Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BUY THIS NOW!
This cd reproduces the finest album of the NWOBHM genre ever released , you can forgot your Iron Maidens and Saxons this is the finest rock album ever made. If you are a youngster seduced into the black arts of metal by the likes of Metallica then listen up - this is where Metallica began!
Every track is perfect with superb vocals from Sean Harris and exquisite...
Published on 10 July 2002 by M. A. Kelly

versus
5 of 30 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Buy the 'best of' instread
This album is just a rougher, more whiney version of most of the songs on the 'best of' album. I wouldn't bother buying this. They obviously worked on all these songs a lot more between doing this album and doing the recordings for the best of album - they removed some jarringly awful guitar and vocal moments. I find this quite un-listenable and really regret buying...
Published on 15 July 2006 by Colin H. Jackson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BUY THIS NOW!, 10 July 2002
By 
M. A. Kelly "Wild eyed loner on the edge of o... (Milton Keynes Centre of the Universe) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lightning To The Nations (The White Album) (Audio CD)
This cd reproduces the finest album of the NWOBHM genre ever released , you can forgot your Iron Maidens and Saxons this is the finest rock album ever made. If you are a youngster seduced into the black arts of metal by the likes of Metallica then listen up - this is where Metallica began!
Every track is perfect with superb vocals from Sean Harris and exquisite guitar artistry from the enigmatic Brian Tatler.
The best known tracks are probably the 3 covered by Metallica "Am I Evil" "The Prince" and "Helpless" but they are all tremendous.The best thing about this album for me is that it takes me back to my youth when I was thick of hair and thin of waist - I'm sadly now thick of waist and thin of hair but C'est La Vie!I vividly remember trekking around the country to see the band live in small venues in Banbury and Bedford, missing trains but it was all worth it. If you like traditional Heavy Metal music then do yourself a big favour and buy this cd.
IMPORTANT NOTE - DO NOT BE FOOLED THIS ALBUM IS NOT LIVE IT IS THE ORIGINAL STUDIO RECORDINGS PLUS A FEW EXTRA TRACKS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definitely one of my desert island discs, 4 Jun 2002
This review is from: Lightning To The Nations (The White Album) (Audio CD)
This album has been part of my life for many years now as I bought the original vinyl at one of their concerts in the early 80's. It is still one of my most treasured possessions. Like many bands first albums there is a coarseness to its production that gives it an edge that sadly often gets lost on later more polished productions. The power that is in the music is unmistakable and I love every single track that is on it. I can't think of another album I can say that about. What makes it all the more astonishing is that they were so incredibly young when they wrote it. Sean's vocals are powerful, full of feeling and spot on musically. Brian has got to be one of the greatest ever guitarists with an astonishing ability to create memorable riffs. In this respect it is possible to trace the influence of Tony Iommi though I would argue that Brian is so much more of the complete musician. Obvious highlights of the album are Am I Evil and Sucking My Love but it's honestly so good it would do it an injustice to rate one track above another. If you only buy one Diamond Head album this has to be it. You'll never regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect!, 3 Aug 2004
By 
This review is from: Lightning To The Nations (The White Album) (Audio CD)
This is one of five albums that I dont have anything else to complaint about other than that nobody makes this music any more.
The Wite Album by Diamond Head, Kill'Em All, Ride The Lightening, Master of Puppets and ...And Justice For All from Metallica. If there would be more music like this... oh yeah! But there are no other albums like this around.
All of these albums are from the 80's. Why did this kind of music die with the turn of the decade?
The White Album is from 1980, and is the first album of Diamond Head. They didn't have money to make a cover for the album, so they used a plain white cover, and it had the signature from one of the members of the band. They didn't even have the track listening on it. But since it was only sold on their conserts it didn't matter. Their fans would recognice the songs.
As for the music, Metallica has 4 covers from the 7 original tracks, on Garage Inc. Diamond Head was one of Metallicas strongest inspirations for their first album. Both Dave Mustaine and Lars Ulrich are big fans.
Music is all about taste, and this album is my taste. Exellent guitar playing you wont find anywhere else. Brian Tatler is plain and simple a natural talent, considering that he was very young when they recorded this album. Almost strange that they didn't become famous. When you see some of the famous guitarists of modern music you just have to shake your head. They make millions on stuff that nobody even would consider to listen to in 20 years!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An essential purchase for any Rock Fan, 20 Aug 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Lightning To The Nations (The White Album) (Audio CD)
Having been one of the few who owned the now mythical white album on vinyl I've been waiting for a proper re-release to do it justice on CD. There have been too many half hearted versions of this released on CD over the past few years but they have always had tracks missing and have sounded naff.
This version is the genuine article that Kerrang and other rock mags rave about and which contains all the classic songs covered by Metallica. In addition it's remastered so sounds great and comes with great sleeve notes, photos and lyrics. (Although, curiously no words to "It's Electric" are included).
The icing on the cake is the added bonus of 7 additional tracks from various EP's and singles released around the same time (1980 ish). There is no filler material ! Every track is a classic.
You can call me biased being a Stourbridge lad myself, but I challenge anyone not to listen to the addictive riff of "Sucking My Love" and not have a permanent smile on their face and a stiff neck (No double entendres intended!).
It is far superior to any other of the so called NWOBHM releases. The only other that comes close is the debut Iron Maiden album which is of a very different style.
Go on, buy it. You owe it to yourself!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tremendous, Gets better the more you listen to it, 21 Feb 2011
By 
Quaddy (club tech-noir) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lightning To The Nations (The White Album) (Audio CD)
superb album, the first time i heard it, it was catchy but didnt to hit the right nerve first time round

the second time i heard it, i knew i must own it.

and everytime since it seems to get better and better

riffs, vocals and beats that will get inside your head and make your toes tap, fingers strum or wrists flick if you are an air drummer like me

a quality album which flows from the first track to the last with no poor tracks to break up the journey
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 14 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lightning To The Nations (The White Album) (Audio CD)
Like many metal fans, I heard about this band because of Metallica. After reading the Metallica biography "Enter Night" (Mick Wall), I finally decided to buy this album. You can hear that this album was produced on a shoestring budget, but it sounds good. And more importantly: the songs are excellent. I was particulary impressed by "Sucking my love" (which Metallica covered in concert and during rehearsals, but never released) and by "Shoot out the Lights". The latter already indicates that the quality of the extra songs is also very, very good. (Except maybe for "Waiting too long", which is too poppy.) Anyway, I definitely recommend this reissue of a classic album (great liner notes, by the way).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars quality album, 15 Sep 2004
By 
freedomsstain "freedoms_stain" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lightning To The Nations (The White Album) (Audio CD)
Most of you reading this review will have heard of this band because you heard metallica cover them on their 'garage inc' album, liked them and want to hear the originals.
DO NOT LISTEN TO 'IT'S ELECTRIC' FIRST. just do not do it. Of all the diamond head covers on garage inc, it's electric is the only one that improved on the original. If you listen to it's electric first you'll have an instant bad impression of the band, which is wrong. Instead listen to the first track first, 'lightning to the nations' and prepare to be amazed. This is a great album, it has some moments of pure rock genius. particularly lightning to the nations and sucking my love.
With the exception of it's electric the metallica versions of the songs are very poor copies. So if you were impressed by the metallica covers, you'll be blown away.
Particularly the intro to 'am i evil' its 100 times better on this record.
Just buy it, its worth every penny.
It's criminal this band never got as famous as Iron Maiden, it really is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I LOVE IT, 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lightning To The Nations (The White Album) (Audio CD)
...and the records good too! Haha This is as heavy as a band needs be - what a great record - come back Diamond Head all is forgiven...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect album, 13 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lightning To The Nations (The White Album) (Audio CD)
This band is so underrated here and i love them, great riffs and solos, thebest sound that heavy metal could offer.
One of the influences of the early thrash metal that i so admire.
I love all the songs, and even the bonus tracks are awsome.
Recommended to every rock n' roll and metal fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Essential NWOBHM, 31 Mar 2009
This review is from: Lightning To The Nations (The White Album) (Audio CD)
One of the most pivotal releases of the NWOBHM movement along with the likes of Iron Maiden's debut and Saxon's "Wheels of Steel". From the opening riff of "It's Electric" to the closing moments of "Helpless" the band give a perfect demonstration of how to do nwobhm very well. The other tracks featured on here are made up of German singles and B-sides, all of which are just as essential as the album itself, in particular "Shoot Out the Lights". Admittadley, some aspects of Sean Harris' vocal style may take a few listens to get into properly, but the musicianship on this record, especially the guitarwork from Brian Tatler, is awe-inspiring. Diamond Head should have been huge stars after this record came out, but remained as they were, due in part to some poor managing decisions by the band (e.g. turning down a professional manager in favour of Sean Harris' mother), but their profile was somewhat raised when Metallica covered four of the songs from this album on their covers album "Garage Inc." namely "It's Electric" "The Prince" "Helpless" and the epic "Am I Evil". All in all, an absolutely essential purchase for fans of nwobhm
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lightning To The Nations (The White Album)
Lightning To The Nations (The White Album) by Diamond Head (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews