Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The best boat chase in film history..
Don't be fooled by the naff cover..This is one cool film.
There's never been a movie with such a groovy 70's soundtrack and so many lines you simply can't help but quote. "are you married Mr sherman?- I was" and "Sherman, what sort of dutch name is that?"
Ok so it's cult status that really keeps this film alive, It's a Bond wanna be (to the...
Published on 18 Jan 2002 by Jr Walker

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ODYSSEY Versus Scorpion
The deleted Odyssey DVD release says (on the case) transferred in 4:3...but it has More information in the frame on both sides and top and bottom than the Scorpion release which was transferred at 1:78. The Scorpion release is a cleaner transfer, has more interesting extras - - a good commentary and an uncut scene - - but when the Odyssey has more info on all sides of...
Published 6 months ago by Gary


Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The best boat chase in film history.., 18 Jan 2002
By 
Jr Walker (Swadlincote, Derbyshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Alistair Maclean's Puppet On A Chain [DVD] (DVD)
Don't be fooled by the naff cover..This is one cool film.
There's never been a movie with such a groovy 70's soundtrack and so many lines you simply can't help but quote. "are you married Mr sherman?- I was" and "Sherman, what sort of dutch name is that?"
Ok so it's cult status that really keeps this film alive, It's a Bond wanna be (to the point that even cast members reappear in this movie)
but it really is classic stuff.
The fight scenes are so over the top that Sherman throws some guy 20 foot across the room and if you don't want the cops to know where your hide out is then I suggest you don't hang a puppet on a chain outside for all to see.
The one thing that everbody remembers about this film is the climax...A boat chase that beats anything bond has ever done with the chase going through the city of Amsterdam, Gripping stuff.
Unfortunatly with this DVD version it has the misleading words "Trailer" on the cover as an extra but it's a trailer for some other obscure film.
The films 4.3 transfer is not good and if you own this on video then don't buy the dvd.
Needs cleaning up with new soundtrack and a widescreen release but worth buying if you don't already own it...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great action, great chase sequence, 9 April 2010
By 
Tony Roberts (Bristol, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alistair Maclean's Puppet On A Chain [DVD] (DVD)
I remember watching this film long ago on TV late at night with my parents and younger sister (I must have been about 12 or 13) and it ended around midnight and we all looked at each other after the finish and went 'wow' or something like that. Not many films had that effect.

Today the 70s music and fashion have dated, but frankly if you watch a film from the 70s don't expect anything else.

The story goes along the lines of an interpol investigation into heroin smuggling from Amsterdam, and the lead character Paul Sherman (played by Swedish singer Sven-Bertil Taube) is a ruthless man hell-bent on smashing the smuggling ring.

There are some good secondary actors supporting the film; Alexander Knox and Patrick Allen (pictured on the cover of this DvD) as the Dutch police and Vladek Sheybal as a rather strange looking priest. No giveaways of the plot but the film winds up to a fantastic ending as we have an unparalleled boat chase along the canals of Amsterdam and the unmasking of the mastermind behind the gang and a final fight to the death scene high above the streets of the city.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ODYSSEY Versus Scorpion, 25 Dec 2013
This review is from: Alistair Maclean's Puppet On A Chain [DVD] (DVD)
The deleted Odyssey DVD release says (on the case) transferred in 4:3...but it has More information in the frame on both sides and top and bottom than the Scorpion release which was transferred at 1:78. The Scorpion release is a cleaner transfer, has more interesting extras - - a good commentary and an uncut scene - - but when the Odyssey has more info on all sides of the frame, then it's showing more of the film in every scene, every set-up. When the composition is as good as the cinematography on this picture, that's the winning factor for me.
It's a great film, with an 8-minute speedboat chase filmed so confidently by Don Sharp that it rejects all dialogue and even a note of scoring for the duration, but other reviews talk about that. I'm pointing out the difference between DVD editions.
If the film ever gets to blu-ray, here's hoping someone gets the aspect ratio right and purer film elements.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Good British Thriller, 11 July 2002
This review is from: Alistair Maclean's Puppet On A Chain [DVD] (DVD)
Back in 1970, when this was made, James Bond thrillers were still all the rage and their alter-ego, Aleistar Maclain thrillers were also coming to the fore, thanks largely to the recent success of "Where Eagles Dare" in 1969 and "The Guns of Navarone" in 1961.
The Brits were always capable of making good thrillers, be it intellectual stuff such as a John le Carre feature or more Americanised stuff such as this but with a decidedly British twist.
Puppet On A Chain follows the exploits of Paul Sherman, an Interpol Agent flown into Amsterdam to smash a heroin racket who's calling card are to dispose of their enemies by hanging them from meathooks on chains. Mostly famous for the cracking power-boat chase around the canals of Amsterdam. A big hit at the time and for my money still worthwhile entertainment today, harking back to a time when the Brits were not afraid to stick their necks out and make something just little bit more adventurous than you'd expect them to!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Puppet on the Island, 7 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alistair Maclean's Puppet On A Chain [DVD] (DVD)
Puppet is getting a chain at the island for meeting at the Church of Circle Dance. Heritage & Thriller is an integration project in the movie. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Puppet on A Chain, 5 July 2013
This review is from: Alistair Maclean's Puppet On A Chain [DVD] (DVD)
Just ordered this after my very old video cassette version,deteriorated.

After "Where eagles Dare", this is one of my favorite Maclean seventies movie. Its got a good cast, very moody soundtrack, and of course Vladek Sheybal! As Meegeren, As The leader of the Church. Whos He? He was kronsteen in "From Russia With Love"

("You are now in the House of the clocks". When They all chime together, Im told it can drive a man crazy in a few minutes"! "How long will you last Mr Sherman?", shall we try, try?
{classic line from Meegeren from the film}

I had the good fortune to visit Amsterdam a few years after it was released. In the street, where Kronsteen crashed his speedboat into the canal wall, was a small shop, selling photos, and other memorabilia , right next to the spot where it was filmed. I even tried to find the street with the docks and the warehouse, but was on a coach trip, so my time was short.

If you like suspense, with a good cast, early bond film type of acting, but with unexpected twists, and some nice Ariel shots of Amsterdam, plus a very good speedboat chase sequence , given its era, then give this a look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars DVD., 12 Jan 2013
By 
Gerry (Cardiff, WALES.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alistair Maclean's Puppet On A Chain [DVD] (DVD)
This particular DVD was purchased as we liked Alistair Maclean films and have been to Amsterdam where the film was shot on several occasions. It was nice to see places we had been to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as the book, 29 Jan 2007
By 
Birmingham Book Reader (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Alistair Maclean's Puppet On A Chain [DVD] (DVD)
I am a real fan of the book Alistair Maclean's Puppet On A Chain, it is fast paced and exciing. The film sort of lives up to this - it tries to do a 'James Bond' on the cheap. Good in parts, good chase screen! Worth worth having if you are a fan of 1970's thrillers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Alistair Maclean's Puppet On A Chain [DVD]
Used & New from: 12.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews