right balance between comedy and romance but this film handles both aspects superbly. It is consistantly funny from start to finish and the romance feels very genuine and the issues our lovers face feel real.
I'd never seen or really heard of this film before but I will be recommending it to a lot of people as it really is that good. Steve Martin is excellent as ever but the entire cast give some of their best performances including Sarah Jessica Parker who I don't normally like but had to admit she was funny and played the part really well.
There are lots of cameos that are really good but I won't spoil them as a lot of the funniest bits come from complelty out of the blue like the best of Airplane. It has a lot of whimsical, surreal moments, he basically takes advice from a roadside electronic signpost, however these surreal moments don't derail the movie and fit in really nicely, creating a charming tone.
This is a very warm, witty, laugh out loud hysterical film whilst also being surreal, charming and romantic both male and female viewers will find lots to love in this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars L.A. Story, 14 Nov 2008
By 
Musicman "waggstar" (Truro, Cornwall, U.K.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: L.A. Story [DVD] [1991] (DVD)
This film is a classic because it works on many levels. Stupid jokes sit comfortably alongside comedic pearls of wisdom. Slapstick set pieces give way to real moments of moving self unawareness portrayed by the likable main characters. Surreal sight gags give us small insights into life in L.A, fondly puncturing the very ridiculousness of it at the same time as thinly veiling Martins' absolute love for the city in which he grew up. Martin delivers classic lines with his usual straight-laced collar-loosening agitism. Richard E Grant is both pompous and lovable as the Englishman abroad and Sarah Jessica Parker is joyous in a very early career role. A GREAT film highly recommended. Get it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie with steve martin, 26 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: L.A. Story [DVD] (DVD)
What a classic comedy for me etc.
just so funny and even better on dvd.
If you just love steve marin etc etce own it asap
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Why do you need a headline this isn't an essay., 26 Jun 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It is okay a bit dated, the best person in it is a very young Sarah Jessica Parker, though Steve Martin is good too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars So difficult to find, 13 May 2013
By 
AJR "cynical" (Melbourne, Australia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Steve Martin has made quite a few movies. Some of them are really good (Roxanne, for example), some not so much.

This film is a delightful and surreal love story. It takes several viewings to grasp, which is why it's good to have on disc. I had a good copy on DVD, but I wanted it on Bluray. Sadly, it hasn't been released in most places. As far as I can tell, this is the only version released anywhere.

The back cover has a blurb in several languages (Scandinavian, by the looks of it). The menu on the disc, and the movie itself, are in English. There are no extras.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

L.A. Story [DVD] [1991]
L.A. Story [DVD] [1991] by Mick Jackson (DVD - 2002)
£11.40
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews