Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW!!
In an effort to be succint and convey my true feelings for this album I plumped for the title 'Wow!!' This truely is a stunning work of art that is completely free of self-conscious playing to the gallery (which has marred so much Black Music) and pretension. There is an extraordinary depth and breath of emotion, lyrical subject matter and musical structure on this album...
Published on 5 Jun 2003 by candyapplegrey

versus
1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant
One of the best of his early work, but I have mainly bought it for "Home is where the hatred is", surely one of his best tracks after "The Bottle", also on this CD is another great track "The revolution will not be televised". A sure must for your CD collection along with Bob James.
Published on 30 Mar 2001


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW!!, 5 Jun 2003
By 
"candyapplegrey" (Exeter, Devon United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Pieces Of A Man (Audio CD)
In an effort to be succint and convey my true feelings for this album I plumped for the title 'Wow!!' This truely is a stunning work of art that is completely free of self-conscious playing to the gallery (which has marred so much Black Music) and pretension. There is an extraordinary depth and breath of emotion, lyrical subject matter and musical structure on this album. Gil Scott-Heron's 'The Revolution Will Not Be Televised' is one of the great political statements and even though some of its content may seem dated the sentiment and passion that conveys it is just as profound today as it was then. There are so many great songs here, often juxtaposing the personal and the political to such effect that the listener is unable to resist pressing the repeat button and taking the day off work..it's that good! I think what makes this such a special album for me is that this is intensely personal music from an intense, beautiful and angry soul and yet it never drifts in to that self-indulgent whinning that characterises so much of the so-called 'personal' heavy rock of today (aka 'bedwetter rock'..Linkin Park Etc). It posseses that wonderful quality of being both cerebral and uplifting (qualities not harvested by many of Gil Scott-Heron's present day rap followers.) There is not one bad track on the album and it is wonderfully sequenced taking the listener on a journey that is varied lyrically, musically and emotionally and still manages to retain the sense that the songs are part of a larger piece of work. Since to see this review you are alreay on the right page just BUY THE ALBUM AND HEAR FOR YOURSELF. A TRUE MASTERPIECE.
best tracks: ALL OF THEM! I can't praise this album enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Breathtaking, 25 Feb 2005
This review is from: Pieces Of A Man (Audio CD)
Gil Scott-Heron is one of the great recording artists of the 20th century; it is a shame that he is relatively unknown. His work is always interesting and I would recommend (almost) all of his albums. Pieces of a Man is one of his best, if not the best, albums.
Gil Scott-Heron draws on a wide range of influences: the music of John Coltrane, the blues, the oral traditions of the American South and many others to create fantastic music in a variety of different styles from spoken word/rap to (almost) soul. He is perhaps best known for his searing political (and personal) lyrics that are often so good that they can be read as poetry. However, he is also an excellent musician and the music always complements his lyrics. Musically this album is wonderful, interesting and varied, at times it is simply beautiful. As with much of Gil Scott Heron's best work a lot of credit must go to Brian Jackson his long time and best collaborator.
'Pieces of a Man' finds GSH at his most perceptive and penetrating, both politically and personally.
'The Revolution Will Not Be Televised' is probably his most famous song - remarkably it works almost as well as poetry as it does as a song. Some of the references may now be a little obscure but it is an amazing, powerful piece of work that has lost little, if any, of its bite or relevance. 'Save the Children' is a beautiful, uplifting plea to care for and nurture the next generation. 'Lady Day & John Coltrane' is simply beautiful and a personal favourite. 'Home is where the hatred is' is haunting and wonderful, it is particularly poignant if you know anything about his personal life.
I could go on but it is almost a shame to highlight individual tracks because there isn't a bad track here and the album deserves, almost demands, to be listened to in its entirety.
GSH is unique: he combines a penetrating intellect with wit & wisdom and a talent conveying emotion and pain succinctly, often beautifully. A righteous anger permeates his work but he never descends into bitterness or becomes overly preachy. His work is tempered with optimism and a desire for change. It is this combination that defines his work and sets him apart for all others.
This album is GSH at the peak of his powers and should be a part of everybody's collection.
Buy it and treasure it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Classic Gil album by which all others are measured, 17 May 2003
By 
This review is from: Pieces Of A Man (Audio CD)
Where do I begin on what to me is perhaps the best GSH album? This album as with all GSH albums is very biting, evocative but above all else it is musically brilliant. The lyrics can be very much in your face but at the same time they can be quite subtle and you understand them through the frustrations that you have felt trying to get someone to understand your point of view or just for the joys that we all hope for. For example, in the track "The Needles Eye" when GSH speaks about going to see his father who didn't want to answer him you immediately empathise and get drawn into the song. "Save the Children" immediately makes you want to do the best, as we should for the next generation and to give them the best tools to take on our role in life/society.
Others may argue that "Winter in America" or "From South Africa to South Carolina" are better but Pieces of a Man has a broader spectrum of topics and at times it is quite dispairing, especially when you consider that it was released in the early 70's melting pot of America but there are enough songs that counterbalance this. Uplifting songs such as "I'll think I'll call it morning", "Save the children" and "When you are who you are". If you were to pick up a best of GSH you would undoubtedly find many of the tracks from this album on it.
To single out a few tracks from this album however, doesn't do justice to the quality of the album as a whole. This is definitely one of those albums that you would pick up put in your CD player and just listen to from start to beginning.
Brian Jackson should also be given credit as he was collaborating with Gil on this and many of his seminal albums. Make no mistake the Brian Jackson GSH partnership is what makes this and much of his early work exceptional.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Breathtaking, 14 Mar 2005
This review is from: Pieces Of A Man (Audio CD)
Gil Scott-Heron is one of the great recording artists of the 20th century; it is a shame that he is relatively unknown. His work is always interesting and I would recommend (almost) all of his albums. Pieces of a Man is one of his best, if not the best, albums.
Gil Scott-Heron draws on a wide range of influences: the music of John Coltrane, the blues, the oral traditions of the American South and many others to create fantastic music in a variety of different styles from spoken word/rap to (almost) soul. He is perhaps best known for his searing political (and personal) lyrics that are often so good that they can be read as poetry. However, he is also an excellent musician and the music always complements his lyrics. Musically this album is wonderful, interesting and varied, at times it is simply beautiful. As with much of Gil Scott Heron's best work a lot of credit must go to Brian Jackson his long time and best collaborator.
'Pieces of a Man' finds GSH at his most perceptive and penetrating, both politically and personally.
'The Revolution Will Not Be Televised' is probably his most famous song - remarkably it works almost as well as poetry as it does as a song. Some of the references may now be a little obscure but it is an amazing, powerful piece of work that has lost little, if any, of its bite or relevance. 'Save the Children' is a beautiful, uplifting plea to care for and nurture the next generation. 'Lady Day & John Coltrane' is simply beautiful and a personal favourite. 'Home is where the hatred is' is haunting and wonderful, it is particularly poignant if you know anything about his personal life.
I could go on but it is almost a shame to highlight individual tracks because there isn't a bad track here and the album deserves, almost demands, to be listened to in its entirety.
GSH is unique: he combines a penetrating intellect with wit & wisdom and a talent conveying emotion and pain succinctly, often beautifully. A righteous anger permeates his work but he never descends into bitterness or becomes overly preachy. His work is tempered with optimism and a desire for change. It is this combination that defines his work and sets him apart for all others.
This album is GSH at the peak of his powers and should be a part of everybody's collection.
Buy it and treasure it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "...I Can't Breathe..." - Pieces Of A Man by GIL SCOTT-HERON (2001 RCA CD Remaster), 10 Dec 2014
By 
Mark Barry "Mark Barry" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Pieces Of A Man (Audio CD)
"The revolution will not be televised..."

