Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a wonderful, hypnotic song, 5 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Pyramid Song - CD2 (Audio CD)
Wow, this song really goes through your blood. I can't get it out of my head. It is a very emotional piece of extraordinary music. The wonderful pounding piano combined with the soothing arabic strings makes for really great listening. I like the video too, it goes with the feeling of the song tremendously. His voice blends into the hypnotic brew, I feel as though I have found something lost as in the video. Take it fom me, buy this or indeed the album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The video is the best thing !, 16 Dec 2008
By 
A customer (Asturias) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Pyramid Song CD1 (Audio CD)
Pyramid song is the best thing out of Amensiac but the free video in the single is very interestng.
Is based on a dream by one of the menbers of the band and it blends perfectly with the song.

The second song "The Amazing Sounds Of Orgy" is interesting and in keeping with the dark mood of Pyramid song and "Trans-Atlantic Drawl" sounds like something out of The Bends.

as always 5 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nothing to fear, and nothing to doubt., 6 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Pyramid Song - CD2 (Audio CD)
Pyramid Song is the first single from Radiohead in over three years. No singles were released from Kid A which annoyed me but this makes up for it many times more. Having seen it live makes it much better, but even so it is a quality record and a good choice for a first single. It is quite difficult to listen to becuase of its odd rhythm at the beginning, but it fits together perfectly when the jazz like drums enter. The odd string/ voice sound in the background gives it a very ghostly feel to the song and the gradual build up of the song is much like that of "How to disappear completely and never be found" on Kid A. I suggest everyone should buy this record, but i am biased.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible, Lush and Gorgeous, 1 May 2001
This review is from: Pyramid Song (Audio CD)
This is by far the best Radiohead song to date. The musical layout of it is original in every way. This is a tune I play every time i go near a piano - It is gorgeous. The lyrics too are incredible. They add another beautiful dimension to the song. My interpretation of them is that they are about a person who has died and he is going somewhere (heaven) but it is also about reincarnation if you study them. The thing that adds the beauty though is if you take that interpretation and look at the lyrics "There was nothing to fear and nothing to doubt" - It takes me to another level of extreme happiness and amazement at how incredible this band really is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars o my god!, 23 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Pyramid Song (Audio CD)
three words: absolute f***ing genius. radiohead have done it again. they have produced a masterpiece so mesmerising and delicate, that it is already one of the years greatest songs. this single - the first off the new album - sets the scene for radiohead's next phase. the song is not only extremely unconventional and uncatchy, but features very little guitar and lots of synthesisers, and like most of the new album, is very different from what most popular bands are doing today. the video also has to be seen - it is very beautiful and a perfect companion to the song.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great song by a great band., 18 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Pyramid Song (Audio CD)
Radiohead never cease to amaze, and having heard the entire Amnesiac CD already, I am amazed. Pyramid Song is beautiful, it starts off with Thom playing piano, until two thirds of the way through, when he is accompanied by the rest of the band. It's beautiful, listen to it, and you'll love it - 'nuff said!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing single with b-sides in same musical vein, 23 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Pyramid Song CD1 (Audio CD)
Upon first listen, "Pyramid Song" may seem slightly flat but there is an intriguing quality to the instrumentation, and the evocative lyrics, that urges you to keep listening. I've done so and I now acknowledge the song as gorgeous and subtle, and it continues to loop around in my head...
CD1 also contains "Amazing Sounds of Orgy," continuing the dark mysterious atmosphere with a rumbling triphoppy beat, and a more rock-out track with screechy electronic noises. CD2 also includes an electronic instrumental and a bizarre but compelling "experimental" (? it's just sort of weird) track, "Kinetic," that involves moments of really butchered clashing beats.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Single adds to the album, 14 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Pyramid Song CD1 (Audio CD)
It has often been said by Radiohead themselves that Pyramid Song is the best song they've ever recorded. Grouped amongst others on Amnesiac, it is hard to forget. This single also includes the songs Kinetic, Transatlantic Drawl, Fast Track and the Amazing Sound of Orgy, all of which compliment the other songs from the album and round out the Kid A-Amnesiac set very well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars First single for 3 years - worth the wait!, 19 April 2001
This review is from: Pyramid Song (Audio CD)
Radiohead are back with their first single since 1998's 'No Surprises'. 'Pyramid Song' (aka 'Egyptian Song' and 'Nothing To Fear') was recorded during the 'Kid A' sessions along with the rest of the new album, 'Amnesiac'. Starting with a sombre piano riff Thom Yorke's beautiful vocals soon come in, followed by some great percussion from Phil Selway. As the song continues Nigel Godrich's exquisite production helps to produce a euphoric crescendo of strange sounds and lovely orchestration. This is undoubtedly one of Radiohead's most beautiful songs, yet it is still forward thinking and not a return to the style of 'OK Computer' or 'The Bends' as had been predicted. However, there are said to be elements of the last 3 albums on the new LP. The single is set to contain 4 brand new B-sides and if they're of the standard of the band's past efforts (eg. 'Talk Show Host', 'Maquiladora', 'Bishop's Robes') they'll definitely be worth having!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An overpowering shut eye song, that holds you in trance!, 17 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Pyramid Song (Audio CD)
You instantly fall in love with this song. It keeps you in a trance for all of its 5 minutes, and can easily be caught up in the moment. The piano-laden intro quickly gives way to a snake charmer like howl from Thom Yorke. The song has many layers of sound much to its credit. A lush and stormy backing track persevered throughout, gives off the impression that the band is symbolically lost at sea. Half way through the song a jazz like drum beat enters the song adding more of an edge with a overpowering orchestral crescendo that rises and falls near the end to bring you back to reality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pyramid Song CD1
Pyramid Song CD1 by Radiohead (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews