Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars29
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£3.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 May 2002
Three Albums now by Faithless and all are superb.
Choosing a favourite is hard, it is'nt this one, but the obe before although dont get me wrong, this Album was long awaited and delivered the goods.
Tracks like 'crazy english Summer', 'Evergreen' and 'One step too far' are personal favourites. Most of the Tracks are wriiten and performed well, a couple a little bit dissappointing but the vocals are excellent and moving.
An inspirational Album with quality tracks, not as good as Sunday 8pm but well worth the money.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2002
Having heard the masterful 'Reverence' and parts of 'Sunday 8pm', 'Outrospective' seemed a logical progression into the future of Faithless. like their other albums, there are certainly some tracks that should have remained in the studio, but unlike the previous two, i can only pick out one or two of these. in the main, this album is occupied by thumping tunes and chilled melodies and in short, it's varied, constantly challenging, and well worthy of the five stars i award it. watch out for 'Tarantula', 'We Come 1' and 'Liontamer'.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2001
Faithless are back and this time it's as good as the others. After buying the first album I was always impressed with the sound of Faithless, the lyrics and the constant change of mood that the music pulls you through. The second album had the same approach but I felt with a more angry mood about it.
The third album...well what can I say....mellowed, chilled out and angelic voices calm you down only to bring you back to the top as Maxi raps out his cold words in his strange ghostly voice with tunes you just cannot ignore.
With the strong tunes of We Come One which you know you'll be hearing in the clubs mixed into it's various guises and the smooth, chilled out music of Crazy English Summer and Evergreen there's a bit of everything in this album to please just about everyone.
This album in my eyes has been the hardest to listen to due to expecting more "anthem" like tunes but I have to say the direction that Faithless have taken with this album makes a worthwhile purchase. Faithless are back and once again they've done with style
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2001
Well, after Reverence, Sunday 8PM was in all honesty a bit of a let-down. But after hearing their new work 'Outrospective' i was absolutely enthralled by the wide range of genius on offer! I love this even more than their first, because it manages to encorporate musical genius from many different slants. Maxi Jazz's powerful yet reserved lyrics in 'We Come One' is coupled with other tunes involving Dido and the other members. It is not often that i rave so much about an album but in all honesty this is undoubtedly the best album of the year so far and has not only achieved parity with Faithless's early work, but it has surpassed it! Pure Quality!!!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2002
This is Brilliant return to form by a entranzing band. From the start this Album draws you in, the Album can quite easily be a chill out album, with the soft vocals from people like the always brilliant Dido, or it can be crancked up and blast you away, with Sister Bliss as awsome as ever. I say buy it now, it'll make an excellent addition to anyones CD collection.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2005
Let's be clear at least for one time : with faithless everything is already known and decided before you put the record on : on one side you have the techno (almost commercial things) that are chart topping and get heavy player on Mtv; on the other side you have the soft songs massive attack (but most probably groove armada) would be proud of. It doesn't matter which are the titles behind those things: from the debut "Reverence" to this Third album you don't see any improvement, yet you get the feeling that this group has found the formula for the big success.Anyway Faithless have created their own style in the same sense as the Chemical Brothers or the Prodigy, so it's not a shame on repeiting themeselves. They fill every song with a "London touch" (sorry Daft Punk)and most of All there's Maxi Jazz, some sort of good Tricky before he descends in a narcotic world that makes the difference in songs like Muhammed Alì, probably the highlight of Outrospective imo.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2002
This is the kind of chillout music which was meant for everyone to hear, just in that one moment you're feeling down. Track four - Crazy English Summer is the best chillout track EVER made. There comes a day perhaps when I feel playing it, and not resisting to put the Cd-Player on loop. The only problem is the length. But if people take the time to listen to the track, with your speakers up and ur subwoofer on, you'll be able to hear a brilliance which is almost hidden in the depths of this album. Something almost similar to the groundbreaking atmospherics from Agaetis Byjurn of Sigur Ros (do a search for them on amazon and read the reviews). Just this one track, even it's 2:44 length I feel is worthy of the money I have spent on this album. Faithless should release it as an extended single, which could just play for hours and hours as atmospheric background music.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2015
Another well made offering. I heard this many years ago and only knowing 2-3 tracks I bought it based on those. I had no idea that the whole album would represent the unique and original feeling that Faithless seem to always provide. So, I could consider Faithless to be one of the UK's best dance music producers/act who fringe on commercialism yet are still firmly respected as underground musicians along side The Basement Jaxx, Prodigy, Chemical brothers, Underworld and a few others. With tracks like Evergreen they have firmly proven their ability to also create well crafted chilled numbers. Dusted often remix them and vice versa and that's because Dusted are a part of Faithless so you always get quality remixes aswell. Also its worth buying the remix album thats loaded with well produced tracks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2002
This was the first Faithless album i shelled out for, in summer 2001. I wasn't ecstatic about it at first - i thought some of the lyrics were a bit pretentious after having only heard Insomnia before - but after completing my Faithless collection with Reverence and Sunday 8pm this album seemed to fit in to place and all of the vocal tracks have grown on me, although We Come One and Tarantula cannot lay a finger on Salva Mea, Insomnia or God is a DJ for quality. They are still good however - this is definitely one of the best albums of 2001.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2001
Ah, it's that difficult 'third album' syndrome again. Faithless have given it a great shot however, the result is their typical emotional range - from the driving energy of 'We Come One' to the tenderness of 'Evergreen'. Unfortunatly a few more of the tracks grate more than usual number ('Machines R Us' for instance), but the duds are still outweighed by the class. Zoe Johnston is a real vocal talent and I hope she continues to colaborate with the band in the future. Dido seemed underused this time round, which was a shame, considering her history with the band.
Not all it could have been, but a real grower all the same.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.