Uttered in 1971 - these are quite possibly the most famous anti-establishment words sung in a Soul song - ever. And yet in 2014 with the NET and 24-hour NEWS TV - the hurt and rage that led to that satirical and acidic piece has never been more pertinent. Much of that crap is still with us and we're still purging it out of our lands and lives. I listen to this fabulous album today (post Eric Garner's loss) and I'm still moved - a genius slice of Seventies Soul Conscience. Here are the socially spot-on details for the mighty GIL SCOTT-HERON...

Euro released November 2001 - RCA Victor Gold Series 74321851632 (Barcode 743218516320) is a straightforward CD remaster of the "Pieces Of A Man" LP first released in 1971 (48:00 minutes).

1. The Revolution Will Not Be Televised
2. Save The Children
3. Lady Day And John Coltrane
4. Home Is Where The Hatred Is
5. When You Are Who You Are
6. I Think I'll Call It Morning
7. Pieces Of A Man [Side 2]
8. A Sign Of The Ages
9. Or Down You Fall
10. The Needle's Eye
11. The Prisoner
Tracks 1 to 11 are his second album "Pieces Of A Man" released 1971 in the USA on Flying Dutchman FD 10143.

"Pieces Of A Man" was belatedly released in the UK on Philips 6369 415 in April 1973 with a different running order:
1. Lady Day And John Coltrane
2. Where You Are Who You Are
3. I Think I'll Call It Morning
4. Home Is Where The Hatred Is
5. Save The Children
6. The Revolution Will Not Be Televised
7. Pieces Of A Man [Side 2]
8. A Sign Of The Ages
9. Or Down You Fall
10. The Needle's Eye
11. The Prisoner

Coming out of BMG France - the simple gatefold card digipak offers basic recording info on the inner flap (no booklet). Recorded over two days in April 1971 (19th and 20th) and Produced by BOB THIELE - the album has been remastered from original master tapes in 24-bit by JEAN-PIERRE CHALBOS - and he's done a lovely job. The delicate and moving "Pieces Of A Man" features Heron on Piano with Ron Carter on Electric Bass - it's a tiny bit hissy (as was the original recording - all feel and emotion) - but the remaster lets it breath and is so much the better for it.

Other highlights are the gorgeous ballad "Or Down You Fall" and the Curtis Mayfield funky "When You Are Who You Are" with its "you can be so very beautiful when you are who you are..." lyrics about his lady. "Save The Children" features the distinctive flute of HUBERT LAWS while "Home Is Where The Hatred Is" best shows his stunning band - BRIAN JACKSON on Keyboards, BURT JONES on Guitar, RON CARTER on Bass with superb drumming from BERNARD "PRETTY" PURDIE. It ends on a duo of socially conscious tunes - the upbeat "The Needle's Eye" and the 9 ½ minute masterpiece "The Prisoner". Both are lyrically stunning but it's the closer "Prisoner" that stays with you - beginning with creepy scraping strings and drum whacks that then segue into piano rolls and words of pain - masterful stuff.

A beautiful album - proud, unique and yet eternally current - "Pieces Of A Man" is up there with the best Soul from the early Seventies has to offer

"Pigs shooting down brothers..." (Revolution) and "Leave the hate and fear behind" (The Needle's Eye). Scott-Heron sang these lyrics in 1971. How depressing that in December 2014 with the "I can't breathe..." protests in the USA - the first set of words are so sickeningly relevant still...and the second set a lesson we're still learning...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five stars but with a comment, 18 Mar 2014
By 
Stefano Galli (italy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pieces Of A Man (Audio CD)
No one argues about the quality of this album, but I am surprised about the lack of reviews about this reissue.

I have already bought the triple CD box by the title "The revolution begins", so if you have it too, but are a little bit absent-minded, be advised that you already own this album in this mastered version except for the three extra tracks at the end.
Indeed, that box contains also the second and the third album by this artist (and a disc of extras).

Therefore, beware before making your choice, in any case you will make an excellent one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ' Paved the way ', 15 Sep 2011
By 
D. S. Sample (Turnipshire England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Pieces Of A Man (Audio CD)
I believe that Gill Scott-Heron was titled the "Godfather of rap" a vocal style that was something that probably evolved from his poetry he certainly had something to say about civil rights, blending his poetry with jazz based soul he angrily confronts many social problems of the day,in a period when most popular black music was Motown dance music without a hint of any politics . Was this the instigation for Stevie Wonder's 'Innervisions' & Marvin Gayes 'What's going on'?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You will not be able to stay home brother, 26 Sep 2006
This review is from: Pieces Of A Man (Audio CD)
Soul-jazz legend Gil Scott-Heron delivers a fine album here with some of the best tracks of his career.

"The Revolution Will Not Be Televised" is mesmeric, sharp, intelligent and innovative. "I Think I'll Call It Morning" is charming, sweet and soulful. "Home Is Where The Hatred Is" is socially aware and tight and the title track is moving and thoughtful.

"Lady Day And John Coltrane" is a sublime peice of tight funky jazz (as opposed to jazz funk know what i mean?).

A very good album. Worth exploring the man's back catalogue.

Intelligent, excellent, soulful music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gill scot- Heron, 9 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
nice cover ,good recording but more important are the wonderful songs by Gill scot -heron a truly classic album from a legendary songwriter
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars album, 27 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
one of my favourite albums of all time. so glad to own it on vinyl at long last ! thank you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pieces Of A Man
Pieces Of A Man by Gil Scott-Heron (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews